DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments, see Remarks/Claims, filed 06 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 in the previous Office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. The new amendment requires the first upper insulation pattern to be SiN while the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern has a higher hydrogen diffusivity than SiN. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jungwoo Song et al. (US 20210335790 A1). Details of the updated rejection in view of the newly discovered prior art of record is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-14, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyesung Park et al. (US 20200402982 A1; hereinafter Park) in view of Jungwoo Song et al. (US 20210335790 A1; hereinafter Song).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1, 2, 3A, 3B), comprising:
a substrate (5; ¶0018) including a cell region (A; ¶0019) and a peripheral circuit region (B; ¶0019);
a first gate structure (80; ¶0021) in the cell region (A) of the substrate (5), the first gate structure (80) extending in a first direction (II-II’ direction) parallel to an upper surface of the substrate;
bit line structures (140; ¶0023) on the cell region (A) of the substrate (5), the bit line structures (140) extending in a second direction (III-III’ direction) perpendicular to the first direction and parallel to the upper surface of the substrate;
a second gate structure (120; ¶0024) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate (5);
contact plug structures (180A comprising 181+189; ¶0032) between the bit line structures (140), the contact plug structures (180A) contacting the substrate (impurity regions 15b of substrate 5; Fig. 3A; ¶0032);
first conductive structures (180B; ¶0033) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate (5), the first conductive structures (180B) being electrically connected to the peripheral circuit region of the substrate (via 133; ¶0030; Fig. 3B);
a first upper insulation structure (202b; ¶0039) between the first conductive structures (180B) (Fig. 3B), the first upper insulation structure including a first upper insulation pattern (material of 202b); and
a second upper insulation pattern (202a; ¶0039) between upper portions of the contact plug structures (180A).
Park is silent regarding wherein the first upper insulation structure (202b) further includes a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of the first upper insulation pattern, wherein the first upper insulation pattern is silicon nitride, and the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches a similar memory device (Fig. 1B; ¶0009-¶0010) comprising an upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148; ¶0034) between adjacent conductive structures (LP/11a/9/BC; ¶0032) that electrically contacts the substrate (100; ¶0021, ¶0023), wherein
the first upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148) further includes a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146) surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of a first upper insulation pattern (148) (Fig. 1B), wherein the first upper insulation pattern (148) is silicon nitride (148 is silicon nitride as disclosed in ¶0034), and the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146; wherein this limitation is intended use and therefore the material being the same as what is recited in the specification and claims satisfies this limitation, MPEP 2114) includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride (144a/144b/146 is SiCN as disclosed in ¶0034 “For example, the first, second, and third upper buried dielectric patterns 144a, 144b, and 146 may each be formed of a silicon carbonitride (SiCN) layer, and the fourth upper buried dielectric pattern 148 may be formed of a silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4) layer.”; being the same material as in the instant application, this limitation is therefore satisfied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the upper insulation features of Song in the device of Park in order to achieve good electrical insulation between the adjacent conductive structures while providing a decrease in density, hardness, and transparency for the SiCN (liner) layers to improve device reliability (¶0034, ¶0061, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern includes at least one of SiCN, SiBN, or SiO2 (as modified by Song, 144a/144b/146 is SiCN; ¶0034).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second upper insulation pattern (Park 202a) includes silicon nitride (202a; includes SiN; ¶0124).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
an insulating interlayer (139; ¶0025) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate, the insulating interlayer (139) covering the second gate structure (120);
the insulating interlayer including silicon oxide (¶0069);
a first capping layer (142b; ¶0070) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate, the first capping layer (142b) covering the insulating interlayer (139); and
the first capping layer including silicon nitride (¶0071),
wherein at least a portion of the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (as modified by Song, 144a/144b/146 surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of 148, modified as the 202b of Park) in the first upper insulation structure directly contacts the insulating interlayer (139) (wherein Song’s insulation structure as the 202b of Park would result in Song’s 144a/144b/146 directly contacting 139; as shown in Park Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
an etch stop layer (204; ¶0043) on the first conductive structures (180B), the first upper insulation structure (modified 202b), the contact plug structures (180A), and the second upper insulation pattern (202a) (as shown in Park Fig. 3A and 3B); and
a cell capacitor (210; ¶0042) on the cell region (A) of the substrate, the cell capacitor passing through the etch stop layer (204) and contacting the contact plug structures (180A) (as shown in Fig. 3A; ¶0043).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the bit line structures (140) include a conductive pattern (Fig. 3A; 121a; ¶0023) and a capping pattern (145; ¶0023), and a spacer structure (154/157; ¶0041) is further on sidewalls of the bit line structures (140).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a bottom of the second upper insulation pattern (bottom of 202a) is lower than an uppermost surface of the bit line structures (top most portion of 140), and a lower portion of the second upper insulation pattern (lower portion of 202a) contacts the capping pattern (145) and the spacer structure (154/157) (as shown in Fig. 3A).
Regarding Claim 11, Park discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1, 2, 3A, 3B), comprising:
a substrate (5; ¶0018) including a cell region (A; ¶0019) and a peripheral circuit region (B; ¶0019);
a first gate structure (80; ¶0021) in the cell region (A) of the substrate (5), the first gate structure (80) extending in a first direction (II-II’ direction) parallel to an upper surface of the substrate;
bit line structures (140; ¶0023) on the cell region (A) of the substrate (5), the bit line structures (140) extending in a second direction (III-III’ direction) perpendicular to the first direction and parallel to the upper surface of the substrate;
a second gate structure (120; ¶0024) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate (5);
an insulating interlayer (139; ¶0025) covering sidewalls of the second gate structure (120) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate;
a first capping layer (142b; ¶0025) covering the insulating interlayer (139) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate;
contact plug structures (180A comprising 181+189; ¶0032) between the bit line structures (140), the contact plug structures (180A) contacting the substrate (impurity regions 15b of substrate 5; Fig. 3A; ¶0032);
first conductive structures (180B; ¶0033) on the first capping layer (142b), a portion of the first conductive structures (185a of 180B) passing through the first capping layer (142b) and the insulating interlayer (139) and contacting the peripheral circuit region of the substrate (via 133; ¶0030; Fig. 3B);
a first upper insulation structure (202b; ¶0039) between the first conductive structures (180B) (Fig. 3B), the first upper insulation structure including a first upper insulation pattern (material of 202b); and
a second upper insulation pattern (202a; ¶0039) between upper portions of the contact plug structures (180A),
wherein at least a portion of the first upper insulation structure (202b) directly contacts the insulating interlayer (139) (as shown in Fig. 3B).
Park is silent regarding wherein the first upper insulation structure (202b) includes a first upper insulation pattern and a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of the first upper insulation pattern; and
wherein the first upper insulation pattern is silicon nitride,
wherein the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride, and
wherein at least a portion of the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern directly contacts the insulating interlayer.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches a similar memory device (Fig. 1B; ¶0009-¶0010) comprising an upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148; ¶0034) between adjacent conductive structures (LP/11a/9/BC; ¶0032) that electrically contact the substrate (100; ¶0021, ¶0023), wherein
the first upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148) further includes a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146) surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of a first upper insulation pattern (148) (Fig. 1B), wherein the first upper insulation pattern (148) is silicon nitride (148 is silicon nitride as disclosed in ¶0034), and the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146; wherein this limitation is intended use and therefore the material being the same as what is recited in the specification and claims satisfies this limitation, MPEP 2114) includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride (144a/144b/146 is SiCN as disclosed in ¶0034 “For example, the first, second, and third upper buried dielectric patterns 144a, 144b, and 146 may each be formed of a silicon carbonitride (SiCN) layer, and the fourth upper buried dielectric pattern 148 may be formed of a silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4) layer.”; being the same material as in the instant application, this limitation is therefore satisfied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the upper insulation features of Song in the device of Park in order to achieve good electrical insulation between the adjacent conductive structures while providing a decrease in density, hardness, and transparency for the SiCN (liner) layers to improve device reliability (¶0034, ¶0061, ¶0064). Using Song’s 144a/144b/146b148 for Park’s 202b would result in 144a/144b/146 (liner) directly contacting the interlayer insulating layer as in Park Fig. 3B.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern includes at least one of silicon oxide, or silicon nitride mixed with other materials as impurities (as modified by Song; 144a/144b/146 is SiCN which is SiN mixed with the impurity carbon; ¶0034).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first upper insulation pattern (as modified by Song, 148) and the second upper insulation pattern (202a) include silicon nitride (202a includes SiN; ¶0124; and similarly as modified by Song; 148 is SiN; ¶0034).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the insulating interlayer (139) includes silicon oxide (¶0069), and the first capping layer (142b) includes silicon nitride (¶0071).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first conductive structures (180B which comprises 185) include a contact plug (185a) contacting the substrate (133 of 5) and a conductive line (185b) contacting the contact plug (185a) on the first capping layer (142b) (as shown in Park Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 17, wherein the first upper insulation structure (202b modified by Song) is between conductive lines (185b; ¶0034-¶0035), and passes through the first capping layer (142b) (as shown in Park Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 19, Park discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1, 2, 3A, 3B), comprising:
bit line structures (140; ¶0023) on a cell region (A; ¶0019) of a substrate (5; ¶0018), the bit line structures (140) extending in one direction (III-III’ direction) parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (5);
a gate structure (120; ¶0024) on a peripheral circuit region (B; ¶0019) of the substrate;
contact plug structures (180A comprising 181+189; ¶0032) between the bit line structures (140), the contact plug structures (180A) contacting the substrate (impurity regions 15b of substrate 5; Fig. 3A; ¶0032);
first conductive structures (180B; ¶0033) on the peripheral circuit region (B) of the substrate (5);
a first upper insulation structure (202b; ¶0039) between the first conductive structures (180B) (Fig. 3B); and
a second upper insulation pattern (202a; ¶0039) between upper portions of the contact plug structures (180A), the second upper insulation pattern (202a) having a stacked structure different from a stacked structure of the first upper insulation structure (202b) (as no specific definition in the instant specification is provided for what “a stacked structure” requires, since 592 of Fig. 22 appears to be a single material; Park satisfies this limitation in view of Fig. 19, wherein the “stacked structure” of 202a {commensurate in scope with Applicant’s 592}, has differently shaped/wider “stacked structure” than 202b).
Park is silent regarding wherein the first upper insulation structure (202b) includes a first upper insulation pattern and a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of the first upper insulation pattern;
wherein the first upper insulation pattern is silicon nitride, and
wherein the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches a similar memory device (Fig. 1B; ¶0009-¶0010) comprising an upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148; ¶0034) between adjacent conductive structures (LP/11a/9/BC; ¶0032) that electrically contact the substrate (100; ¶0021, ¶0023), wherein
the first upper insulation structure (144a/144b/146/148) further includes a hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146) surrounding a bottom and sidewalls of a first upper insulation pattern (148) (Fig. 1B), wherein the first upper insulation pattern (148) is silicon nitride (148 is silicon nitride as disclosed in ¶0034), and the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (144a/144b/146; wherein this limitation is intended use and therefore the material being the same as what is recited in the specification and claims satisfies this limitation, MPEP 2114) includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than a hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride (144a/144b/146 is SiCN as disclosed in ¶0034 “For example, the first, second, and third upper buried dielectric patterns 144a, 144b, and 146 may each be formed of a silicon carbonitride (SiCN) layer, and the fourth upper buried dielectric pattern 148 may be formed of a silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4) layer.”; being the same material as in the instant application, this limitation is therefore satisfied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the upper insulation features of Song in the device of Park in order to achieve good electrical insulation between the adjacent conductive structures while providing a decrease in density, hardness, and transparency for the SiCN (liner) layers to improve device reliability (¶0034, ¶0061, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein the second upper insulation pattern (202a) includes silicon nitride (Park; ¶0124).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first upper insulation pattern (as modified by Song; top surface of 148) and a top surface of the hydrogen diffusing insulation pattern (as modified by Song, top surface of 144a/144b/146) are coplanar with each other (as modified by and shown in Song Fig. 1B).
Claims 7, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Song in view of Se Ra Hwang (US 20230037646 A1; hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, but is silent regarding wherein the etch stop layer (204) includes a material having an etch selectivity with respect to silicon oxide (although ESL 204 is contacting silicon oxide 220) and having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than the hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a similar semiconductor device (in view of Fig. 1 and Fig. 14) comprising a cell region (CA; ¶0018) and a peripheral region (PA; ¶0018), the peripheral region comprising peripheral transistors (¶0031), wherein an etch stop layer (30; ¶0077) comprising SiBN or SiCN is formed over both regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the SiBN or SiCN etch stop layer material of Hwang for the etch stop layer material of Park because of their art-recognized equivalence for the intended use of an etch stop layer over memory device transistors (Hwang; Fig. 14; ¶0077; wherein any suitable material chosen from SiN, SiCN, SiOCN, SiBN, or SiBCN may equivalently serve as the etch stop layer 30 over the memory device transistors, which all have etch selectivity with respect to silicon oxide because they are different materials).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, but is silent regarding wherein the etch stop layer (204) includes at least one of SiCN or SiBN.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a similar semiconductor device (in view of Fig. 1 and Fig. 14) comprising a cell region (CA; ¶0018) and a peripheral region (PA; ¶0018), the peripheral region comprising peripheral transistors (¶0031), wherein an etch stop layer (30; ¶0077) comprising SiBN or SiCN is formed over both regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the SiBN or SiCN etch stop layer material of Hwang for the etch stop layer material of Park because of their art-recognized equivalence for the intended use of an etch stop layer over memory device transistors (Hwang; Fig. 14; ¶0077; wherein any suitable material chosen from SiN, SiCN, SiOCN, SiBN, or SiBCN may equivalently serve as the etch stop layer 30 over the memory device transistors, which all have etch selectivity with respect to silicon oxide because they are different materials).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising:
an etch stop layer (204; ¶0043) on the first conductive structures (180B), the first upper insulation structure (modified 202b), the contact plug structures (180A), and the second upper insulation pattern (202a) (as shown in Park Fig. 3A and 3B), and
a cell capacitor (210; ¶0042) on the cell region (A) of the substrate, the cell capacitor passing through the etch stop layer (204) and contacting the contact plug structures (180A) (as shown in Fig. 3A; ¶0043).
Park is silent regarding wherein the etch stop layer includes a material having a hydrogen diffusivity higher than the hydrogen diffusivity of silicon nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a similar semiconductor device (in view of Fig. 1 and Fig. 14) comprising a cell region (CA; ¶0018) and a peripheral region (PA; ¶0018), the peripheral region comprising peripheral transistors (¶0031), wherein an etch stop layer (30; ¶0077) comprising SiBN or SiCN is formed over both regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the SiBN or SiCN etch stop layer material of Hwang for the etch stop layer material of Park because of their art-recognized equivalence for the intended use of an etch stop layer over memory device transistors (Hwang; Fig. 14; ¶0077; wherein any suitable material chosen from SiN, SiCN, SiOCN, SiBN, or SiBCN may equivalently serve as the etch stop layer 30 over the memory device transistors, which all have etch selectivity with respect to silicon oxide because they are different materials).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Song, Hwang, and Jin Sub Kim et al. (US 20210375877 A1; hereinafter Kim877).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Park teaches the semiconductor device of claim 15, but is silent regarding further comprising a hydrogen supplying oxide layer on the cell capacitor (210) and the etch stop layer (204).
In the same field of endeavor, Kim877 teaches a similar memory device in Fig. 3; including a cell region (CELL) and peripheral region (PERI; ¶0030), wherein the cell region includes a capacitor (CAP; ¶0046) extending through an etch stop layer (200; ¶0065) to contact device contact structures (105; ¶0059), an interface layer (300 comprising 310 and 320; ¶0096) on the top and side of the capacitor (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; CAP; and not in the PERI region) wherein a hydrogen supplying oxide layer (400; ¶0115) is disposed on the cell capacitor (CAP) in both the (CELL) and (PERI) regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the above features including the hydrogen supplying layer (of Kim877; 400) and interface layer (of Kim877; 300) on the cell capacitor (of Park) in order to prevent hydrogen supply to the capacitor while providing hydrogen to the transistors such that electrical characteristics can be improved (Kim877; ¶0132-¶0135).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN PRIDEMORE
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/NATHAN PRIDEMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898