DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “CONTROL METHOD FOR PROJECTOR, PROJECTOR, AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM STORING PROGRAM,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 20170127020 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a control method for a projector (Fig. 1-12), comprising: receiving designation of a target image (A, B, C, and D; Fig. 5, 7) to be projected in a first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ; Fig. 9) in, in an input image (image input to 300 from 2; Fig. 4), a projection image (projected image) obtained by a projector projecting the input image (image input to 300 from 2) onto a projection surface (screen; [0053], [0054], [0056]); calculating a second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) indicating a size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) in the projection image (projected image) when the size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) included in the input image (image input to 300 from 2) is changed; and adjusting, based on a first ratio (α/α′, β/β′, γ/γ′, δ/δ′ and/or scaling factor; [0062], [0064]), which is a ratio of the second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) to the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ), an enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD; [0052], [0071]) of the projection image (projected image) with respect to the input image (image input to 300 from 2) such that the target image (A, B, C, and D) is displayed in the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) in the projection image (projected image; [0052], [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi further teaches adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) includes adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) with an optical device of the projector (300).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi further teaches adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) includes scaling the target image (A, B, C, and D) with image processing (101).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi further teaches in adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD), when the target image (A, B, C, and D) is an image of a person (Fig. 5), the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) is a size in which the person is displayed in an actual size (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi further teaches adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) includes: increasing volume of voice corresponding to the target image (A, B, C, and D) when the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) is reduced (by controlling the directivity of the microphone array); and reducing the volume of the voice corresponding to the target image (A, B, C, and D) when the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) is increased (by controlling the directivity of the microphone array).
Regarding claim 7, a projector (300 and 1 and/or 2; Fig. 1-12) comprising: an optical device (300); and at least one processor (101), the at least one processor (101) executing: receiving designation of a target image (A, B, C, and D) to be projected in a first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) in, in an input image (image input to 300 from 2), a projection image (projected image) obtained by the optical device projecting the input image (image input to 300 from 2) onto a projection surface (screen; [0053], [0054], [0056]); calculating a second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) indicating a size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) in the projection image (projected image) when the size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) included in the input image (image input to 300 from 2) is changed; and adjusting, based on a first ratio (α/α′, β/β′, γ/γ′, δ/δ′ and/or scaling factor; [0062], [0064]) that is a ratio of the second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) to the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ), an enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD; [0052], [0071]) of the projection image (projected image) with respect to the input image (image input to 300 from 2) such that the target image (A, B, C, and D) is displayed in the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) in the projection image (projected image; [0052], [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program ([0080], [0085]), the program causing a processor (101) to execute (Fig. 1-12): receiving designation of a target image (A, B, C, and D) to be projected in a first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) in, in an input image (image input to 300 from 2), a projection image (projected image) obtained by a projector projecting the input image (image input to 300 from 2) onto a projection surface (screen; [0053], [0054], [0056]); calculating a second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) indicating a size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) in the projection image (projected image) when the size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) included in the input image (image input to 300 from 2) is changed; and adjusting, based on a first ratio (α/α′, β/β′, γ/γ′, δ/δ′ and/or scaling factor; [0062], [0064]) that is a ratio of the second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) to the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ), an enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD; [0052], [0071]) of the projection image (projected image) with respect to the input image (image input to 300 from 2) such that the target image (A, B, C, and D) is displayed in the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) in the projection image (projected image; [0052], [0071]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi.
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi does not explicitly teach when a third size different from the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) and indicating a size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) in the projection image (projected image) is designated, adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) based on a second ratio, which is a ratio of the second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) to the third size, such that the target image (A, B, C, and D) is displayed in the third size in the projection image (projected image).
Changing the system interface, i.e., basic area, such that it requires the system to recalibrate which results in a third size different from the first size (with respect to α, β, γ, δ) and indicating a size of the target image (A, B, C, and D) in the projection image (projected image) is designated, adjusting the enlargement ratio (ratio of clipped image to ABCD) based on a second ratio, which is a ratio of the second size (with respect to α′, β′, γ′, δ′) to the third size, such that the target image (A, B, C, and D) is displayed in the third size in the projection image (projected image), is necessarily a natural consequence; hence it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention. Furthermore, it is a matter of common sense.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20150109401 A1, US 20070291185 A1, US 11183154 B2, US 20120257173 A1, US 20140019894 A1, US 20110122147 A1, US 20100321410 A1, US 20070291189 A1, US 20070291047 A1, US 20070291184 A1, US 20070291233 A1, US 20060192847 A1, US 20070257927 A1, US 20050128530 A1, US 20040261037 A1, and US 20020186212 A1, disclose projection systems for accepting multiple inputs from multiple sources and manipulate each input in the aggregated output.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882