DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, device embodiment 1 as shown in figs. 6, 7 (claims 10-20, and new claims 21-29 readable thereon) in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon further consideration, claims 10-20, 28, and 29 are withdrawn since they are drawn to a non-elected embodiment. Since claims 10 and 14 requires the die pad to be exposed from the first mass of the encapsulation material and the fourth (bottom) surface of the lead is exposed from the first encapsulation material, respectively, and these claims are directed to figs. 8 and 9, these claims and their dependents are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 21 recites “from the the first” at the last line of the claim, the extra “the” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shah et al. (US PGPub 2024/0170357; hereinafter “Shah”).
Re claim 21: Shah teaches a device, comprising: a leadframe (101, 108; e.g. paragraph 17) including a die pad (101) and a lead (108) spaced apart from the die pad (101); a semiconductor die (die 102; e.g. paragraph 17) on the die pad (101); a first encapsulation material (molding material 110 between the outer edges of the two 108; e.g. paragraph 17; hereinafter “110-1”) on the die pad (101) and on the semiconductor die (102); and a film (second film layer 144; e.g. paragraph 17) including a first portion (portion 144 on 101; hereinafter “1P”) on a respective surface (bottom surface of 101) of the die pad (101) that is exposed from the first encapsulation material (110-1) and a second portion (portion of 144 on 108; hereinafter “2P”) on a respective surface (bottom surface of 108) of the lead (108) exposed from the the first encapsulation material (110-1).
Re claim 22: Shah teaches the device of claim 21, wherein a second encapsulation material (molding material 110 outwardly beyond 110-1; e.g. paragraph 17; hereinafter “110-2”) is on the film (144) and at least partially covers the film (144).
Re claim 23: Shah teaches the device of claim 22, wherein the film (144) further includes a third portion (portion of 144 between 1P and 2P; hereinafter “3P”) that is on the first encapsulation material (110-1), and the film (144) is between the first encapsulation material (110-1) and the second encapsulation material (110-2).
Re claim 24: Shah teaches the device of claim 23, wherein the third portion (3P) of the film (144) extends from the first portion (1P) to the second portion (2P) and is transverse to the first portion (1P) and the second portion (2P).
Re claim 25: Shah teaches the device of claim 21, wherein the die pad (101) has a downset (electrically downset) with respect to the lead (108).
Re claim 26: Shah teaches the device of claim 21, further comprising one or more wires (wire bonds 107; e.g. paragraph 17) coupling the semiconductor die (102) to the lead (108), wherein the one or more wires (107) are within the first encapsulation material (110-1).
Re claim 27: Shah teaches the device of claim 21, wherein the first encapsulation material (110-1) and the second encapsulation material (110-2) are different encapsulation materials (110-1 and 110-2 are in different regions and are therefore different encapsulation materials).
Conclusion
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898