DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges no foreign priority is claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2023, 3/11/2025, 6/4/2025 and 1/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-7, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates “a method (paragraph 149: methods…can be implemented using computer-executable instructions that are stored or otherwise available from computer readable media) comprising:
triggering, by a computing system (paragraphs 147: compatible with or implemented using a cloud-based computing system; paragraph 148: a process, an apparatus, a system, a composition of matter, a computer program product embodied on a computer-readable storage medium, and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor…a component such as a processor or a memory described as being configured to perform a task may be implemented as a general component that is configured to perform the task at a given time or a specific component that is manufactured to perform the task),
each transmit antenna element of a radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy (Figure 4; paragraph 112: a target can be placed in front of the FMCW radar system 400 at a known range…operating the FMCW radar system 400 to interact with the target at the known range…injecting a known signal into a receiver or connecting the transmitter and receiver through a delay path of a known length; paragraph 113: each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…connect antennas across chips. FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back) according to a first transmit beam pattern (paragraph 61: the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a includes a first antenna 302-1 and a second antenna 302-2 (collectively referred to as the antennas 302)…the first and second antennas 302-1 and 302-2 function according to an applicable antenna in a wireless signaling system in either transmitting and/or receiving wireless signals…the antennas 302 can be multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antennas…the antennas 302 can be configured to perform antenna beamforming…while only two antennas are shown in the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a, the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can include more than two antennas);
generating, by the computing system and based on reflections of the electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the first transmit beam pattern, data representing a collection pattern (paragraph 61: the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a includes a first antenna 302-1 and a second antenna 302-2 (collectively referred to as the antennas 302)…the first and second antennas 302-1 and 302-2 function according to an applicable antenna in a wireless signaling system in either transmitting and/or receiving wireless signals…the antennas 302 can be multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antennas…the antennas 302 can be configured to perform antenna beamforming…while only two antennas are shown in the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a, the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can include more than two antennas)1;
synthesizing, using the data representing the collection pattern, a second transmit beam pattern that differs from the first transmit beam pattern (paragraph 69: while the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a is shown as having a single oscillator synchronizer 306, the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can have more than one oscillator synchronizer…the number of oscillator synchronizers included in the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can scale with the number of antennas and/or oscillators that are included in the multichannel wireless signaling system…the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can include a third antenna, a third oscillator, and a second oscillator synchronizer…the second oscillator synchronizer can synchronize the third oscillator with either the first oscillator 304-1 or the second oscillator 304-2. Specifically, the second oscillator synchronizer can synchronize a time base of the third oscillator with a time base of either the first oscillator 304-1 or the second oscillator 304-2…the third antenna can operate coherently with the antennas 302)2;
estimating a mutual coupling matrix for processing reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the second transmit beam pattern (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P; paragraph 115: an intra-chip channel is selected and measured during operation of the FMCW radar system 400 with respect to the known target…the measured results for the channel include the return from the target and the mutual coupling signal representing the mutual coupling that exists in the channel; paragraph 133: by using the mutual coupling path lengths measured in the offline calibration process, the local oscillator correction factors, as shown in Equation 6, can be calculated…the online calibration process includes selecting an initial inter-chip channel and identifying LO correction factors for the channel…since all intra-chip channels share the same LO, there is no need to iterate over these channels as there are not a plurality of oscillators to synchronize across these channels)3; and
generating, by the computing system and based on the mutual coupling matrix, a model for operating the radar onboard a vehicle, wherein the model enables a vehicle radar system having one or more radars that match the radar to transmit and receive electromagnetic energy according to the first transmit beam pattern and the second transmit beam pattern (paragraph 59: the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can be implemented in a Frequency-Modulated Continuous-Wave (FMCW) radar system…in a radar-based imaging system; paragraph 61: the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a includes a first antenna 302-1 and a second antenna 302-2 (collectively referred to as the antennas 302)…the first and second antennas 302-1 and 302-2 function according to an applicable antenna in a wireless signaling system in either transmitting and/or receiving wireless signals…the antennas 302 can be multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antennas…the antennas 302 can be configured to perform antenna beamforming…while only two antennas are shown in the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a, the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a can include more than two antennas; paragraph 103: the example multichannel wireless signaling system 300a shown in FIG. 3A optionally includes a mutual coupling delay database 308…while the mutual coupling delay database 308 is shown as residing at the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a, the mutual coupling delay database 308 can be implemented remote from the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a…the mutual coupling delay database 308 includes data indicating determined mutual couplings between elements, e.g. antennas 302…the oscillator synchronizer 306 can measure a mutual coupling between the antennas 302 and add an entry into the mutual coupling delay database 308 indicating the measured mutual coupling between the antennas 302…the oscillator synchronizer 306 can synchronize the oscillators 304 based on one or more entries in the mutual coupling delay database 308 that indicate mutual coupling(s) associated with the multichannel wireless signaling system 300a)4.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “estimating the mutual coupling matrix comprises: estimating the mutual coupling matrix based on a reference array response matrix, wherein the reference array response matrix depends on an environment of the radar (paragraph 112: in measuring the mutual coupling path lengths for the channels during the offline calibration process, a target can be placed in front of the FMCW radar system 400 at a known range…the mutual coupling path lengths can then be identified based on the known range of the target and by operating the FMCW radar system 400 to interact with the target at the known range…alternatively, the mutual coupling path lengths can be identified during the offline calibration process through another applicable technique, such as by injecting a known signal into a receiver or connecting the transmitter and receiver through a delay path of a known length; paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P).”
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “receiving, from receive antenna elements of the radar, reflections of the electromagnetic energy transmitted according the first transmit beam pattern, wherein the reflections of the electromagnetic energy transmitted according the first transmit beam pattern reflect off a calibration target located in an environment of the radar prior to arriving at the receive antenna elements of the radar at a first plurality of angles (paragraphs 110: the technique for identifying the correction factors for synchronizing oscillators can take place in two steps…a calibration is performed before the FMCW radar system 400 is actually operated in performing radar operations, e.g. imaging operations…the offline calibration can take place in an applicable environment…the offline calibration can be performed at a factory of the FMCW radar system 400…the offline calibration can take place in an anechoic chamber…the purposes of the offline calibration is to measure the mutual coupling path lengths for channels in the FMCW radar system 400; paragraph 113: paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P; paragraph 114: the offline calibration is performed first using the intra-chip channels and then using the inter-chip channels; paragraph 115:iIn identifying the mutual path lengths in the offline calibration process, the internal delays of the transmit path
and the receive path
of a single chip are identified…an intra-chip channel is selected and measured during operation of the FMCW radar system 400 with respect to the known target…the measured results for the channel include the return from the target and the mutual coupling signal representing the mutual coupling that exists in the channel).”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 3, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 3. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “estimating the mutual coupling matrix for processing reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the second transmit beam pattern comprises: estimating the mutual coupling matrix based on the reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the second transmit beam pattern arriving at the receive antenna elements of the radar at a second plurality of angles (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel …FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P; paragraph 114: the offline calibration is performed first using the intra-chip channels and then using the inter-chip channels; paragraph 133: online calibration can be performed using the mutual coupling path lengths identified during the offline calibration. Specifically, by using the mutual coupling path lengths measured in the offline calibration process, the local oscillator correction factors, as shown in Equation 6, can be calculated…the online calibration process includes selecting an initial inter-chip channel and identifying LO correction factors for the channel…since all intra-chip channels share the same LO, there is no need to iterate over these channels as there are not a plurality of oscillators to synchronize across these channels).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 4, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 4. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “synthesizing, based on the data representing the collection pattern, a third transmit beam pattern that differs from the first transmit beam pattern and the second transmit beam pattern; and estimating a second mutual coupling matrix for processing reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the third transmit beam (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P).”
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 5, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 5. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “estimating the second mutual coupling matrix for processing reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the third transmit beam pattern comprises: estimating the second mutual coupling matrix based on the reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the third transmit beam pattern arriving at the receive antenna elements of the radar at a third plurality of angles, wherein the third plurality of angles differ from the first plurality of angles and the second plurality of angles (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P).”
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the method of claim 6. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “generating the model for operating the radar onboard the vehicle comprises: generating the model based on both the mutual coupling matrix and the second mutual coupling matrix, wherein the model enables the radar to transmit and receive electromagnetic energy according to the first transmit beam pattern, the second transmit beam pattern, and the third transmit beam pattern (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P; paragraph 123: this process can be repeated for other intra-chip channels for the chip to build a matrix of mutual coupling path delays for chip n according to Equation 18:
; paragraph 135-136: Figure 7: to obtain the frequency correction term, the FMCW radar system 400 can be operated normally…FIG. 7 shows a signal received during normal operation of the FMCW radar system 400…the horizontal axis is range and the vertical axis is normalized signal intensity…the peaks to the right are returns from targets located down range…the peak to the left is the signal due to mutual coupling/leakage between antennas…the mutual coupling delay matrix
can be used to identify an initial estimate of the position of the peak corresponding to mutual coupling between antennas…the initial estimate of the mutual coupling peak position can then be refined with a numerical optimization algorithm, peak finding routine, maximum likelihood estimate, or the like; paragraph 136: once the location of the mutual coupling peak is found, the inter-chip oscillator delay term
can be identified according to Equation 25
,
is the range at which the mutual coupling peak is found…the internal delays
and
are known from the internal delay matrix
that was identified previously in the offline calibration…the mutual coupling delay
is known from the mutual coupling delay matrix
measured in the offline calibration step…the frequency offset
between the oscillators in the channel, corresponding to the frequency correction, can be calculated based on the inter-chip oscillator delay term
according to Equation 26
).”
Regarding independent claim 16, which is a corresponding system claim of independent method claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 19, which is dependent on independent claim 16,
Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates the system of claim 16. Lulu et al. (‘205) further anticipates “the computing system is further configured to: synthesize, using the data representing the collection pattern, a plurality of transmit beam patterns that differ from the first transmit beam pattern and the second transmit beam pattern; and estimate a plurality of mutual coupling matrices for processing reflections of electromagnetic energy transmitted according to the plurality of transmit beam patterns (paragraphs 113: in identifying the mutual coupling path lengths in the FMCW radar system 400 a mutual coupling delay matrix
can be identified for each of the N chips in the FMCW radar system 400…in any collection of antennas…there will be mutual coupling between all the antennas…one such mutual coupling path is shown as
in FIG. 4.
is an intra-chip mutual coupling path...an intra-chip mutual coupling path or channel…FIG. 4 also shows an inter-chip path to the target and back, denoted by the line segments
and
…FIG. 4 shows an intra-chip path to the target and back denoted by the line segments
and
…x is used to refer to any of the transmitters on the chip, x∈1, 2, . . . , Q and y is used to refer to any of the receivers on the chip, y∈1, 2, . . . , P)).”
Regarding independent claim 20, which is a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium claim of independent method claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) anticipates all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), and further in view of Ferguson et al. (US 11,507,102 B2).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) discloses the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) does not explicitly disclose “providing the model to the vehicle as an over-the-air update via wireless communication.”
Ferguson et al. (‘102) relates to causing sensor in the vehicle sense information for desired field of view. Ferguson et al. (‘102) teaches “providing the model to the vehicle as an over-the-air update via wireless communication (column 11 lines 45-51: 78) The wireless communication system 608 may be any system configured to wirelessly couple to one or more other vehicles, sensors, or other entities, either directly or via a communication network. To this end, the wireless communication system 608 may include an antenna and a chipset for communicating with the other vehicles, sensors, or other entities either directly or over an air interface).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205) with the teaching of Ferguson et al. (‘102) for more efficient control of radar onboard the vehicle (Ferguson et al. (‘102) – column 1 lines 42-54). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205) and Ferguson et al. (‘102)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating radar in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), in view of Ferguson et al. (US 11,507,102 B2), and further in view of Cattle (US 2019/0324134 A1).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 8, Lulu et al. (‘205)/Ferguson et al. (‘102) discloses the method of claim 8. Lulu et al. (‘205) does not explicitly disclose “providing the data representing the collection pattern along with the model to the vehicle as part of the over-the-air update.”
Ferguson et al. (‘102) relates to causing sensor in the vehicle sense information for desired field of view. Ferguson et al. (‘102) teaches “providing the data representing the collection pattern along with the model to the vehicle as part of the over-the-air update (column 11 lines 45-51: the wireless communication system 608 may be any system configured to wirelessly couple to one or more other vehicles, sensors, or other entities, either directly or via a communication network…the wireless communication system 608 may include an antenna and a chipset for communicating with the other vehicles, sensors, or other entities either directly or over an air interface).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205) with the teaching of Ferguson et al. (‘102) for more efficient control of radar onboard the vehicle (Ferguson et al. (‘102) – column 1 lines 42-54). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205) and Ferguson et al. (‘102)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating radar in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Cattle (‘134) relates to vehicle sensing system. Cattle (‘134) teaches “the combination of the model and the data representing the collection pattern enables each vehicle radar system to synthesize a plurality of transmit beam patterns and estimate mutual coupling matrices corresponding to the plurality of transmit beam patterns for use during navigation by the vehicle (paragraph 185: the frequency-scanned radar imaging system 102 can eliminate these problems and is capable of taking smoother, more accurate cross-range velocity measurements, when compared to current lidar and computer vision systems, by only measuring the areas of interest around the detected edges in the image…this can effectively eliminate needs to perform image registration, dense motion estimation, or stereo matching because there is no need to guess what edges correspond to each other in different image frames…instead, the frequency-scanned radar imaging system 102 can measure this directly by returning to the same search volume quickly enough that the edge cannot leave in a realistic mechanical timescale. In turn, this provides a smooth cross-range motion estimate that is suitable for making vehicle navigation decisions).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205)/Ferguson et al. (‘102) with the teaching of Cattle (‘134) for more efficient vehicle navigation (Cattle (‘134) – paragraph 5). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), Ferguson et al. (‘102) and Cattle (‘134)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating radar in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), and further in view of Everett et a. US 11,506,773 B1).
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) discloses the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) does not explicitly disclose “triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy comprises: triggering a first transmit antenna element to transmit first electromagnetic energy at a first time; triggering a second transmit antenna element to transmit second electromagnetic energy at a second time, wherein the second time is subsequent to the first time; and triggering a third transmit antenna element to transmit third electromagnetic energy at a third time, wherein the third time is subsequent to the second time.”
Everett et a. (‘773) relates to radar system. Everett et a. (‘773) teaches “triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy comprises: triggering a first transmit antenna element to transmit first electromagnetic energy at a first time; triggering a second transmit antenna element to transmit second electromagnetic energy at a second time, wherein the second time is subsequent to the first time; and triggering a third transmit antenna element to transmit third electromagnetic energy at a third time, wherein the third time is subsequent to the second time (claim 1: one or more processors coupled to the two-dimensional array antenna, the one or more processors being configured to: generate a recurring radar waveform having at least a transmit portion, the transmit portion having multiple successive pulses at different frequencies to cause transmit beams to be generated by the two-dimensional array antenna at different angles in the first spatial dimension; control at least one of the plurality of the phase shifters or T/R modules along the second spatial dimension to cause the transmit beams to be generated by the two-dimensional array antenna at different angles in the second spatial dimension).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205) with the teaching of Everett et a. (‘773) for more efficient beam steering (Everett et a. (‘773) – column 2 line 61-column 3 line 23). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205) and Everett et a. (‘773)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating radar in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1)/Everett et a. US 11,506,773 B1), and further in view of Haustein et al. (US 2021/0109145 A1).
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on claim 11, Lulu et al. (‘205)/Everett et a. (‘773) discloses the method of claim 11. Lulu et al. (‘205)/Everett et a. (‘773) does not explicitly disclose “triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy comprises: triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy across a plurality of azimuth angles, wherein the plurality of azimuth angles depend on the first transmit beam pattern.”
Haustein et al. (‘145) relates to multi-beam switching/scanning and an enumeration/identification of beams/beam patterns. Haustein et al. (‘145) teaches “triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy comprises: triggering each transmit antenna element of the radar to individually transmit electromagnetic energy across a plurality of azimuth angles, wherein the plurality of azimuth angles depend on the first transmit beam pattern (paragraph 15: alternatively or in addition to a change of the relative position between measurement environment) and apparatus embodiments relate to measuring the beam patterns over a sphere or e.g. first in cuts along an azimuth or elevation, or according to a 2D grid in azimuth and elevation with a certain number of sampling points in space; paragraph 33: the predefined beam pattern is one of a plurality of predefined beam patterns…the apparatus is controlled so as to sequentially form each of the plurality of beam patterns, wherein the plurality of predefined beam patterns is arranged according to a pattern in the measurement environment…the pattern may be a regular or irregular pattern, a pattern in which the plurality of beams is arranged in an equidistant manner and/or a pattern that covers an azimuth and/or elevation angle range of the apparatus and/or a pattern with one or a superposition of polarization components. By selecting the plurality of predefined beams according to an also predefined pattern in the measurement environment high accuracies may be obtained during the measurement; paragraph 177: the plurality of predefined beam patterns are arranged in an equidistant manner in one or more planes…alternatively or in addition, the pattern may cover at least a specific part of the angles α and/or β, i.e., at least a part of an azimuth and/or elevation angle range of the apparatus 14; paragraph 178: the sensors 161 to 165 may be arranged so as to cover an elevation angle α and/or an azimuth angle β with respect to apparatus 14…measuring the predefined beam pattern may comprise one or more of measuring a total radiated power, measuring an equivalent isotropic related power, measuring a direction of the predefined beam pattern relative to the apparatus 14, measuring of a spherical coverage, for example, along the angles α and β, a covered spherical beam grid density, a specific beam pattern of all activated predefined beam patterns of the set of predefined beam patterns).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205)/Everett et a. (‘773) with the teaching of Haustein et al. (‘145) for more efficient beam forming for sensing (Haustein et al. (‘145) – paragraph 9). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), Everett et a. (‘773) and Haustein et al. (‘145)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating sensor in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), and further in view of Haustein et al. (US 2021/0109145 A1).
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 11, Lulu et al. (‘205) discloses the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) does not explicitly disclose “generating data representing the collection pattern comprises: generating data representing the collection pattern such that the collection pattern is agnostic of lobe and null locations.”
Haustein et al. (‘145) relates to multi-beam switching/scanning and an enumeration/identification of beams/beam patterns. Haustein et al. (‘145) teaches “generating data representing the collection pattern comprises: generating data representing the collection pattern such that the collection pattern is agnostic of lobe and null locations (paragraph 178: measuring the predefined beam pattern may comprise one or more of measuring a total radiated power, measuring an equivalent isotropic related power, measuring a direction of the predefined beam pattern relative to the apparatus 14, measuring of a spherical coverage, for example, along the angles α and β, a covered spherical beam grid density, a specific beam pattern of all activated predefined beam patterns of the set of predefined beam patterns, at least one side lobe of the main beams/predefined beam patterns, a scalability/linearity/hysteresis of beam pattern changes/switching/inflating/deflating, spurious emissions and/or adjacent channel leakage ration, probably with a spatial resolution, a capability and accuracy of null steering and multi-beam steering of the apparatus 14, an accuracy of beam correspondence, i.e., a comparison of the beam that is actually generated when compared to a beam that is expected, and/or a calibration of antenna arrays/panels, and/or the correspondence between Rx and Tx beam…for example, when the pair of Tx/Rx beam patterns may uniquely be identified, identification of one of both may be sufficient.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205) with the teaching of Haustein et al. (‘145) for more efficient beam forming for sensing (Haustein et al. (‘145) – paragraph 9). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), and Haustein et al. (‘145)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, operating sensor in a vehicle to detect surrounding environment.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), and further in view of Andrews, Jr. (US 5,808,580).
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lulu et al. (‘205) discloses the method of claim 1. Lulu et al. (‘205) does not explicitly disclose “applying a range compression filter and a zero Doppler filter on the data representing the collection pattern; estimating transmit calibration parameters based on the data representing the collection pattern after applying the range compression filter and the zero Doppler filter; and calibrating a transmission phase shifter based on the transmit calibration parameters.”
Andrews, Jr. (‘580) relates to radar systemg. Andrews, Jr. (‘580) teaches “applying a range compression filter and a zero Doppler filter on the data representing the collection pattern; estimating transmit calibration parameters based on the data representing the collection pattern after applying the range compression filter and the zero Doppler filter; and calibrating a transmission phase shifter based on the transmit calibration parameters (column 6 lines 6-9: the Doppler Processor 30 would include weighting for clutter process or filter side lobe control, moving target indication, main beam clutter filter and zero Doppler filter, as well as Doppler compensation; column 13 lines 30-38: for many applications using a pulse compression waveform and pulse Doppler processing, it is important to control the range sidelobes of the pulse compression filter and the Doppler sidelobes of the Doppler filters…this is usually done by applying a "window" function to the samples of the received signals in range for the pulse compression matched filter and a "window" function to the samples of the received signals from pulse to pulse for the pulse Doppler processing filters).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lulu et al. (‘205) with the teaching of Andrews, Jr. (‘580) for more efficient radar signal calibration (Andrews, Jr. (‘580) – column 4 lines 15-20). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), and Andrews, Jr. (‘580)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, radar waveform/signal processing.
Regarding claim 15, which is dependent on claim 14, Lulu et al. (‘205) discloses the method of claim 14. Lulu et al. (‘205) further discloses “estimating the mutual coupling matrix comprises: estimating the mutual coupling matrix further based on the transmission phase shifter (paragraph 85: the mutual coupling used by the oscillator synchronizer in synchronizing the first oscillator 304-1 and the second oscillator 304-2 can include one or more of an electromagnetic propagation delay due to an interaction between the antennas, a phase shift introduced by the interaction, an internal delay due to a transmit signal path, an internal delay due to a receive signal path, a difference in trigger times between the first oscillator 304-1 and the second oscillator 304-2, a difference in start frequencies between the first oscillator 304-1 and the second oscillator 304-2, and a difference in initial phases between the first oscillator and the second oscillator; paragraph 89: the phase shift introduced by the mutual coupling
in radians, which is obtained e.g. from the measured or simulated S-parameters; paragraph 90: the internal delays of the transmit signal path
; paragraph 145: at step 902, a first mutual coupling signal representing an interaction between a first antenna and a second antenna of a plurality of antennas is identified…the first antenna can be coupled to the first oscillator and ultimately affected by the output of the first oscillator…the second antenna can be coupled to the second oscillator and ultimately affected by the output of the second oscillator…the mutual coupling signal can represent one or more of an electromagnetic propagation delay due to the interaction, a phase shift introduced by the interaction, an internal delay due to a transmit signal path, an internal delay due to a receive signal path, a difference in trigger times between the first oscillator and the second oscillator, a difference in start frequencies between the first oscillator and the second oscillator, and a difference in initial phases between the first oscillator and the second oscillator).”
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lulu et al. (US 2023/0336205 A1), in view of Andrews, Jr. (US 5,808,580), and further in view of Kinamon et al. (US 9,608,709 B1).
Regarding claim 17, which is dependent on claim 16, Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) discloses the system on claim 16. Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) does not explicitly discloses “estimate a transport delay corresponding to the second transmit beam pattern; and perform, using the transport delay, waveform matching to determine a difference between the second transmit beam pattern and a corresponding freespace beam pattern.”
Kinamon et al. (‘709) relates to beamforming. Kinamon et al. (‘709) teaches “estimate a transport delay corresponding to the second transmit beam pattern; and perform, using the transport delay, waveform matching to determine a difference between the second transmit beam pattern and a corresponding freespace beam pattern (column 41 line 42-column 42 line 3: One embodiment is a wireless communication system operative to dynamically synthesize antenna radiation patterns, comprising: a plurality of directional antennas 9AN1-9AN8 each having an associated radiation pattern 9RP1-9RP8 respectively that at least partially overlaps with at least one of the other radiation patterns, wherein each of said directional antennas is placed in a unique spatial position relative to the other directional antennas; a first radio-frequency transmitter 7T operative to output a first radio-frequency signal; a bank 6D of plurality of radio-frequency delay components 6D1-6D5, each operative to delay a radio-frequency signal by a predetermined phase; and a configurable radio-frequency switching fabric 6S operative to split and direct said first radio-frequency signal into combinations of said directional antennas via combinations of said plurality of radio-frequency delay components; wherein the wireless communication system is operative to: (i) select, out of the plurality of directional antennas, any sequence of between two and four of said directional antennas, (ii) match, for each said directional antennas selected, a specific one of said plurality of radio-frequency delay components such as to achieve phase coherency, and (iii) split and direct said first radio-frequency signal into said directional antennas selected via said radio-frequency delay components matched, thereby (iv) generate an enhanced transmission radiation pattern having an enhanced gain and pointing toward a resulting direction, while maintaining phase coherency between said directional antenna selects toward said resulting direction, as a result of said matching; Column 43 lines 11-36: (219) FIG. 38 illustrates one embodiment of a method for dynamically synthesizing antenna radiation patterns. In step 1431: selecting, by a wireless communication system 8SYS, out of a plurality of directional antennas 9AN1-9AN8 each having an associated radiation pattern 9RP1-9RP8 respectively that points to a unique direction and that partially overlaps with at least one of the other radiation patterns, a sequence of at least two successive ones 9AN1, 9AN2, 9AN3 of the directional antennas, according to a direction requirement, such that radiation patterns 9RP1, 9RP2, 9RP3 respectively associated with the at least two directional antennas selected have substantial components 9EN-12, 9EN-22, 9EN-32 respectively, which are aligned with a direction 9DR-REQ associated with the direction requirement. In step 1432: matching, by the wireless communication system, for at least one of the directional antennas selected, a radio-frequency delay component 6D1, 6D2, 6D3 according to the direction requirement. In step 1433: generating, by the wireless communication system, an enhanced radiation pattern 9RP123 having an enhanced gain relative to the radiation patterns 9RP1, 9RP2, 9RP3, and substantially aligned 9DR123 with the direction 9DR-REQ associated with the direction requirement, by combining the at least two of the directional antennas 9AN1, 9AN2, 9AN3 via the radio-frequency delay components 6D1, 6D2, 6D3, thereby achieving phase coherency among the at least two of the directional antennas in association with the direction requirement).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) with the teaching of Kinamon et al. (‘709) for more efficient beamforming for sensing (Kinamon et al. (‘709) – column 2 lines 6-18). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), Andrews, Jr. (‘580) and Kinamon et al. (‘709)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, beamforming for wireless sensing.
Regarding claim 18, which is dependent on claim 17, Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) discloses the system on claim 17. Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) does not explicitly discloses “the computing system is further configured to: estimate the mutual coupling matrix further based on the difference.”
Kinamon et al. (‘709) relates to beamforming. Kinamon et al. (‘709) teaches “the computing system is further configured to: estimate the mutual coupling matrix further based on the difference (column 1 line 55-column 2 lline 18: (4) One embodiment is a wireless communication system operative to dynamically synthesize antenna radiation patterns, which includes: (i) a plurality of directional antennas each placed in a unique spatial position and each having an associated radiation pattern that at least partially overlap with at least one of the other radiation patterns, wherein the wireless communication system is configured to select, out of the plurality of directional antennas, any sequence of between two and four successive ones of the directional antennas, (ii) a first radio-frequency transmitter operative to output a first radio-frequency signal, (iii) a bank of radio-frequency delay components, each operative to delay the first radio-frequency signal by a predetermined phase, and (iv) a configurable radio-frequency switching fabric coupled to said bank of radio-frequency delay components and operative to split and direct said first radio-frequency signal into combinations of said directional antennas via combinations of said plurality of radio-frequency delay components…the wireless communication system is further configured to match, for each of the directional antennas selected, a specific one of the plurality of radio-frequency delay components such as to achieve phase coherency; and the configurable radio-frequency switching fabric is configured to split and direct the first radio-frequency signal into the directional antenna selected, respectively via the radio-frequency delay components matched, and consequently configured to generate an enhanced transmission radiation pattern having an enhanced gain and directed in a resulting direction, while maintaining, toward the resulting direction, phase coherency among the directional antenna selected, as a result of the matching).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lulu et al. (‘205)/Andrews, Jr. (‘580) with the teaching of Kinamon et al. (‘709) for more efficient beamforming for sensing (Kinamon et al. (‘709) – column 2 lines 6-18). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Lulu et al. (‘205), Andrews, Jr. (‘580) and Kinamon et al. (‘709)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, beamforming for wireless sensing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable subject matter:
“performing a manifold matching process to model a freespace array response for a mainlobe of the second transmit beam pattern; determining a difference between the freespace array response and a synthesized array response for the mainlobe of the second transmit beam pattern; calculating a correction based on the difference; and wherein estimating the mutual coupling matrix comprises: estimating the mutual coupling matrix based on the correction.”
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(JP 2020500781 A) [English Translation] describes that at least three sensor channels are required to create two separate baselines…with sensors A, B, C, three baselines, AB, AC, BC, can be created to determine a definite angle of arrival. When using standard FMCW equipment and techniques, little additional processing is required for each baseline because the data is already available from standard FMCW FFT calculations…this reduces the number of receiving sensors to three, but can still achieve a resolution of 1.0 × 1.0 ° or higher…reducing the computational load from the 192Mbaseline process to two and using the data already created from the FMCW calculations…adding a fourth antenna to create a 3-baseline interferometer often further reduces ambiguity-related errors and uncertainties…the relative phase pair range data from each of the three or four received data sets can be used to determine the angle of arrival of elevation of the target reflections in the transmitted beam…using at least three collinear sensors, three unequal-spaced baselines can be created by applying the phase data at each distance point to the angle-of-arrival equation of a three-antenna interferometer to calculate a well-defined AOA…the calculated definite angle of arrival is used to determine the elevation angle of the receiving sensor relative to the baseline, and is assumed to be constrained within the transmit fan beam at a particular azimuth position…phase data can be decimated by rejecting all phase data associated with amplitudes below a threshold representing the noise floor of the receive channel…the elevation angle of only valid objects is calculated, so that the processing load on the digital circuit is further reduced (page 5).
Slemp (US 2021/0026004 A1) relates generally to radar systems and methods including Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) radar techniques and Angle of Arrival interferometry processing techniques for use in three dimensional imaging radar systems in general, and more specifically those used in vehicles as sensors for machine environmental awareness (paragraph 1); using a radar assembly to sense an environment…the radar system can include an antenna assembly secured for 360-degree rotation, the antenna assembly having mounted thereon at least one transmit antenna, and a first set of three or more separate fixed receive antennas, with the antenna assembly having a greater width than height so as to create a fan beam…the antenna assembly is rotated to a first azimuth position, and then an FMCW waveform is transmitted within the fan beam, and reflections are received from targets in the environment while in the first azimuth position…based on the received reflections, data is processed and stored…these steps are repeated for all other azimuths until an azimuth sweep has been completed…at that time, a full environmental data set is compiled for the environment, where the data set comprises azimuth data, range data, elevation data and RCS data…the data set is gathered and delivered to a controller for analysis (paragraph 18).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648
1 the MIMO pattern is such a ‘collection’ pattern merging the beamforms of each Tx-channel.
2 MIMO and its respective beamforming.
3 Mutual coupling delay matrix
…calibration of intra-chip and inter-chip is MIMO, i.e. of the 2nd Tx pattern.
4 after the calibration the mutual coupling/delay corrections are determined and used for further radar MIMO beamforming/sync.