DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office action based on the 18516314 application filed 07/14/23
The Amendment filed 01/28/26 has been entered and fully considered
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,20,21,22 are pending, of which claim(s) 6,7,9,15 were amended; The amendments of claim(s) 6,7,9,15 are supported by the originally filed disclosure; The new claim(s) 21,22 is supported by the originally filed disclosure
Claim(s) 7,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,20,21,22, non-elected/withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species B in the reply filed on 1/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"ventilation system" in claim 1 drawn to instant specification para 23 "a ventilation system of a mobile atmosphere, such as a spacesuit or a cabin of a vehicle configured to operate in a space environment";
"a system" capable of "a regeneration" in claim 1 drawn to instant specification para 9 "In the regeneration mode, the liquid sorbent loop discharges the liquid sorbent to a system external to the mobile atmosphere, such as a liquid sorbent storage system or a liquid sorbent regeneration system".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 has the phrase, “a system,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language;
Particularly, capable of "a regeneration" unclear with the system has the function of regeneration, since does not positively recite whether the system has the funciton of regeneration? "In the regeneration mode, the liquid sorbent loop discharges the liquid sorbent to a system external to the mobile atmosphere, such as a liquid sorbent storage system or a liquid sorbent regeneration system" para 9 of ispec
Claim 1 limitation “a system” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim language is unclear whether the system has the function of regeneration, since the claim at least implies that the system has the function of regeneration, but does not positively recite whether the system has the function of regeneration. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim(s) 3 has the phrase, “wherein the liquid sorbent received by the mobile atmosphere has a lower concentration of the one or more contaminants than the liquid sorbent discharged from the mobile atmosphere,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language;
Particularly, the mobile atmosphere receiving liquid sorbent conflicts with instant claim 1 "wherein the at least one scrubber is configured to: receive a spent air stream from a ventilation system of the mobile atmosphere; absorb one or more contaminants from the spent air stream into a liquid sorbent"
Though one or more of the claim(s) are indefinite, for the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner has done his best to ascertain their meaning for the following Double Patenting, 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103 rejection(s)
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11628397 (herein known as HENSON397). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With regard to claim 1, HENSON397 sufficiently claims a "spacesuit" (mobile) contaminant removal system, comprising:, especially at claim 1
a contaminant sorption system of a mobile atmosphere,, especially at claim 1
wherein the contaminant sorption system comprises:, especially at claim 1
at least one scrubber comprising a membrane separator,, especially at claim 1
wherein the at least one scrubber is configured to:, especially at claim 1
receive a spent air stream from a ventilation system of the mobile atmosphere;, especially at claim 1
absorb one or more contaminants from the spent air stream into a liquid sorbent; and, especially at claim 1
discharge a clean air stream to the ventilation system;, especially at claim 1
a liquid sorbent "circuit configured to circulate" (loop) , especially at claim 1
in an absorption mode, circulate the liquid sorbent through the at least one scrubber in a closed loop; and, especially at claim 1
in a regeneration mode, discharge the liquid sorbent to a system external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at claim 1
With regard to claim 2, HENSON397 sufficiently claims
wherein the liquid sorbent loop is configured to, in the regeneration mode, receive liquid sorbent from the system external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at claim 1
With regard to claim 6, HENSON397 sufficiently claims
wherein the mobile atmosphere includes a spacesuit configured to operate in a space environment, especially at claim 1
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11628397 (herein known as HENSON397) in view of 20180243682 (herein known as ISOBE).
With regard to claim 5, HENSON397 does not specifically claim wherein the liquid sorbent storage system is located on a vehicle external to the mobile atmosphere
But, ISOBE sufficiently teaches wherein the liquid sorbent storage system is located on a "spacecraft" (vehicle) external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide HENSON397 with wherein the liquid sorbent storage system is located on a "spacecraft" (vehicle) external to the mobile atmosphere of ISOBE for the benefit of excess capacity as determined as needed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 20180243682 (herein known as ISOBE)
With regard to claim 1, ISOBE sufficiently teaches a "spacecraft" (mobile) contaminant removal system, comprising:, especially at para 27,28 figs 1,2
a contaminant sorption system of a mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30 figs 1,2
wherein the contaminant sorption system comprises:, especially at para 4,27,28,30 figs 1,2
at least one scrubber 202 comprising a membrane separator, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50 figs 1,2
wherein the at least one scrubber is configured to:, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50 figs 1,2
receive a spent air stream from a "spacecraft" (structural equivalent of ventilation system) of the mobile atmosphere via 210, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50 figs 1,2
absorb one or more contaminants from the spent air stream into a liquid sorbent; and, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52 figs 1,2
discharge a clean air stream to the ventilation system via 203, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54 figs 1,2
a liquid sorbent loop (among 202 and 208) capable of:, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,58 figs 1,2
in an absorption mode, circulate via 212 the liquid sorbent through the at least one scrubber in a closed loop, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,58 figs 1,2
in a regeneration mode, discharge the liquid sorbent to a system (208 or 205, a structural equivalent) external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
With regard to claim 2, ISOBE sufficiently teaches
wherein the liquid sorbent loop (among 212 and 202) is capable of, in the regeneration mode, receive liquid sorbent from the system external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
With regard to claim 3, ISOBE sufficiently teaches
a liquid sorbent storage system 205 external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
wherein the liquid sorbent storage system is capable of:, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
receive the liquid sorbent from the contaminant sorption system (as depicted), especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
discharge the liquid sorbent to the contaminant sorption system (as depicted), especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
wherein the liquid sorbent received by the mobile atmosphere has a lower concentration of the "CO2" (one or more contaminants) than the liquid sorbent discharged from the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
With regard to claim 4, ISOBE sufficiently teaches
wherein the liquid sorbent storage system is located on a "spacecraft" (vehicle) external to the mobile atmosphere, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2;
With regard to claim 5, ISOBE sufficiently teaches
wherein the contaminant sorption system is capable of storing the one or more contaminants via 215, especially at para 4,27,28,30,50,52,54,56,58 figs 1,2; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180243682 (herein known as ISOBE) in view of US 20140283839 (herein known as WICKHAM)
With regard to claim 6, ISOBE does not specifically teach wherein the mobile atmosphere includes a spacesuit configured to operate in a space environment.
But, WICKHAM sufficiently teaches wherein the mobile atmosphere includes a spacesuit capable of operating in a space environment, especially at para 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to modify ISOBE with wherein the mobile atmosphere includes a spacesuit capable of operating in a space environment of WICKHAM in order to remove contaminates from a spacesuit as sufficiently taught by WICKMAN especially at para 3
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776