DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the amended application filed on October 23, 2025. The Remarks of October 23, 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 7): “and.” Should be amended to “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20220037768 A1) in view of Peng et al. (US 11316245 B2, hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerman discloses (Figs. 2-5) a cellular antenna (100), comprising:
a radome (110-104) having a lateral recess that defines a first accommodating space with a lateral opening and for accommodating a pole (102), wherein the cellular antenna should be mounted to the pole (regarding the lateral recess and the first accommodating space with a lateral opening, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman below);
an antenna assembly (regarding the antenna assembly, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman below) mounted within a second accommodating space (104) defined by the radome, the antenna assembly comprising a reflecting plate (114-1) and a radiating element (130) mounted on the reflecting plate; and
a cover body (106), and the cover body is configured to be detachably mounted to the lateral recess of the radome so as to cover the lateral opening.
Zimmerman does not disclose the cover body being spaced apart from the pole.
Peng (Figs. 4, 5, 7) teaches cover body (302 – Figs. 4 and 7) detachably mounted to the radomes (3011, 3012 – Fig. 7) of two antennas (301 – Fig. 7) so as to cover the lateral opening between the two antennas, the cover body being spaced apart from a pole (3041 – Figs. 5 and 7) on which the antennas are mounted.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by substituting the cover body in Zimmerman with the cover body in Peng so that the cover body is being spaced apart from the pole. This modification would provide structural integrity to the cellular base station antenna, would eliminate visible discontinuities, and would prevent dust, moisture and other unwanted particles to enter the interior of the antenna.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 2-5) further teaches the radome (110-104) is configured as an integral columnar structure with a lateral recess (regarding the lateral recess, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 2-5) further teaches the lateral recess is a U-shaped recess (regarding the lateral recess, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above; regarding how the applicant defines U-shaped recess, see the current Specification [0068, 0069]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 2-5) further teaches the radome (110-104) and the cover body (106) form a cylindrical structure (see [0048], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 2-5) further teaches the cover body (106) is configured to be joined to the lateral recess of the radome (regarding the lateral recess, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above) in a form-fitting manner.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 6 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 4-5) further teaches the radome (110-104) has joint parts (162), and the cover body (106) has mating parts (164) for joining to the joint parts.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 7 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 4-5) further teaches the joint parts (162) of the radome (110-104) are respectively provided on both sides of the radome adjacent to the lateral opening (regarding the lateral opening, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 3-5) further teaches the bottom of the lateral recess of the radome is configured to at least partially abut against a peripheral wall of the pole (102) (regarding the lateral recess, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of Claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Figs. 2-5) further teaches a pole assembly, comprising: a pole (102); and a cellular base station antenna (100) capable of being mounted laterally to the pole, the cellular base station antenna being configured as the cellular base station antenna according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Zimmerman teaches the pole assembly of claim 18 as addressed above.
Zimmerman further teaches the cellular base station antenna is configured to be mounted to the middle of the pole (see [0048], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, Zimmerman discloses (Figs. 2-5) a cellular antenna (100), comprising:
a radome (110-104) having a lateral recess that defines a first accommodating space with a lateral opening and for accommodating a pole (102), wherein the cellular antenna should be mounted to the pole (regarding the lateral recess and the first accommodating space with a lateral opening, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman abpve);
an antenna assembly (regarding the antenna assembly, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman below) mounted within a second accommodating space (104) defined by the radome, the antenna assembly comprising a reflecting plate (114-1) and a radiating element (130) mounted on the reflecting plate; and
a cover body (106), and the cover body is configured to be detachably mounted to the lateral recess of the radome so as to cover the lateral opening; and
a reflection patch (114-3) mounted on the cover body and residing in the first accommodating space.
Zimmerman does not disclose the cover body being spaced apart from the pole.
Peng (Figs. 4, 5, 7) teaches cover body (302 – Figs. 4 and 7) detachably mounted to the radomes (3011, 3012 – Fig. 7) of two antennas (301 – Fig. 7) so as to cover the lateral opening between the two antennas, the cover body being spaced apart from a pole (3041 – Figs. 5 and 7) on which the antennas are mounted.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by substituting the cover body in Zimmerman with the cover body in Peng so that the cover body is being spaced apart from the pole. This modification would provide structural integrity to the cellular base station antenna, would eliminate visible discontinuities, and would prevent dust, moisture and other unwanted particles to enter the interior of the antenna.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Zimmerman as applied to claim 7 in view of Tasker et al. (US 20180145403 A1, hereinafter Tasker).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 7 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not teach the limitation wherein the joint part is configured as a joint groove, and the mating part is configured as a joint rib.
Tasker teaches (Figs. 5A-5C) an antenna radome (410) with different radome segments joined together, wherein the joint part is configured as a joint groove (412), and the mating part is configured as a joint rib (423).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman, so that the joint part is configured as a joint groove, and the mating part is configured as a joint rib. This modification would provide alternative means of joining together the antenna radome and the cover body, which in some cases may be more cost-effective (see Tasker, [0031], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 7 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not teach the limitation wherein the joint part is configured as a joint rib, and the mating part is configured as a joint groove.
Tasker teaches (Figs. 5A-5C) an antenna radome (410) with different radome segments joined together, wherein the joint part is configured as a joint rib (423), and the mating part (412) is configured as a joint groove.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman, so that the joint part is configured as a joint rib, and the mating part is configured as a joint groove. This modification would provide alternative means of joining together the antenna radome and the cover body, which in some cases may be more cost-effective (see Tasker, [0031], lines 5-8).
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Zimmerman as applied to claim 1 in view of Ai (US 20200220251 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Fig. 3) further teaches an end cover comprising a base surface, the base surface has a lateral groove corresponding to a contour of the lateral recess of the radome, and the base surface is configured to cover the radome (104) on an end side (regarding the end cover, see annotated Fig. 3 in Zimmerman below).
The modified Zimmerman does not teach the limitation wherein the base cove comprises an apron bent from an outer edge of the base surface and the apron is configured to abut against the radome on a peripheral side.
Ai teaches (Figs. 1-2, 5A, 5B; [0072]) a base station antenna (100) comprising a radome (101) and end cover (1) comprising a base surface (14) and an apron bent from an outer edge of the base surface and the apron is configured to abut against the radome on a peripheral side.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by adding an apron to the end cover, wherein the apron is bent from an outer edge of the base surface and the apron is configured to abut against the radome on a peripheral side. This modification would enclose the open end of the antenna radome and would provide a seal between the end cover and the inner circumferential surface of the radome (see Ai, [0072], lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 11 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the antenna assembly comprises a support structure, and a plurality of reflecting plates are fixed on the support structure.
However, Zimmerman ([0049], lines 11-14) teaches that the antenna assembly comprises a support structure (support brackets), and a plurality of reflecting plates (114) are fixed on the support structure.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by adding a support structure to which a plurality of reflecting plates are fixed. This modification would provide added structural rigidity to the reflecting plates (see Zimmerman, [0049], lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 12 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Fig. 5) further teaches the plurality of reflecting plates comprise a first reflecting plate (114-1) and a second reflecting plate (114-2) on both sides of the lateral recess, and the first reflecting plate and the second reflecting plate are spaced apart from each other by the lateral recess, thereby forming a reflection interruption (regarding the lateral recess and the reflection interruption, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 14 as addressed above.
Zimmerman (Fig. 5) further teaches the cellular base station antenna further comprises a reflection patch (114-3), and the reflection patch is configured to at least partially compensate for the reflection interruption (regarding the reflection interruption, see annotated Fig. 5 in Zimmerman above).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Zimmerman as applied to claim 12 in view of Varnoosfaderani et al. (US 12218425 B2, hereinafter Varnoosfaderani).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 12 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not teach the limitation wherein the support structure comprises a base surface with a plurality of prismatic edges and a side surface bent from a corresponding prismatic edge of the base surface, the base surface of the end cover is fixed to the base surface of the support structure via a fastening device, and a corresponding reflecting plate is fixed to a side surface of the support structure via the fastening device.
Varnoosfaderani teaches (Figs. 6-9) a support structure (180) comprising a base surface with a plurality of prismatic edges and a side surface bent from a corresponding prismatic edge of the base surface (regarding the base surface and the side surface of the support structure, see annotated Fig. 9 in Varnoosfaderani below), a second structure (154) is fixed to the base surface of the support structure via a fastening device (155), and a reflecting plate (150) is fixed to a side surface of the support structure via the fastening device (155).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman, so that the support structure comprises a base surface with a plurality of prismatic edges and a side surface bent from a corresponding prismatic edge of the base surface, the base surface of the end cover is fixed to the base surface of the support structure via a fastening device, and a corresponding reflecting plate is fixed to a side surface of the support structure via the fastening device. This modification would provide means of mounting and securing the corresponding reflecting plate to the antenna end cover in the desired location and orientation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Zimmerman as applied to claim 15 in view of Varnoosfaderani.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not teach the limitation wherein the reflection patch is fixed on an inner surface of the cover body.
Varnoosfaderani teaches (Figs. 6) a reflector assembly (151) comprising a reflector (150) fixed on an inner surface of the radome (110) of a base station antenna (100) via support brackets (122) and a frame (157).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate to modify Zimmerman, so that the reflection patch is fixed on an inner surface of the cover body. This modification would provide means of securing the reflection patch in the desired location and orientation relative to other elements of the antenna.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Zimmerman as applied to claim 18 in view of Gienger et al. (US 20210328337 A1, hereinafter Gienger).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Zimmerman teaches the cellular base station antenna of claim 18 as addressed above.
The modified Zimmerman does not teach a lighting device mounted on the top of the pole.
Gienger teaches (Fig. 4) a pole assembly comprising a pole (200), an antenna (210) mounted on the pole, and a lighting device (204) mounted on the top of the pole.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate to modify Zimmerman by adding a lighting device on top of the pole. This modification would allow the pole assembly to serve not only as a mounting platform for the cellular antenna, but also to light the surrounding environment when necessary (e.g., light city streets at night).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845