DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed December 23, 2025. Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 23, 2025 with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered.
Applicant argues the claimed invention is eligible subject matter because the present amendments are directed to a positive recitation of controlling a vehicle’s movement. Examiner agrees such an amendment renders the claimed invention eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101, however, it is unclear this language finds support in Applicant’s original disclosure as further discussed below with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 23, 2025 with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 1, the recitation “based on the outputted tracks, controlling, by the control circuit, a travel of the vehicle” appears to be new matter. Applicant’s Specification discusses providing an output based on the claimed management index (See at least ¶128 and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s PGPUB), and performing non-specific control (See at least original Claim 20), however, fails to describe positive control of a vehicle’s movement in response to the claimed management index as currently claimed, which establishes grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 as new matter.
As to claim 12, the recitation “based on the outputted tracks, control a travel of the vehicle” appears to be new matter. Similar to the discussion above regarding claim 1, Applicant’s Specification fails to describe positive control of a vehicle’s movement in response to the claimed management index as currently claimed, which establishes grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 as new matter.
Claims 2-11 depend from claim 1, and claims 13-20 depend from claim 12.
Additionally, as to claim 20, the recitation “outputting, based on the management index, a signal to control autonomous driving operation of the vehicle” appears to be new matter. Applicant’s Specification briefly mentions autonomous driving, and appears to indicate if autonomous driving occurs, then the management index track may be used as information for a sensor fusion track (See at least ¶202 of Applicant’s PGPUB), however, there appears to be no discussion in Applicant’s disclosure directly drawing a causal connection that autonomous control is based on the management index as claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wyffels et al., US 20240185434 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wyffels.
As to claim 1, Wyffels discloses a method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle, the method comprising:
detecting, via one or more sensors of the vehicle, a plurality of objects in a surrounding environment of the vehicle (LiDAR, and camera perform object detection – See at least Abstract);
based on sensing information from the one or more sensors, identifying, by a control circuit of the vehicle, a plurality of tracks each associated with one of the plurality of objects (Object detection tracks – See at least ¶38, 60-61, and Fig. 1);
outputting, by the control circuit, tracks among the plurality of tracks based on a management index for each of the plurality of tracks, wherein the management index for each of the plurality of tracks is based on at least one of:
a maintenance time of the corresponding track
a risk of collision between the vehicle and the corresponding object (Risk of collision with respect to object trajectories/tracks – See at least ¶38); and
based on the outputted tracks, controlling, by the control circuit, a travel of the vehicle (Responsive emergency maneuvers – See at least ¶38).
Independent claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 because the claims recite nearly identical subject matter but for minor differences due to the claims being directed to different statutory categories of invention.
As to claim 20, Wyffels discloses outputting, based on the management index, a signal to control autonomous driving operation of the vehicle (Actuate various vehicle systems in response to object detection – See at least ¶6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyffels et al., US 20240185434 A1, in view of Gade et al., US 20230061682 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wyffels, and Gade, respectively.
As to claim 2, Wyffels fails to explicitly disclose the management index for each of the plurality of tracks is based on the corresponding track being created in association with corresponding prior track information previously created, wherein the corresponding track is created based on updated sensing information of the one or more sensors within an update period of time. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wyffels and include the feature of the management index for each of the plurality of tracks is based on the corresponding track being created in association with corresponding prior track information previously created, wherein the corresponding track is created based on updated sensing information of the one or more sensors within an update period of time, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Gade teaches it is well-known and routine in the object tracking arts to perform object tracking over time to continuously update an object track to have a more accurate determination of the object’s track (Tracks generated continuously over time period, i.e., epoch, and updated accordingly – See at least ¶28-29 of Gade).
Claims 8, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyffels et al., US 20240185434 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wyffels, respectively.
As to claims 8, and 19, Wyffels fails to explicitly disclose a third management index value that is based on the risk of collision, and wherein the risk of collision is determined based on at least one of: a distance between the vehicle and the corresponding object, or a predicted time remaining until the vehicle collides with the corresponding object. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wyffels and include the feature of a third management index value that is based on the risk of collision, and wherein the risk of collision is determined based on at least one of: a distance between the vehicle and the corresponding object, or a predicted time remaining until the vehicle collides with the corresponding object, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Wyffels discloses the above features without designating them third (Time to collision within threshold period of time – See at least ¶38 of Wyffels; LiDAR data set includes distance at given time – See at least ¶135).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyffels et al., US 20240185434 A1, in view of Clawson et al., US 11807233 B1, hereinafter referred to as Wyffels, and Clawson, respectively.
As to claim 9, Wyffels fails to explicitly disclose the third management index value increases as the distance between the vehicle and the corresponding object decreases, or wherein the third management index value increases as the predicted time to the collision decreases. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wyffels and include the feature of the third management index value increases as the distance between the vehicle and the corresponding object decreases, or wherein the third management index value increases as the predicted time to the collision decreases, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Clawson teaches it is well-known and routine in the object tracking arts that a relationship exists between evaluating an object’s track and a distance between the object and the host/ego vehicle (See at least Abstract and Col. 17 Lines 61-67 of Clawson), like the object tracking of Wyffels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 11, and 14-18 recite allowable subject matter subject to their dependency on a rejected base claim and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668