Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 indicates Formula II in the claim however, no Formula II is present in Claim 6. Dependent claims are included in this 112 2nd Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, “Development of a Highly Selective Ni(II) Chelator in Aqueous Solution,” Inorganic Chemistry, 2022, 61, pp.19492-19501. This reference is referred to as Gupta in the prior art rejection below.
Regarding Claims 1-5, Gupta discloses a chelator comprising: a compound having formula I or a salt thereof for removing transition metal ions and/or lanthanide metal ions from a solution, wherein X1 is N or P and n is 1 or 2 (See Gupta Figure 1; SG-20).
Regarding Claim 2, Gupta discloses the chelator of claim 1, wherein X1 is N (See Gupta Figure 1 SG-20).
Regarding Claim 3, Gupta discloses the chelator of claim 1, wherein the salt is a sodium salt or a potassium salt (See Gupta Figure 1 SG-20).
Regarding Claim 4, Gupta discloses the chelator of claim 1, wherein n is 1 (See Gupta Figure 1 SG-20).
Regarding Claim 5, Gupta discloses the chelator of claim 1 having formula II or a salt thereof (See Gupta Figure 1 SG-20):
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, “Semi-Synthetic Proteins as Metal Ion Capture Agents: Catch and Release of Ni(II) and Cu(II) with Myoglobin Bioconjugates, ACS Sustainable Chem. Eng. 2023, 11, 11305−11312. This prior art rejection is referred to as Gupta2 in the below prior rejection.
Regarding Claim 6, Gupta2 discloses the protein-chelator system for removing transition metal ions and/or lanthanide metal ions from a solution, the protein-chelator system comprising: a chelating moiety having formula I or II or salts thereof conjugated to a protein having at least lysine residue on a surface of the protein, wherein the chelating moiety is conjugated through an amide bond formed from a nitrogen atom in the at least one lysine residue and a carboxylate moiety in the chelating moiety having formula I or III: wherein X1 is N or P; and n is 1 or 2 (See Gupta2 Figure 1 SG-20 and Page 11307 Right Column amide bonds and SG-20 and myoglobin).
Regarding Claim 7, Gupta2 discloses the protein-chelator system of claim 6, wherein the protein includes a plurality of lysine residues (See Gupta2 Figure 1 SG-20 and Page 11307 Right Column amide bonds and SG-20 and myoglobin).
Regarding Claim 8, Gupta discloses the protein-chelator system of claim 6, wherein the protein includes at least 3 lysine residues (See Gupta2 Figure 1 SG-20 and Page 11307 Right Column amide bonds and SG-20 and myoglobin & Abstract - Myoglobin and Page 11305 Right Column 10 lysine residues).
Regarding Claim 9, Gupta2 discloses the protein-chelator system of claim 6, wherein the protein includes at least 5 lysine residues (See Gupta2 Abstract - Myoglobin and Page 11305 Right Column 10 lysine residues).
Regarding Claim 10, Gupta2 discloses the protein-chelator system of claim 6, wherein the protein is myoglobin (See Gupta2; Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Semi-Synthetic Proteins as Metal Ion Capture Agents: Catch and Release of Ni(II) and Cu(II) with Myoglobin Bioconjugates, ACS Sustainable Chem. Eng. 2023, 11, 11305−11312 (This prior art rejection is referred to as Gupta2 in the below prior rejection) in view of WO90/14881 (This reference is referred to as Akzo in the prior art rejection below) and in further view of, “Protein modification by thiolactone homocysteine chemistry: a multifunctionalized human serum albumin theranostic,” RSC Med Chem. 2020 Apr 2;11(11):1314–1325 (This reference is referred to as Popova in the prior art rejection below).
Regarding Claim 11, Gupta2 discloses the protein-chelator system of claim 6, except wherein the protein is an albumin. Akzo discloses the protein-chelator system wherein the protein albumin is used in a protein-chelator system (See Page 1 lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the time the invention was effectively filed to try or include albumin from Akzo into the protein-chelator system of Gupta2 because according to Popova, the albumin protein contains up to at least 59 lysine residues as potential modification sites that may be able to undergo amide coupling, and like myoglobin, would make it an attractive candidate for bioconjugation because of the number of lysine residues and its relative half life of 19 days (See Popova Introduction).
Conclusion
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779