DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the further micro LED" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 also does not describe a further micro LED.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the further micro LED" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 also does not describe a further micro LED.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the repulsion" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 also does not describe a repulsion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (KR 20200053726 A, hereinafter “Ko”).
In reference to claim 1, Ko discloses a method which meets the claim. Fig. 1-3b and 6a-13 of Ko disclose a method for aligning micro LEDs (ED) which comprises (a) disposing a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) spaced apart from each other on a substrate (BL1). An insulating layer (L6-B) is disposed on the substrate (BL1) where the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) are disposed. A groove is disposed in the insulating layer (L6-B) corresponding to an area between the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). An electric signal (V1, V2) is applied to the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) while supplying a solution (30) containing the micro LEDs (ED) onto the substrate (BL1), which generates an electric field with a non-uniform magnitude to align the micro LED (ED) in the groove, wherein one micro LED (ED) is aligned in one groove (p. 13 of machine translation).
So far as understood in claim 2, fig. 3b shows that a spacing between the one micro LED (ED) and a further micro LED (not shown in figure but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b) is greater than a diameter of the micro LED (ED).
In reference to claim 3, the method includes further aligning at least one micro LED (ED) between one groove and a further groove adjacent to it.
With regard to claim 5, Ko discloses (p. 10 of the machine translation) a length of the groove (A3) is greater than a length of the micro LED (ED).
In reference to claim 8, fig. 7a of Ko shows that a magnitude of the electric field in the groove is greater than a magnitude of the electric field in an area other than the groove (no electric field outside of the groove).
With regard to claim 9, the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) located in the groove area are arranged to protrude toward each other.
In reference to claim 19, Ko discloses a method which meets the claim. Fig. 1-3b and 6a-13 of Ko disclose a method for manufacturing a micro LED display which comprises disposing a transistor (TR1, TR2) in each of a plurality of pixel areas defined as data lines (DLj) and gate lines (SLi) that intersect each other on a substrate (BL1). A first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) are disposed and spaced apart from each other in each of the plurality of pixel areas. An insulating layer (L6-B) is disposed on the substrate (BL1) where the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) are disposed. A groove is defined in a portion of the insulating layer (L6-B) corresponding to an area between the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). An electric signal (V1, V2) is applied to the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) while supplying a solution (30) containing the micro LEDs (ED) onto the substrate (BL1) which generates an electric field with a non-uniform magnitude to align the micro LED (ED) in the groove, such that one micro LED (ED) is aligned in one groove and is disposed in each pixel area (p. 13 of machine translation).
With regard to claim 20, Ko discloses that for each of the plurality of pixel areas, an electric signal is applied to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) connected to a red pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing red micro LEDs (ED) among a plurality of micro LEDs (ED) to arrange the plurality of red micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. Ko also discloses applying an electric signal to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) connected to a green pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing green micro LEDs (ED) among the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) to arrange the plurality of green micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. Furthermore Ko also discloses applying an electric signal to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E1) connected to a blue pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing blue micro LEDs (ED) among the plurality of micro LEDs to arrange the plurality of blue micro LEDs at a regular spacing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Ju (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0180661 A1, hereinafter “Ju”).
In reference to claim 4, Ko does not disclose the specific concentration of micro LEDs in the solution as that claimed by the applicant. However Ju discloses optimizing the concentration of micro LEDs in the solution in order to maximize the amount of micro LEDS that are aligned or mounted on a receiving substrate (p. 4, paragraph 56). Thus Ju makes it clear that the concentration of micro LEDs is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the concentration of micro LEDs in the solution, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Therefore claim 4 is not patentable over Ko and Ju.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Negishi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0027623 A1, hereinafter “Negishi”).
So far as understood in claim 7, fig. 3a, 3b, and 6a-13 of Ko show that a width of the groove is smaller than the spacing between the one micro LED (ED) and the further adjacent micro LED (not shown in figures but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b) and that an electric field is generated in the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). Ko discloses a further adjacent micro LED (not shown in figures but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b). Ko does not explicitly disclose using repulsion between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED to align the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) when an electric field is generated in the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). However fig. 48 of Negishi discloses (p. 26, paragraph 595) the use of an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force, from an electric field generated in a first electrode layer (1074) and a second electrode layer (1073), between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs (1070) on a receiving substrate (1075) in a one-time process which has the benefit of a reduced manufacturing cost (p. 27, paragraph 600). In view of the above, it would therefore be obvious to use an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs in the method of Ko.
Claims 10-12, 14, 16-18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Negishi.
In reference to claim 10, Ko discloses a similar method. Fig. 1-3b and 6a-13 of Ko disclose a method for aligning micro LEDs (ED) which comprises (a) disposing a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) spaced apart from each other on a substrate (BL1). An insulating layer (L6-B) is disposed on the substrate (BL1) where the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) are disposed. A plurality of grooves are defined in the insulating layer (L6-B) at a regular spacing in a portion of the insulating layer (L6-B) corresponding to an area between the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). An electric signal (V1, V2) is generated in the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) while supplying a solution (30) containing the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) onto the substrate (BL1) to align the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing to align one micro LED (ED) in one groove (p. 13 of machine translation). Ko discloses a further adjacent micro LED (not shown in figures but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b). Ko does not explicitly disclose using a repulsion between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED to align the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. However fig. 48 of Negishi discloses (p. 26, paragraph 595) the use of an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force, from an electric field generated in a first electrode layer (1074) and a second electrode layer (1073), between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs (1070) on a receiving substrate (1075) in a one-time process which has the benefit of a reduced manufacturing cost (p. 27, paragraph 600). In view of the above, it would therefore be obvious to use an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs in the method of Ko.
With regard to claim 11, fig. 3b shows that a spacing between the one micro LED (ED) and the further micro LED (not shown in figure but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b) is greater than a diameter of the micro LED (ED).
In reference to claim 12, the method includes further aligning at least one micro LED (ED) between one groove and a further groove adjacent to it.
With regard to claim 14, Ko discloses (p. 10 of the machine translation) a length of the groove (A3) is greater than a length of the micro LED (ED).
In reference to claim 16, in the method Ko constructed in view of Negishi, a width of the groove is smaller than the spacing between the one micro LED (ED) and the further adjacent micro LED when the repulsion occurs between the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) as the electric field is generated in the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2).
In reference to claim 17, a magnitude of the electric field in the groove is greater than a magnitude of the electric field in an area other than the groove.
With regard to claim 18, the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) located in the groove area are arranged to protrude toward each other.
In reference to claim 21, Ko discloses a similar method. Fig. 1-3b and 6a-13 of Ko disclose a method for manufacturing a micro LED display which comprises disposing a transistor (TR1, TR2) in each of a plurality of pixel areas defined as data lines (DLj) and gate lines (SLi) that intersect each other on a substrate (BL1). A first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) are disposed and spaced apart from each other in each of the plurality of pixel areas. An insulating layer (L6-B) is disposed on the substrate (BL1) where the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) are disposed. A plurality of grooves at a regular spacing are defined in a portion of the insulating layer (L6-B) corresponding to an area between the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2). An electric field is generated in the first electrode layer (E1) and the second electrode layer (E2) while supplying a solution (30) containing the micro LEDs (ED) onto the substrate (BL1) which aligns the plurality of micro LEDs at a regular spacing such that one micro LED (ED) is aligned in one groove and is disposed in each pixel area (p. 13 of machine translation). Ko discloses a further adjacent micro LED (not shown in figures but understood to be formed directly in a pixel to the left or right of the single pixel shown in fig. 3b). Ko does not explicitly disclose using a repulsion between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED to align the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. However fig. 48 of Negishi discloses (p. 26, paragraph 595) the use of an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force, from an electric field generated in a first electrode layer (1074) and a second electrode layer (1073), between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs (1070) on a receiving substrate (1075) in a one-time process which has the benefit of a reduced manufacturing cost (p. 27, paragraph 600). In view of the above, it would therefore be obvious to use an electrostatic or a dielectrophoretic repulsive force between one micro LED (ED) and a further adjacent micro LED in order to align or mount LEDs in the method of Ko.
With regard to claim 22, Ko discloses that for each of the plurality of pixel areas, applying an electric signal to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) connected to a red pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing red micro LEDs (ED) among a plurality of micro LEDs (ED) to arrange the plurality of red micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. Ko discloses applying an electric signal to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E2) connected to a green pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing green micro LEDs (ED) among the plurality of micro LEDs (ED) to arrange the plurality of green micro LEDs (ED) at a regular spacing. Ko also discloses applying an electric signal to a first electrode layer (E1) and a second electrode layer (E1) connected to a blue pixel (p. 8 of the machine translation) while supplying a solution containing blue micro LEDs (ED) among the plurality of micro LEDs to arrange the plurality of blue micro LEDs at a regular spacing.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Negishi as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Ju.
In reference to claim 13, Ko does not disclose the specific concentration of micro LEDs in the solution as that claimed by the applicant. However Ju discloses optimizing the concentration of micro LEDs in the solution in order to maximize the amount of micro LEDS that are aligned or mounted on a receiving substrate (p. 4, paragraph 56). Thus Ju makes it clear that the concentration of micro LEDs is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the concentration of micro LEDs in the solution, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Therefore claim 13 is not patentable over Ko and Ju.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in the examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to implement a method for aligning micro LEDs which comprises disposing a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer spaced apart from each other on a substrate, disposing an insulating layer on the substrate where the first and second electrode layers are disposed, defining a groove in the insulating layer that corresponds to an area between the first and second electrode layers, applying an electric signal to the first and second electrode layers while supplying a solution containing the micro LEDs onto the substrate, generating an electric field with a non-uniform magnitude to align the micro LED in the groove such that one micro LED is aligned in one groove in combination with the specific groove structure as required by the applicant in claim 6. In the examiner’s opinion, it would also not be obvious to implement a method for aligning micro LEDs which comprises disposing a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer spaced apart from each other on a substrate, disposing an insulating layer on the substrate where the first and second electrode layers are disposed, defining a plurality of grooves at a regular spacing in a portion of the insulating layer that corresponds to an area between the first and second electrode layers, generating an electric field in the first and second electrode layers while supplying a solution containing the micro LEDs onto the substrate to align the plurality of micro LEDs at a regular spacing by a repulsion occurring between one micro LED and a further adjacent micro LED such that one micro LED is aligned in one groove in combination with the specific groove structure as required by the applicant in claim 15.
Conclusion
/KEVIN QUINTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893