DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on November 21, 2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-30 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujinaka (US 9,082,354).
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Fujinaka discloses in figures 2 and 4A an apparatus and a method thereof, comprising: one or more circuits (101-103, 106, 108, e.g., formed as one or more circuits of a display device thereof), the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, configured to: receive temperature readings (figure 2 shows a plurality of temperature sensors 105 for receiving or sensing temperatures thereof) from each of a plurality of temperature sensors (105, e.g., temperature sensors) of the apparatus (see figure 2), wherein each temperature sensor is associated with one of a plurality of thermal aggressor devices (figure 4A and paragraph 0069 shows block 1 to block 9 each including a light source or LED formed as a plurality of thermal aggressor devices for generating heat thereof) of the apparatus; output one or more first temperature readings of a first temperature sensor (figure 4A shows a first temperature or a temperature difference of 26 degrees C is a first greatest thermal transient value thereof) of the plurality of temperature sensors having a greatest thermal transient value among the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A); and perform frequency error correction for the apparatus based on the one or more first temperature readings (paragraph 0150, e.g., such that the frequency may also be used for correcting the brightness measured value based on the temperature measured value thereof or figure 5 also shows an implementation frequency determination unit 502 for performing the frequency correcting function thereof).
With respect to claims 2 and 18, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: determine a thermal transient value of each of the plurality of temperature sensors based on one or more thermal characteristics of each of the plurality of temperature sensors (figure 4A shows each block having a temperature sensor and a temperature thereof); and determine that the first temperature sensor has the greatest thermal transient value based on the one or more thermal characteristics of the first temperature sensor (see figure 4A and paragraphs 0095 and 0105).
With respect to claims 3 and 19, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, are configured to determine the one or more thermal characteristics of each of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices based on the temperature readings from each of the plurality of temperature sensors (see figure 4A).
With respect to claims 4 and 20, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, are further configured to determine the one or more thermal characteristics of each of the plurality of temperature sensors (see figure 2).
With respect to claims 5 and 21, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more thermal characteristics comprise: a temperature, a thermal slope, a thermal acceleration, or any combination thereof (figure 2 shows the temperature sensors 105 for measuring the temperatures thereof).
With respect to claims 6 and 22, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more thermal characteristics comprise: a first thermal characteristic (having a first greatest temperature difference 26C in block 3 thereof), and one or more derivatives of the first thermal characteristic (see figure 4A).
With respect to claims 7 and 23, Fujinaka discloses that wherein, based on at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices having a same value of the first thermal characteristic (having block 4 and block 6 having the same value thereof), a thermal aggressor device of the at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (having two greatest thermal values in block 1 and block 3) having a greater value of the one or more derivatives is determined to be a greater thermal aggressor device of the at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A).
With respect to claims 8 and 24, Fujinaka discloses that wherein, based on at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices having a same value of the first thermal characteristic (having block 4 and block 6 having the same value thereof) and a first derivative of the first thermal characteristic, a thermal aggressor device of the at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices having a greater value (having two greatest thermal values in block 1 and block 3) of a second derivative of the first thermal characteristic is determined to be a greater thermal aggressor device of the at least two of the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A).
With respect to claims 9 and 25, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the first characteristic is thermal slope (see figure 4B, e..g., having a thermal slope thereof).
With respect to claims 10 and 26, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: iterate over the temperature readings from each of the plurality of temperature sensors until the first temperature sensor having the greatest thermal transient value among the plurality of thermal aggressor devices is determined.
With respect to claims 11 and 27, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive second temperature readings from each of the plurality of temperature sensors (figure 2 also shows a second temperature readings by the sensors 105 thereof); output one or more second temperature readings of a second temperature sensor (block 1 shows a temperature sensor thereof) of the plurality of temperature sensors having a greatest thermal transient value among the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A); and perform frequency error correction for the apparatus based on the one or more second temperature readings (paragraph 0150, e.g., such that the frequency may also be used for correcting the brightness measured value based on the temperature measured value thereof or figure 5 also shows an implementation frequency determination unit 502 for performing the frequency correcting function thereof).
With respect to claims 12 and 28, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the plurality of thermal aggressor devices comprises a plurality of devices (LEDs) that cause frequency drift to a clock circuit of the apparatus (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 13, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the plurality of thermal aggressor devices comprises a plurality of devices that impact global navigation satellite system (GNSS) performance (figure 1 shows a display device having a wireless communication thereof).
With respect to claim 14, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the plurality of thermal aggressor devices comprises: one or more application processors (106, 102), one or more power amplifiers, one or more baseband processing units, one or more cameras, one or more display units (103), or any combination thereof (see figures 1-2).
With respect to claim 15, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the one or more circuits comprise: a clock circuit, a power and clock management circuit, a clock manager circuit, or any combination thereof (see figures 1-2).
With respect to claim 16, Fujinaka discloses that wherein the apparatus comprises a handheld wireless device or a circuit board within the handheld wireless device (figures 1-2, e.g., a display device).
With respect to claim 29, Fujinaka discloses in figures 2 and 4A an apparatus, comprising: means for receiving temperature readings (106, e.g., a CPU for receiving temperature information from temperature sensors 105) from each of a plurality of temperature sensors (105, e.g., temperature sensors) of the apparatus, wherein each temperature sensor is associated with one of a plurality of thermal aggressor devices (figure 4A and paragraph 0069 shows block 1 to block 9 each including a light source or LED formed as a plurality of thermal aggressor devices for generating heat thereof) of the apparatus; means for outputting one or more first temperature readings of a first temperature sensor (figure 4A shows a first temperature or a temperature difference of 26 degrees C is a first greatest thermal transient value thereof) of the plurality of temperature sensors having a greatest thermal transient value among the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A); and means for performing frequency error correction for the apparatus based on the one or more first temperature readings (paragraph 0150, e.g., such that the frequency may also be used for correcting the brightness measured value based on the temperature measured value thereof or figure 5 also shows an implementation frequency determination unit 502 for performing the frequency correcting function thereof).
With respect to claim 30, Fujinaka discloses in figures 2 and 4A a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by an apparatus (figure 2 shows an CPU 106 for executing data thereof), cause the apparatus to: receive temperature readings (106, e.g., a CPU for receiving temperature information from temperature sensors 105) from each of a plurality of temperature sensors (105, e.g., temperature sensors) of the apparatus, wherein each temperature sensor is associated with one of a plurality of thermal aggressor devices (figure 4A and paragraph 0069 shows block 1 to block 9 each including a light source or LED formed as a plurality of thermal aggressor devices for generating heat thereof) of the apparatus; output one or more first temperature readings of a first temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors having a greatest thermal transient value among the plurality of thermal aggressor devices (see figure 4A); and perform frequency error correction for the apparatus based on the one or more first temperature readings (paragraph 0150, e.g., such that the frequency may also be used for correcting the brightness measured value based on the temperature measured value thereof or figure 5 also shows an implementation frequency determination unit 502 for performing the frequency correcting function thereof).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art Vadakkanmaruveedu et al. – US 2014/0245032 (see figure 3A, e.g., thermal sensors 157A-B and thermal aggressors 103, 168, 222, 224, 226, 135A-D)
Prior art Takayanagi et al. – US 2010/0213919 (see figure 1, e.g., thermal sensors 16A-D)
/TUNG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 April 25, 2026