DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 13-15 in the reply filed on July 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 5, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein for which copies have not been provided has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 714f in Figure 7C. See specification objections section for recommended change to address the drawing objection.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 28, paragraph 79, line 7: After 722f, add a comma and “which itself includes a conductive tip portion 714f,”. This addresses the drawing objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: This claim requires “a through substrate via (TSV) structure disposed in an opening extending at least partially through the bulk portion from the front side to the back side….” This language encompasses a TSV that is partially through the bulk portion from the front side to the back side, and a TSV that is fully through the bulk portion from the front side to the back side. While the interpretation “a TSV that is fully through the bulk portion from the front side to the back side” makes sense, “a TSV that is partially through the bulk portion from the front side to the back side” does not make sense because if the TSV is only partially through the bulk portion then the TSV does not extend to the back side. Because the language is confusing, claim 1 is rejected as indefinite.
Claims 2-5, 7, 8, and 13-15 are rejected for depending from rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 1: This claim is rejected on two bases. First, claim 1 defines “a through substrate via (TSV) structure disposed in an opening extending at least partially through the bulk portion….” Claim 13 then requires: “wherein the first element comprises a plurality of TSV structures….” A question arises as to the relationship between the claim 1 TSV and the claim 13 plurality of TSVs—is the claim 1 TSV a part of the claim 13 plurality of TSVs or is the claim 1 TSV separate from the claim 13 TSVs. Because claim 13 is unclear on this point, claim 13 is rejected as indefinite.
Second, claim 13 requires “wherein a thickness of a conductive tip portion of one TSV structure of the plurality is different from a thickness of a conductive tip portion of another TSV structure of the plurality by more than 1%.” This language is unclear as to what the 1% is of—the larger or the smaller of the thicknesses? Also, because there is no upper limit on the claim, the claim is indefinite.1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vanalli, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0032834, Figures 1-9.
Regarding claim 1: Vanalli Figures 1-9 discloses a microelectronic structure comprising: a first element (100) comprising a bulk portion having a front side (S1) and a back side (S2) opposite the front side (S1); and a through substrate via (TSV) structure (115, 125, portion of 120 between 115 and 125) disposed in an opening (105) extending at least partially through the bulk portion from the front side (S1) to the back side (S2), the TSV structure (115, 125, portion of 120 between 115 and 125) comprising: a conductive tip portion (115) and a second conductive via portion (125), the second conductive via portion (125) disposed between the front side (S1) and the conductive tip portion (115), the conductive tip portion (115) containing a different conductive material than the second conductive via portion (125). Vanalli specification ¶¶ 24-39.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1: Vanalli discloses a barrier layer (120) disposed along at least a portion of an interface between the TSV structure (115, 125, portion of 120 between 115 and 125) and bulk portion (100). Id. ¶¶ 29, 30, 33.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haba, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0175654, Figures 10-16.
Regarding claim 1: Haba Figures 10-16 disclose a microelectronic structure (200) comprising: a first element (201) comprising a bulk portion (201) having a front side (202) and a back side (203) opposite the front side (202); and a through substrate via (TSV) structure (212, 214) disposed in an opening (204) extending at least partially through the bulk portion (201) from the front side (202) to the back side (203), the TSV structure (212, 214) comprising: a conductive tip portion (212) and a second conductive via portion (214), the second conductive via portion (214) disposed between the front side (202) and the conductive tip portion (212), the conductive tip portion (212) containing a different conductive material than the second conductive via portion (214). Haba specification ¶¶ 29-32.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1: Haba discloses the conductive tip portion (212) comprises nickel, id. ¶ 29, which applicants’ disclosure indicates is a material less susceptible than copper to smearing during chemical mechanical polishing (CMP).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 3: Haba discloses the second conductive via portion (214) is predominantly copper. Id.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4: Haba discloses the conductive tip portion comprises nickel. Id.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: Haba discloses a dielectric layer (solder mask (216)) disposed on the back side of the bulk portion (201), wherein the conductive tip portion (212) is recessed relative to the dielectric layer (solder mask (216)). Haba specification ¶ 32.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0119547, Figures 1A-1M.
Regarding claim 1: Kim Figures 1A-1M disclose a microelectronic structure (10) comprising: a first element (102) comprising a bulk portion (102) having a front side (upper side of figures) and a back side (lower side of figures) opposite the front side; and a through substrate via (TSV) structure (158) disposed in an opening (130) extending at least partially through the bulk portion (102) from the front side to the back side, the TSV structure (158) comprising: a conductive tip portion (144P) and a second conductive via portion (154P), the second conductive via portion (154P) disposed between the front side (upper side of figures) and the conductive tip portion (144P), the conductive tip portion (144P) containing a different conductive material than the second conductive via portion. Kim specification ¶¶ 45-92.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1: Kim discloses a barrier layer (142) and/or a seed layer (144A) disposed along at least a portion of an interface between the TSV structure (158) and bulk portion (102). Id. ¶¶ 56-59, 70.
Claims 1, 2, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fountain, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0246497, Figures 4A-4H.
Regarding claim 1: Fountain Figures 4A-4H disclose a microelectronic structure comprising: a first element (404/416) comprising a bulk portion (404/416) having a front side (406) and a back side (408) opposite the front side (406); and a through substrate via (TSV) structure (410) disposed in an opening (unnumbered) extending at least partially through the bulk portion (404/416) from the front side (406) to the back side (408), the TSV structure (410) comprising: a conductive tip portion (424) and a second conductive via portion (402), the second conductive via portion (402) disposed between the front side (406) and the conductive tip portion (424), the conductive tip portion (424) containing a different conductive material than the second conductive via portion (402). Fountain specification ¶¶ 27-36.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Fountain discloses the back side (408) of the first element (404/416) is prepared for hybrid bonding. Id. ¶¶ 31, 35, 38, 52.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 1: Fountain discloses the first element (404/416) comprises a plurality of TSV structures (410), wherein a thickness of a conductive tip portion (424) of one TSV structure (410) of the plurality is different from a thickness of a conductive tip portion (424) of another TSV structure (410) of the plurality by more than 1%. See id. ¶¶ 28 (describing process by which TSV thicknesses can differ), 29-35. See also Fountain Figure 4G.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1: Fountain discloses a barrier layer (413) and/or a seed layer (disclosed, Fountain specification ¶¶ 27, 31, but not shown) disposed along at least a portion of an interface between the TSV structure (410) and bulk portion (404/416). Id. ¶¶ 27, 31.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 1: Fountain discloses a second element hybrid bonded to the back side of the first element. Id. ¶¶ 35, 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haba, and further in view of Kwon, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2007/0284729.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 4: Haba discloses that its conductive tip portion comprises nickel, but is silent as to whether the conductive tip portion comprises indium.
Kwon, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a conductive top portion (170) that comprises indium. Kwon specification ¶ 70. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Haba to use the Kwon material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haba, and further in view of Uzoh, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0159249.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: To the extent that a solder mask is not necessarily considered to be a dielectric layer, Uzoh, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a solder mask material that can be a photoimageable polymeric material, which is an example of a dielectric material. Uzoh specification ¶ 47. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Haba to use the Uzoh material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
1 For the record, the Office considered a Section 112(a) scope of enablement rejection based on the absence of an upper limit on the “more than 1%” requirement. However, there is implicitly an upper limit—100%. Therefore, a Section 112(a) scope of enablement rejection was not made.