DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (W/O2020/197087 A1; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced) and further in view of and Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2018/0039369 A1).
Claim 1: Lee teaches –
A display device [display device] (Figure 2, Element 1), comprising:
a display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) including a plurality of light emitting elements [The display panel 300 may be a light emitting display panel including a light emitting element] (middle of Page 8) [light emitting element layer 304 includes light emitting elements] (bottom of Page 9);
Examiner’s Note: Figures 1-5 are disclosed as the same embodiment (near middle of Page 7)
a cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100) covering an upper surface of the display panel [The cover window 100 may be disposed on the display panel 300 to cover the upper surface of the display panel 300] (near middle of Page 7) and including a first area [transmissive portion] (Figure 2, Element DA100) overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [light emitting element layer 304 includes light emitting elements] (bottom of Page 9) and a second area [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100) disposed adjacent to the first area [The cover window 100 may include a transmissive portion DA100 corresponding to the display area DA of the display panel 300 and a light blocking portion NDA100 corresponding to the non-display area NDA of the display panel 300] (near the bottom of Page 7) and not overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [The display area DA of the display panel 300 indicates an area in which the light emitting device layer 304 is formed to display an image, and the non-display area NDA indicates a peripheral area of the display area DA] (middle of Page 8 and Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300);
a light-blocking portion [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300) overlapping the second area of the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100), surrounding the first area in a plan view (Figure 2 discloses NDA surrounding the DA), and not overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [The display area DA of the display panel 300 indicates an area in which the light emitting device layer 304 is formed to display an image, and the non-display area NDA indicates a peripheral area of the display area DA] (middle of Page 8 and Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300);
Examiner’s Note: A black matrix is disclosed by the Specification of the instant application to be black pigment (Para 0065 of the PGPUB).
a pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520) overlapping the black matrix under the cover glass [to prevent the elements disposed under the light absorbing member, that is, the first pressure sensor 510 and the second pressure sensor 520 from being visually recognized from the upper portion of the display panel 300] (middle of Page 12) and configured to sense a pressure applied through the cover glass [The second pressure sensor 520 may sense a pressure applied to the transmission portion DA100a of the cover window 100] (top of Page 13); and
a set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6) covering a lower surface of the display panel (as shown in Figure 2 with respect to the relationship between Element 800 and Element 300),
wherein the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550) includes a support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2) [first substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB1) contacting the pressure sensor [first pressure sensing layer] (as shown Figure 10, Element PSL1 contacting Element SUB2) on an upper surface of the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6) facing the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100)
wherein the support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2) [first substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB1) is disposed on a lower surface (as shown in Figure 2 with respect to the relationship between Element 800 and Element 300) of the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520) in the second area [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100)
Examiner’s Note: Lee is clear that the disclosure of Element 510 obviously applies to Element 520 respectively (middle of Page 15). The use of the term, obvious, is not the legal standard of 35 USC § 103 obviousness. Lee is fully enabling the disclosure of Element 510 for Element 520. Thus, the Examiner may refer to the details of Element 520 and 510 interchangeably.
Lee fails to specifically teach the light-blocking portion comprising a black matrix. However, Lee teaches the light-absorbing portion comprises a black [The light absorbing member may include a light absorbing material such as black pigment or dye] (middle of Page 12) matrix [lower panel member 400 may include a light absorbing member] (Figure 2, Element 400 and near the middle of Page 12) in order to prevent the transmission of light (middle of Page 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use black pigment or dye of the light absorbing member of Lee within the NDA portions of Lee in order to prevent the transmission of light, which is the same purpose of the light-blocking portion for blocking external light (Near top of Page 9).
Lee fails to teach wherein the pressure sensor and the support overlap the display panel in a horizontal direction and do not overlap the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel. However, Liu teaches wherein the pressure sensor [pressure sensor units] (Figure 7b, Element M13) and the support [sealant] (Figure 7b, Element M30) overlap the display panel [display area] (Figure 7b, Element M30) in a horizontal direction and do not overlap the display panel [display area] (Figure 7b, Element M30) in a thickness direction of the display panel (as shown in Figure 7b) in order to eliminate poor pressure detection performance caused by improper positional relationship between the sealant and the pressure sensor unit and improves pressure detection performance of the touch display panel (Para 0056 of Lui)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the arrangement of parts of Lee to the arrangement of parts as taught by Lui in order to eliminate poor pressure detection performance caused by improper positional relationship between the sealant and the pressure sensor unit and improves pressure detection performance of the touch display panel (Para 0056 of Lui)
Claim 2/1: Lee teaches wherein the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520) is disposed between the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100) and the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6).
Claim 3/1: Lee teaches wherein the support includes a concavo-convex structure [first substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB1; being pressed and made concavo-convex) on one surface contacting (via Figure 10, Element SP) the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520).
Claim 4/1: Lee teaches wherein the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 510) has a surface facing the support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2), the support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2) has a surface facing the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 510), and an area of the surface of the support is less than or equal to an area of the surface of the pressure sensor (compare area of Figure 9, Element 510 to the area of Figure 9, Element SUB2, which is the same area).
Claim 5/1: Lee teaches wherein the pressure sensor includes one or more pressure sensors [pressure sensing cells] (Figure 6, Element CE1-Cep and part of Figure 1, Element 520) each generating a pressure sensing signal [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp] (Near bottom of Para 15).
Claim 6/5/1: Lee teaches wherein the support includes one or more sub-portions (Figure 10, Element SP) respectively contacting the one or more pressure sensor [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp] (Near bottom of Para 15) on the upper surface of the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6).
Examiner’s Note: Since the Applicant failed to specifically define the sub-portions, the broad definition is up to claim interpretation. Thus, sub-portions are interpreted as any sub-part of the support. The claim interpretation of sub-portion is: 1) not necessarily divided in equal parts; 2) not necessarily uniform shape; 3) not all of the support is divided up into sub-portions (i.e. the area around the pressure sensor can be labeled a sub-portion while other portions are just parts of the support) and 4) not necessarily applied to the same part of the sub-portion (i.e. a first sub-portion could be the support between pressure sensors and a second sub-portion could be the support between the edge of the support and the pressure sensor).
Claim 7/6/5/1: Lee teaches wherein a number of the one or more pressure sensor (Figure 7, Element CE1 & CE2; two pressure sensor units shown) and a number of the one or more sub-portions are the same (Figure 9, Element SP; two SP one on each side).
Examiner’s Note: Based on the claim interpretation as described in Claim 6, the Examiner contends that the boundaries of the sub-portions can be drawn in a manner to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 8/5/1: Lee teaches further comprising: a driver [pressure sensing unit FD] (Figure 6, Element 550) [pressure sensing unit FD applies a driving voltage to the driving line TL] (Near top of Page 16) configured to calculate pressure position information using the one or more pressure sensors [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp may independently sense a pressure at a corresponding position] (Near bottom of Para 15).
Claim 9/8/5/1: Lee teaches wherein when a pressure is applied to the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100), pressure sensor units adjacent to a point where the pressure is applied among the one or more pressure sensor units are used to calculate the pressure position information [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp may independently sense a pressure at a corresponding position] (Near bottom of Para 15).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (W/O2020/197087 A1; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced) and Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2018/0039369 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20100107691 A; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced).
Claim 10/9/8/5/1: Lee teaches wherein the driver calculates the pressure [pressure sensing unit FD] (Figure 6, Element 550) [pressure sensing unit FD applies a driving voltage to the driving line TL] (Near top of Page 16) and pressure sensing signals generated from the pressure sensor units adjacent to the point where the pressure is applied [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp may independently sense a pressure at a corresponding position] (Near bottom of Para 15)
Lee fails to teach calculating the pressure position information based on a weighted average of pressure sensing signals generated from the pressure sensor units adjacent to the point where the pressure is applied. However, Kim teaches calculating the pressure position information based on a weighted average of pressure sensing signals generated from the pressure sensor units adjacent to the point where the pressure is applied [coordinate of the input is determined based on a weighted average of the sensing signals from two or more pressure sensors] (top of Page 3) in order to allow for more accurate detection of the user three-dimensionally and allow for different types of inputs by the user (different pressures and contact) (middle of Page 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the calculation of pressure position information as taught by Kim in order to allow for more accurate detection of the user three-dimensionally and allow for different types of inputs by the user (different pressures and contact) (middle of Page 2)
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (W/O2020/197087 A1; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced) and Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2018/0039369 A1) and further in view of Ki et al. (KR 20210028302 A; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced).
Claim 11/5/1: Lee fails to teach a light sensor. However, Ki teaches wherein the display panel further includes a light sensor configured to sense reflected light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements and reflected from a target object [a display device that receives light emitted from a pixel of the display panel as a light source] (near bottom of Page 26) in order to use a readily available light source from a portable electronic product (such as a smart phone) and avoid the inconvenience of carrying around a separate light source for health monitoring (near middle of Page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee with the light sensor of Ki in order to use a readily available light source from a portable electronic product (such as a smart phone) and avoid the inconvenience of carrying around a separate light source for health monitoring (near middle of Page 2).
Claim 12/11/5/1: Lee teaches further comprising a driver [pressure sensing unit FD] (Figure 6, Element 550) [pressure sensing unit FD applies a driving voltage to the driving line TL] (Near top of Page 16).
Lee fails to teach calculating blood pressure information based on the pressure sensing signal and a light sensing signal. However, Ki configured to calculate blood pressure information [The blood pressure measurement module further comprises a controller configured to measure blood pressure using a pressure signal sensed from the pressure sensor and the pulse wave signal received from the pulse wave sensor] (top of Page 26) based on the pressure sensing signal and a light sensing signal generated by the light sensor [The pressure sensor senses the pressure applied to the display panel, The pulse wave sensor includes an optical sensor, The pulse wave sensor is a light source and generates a pulse wave signal using light emitted from pixels of the display panel] (middle of Page 25) in order to obtain useful health information regarding the blood pressure change from the heartbeat which is reflected in the pulse wave signal (near middle of Page 5). A pressure sensing signal alone does not have enough information for an accurate blood pressure measurement. Measuring the blood pressure to obtain a pulse wave signal gives more accurate information with regards to the systolic and diastolic phases of the heartbeat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee with the light sensor of Ki in order to obtain useful health information regarding the blood pressure change from the heartbeat which is reflected in the pulse wave signal (near middle of Page 5).
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (W/O2020/197087 A1; enclosed prior and English Translation referenced).
Claim 13: Lee teaches –
A display device [display device] (Figure 2, Element 1), comprising:
a display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) including a plurality of light emitting elements [The display panel 300 may be a light emitting display panel including a light emitting element] (middle of Page 8) [light emitting element layer 304 includes light emitting elements] (bottom of Page 9);
a cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100) covering an upper surface of the display panel [The cover window 100 may be disposed on the display panel 300 to cover the upper surface of the display panel 300] (near middle of Page 7) and including a first area [transmissive portion] (Figure 2, Element DA100) overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [display panel 300 may be a light emitting display panel including a light emitting element] (middle of Page 8) and a second area [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100) adjacent to the first area [The cover window 100 may include a transmissive portion DA100 corresponding to the display area DA of the display panel 300 and a light blocking portion NDA100 corresponding to the non-display area NDA of the display panel 300] (near the bottom of Page 7) and not overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [The display area DA of the display panel 300 indicates an area in which the light emitting device layer 304 is formed to display an image, and the non-display area NDA indicates a peripheral area of the display area DA] (middle of Page 8 and Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300);
a light-blocking portion [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300) overlapping the second area [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100) of the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100), surrounding the first area in a plan view (Figure 2 discloses NDA surrounding the DA), and not overlapping the plurality of light-emitting elements [The display area DA of the display panel 300 indicates an area in which the light emitting device layer 304 is formed to display an image, and the non-display area NDA indicates a peripheral area of the display area DA] (middle of Page 8 and Figure 2, Element NDA100 & NDA300);
a pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520) overlapping an edge area of the first area [transmissive portion] (Figure 2, Element DA100; the pressure sensor is overlapping an edge area (relative term) of the first area as can be seen in the stacking elements shown in Figure 2) under the display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) and configured to sense a pressure applied through the cover glass [The second pressure sensor 520 may sense a pressure applied to the transmission portion DA100a of the cover window 100] (top of Page 13); and
a set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6) covering a lower surface of the display panel (as shown in Figure 1 with respect to the relationship between Element 800 and Element 300),
wherein the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550) includes a support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2) [first substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB1) contacting the pressure sensor [first pressure sensing layer] (as shown Figure 10, Element PSL1 contacting Element SUB2) on an upper surface of the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6) facing the display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300)
Examiner’s Note: Lee is clear that the disclosure of Element 510 obviously applies to Element 520 respectively (middle of Page 15). The use of the term, obvious, is not the legal standard of 35 USC § 103 obviousness. Lee is fully enabling the disclosure of Element 510 for Element 520. Thus, the Examiner may refer to the details of Element 520 and 510 interchangeably.
wherein the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 510) is disposed along the edge area of the first area [transmissive portion] (Figure 2, Element DA100; the pressure sensor is disposed along an edge area (relative term) of the first area as can be seen in the stacking elements shown in Figure 2), and
wherein the support [second substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB2), the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 510; specifically PSL1 of Figure 10), the display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) and the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100) are sequentially stacked in order in a thickness direction of the display panel (See Exhibit 1; note that Examiner is interpreting “sequentially stacked in order in a thickness direction” as lined up within the thickness direction in any order).
[AltContent: textbox (Exhibit 1 – Display of Lee showing the Elements in a thickness direction)]
Lee fails to specifically teach the light-blocking portion comprising a black matrix. However, Lee teaches the light-absorbing portion comprises a black [The light absorbing member may include a light absorbing material such as black pigment or dye] (middle of Page 12) matrix [lower panel member 400 may include a light absorbing member] (Figure 2, Element 400 and near the middle of Page 12) in order to prevent the transmission of light (middle of Page 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use black pigment or dye of the light absorbing member of Lee within the NDA portions of Lee in order to prevent the transmission of light, which is the same purpose of the light-blocking portion for blocking external light (Near top of Page 9).
Claim 14/13: Lee teaches wherein the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure
2, Element 520) is disposed between the display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) and the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6) in the edge area [transmissive portion] (Figure 2, Element DA100; the pressure sensor is overlapping an edge area (relative term) of the first area as can be seen in the stacking elements shown in Figure 2), and the display panel [display panel] (Figure 2, Element 300) is disposed between the cover glass [cover window] (Figure 2, Element 100) and the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520).
Claim 15/13: Lee teaches wherein the edge area (Figure 2, Element DA100; the pressure sensor is overlapping an edge area (relative term) of the first area as can be seen in the stacking elements shown in Figure 2) overlapping the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520) is an area adjacent (as shown in Figure 2) to the second area [light blocking portion] (Figure 2, Element NDA100).
Claim 16/13: Lee teaches wherein the support includes a concavo-convex structure [first substrate] (Figure 10, Element SUB1; being pressed and made concavo-convex) on one surface contacting (via Figure 10, Element SP) the pressure sensor [pressure sensor] (Figure 2, Element 520).
Claim 17/13: Lee teaches wherein the pressure sensor includes one or more pressure sensor [pressure sensing cells] (Figure 6, Element CE1-Cep and part of Figure 1, Element 520) each generating a pressure sensing signal [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp] (Near bottom of Para 15).
Claim 18/17/13: Lee teaches wherein the support includes one or more sub-portions (Figure 10, Element SP) respectively contacting the one or more pressure sensor [Each of the pressure sensing cells CE1 to CEp] (Near bottom of Para 15) on the upper surface of the set frame [pressure sensing board] (Figure 2, Element 550 and Figure 6).
Examiner’s Note: Based on the claim interpretation as described in Claim 6, the Examiner contends that the boundaries of the sub-portions can be drawn in a manner to meet the claim limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1
The Applicant submitted arguments that the new amendment are not taught by Lee in view of Liu. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and, in the rejection above, rejects the new claim limitations with teachings from Lee. The Applicant submitted arguments with respect to Liu. The Examiner contends that Lee teaches the new claim amendment. The argument is unconvincing.
Regarding Claim 13
The Applicant submitted arguments that the new amendments are not taught by Lee. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and, in the rejection above, rejects the new claim limitations with teachings from Lee. Specifically the rejection has been changed from a 35 USC § 102 to a 35 USC § 103. The argument is unconvincing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797