DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted November 21, 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 28, lines 4-5 refer to Figure 2A and state a first surface 21a and a second surface 21b are “substantially parallel to each other”, however upon inspection of Figure 2A, the surfaces 21a and 21b appear to be perpendicular to each other. The top surface of 27 is parallel to surface 21a.
Paragraph 28, line 17 refers to “silica” as “carbon dioxide” which appears to be a typo and should recite “silicon dioxide”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009-142906 to Osamu (a machine translation will be referred to herein) in view of JP 2004-31772 to Tani (a machine translation will be referred to herein).
In Reference to Claim 1
Osamu teaches:
A dressing member (dresser board 50) for use in dressing grinding stones (21), comprising:
abrasive grits (not shown, abrasive grains, see paragraph 20, line 1); and
a binder (not shown, bonding agent, paragraph 20, line 2) fixing the abrasive grits (see paragraphs 18-20 and Figure 2).
Osamu fails to teach:
The abrasive grits are spherical.
Tani teaches:
A grinding apparatus (polishing pad 10) comprising abrasive grits (abrasive particles 13, silica), wherein the abrasive grits are spherical (see paragraph 20, lines 5-11 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dressing member of Osamu by forming the abrasive grits as spheres as taught by Tani which is a simple substitution of one known element for another which yields predictable results. In this case, the predictable result is an abrasive particle which is spherical and contained within the binder. The spherical abrasive particle is made of silica and can be used for grinding.
In Reference to Claim 2#
Osamu as modified by Tani teaches:
The dressing member according to claim 1, wherein the abrasive grits are silica grits (paragraph 20 of Tani), and
the abrasive grits have a ratio of minor axis to major axis of 0.7 or greater. The grits are spherical and thus have a ratio of 1.0.
In Reference to Claim 4#
Osamu as modified by Tani teaches:
The dressing member according to claim 1, comprising the abrasive grits.
Tani further teaches the abrasive grits have an average grit size of 0.1 µm or greater but 3.5 µm or smaller (range is from 0.01 µm to 10 µm, paragraph 20, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dressing member of Osamu as modified by Tani by sizing the average grit size to be between 0.1 µm and 3.5 µm as taught by Tani for the purpose of allowing the desired number of abrasive grit to be present in the binder and allowing the dressing member to have the desired abrasive ability.
In Reference to Claim 5#
Osamu as modified by Tani teaches:
The dressing member according to claim 1, wherein the binder is a vitrified bond or a resin bond (paragraph 22 of Osamu).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009-142906 to Osamu as modified by JP 2004-31772 to Tani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 0214018 to Amano.
In Reference to Claim 3
Osamu as modified by Tani teaches:
The dressing member according to claim 1, comprising the abrasive grits.
Osamu as modified by Tani fails to teach:
The abrasive grits are contained at a content of 20% wt or higher ut 80% wt or lower.
Amano teaches:
A grinding device (abrasive article 10) comprising abrasive grits (abrasive grains), wherein the content of abrasive grit are contained at a content of 20% wt or higher but 80% wt or lower. Amano teaches the abrasive grain concentration is between 10%to 90%, and more preferably between 60% to 75% (see page 12, lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dressing member of Osamu as modified by Tani by forming the dressing member with the content of abrasive grits between 20% and 80% as taught by Amano for the purpose of tailoring the dressing member to grind the desirable amount using the desired number of abrasive grits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2021/084706 to Hoshi et al teaches a polishing solution which uses spherical silica as an abrasive grain. JP 2019-84590 to Kakefuda teaches a dressing member comprising abrasive grits and a binder.
/JASON G DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745