This office action is in response to the election filed on 05/08/2026. Group II, claims 10-20 have been elected without traverse. Currently, claims 10-20 are pending, and claims 1-9 have been withdrawn from further consideration.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0274684 A1) in view of Zhu (Pub. No. US 2019/0279980 A1).
Regarding claim 10 or 16, Shao discloses a memory system ([0003]), comprising: a semiconductor device configured to store data, and comprising: at least one vertical pillar 32 ([0097]), the at least one vertical pillar has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (Fig. 29); at least one gate line 100 (Fig. 28 and [0111]) on a gate dielectric layer 101 ([0108]) formed on sidewalls of the at least one vertical pillar; a first p-type region 321 ([0098]) at the first end of the at least one vertical pillar; a storage unit 150 ([0120]) connects with the first p-type region; a second p-type region 323 ([0098]) at the second end of the at least one vertical pillar; and a bit line 80 ([0103]) in connection with the second p-type region at the second end of the at least one vertical pillar (Figs. 29-30); and a memory controller coupled to the semiconductor device and configured to control the semiconductor device through the at least one gate line and the bit line ([0003], [0037]-[0038]).
Shao does not specifically show the second p-type region comprises at least p-type silicon germanium (SiGe).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: at least one vertical pillar, the at least one vertical pillar has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (Figs. 27, 33); a gate dielectric layer 1015 ([0074]) formed on sidewalls of the at least one vertical pillar; a first p-type region 1005p ([0049]) at the first end of the at least one vertical pillar; a storage unit 1101/1203 ([0086]) connects with the first p-type region; a second p-type region 1031p ([0089]) at the second end of the at least one vertical pillar, the second p-type region comprises at least p-type silicon germanium (SiGe) that has a greater lattice constant than Si, creates etch selectivity ([0045]) and enhances carrier mobility.
Therefore, given the teachings of Zhu, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Shao in view of Zhu by employing the SiGe p-type region.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Shao in view of Zhu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the first p-type region has a dopant concentration higher than 1019 atoms/cm3 (Zhu: [0098]).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Shao in view of Zhu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the second p-type region has a dopant concentration higher than 1019 atoms/cm3 (Zhu: [0098]).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Shao in view of Zhu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the gate line and the bit line are formed so that they are perpendicular to each other (Shao: Fig. 29 and [0005], [0085]).
Regarding claim 14, Shao in view of Zhu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the gate line is encapsulated by an oxide layer (Shao: [0094]; The use of oxide as an isolation or a protective layer is well-known in the art.).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Shao in view of Zhu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the storage unit is a capacitor (Shao: [0120]).
Conclusion
June 24, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813