DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Murayama et al. (US 20120215350 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Murayama discloses:
A pickup tooling, comprising:
a base (20) having a mounting portion (31) arranged on one side in a first direction (Fig. 6A), the mounting portion being used for connecting an execution end of a robot (Fig. 6A); and
a pickup mechanism (21 & 22 & 23 & 24 & 61a & 61b & 62b & 62c & 62d), comprising:
a mounting seat connected to the base (Fig. 6A);
a pickup unit (24) connected to the mounting seat in a flippable manner (AXp) [0026], and being used for picking up a workpiece (100); and
a driving mechanism (62a) configured to drive the pickup unit to rotate about a central axis to change a posture of the pickup unit [0066 & 0069], with the central axis perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 6B), wherein
the flippable manner and the change in the posture are respectively used for picking up the workpiece in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction [the pickup unit is capable of picking up a horizontally positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented downward and capable of picking up a vertically positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented substantially away from a the downward orientation as shown in Fig. 7A and therefore reads on the limitation Per In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) as outlined in MPEP 2114.I].
Regarding Claim 2, Murayama discloses:
A pickup tooling, comprising:
a base (20) having a mounting portion (31) arranged on one side in a first direction (Fig. 6A), the mounting portion being used for connecting an execution end of a robot (Fig. 6A); and
a pickup mechanism (21 & 22 & 23 & 24 & 61a & 61b & 62b & 62c & 62d), comprising:
a mounting seat connected to the base (Fig. 6A);
a pickup unit (24) connected to the mounting seat in a flippable manner (AXp) [0026], and being used for picking up a workpiece (100); and
a driving mechanism (62a) configured to drive the pickup unit to rotate about a central axis to change a posture of the pickup unit [0066 & 0069], with the central axis perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 6B), wherein
the pickup unit has a first limit position and a second limit position, the pickup tooling further comprises a position-limit mechanism (62D) configured to limit the pickup unit from flipping between the first limit position and the second limit position [0069] [position limit mechanism (62D) members are mounted to the connecting component (23) in a manner that transmits motion from the driving mechanism (62A) in a manner which causes interference between the two position limit mechanisms when the pickup units are rotated to a maximum position which causes the pickup units to stop rotation at the maximum position], and
the flippable manner and the change in the posture are respectively used for picking up the workpiece in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction [the pickup unit is capable of picking up a horizontally positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented downward and capable of picking up a vertically positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented substantially away from a the downward orientation as shown in Fig. 7A and therefore reads on the limitation Per In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) as outlined in MPEP 2114.I].
Regarding Claim 3, Murayama discloses:
the first limit position is 90° away from the second limit position (Fig. 6B) [0069].
Regarding Claim 4, Murayama discloses:
the position-limit mechanism is mounted on the mounting seat, and has a first position-limit portion and a second position-limit portion (Fig. 6B) [0069]; and
the pickup mechanism further comprises a connecting component fixedly connected to the pickup unit (Fig. 6B) [0069], and
the connecting component is configured to:
press against the first position-limit portion when the pickup unit is located at the first limit position (Fig. 6B) [0069]; an
press against the second position-limit portion when the pickup unit is located at the second limit position (Fig. 6B) [0069].
Regarding Claim 5, Murayama discloses:
the connecting component is rotatably arranged on the mounting seat, and an axis of the connecting component rotating with respect to the mounting seat coincides with the central axis (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 6, Murayama discloses:
the driving mechanism is connected to the connecting component, and is used for driving the connecting component to swing (Fig. 6B) [0069].
Regarding Claim 7, Murayama discloses:
the pickup mechanism further comprises a connecting component (23) fixedly connected to the pickup unit (Fig. 6B), the connecting component is rotatably arranged on the mounting seat, an axis of the connecting component rotating with respect to the mounting seat coincides with the central axis, the driving mechanism is connected to the connecting component, and the driving mechanism is used for driving the connecting component to swing (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5A & Fig. 5B & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 7A).
Regarding Claim 8, Murayama discloses:
the mounting seat is arranged on the base to be adjustable in position in a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding Claim 9, Murayama discloses:
the second direction is perpendicular to the central axis.
Regarding Claim 10, Murayama discloses:
the pickup tooling comprises an adjustment mechanism and two pickup mechanisms, the adjustment mechanism (61a) is mounted on the base (Fig. 6B), the mounting seat is connected to the adjustment mechanism (Fig. 6B), and the adjustment mechanism is used for adjusting a distance between the mounting seats of the two pickup mechanisms in the second direction [0066 & 0067].
Regarding Claim 11, Murayama discloses:
the adjustment mechanism comprises two sliders (22) and a conveyor belt (61b), the sliders are slidably connected to the base in the second direction, each slider is connected to a mounting seat, the conveyor belt has a first transmission part and a second transmission part that move in opposite directions in the second direction, and the two sliders are respectively connected to the first transmission part and the second transmission part [0067].
Regarding Claim 12, Murayama discloses:
the adjustment mechanism further comprises a first pulley and a second pulley (21) which are both rotatably connected to the base and are arranged in the second direction, and the conveyor belt is wound around the first pulley and the second pulley (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 13, Murayama discloses:
A pickup tooling, comprising:
a base (20) having a mounting portion (31) arranged on one side in a first direction (Fig. 6A), the mounting portion being used for connecting an execution end of a robot (Fig. 6A); and
a pickup mechanism (21 & 22 & 23 & 24 & 61a & 61b & 62b & 62c & 62d), comprising:
a mounting seat connected to the base (Fig. 6A);
a pickup unit (24) connected to the mounting seat in a flippable manner (AXp) [0026], and being used for picking up a workpiece (100); and
a driving mechanism (62a) configured to drive the pickup unit to rotate about a central axis to change a posture of the pickup unit [0066 & 0069], with the central axis perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 6B), wherein
the pickup unit comprises:
a flipping seat rotatably connected to the mounting seat about the central axis (Fig. 6B);
a clamping assembly comprising a first clamping portion [tip of first pickup unit (24)] and a second clamping portion [tip of second pickup unit (24)] arranged opposite to each other in a third direction (Fig. 6B); and
an adjustment assembly mounted on the flipping seat, and the adjustment assembly being configured to adjust a distance between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion in the third direction, so that the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion cooperate to clamp the workpiece [0066 & 0067], and
the flippable manner and the change in the posture are respectively used for picking up the workpiece in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction [the pickup unit is capable of picking up a horizontally positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented downward and capable of picking up a vertically positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented substantially away from a the downward orientation as shown in Fig. 7A and therefore reads on the limitation Per In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) as outlined in MPEP 2114.I].
Regarding Claim 14, Murayama discloses:
the adjustment assembly comprises a driving member and a first moving member, the driving member is mounted on the flipping seat and has a first output end, the first moving member is connected to the first output end, and the driving member is configured to drive the first moving member to move in the third direction (Fig. 6B) [0066 & 0067]; and
in the third direction, the first clamping portion is movably arranged on the flipping seat, and the first clamping portion is connected to the first moving member through an elastic member (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 15, Murayama discloses:
the driving member has a second output end opposite to the first output end in the third direction (Fig. 6B) [0066 & 0067]; and
the second clamping portion is movably arranged on the flipping seat in the third direction, and is connected to the second output end (Fig. 6B) [0066 & 0067].
Regarding Claim 16, Murayama discloses:
the pickup mechanism comprises a plurality of clamping assemblies, and the first clamping portions of the plurality of clamping assemblies correspond to one first moving member (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 17, Murayama discloses:
in the third direction, a first cushion pad is arranged on one side of the first clamping portion facing the workpiece; and/or, in the third direction, a second cushion pad is arranged on one side of the second clamping portion facing the workpiece (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 18, Murayama discloses:
the third direction is perpendicular to the central axis (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 19, Murayama discloses:
the mounting seat is arranged on one side of the base away from the mounting portion in the first direction (Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 20, Murayama discloses:
the pickup unit has a first limit position for picking up the workpiece in the vertical direction and a second limit position for picking up the workpiece in the horizontal direction (Fig. 7A) [the pickup unit is capable of picking up a horizontally positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented downward and capable of picking up a vertically positioned workpiece when the pickup unit is oriented substantially away from a the downward orientation as shown in Fig. 7A and therefore reads on the limitation Per In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) as outlined in MPEP 2114.I].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2025/12/05 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claims 1, 2, and 13, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the flippable manner and the change in the posture are respectively used for picking up the workpiece in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction”:
In response to applicant’s argument that Murayama does not teach that the flippable manner and the change in the posture are respectively used for picking up the workpiece in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652