DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on March 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 12 has been amended to require “each optical fiber comprising a fiber diameter of 160 microns to 200 microns”. This is not found persuasive because claim 12 still does not require an interior surface defining a buffer tube cross-sectional area or a free space of at least 37%.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 11, 2023 and March 19, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Six sheets for formal drawings were filed November 21, 2023 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bookbinder et al. (US 2019/0293885 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed December 11, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Bookbinder discloses an optical fiber cable (10 in Fig. 1), comprising: a cable jacket (12) comprising an inner surface and an outer surface, the inner surface defining a central cable bore and the outer surface defining an outermost surface of the optical fiber cable and a cable cross-sectional area; at least one buffer tube (22) disposed within the central cable bore, each buffer tube of the at least one buffer tube comprising an interior surface defining a buffer tube cross-sectional area; a plurality of optical fibers (20) disposed within the at least one buffer tube; wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers comprises a fiber diameter of 160 microns to 200 microns (Table 5, Example 11 discloses a fiber diameter of 170 microns); wherein the plurality of optical fibers comprise a total fiber area AF (See Figs. 1, 2A-2C); and wherein the optical fiber cable comprises a fiber density (N/Ac) of at least 3.25 fibers/mm2 (Table 5, Example 11 discloses a fiber density of 14.36 fibers/mm2).
Still regarding claim 1, Bookbinder teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the free space. However, Bookbinder discloses in paragraph 0026 that bend losses are greater when optical fibers are densely packed and buffer tubes should include a significant amount of free space to assume low stress positions. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed free space, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Bookbinder discloses the at least one buffer tube comprises six or more buffer tubes in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, Bookbinder discloses the plurality of optical fibers comprises from twelve to thirty-six optical fibers in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Bookbinder teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a fiber density from 3.5 fibers/mm2 to 6 fibers/mm2. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed fiber density, since Bookbinder discloses other fibers having a fiber density from 3.5 fibers/mm2 to 6 fibers/mm2 (see Table 5, Examples 2, 4 and 5), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Bookbinder discloses the buffer tubes are disposed around a central strength member (24) in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, Bookbinder discloses each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers comprises a germania-doped silica core (paragraph 0099) and a fluorine-doped silica trench (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 7, Bookbinder discloses the fluorine-doped silica trench is rectangular in Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 8, Bookbinder teaches the claimed invention except for the trench being triangular. However, different shaped trenches are well-known and commonly used in the art of optical fibers and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a triangular-shaped trench as a matter of obvious design choice without inventive skill.
Regarding claim 9, Bookbinder discloses a trench volume of from 25% Δ microns2 to 70% Δ microns2 in paragraphs 0083-0084.
Regarding claim 10, Bookbinder teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the free space. However, Bookbinder discloses in paragraph 0026 that bend losses are greater when optical fibers are densely packed and buffer tubes should include a significant amount of free space to assume low stress positions. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed free space, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.11.
Regarding claim 11, Bookbinder discloses the optical fiber comprising a bend loss of less than 0.5 dB/turn at 1550 nm for one bend around a mandrel of diameter of 15 mm, a bend loss of less than 0.1 dB/turn at 1550 nm for one bend around a mandrel of diameter of 20 mm, and a bend loss of less than 0.003 dB/turn at 1550 nm for one bend around a mandrel of diameter of 30 mm (see paragraph 0086 and Table 2, Example 4). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to minimize bend losses, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.11.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 March 25, 2026