DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cover adhesive region” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 18 been renumbered 17.
Misnumbered claim 19 been renumbered 18.
Misnumbered claim 20 been renumbered 19.
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “respective package bond pads” in line L7 but should read – the respective package bond pads--.
Claim 1 recites “package bond pads” in lines L14-15 but should read – the package bond pads--.
Claim 1 recites “sensor” in line L 18 but should read – the sensor--.
Claim 3 recites “sensor performance” in line L 4 but should read – the sensor performance--.
Claim 11 recites “respective package bond pads” in line L9 but should read – the respective package bond pads--.
Claim 11 recites “package bond pads” in line L17 but should read – the package bond pads--.
Claim 11 recites “sensor” in line L 20 but should read – the sensor--.
Claim 15 recites “opaque layer” in line L 2 but should read – the opaque layer--.
Claim 15 recites “sensor performance” in line L 4 but should read – the sensor performance--.
Claim 18 recites “respective package bond pads” in line L8 but should read – the respective package bond pads--.
Claim 18 recites “package bond pads” in lines L15-16 but should read – the package bond pads--.
Claim 18 recites “sensor” in line L 19 but should read – the sensor--.
The balance of claims are objected to for being dependent upon an already objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the top package substrate surface" in Lines L2, L7-8, and L15, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the top package substrate surface” (Lines L2, L7-8, and L15) refers to a new top package substrate surface or the “the top major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the top package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the top major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the bottom package substrate surface" in Lines L5, and L6, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the bottom package substrate surface” (Lines L2 and L15) refers to a new bottom package substrate surface or the “the bottom major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the bottom package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the bottom major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the active die surface " in Lines L10 and L14, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the active die surface” (Lines L10 and L14) refers to a new active die surface or the “active major die surface” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the active die surface” has been interpretated as the active major die surface.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the inactive die surface " in Lines L13, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the inactive die surface” (Lines L13) refers to a new inactive die surface or the “inactive major die surface” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the inactive die surface” has been interpretated as the inactive major die surface.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the die " in Line L16, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the die” (Line L16) refers to a new die or the “sensor die” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the die” has been interpretated as the sensor die.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the cover " in Lines L11-12, L13, and L13, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L11-12, L13, and L13) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L16 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " wire bonds " in Line L20, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “wire bonds” (Line L20) refers to new wire bonds or the “wire bonds” previously cited in Line L14 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “wire bonds” has been interpretated as the wire bonds.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Line L22, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (L22) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L19 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Lines L1-2, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (Lines L1-2) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L19 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation " the cover " in Line L2, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L2) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L16 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation " the cover " in Line L2, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L2) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L16 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Line L1, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (L1) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L19 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation " the active die surface " in Line L2, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the active die surface” (L2) refers to a new active die surface or the “active major die surface” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the active die surface” has been interpretated as the active major die surface.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the top package substrate surface" in Lines L4, L9-10, and L17, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the top package substrate surface” (L4, L9-10, and L17) refers to a new top package substrate surface or the “the top major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the top package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the top major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the bottom package substrate surface" in Lines L7 and L8, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the bottom package substrate surface” (L7 and L8) refers to a new bottom package substrate surface or the “the bottom major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the bottom package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the bottom major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the active die surface " in Lines L12 and L16, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the active die surface” (L12 and L16) refers to a new active die surface or the “active major die surface” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the active die surface” has been interpretated as the active major die surface.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the inactive die surface " in Line L15, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the inactive die surface” (L15) refers to a new inactive die surface or the “inactive major die surface” previously cited in Line L9 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the inactive die surface” has been interpretated as the inactive major die surface.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the die " in Line L15 and L18, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the die” (Line L15 and L18) refers to a new die or the “sensor die” previously cited in Line L11 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the die” has been interpretated as the sensor die.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the cover " in Lines L18, L19, and L20, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L18, L19, and L20) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L18 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Line L25, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (L25) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L22 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Line L2, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (L2) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L22 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation " the cover " in Lines L2-3, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L2-3) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L18 of claim 11. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the top package substrate surface" in Lines L2, L8-9, and L16, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the top package substrate surface” (L2, L8-9, and L16) refers to a new top package substrate surface or the “the top major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the top package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the top major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the bottom package substrate surface" in Lines L6 and L7, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the bottom package substrate surface” (L6 and L7) refers to a new bottom package substrate surface or the “the bottom major package substrate surface” previously cited in Line L2 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the bottom package substrate surface” has been interpretated as the bottom major package substrate surface.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the active die surface " in Lines L11 and L15, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the active die surface” (Lines L11 and L15) refers to a new active die surface or the “active major die surface” previously cited in Line L10 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the active die surface” has been interpretated as the active major die surface.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the inactive die surface " in Line L14, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the inactive die surface” (L14) refers to a new inactive die surface or the “inactive major die surface” previously cited in Line L10 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the inactive die surface” has been interpretated as the inactive major die surface.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the die " in Line L17, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the die” (Line L17) refers to a new die or the “sensor die” previously cited in Line L10 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the die” has been interpretated as the sensor die.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the cover " in Lines L17-18, L19, and L19, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the cover” (L17-18, L19, and L19) refers to a new cover or the “transparent cover” previously cited in Line L17 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the cover” has been interpretated as the transparent cover.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " wire bonds " in Line L21, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “wire bonds” (Line L21) refers to new wire bonds or the “wire bonds” previously cited in Line L15 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “wire bonds” has been interpretated as the wire bonds.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation " the encapsulation " in Line L23, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the encapsulation” (L23) refers to a new encapsulation or the “package encapsulation” previously cited in Line L20 of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “encapsulation” has been interpretated as the package encapsulation.
The balance of claims are rejected for being dependent upon an already rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (US20230122384A1-Shim84).
Regarding claim 1, Shim84 discloses a semiconductor package (Title) comprising:
a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces (Package substrate 110 with top and bottom surfaces 110 a/b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the top package substrate surface includes
a die region with a die pad (Die region 102 with Die 130 and Die pad 135 on Top surface 110a of Package substrate 110-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a non-die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4), the non-die region includes
package bond pads and a cover adhesive region surrounding the die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4), and
the bottom package substrate surface includes package contact pads (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13),
wherein the package contact pads on the bottom package substrate surface are electrically connected to respective package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13);
a sensor die (sensor die 130-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) having active and non-active major die surfaces (Sensor region 137 with a sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the active die surface includes
a sensor region with a sensor (Sensor region 137 with a sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
a non- sensor region with die bond pads (Dashed line rectangle/Non-sensor region with die bonds 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a cover adhesive region surrounding the sensor region (Cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the sensor region 137-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0038] L4-7), and
the inactive die surface is attached to the die pad (inactive die surface 130b attached to die pad 135-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4);
wire bonds connecting the die bond pads on the active die surface and package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (Wire bonds 164 connecting the die bond pad 132 and package bond pads 112-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4);
a transparent cover disposed over the die covering the sensor region (Transparent cover 150 disposed over dies 130 covering the sensor region 137-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover is attached by a cover adhesive on the cover adhesive region of the active die surface (Transparent cover 150 disposed over dies 130 covering the sensor region 137, attached by cover adhesive 137 to the cover adhesive region 137 of the active die surface 130a-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover forms a sealed cavity between the cover and sensor ([0039] L1-8);
a package encapsulation (Package encapsulation 170 -Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
the package encapsulation encapsulates the package substrate, wire bonds and side cover surfaces and outer sides of the cover adhesive (Package encapsulation 170 encapsulating the package substrate 110, wire bonds 164, and side cover 150 surfaces, and outer sides of cover adhesive 145-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4); and
an opaque layer disposed on a top surface of the package encapsulation (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the opaque layer obscures the wire bonds within the encapsulation to reduce reflectance to improve sensor performance (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170; the opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so reducing reflectance to improve performances-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 2, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer prevents reflectance (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170; the opaque layer configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so preventing reflectance to improve performances-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 3, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer extends beyond the encapsulation (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170, and extending beyond the encapsulation 170 along a peripheral length of cover 150-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
covers a peripheral portion of the cover to form a cover opaque region (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170, and extending beyond the encapsulation 170 along a peripheral length of cover 150, forming a cover opaque region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover opaque region enables the sensor to sense while reducing flaring and scattering to enhance sensor performance (opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so reducing reflectance to improve performances, and leaving a central area unobstructed so enabling sensor 130 to sense while reducing flaring and scattering to enhance sensor performance -Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 4, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 3, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer prevents reflectance (opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so preventing reflectance-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 5, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 3, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer in the opaque region on the cover prevents flaring and scattering to further enhance sensor performance (opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light to enhance sensor performance, so the opaque layer in the opaque region prevents also flaring and scattering and consequently further enhance sensor performance -Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 6, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer comprises black ink ([0035] L21-23).
Regarding claim 7, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the encapsulation comprises an epoxy mold compound ([0042] L 8-9).
Regarding claim 8, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the sensor die comprises an image sensor die (sensor die 130 comprising an image sensor die-[0027] L7-8).
Regarding claim 9, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the transparent cover comprises a glass cover (transparent cover 150 comprising a glass cover-[004] L1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Shim84 discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package ([0006]) comprising:
providing a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces (providing a package substrate 110 with top and bottom surfaces 110 a/b-[0008] L3, Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the top package substrate surface includes
a die region with a die pad (Die region 102 with Die 130 and Die pad 135 on Top surface 110a of Package substrate 110-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a non-die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
the non-die region includes package bond pads and a cover adhesive region surrounding the die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4), and
the bottom package substrate surface includes package contact pads (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13),
wherein the package contact pads on the bottom package substrate surface are electrically connected to respective package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13);
providing a sensor die having active and non-active major die surfaces (attaching so providing a sensor die, with sensor region 137 of sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-[0027] L1-11, Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the active die surface includes
a sensor region with a sensor (Sensor region 137 with a sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
a non- sensor region with die bond pads (Dashed line rectangle/Non-sensor region with die bonds 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a cover adhesive region surrounding the sensor region (Cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the sensor region 137-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0038] L4-7), and
attaching the inactive die surface of the die to the die pad (attaching inactive die surface 130b to die pad 135-[0027] L1-11, Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, );
performing wire bonding to electrically connect the die bond pads on the active die surface and package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (performing wire bonding to electrically connect the die bond pad 132 on active die surface 130a and package bond pads 112 on top surface of substrate 110a-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L4-14);
attaching a transparent cover over the die covering the sensor region by a cover adhesive on the cover adhesive region of the top package substrate surface (attaching transparent cover 150 over die 130 covering the sensor region 137 by cover adhesive 140 on the cover adhesive region 145 of the top package substrate surface 110a-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0038] L1-17),
wherein the cover forms a sealed cavity between the cover and sensor ([0039] L1-8);
encapsulating the package with a package encapsulation (Encapsulant 170 disposed on package substrate 110 so encapsulating the package with package encapsulation 170-[0042] L1-4),
the package encapsulation encapsulates the package substrate, wire bonds and side cover surfaces and outer sides of the cover adhesive (Package encapsulation 170 encapsulating the package substrate 110, wire bonds 164, and side cover 150 surfaces, and outer sides of cover adhesive 145-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4); and
forming an opaque layer on a top surface of the package encapsulation (forming opaque regions, and opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170 so forming opaque layer 160-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0008] L7-8)
wherein the opaque layer obscures the wire bonds within the encapsulation to reduce reflectance to improve sensor performance (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170; the opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so reducing reflectance to improve performances-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 11, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer prevents reflectance(Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170; the opaque layer configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so preventing reflectance to improve performances-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 13, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 11, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein forming the opaque layer comprises forming a black ink layer ([0035] L21-23).
Regarding claim 14, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 13, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein forming the black ink layer comprises an ink jet process ([0035] L21-23).
Regarding claim 15, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 11, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein forming the opaque layer extends beyond the encapsulation (forming opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170, and extending beyond the encapsulation 170 along a peripheral length of cover 150-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0008] L 7-8) and
covers a peripheral portion of the cover to form a cover opaque region (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170, and extending beyond the encapsulation 170 along a peripheral length of cover 150, forming a cover opaque region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover opaque region enables the sensor to sense while reducing flaring and scattering to enhance sensor performance (opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so reducing reflectance to improve performances, and leaving a central area unobstructed so enabling sensor 130 to sense while reducing flaring and scattering to enhance sensor performance -Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 16, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 15, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein forming the opaque layer comprises forming a black ink layer ([0035] L21-23).
Regarding claim 17 (previously 18), Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 3, as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a method for forming a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer prevents reflectance (opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so preventing reflectance-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 18 (previously 19), Shim84 discloses a semiconductor package (Title) comprising:
a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces (Package substrate 110 with top and bottom surfaces 110 a/b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the top package substrate surface includes
a die region with a die pad (Die region 102 with Die 130 and Die pad 135 on Top surface 110a of Package substrate 110-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a non-die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4), the non-die region includes
package bond pads and a cover adhesive region surrounding the die region (Non-die regions 104 including package bond pads 112 and a cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the die region-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4), and
the bottom package substrate surface includes package contact pads (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13),
wherein the package contact pads on the bottom package substrate surface are electrically connected to respective package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (Package contact pads 180 and solder balls 182 on bottom package substrate surface 110b electrically connected to pads 112, bond wire 164, and pads 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0026] L 4-13);
a sensor die (sensor die 130-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) having active and non-active major die surfaces (Sensor region 137 with a sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the active die surface includes
a sensor region with a sensor (Sensor region 137 with a sensor 130 having active die surface 130a and non-active die surface 130b-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
a non- sensor region with die bond pads (Dashed line rectangle/Non-sensor region with die bonds 132-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4) and
a cover adhesive region surrounding the sensor region (Cover adhesive region 145 surrounding the sensor region 137-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0038] L4-7), and
the inactive die surface is attached to the die pad (inactive die surface 130b attached to die pad 135-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4);
wire bonds connecting the die bond pads on the active die surface and package bond pads on the top package substrate surface (Wire bonds 164 connecting the die bond pad 132 and package bond pads 112-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4);
a transparent cover disposed over the die covering the sensor region (Transparent cover 150 disposed over dies 130 covering the sensor region 137-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover is attached by a cover adhesive on the cover adhesive region of the top package surface (Transparent cover 150 disposed over dies 130 covering the sensor region 137, attached by cover adhesive 135 to the cover adhesive region 137 of the top package substrate 110a-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the cover forms a sealed cavity between the cover and sensor ([0039] L1-8);
a package encapsulation (Package encapsulation 170 -Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
the package encapsulation encapsulates the package substrate, wire bonds and side cover surfaces and outer sides of the cover adhesive (Package encapsulation 170 encapsulating the package substrate 110, wire bonds 164, and side cover 150 surfaces, and outer sides of cover adhesive 145-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4); and
an opaque layer disposed on a top surface of the package encapsulation (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4),
wherein the opaque layer obscures the wire bonds within the encapsulation to reduce reflectance to improve sensor performance (Opaque layer 160 on top surface of Package encapsulation 170, being opaque so obscuring the wire bonds 164 within the package encapsulation 170; the opaque layer 160 configured to prevent flaring or scattering of light so reducing reflectance to improve performances-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b4, [0022] L 10-12).
Regarding claim 19 (previously 20), Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 18 (previously 19), as noted above.
Shim84 further discloses a semiconductor package
wherein the opaque layer comprises black ink ([0035] L21-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US20230122384A1-Shim84) in view of Punzalan et al. (US20220093664A1-Punzalan64).
Regarding claim 10, Shim84 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Shim84 does not disclose a semiconductor package
wherein the die bond pads are disposed within the cover adhesive region of the active die surface.
Punzalan64 teaches a semiconductor package
wherein the die bond pads are disposed within the cover adhesive region of the active die surface (Die bond pads 132 disposed within the cover adhesive region 143 of the active die surface 130a-Examiner's annotated Fig 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a semiconductor package of Shim84, as taught by Punzalan64 for the purpose of improving the package reliability and performance by preventing contaminations on undesired areas of the package during packaging (Punzalan64: [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 20150114815 A1-Chang15) teaches a sensor package and method of fabricating the sensor package (Title) comprising a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces, a die pad and a non-die region, package bond pads and a cover adhesive, package contact pads, a sensor die, wire bonds; a transparent cover, and a package encapsulation (Fig 1).
Punzalan et al. (US20220093482A1-Punzalan82) teaches a semiconductor package (Title) comprising a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces, a die pad and a non-die region, package bond pads and a cover adhesive, package contact pads, a sensor die, wire bonds; a transparent cover, and a package encapsulation (Fig 1b).
Hung et al. (US 20200350357 A1-Hung57) teaches a sensor package (Title) comprising a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces, a die pad and a non-die region, package bond pads and a cover adhesive, package contact pads, a sensor die, wire bonds; a transparent cover, and a package encapsulation (Fig 1b).
Jun et al. (US20160260761A1-Jun61) teaches a semiconductor package (Title) comprising a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces, a die pad and a non-die region, package bond pads and a cover adhesive, package contact pads, a sensor die, wire bonds; a transparent cover, and a package encapsulation (Fig 1B).
Tu et al. (US 20110291215 A1-Tu15) teaches a sensor package (Title) comprising a package substrate with top and bottom major package substrate surfaces, a die pad and a non-die region, package bond pads and a cover adhesive, package contact pads, a sensor die, wire bonds; a transparent cover, and a package opaque encapsulation (Fig 13B).
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 04/06/2026
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812