Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed October 7, 2026.
Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 10/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-21 are pending.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
The following is a summary of the restriction/election requirements in the application. See the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 09/17/2024.
Applicant elected without traverse Invention I, drawn to a method of generating a brown adipocyte, and ALK-5 inhibitor II, as the inhibitor molecule, in the reply filed 11/18/2024. As previously stated in the Office action mailed 12/23/2024, the non-elected species of SB431542 had been rejoined.
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/2024.
Priority
The instant application 18/517,402 was filed on 11/22/2023. This application is a continuation (CON) of U.S. Application No. 15/750,285 filed 07/03/2018, which is a national stage of international application filed 08/08/2016, claiming priority based on Japanese patent application JP2015-157697 filed 08/07/2015.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 in U.S. Application No. 15/750,285. The international application was published as WO 2017/026462 A1 in a non-English language, and a translator’s declaration has been filed on 07/03/2018 in U.S. Application No. 15/750,285. While a certified copy of the foreign patent application JP2015-157697 has been provided, a certified English translation of said foreign patent application has not been provided.
Terminal Disclaimer
As acknowledged in a prior Office action, the terminal disclaimer filed on 10/26/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on U.S. Application No. 18/394,085 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Withdrawal of Prior Rejections/Objections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office action mailed 04/08/2026 are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/010746 A1 to Kishida et al.; in view of Zhu et al. (2012) “Direct Conversion of Porcine Embryonic Fibroblasts into Adipocytes by Chemical Molecules”, Cellular Reprogramming, Vol. 14, No. 2, pg. 99-105; and WO 2015/199097 A1 to Kiuchi et al. (filed: 06/23/2015; published: 12/30/2015).
This rejection is reiterated for the same reasons provided in the prior Office action. A response to applicant’s traversal follows this rejection.
Translations:
The Kishida disclosure (WO 2014/010746 A1) was published in a non-English language. A machine translation of the disclosure has been provided.
The Kiuchi disclosure (WO 2015/199097 A1) was published in a non-English language. A machine translation of the disclosure has been provided.
Grounds of rejection:
Kishida (WO 2014/010746 A1) discloses a method of producing a brown adipocyte by culturing a fibroblast cell in a “differentiation induction medium for differentiating brown adipocytes” comprising insulin, isobutylmethylxanthine (IBMX), dexamethasone, indomethacin, T3 and rosiglitazone. See pages 6 and 8 of the provided machine translation; see Figure 1.
Kishida does not teach that the cell culture medium further comprises SB431542, as recited in the claimed invention.
Zhu is relevant prior art for teaching that transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β) signaling pathway inhibitor SB431542 promotes the differentiation of a fibroblast into an adipocyte. See Abstract; pg. 100, 103; fig. 1-2.
In addition, Kiuchi is relevant prior art for disclosing that uncoupling protein-1 (UCP-1) is highly expressed in brown adipocytes and that combining a PPARγ agonist, such as rosiglitazone, with a Smad3 inhibitor, such as SB431542, synergistically induces the expression of UCP-1 in a starting population of preadipocytes, thereby promoting differentiation into brown adipocytes. See Figure 8; see Abstract, “Specifically provided is a UCP-1 expression promoter obtained by combining a PPAR-γ activator and a SMAD3 inhibitor”; page 3, “Brown adipocytes, … specifically UCP-1 (uncoupling protein-1) is highly expressed”; page 4, “when using a PPARγ activator and a Smad3 inhibitor in combination, … it significantly promotes the expression of UCP-1 and promotes brown fatification”; page 6, “when a PPARγ activator and a Smad3 inhibitor are combined and added to rat subcutaneous fat-derived cultured cells, the expression of the UCP-1 gene is significantly increased, … It can be said that it is a synergistic effect that exceeds the additive effect obtained in some cases”; page 11, “The preadipocytes (n = 3) obtained above were seeded in a 12-well plate coated with type I collagen, and the next day PPARγ activator (rosiglitazone (Rosi) (Wake Pure Chemical Industries), 10 μM) and Smad3 An inhibitor (SIS3 (SIGMA) or SB431542 (SIGMA): 10 μM) was added. After culturing for 7 days, … FIG. 8 indicates that the expression level of UCP-1 increased synergistically by adding rosiglitazone to SIS3 or SB431542 and norepinephrine”. The quotations originate from the provided machine translation.
To summarize, Kishida discloses a medium for inducing brown adipocyte differentiation comprising rosiglitazone, and Kiuchi further discloses that combining rosiglitazone with SB431542 synergistically induces UCP-1 expression, thereby promoting brown adipocyte differentiation.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a medium for inducing brown adipocyte differentiation, as found in Kishida, to further comprise SB431542, as taught by Zhu and Kiuchi, with a reasonable expectation of success because SB431542 promotes the differentiation of a fibroblast into an adipocyte (Zhu, Abstract; pg. 100, 103; fig. 1-2), and combining rosiglitazone with SB431542 synergistically induces UCP-1 expression, which is a marker highly expressed in brown adipocytes (Kiuchi, see citations above).
Claim 10 further recites that the fibroblast is cultured for “3 to 30 days” in the recited induction medium. Kishida cultures the fibroblast for 2 days in a medium comprising insulin, isobutylmethylxanthine, dexamethasone, indomethacin, T3 and rosiglitazone (pg. 8), and 2 days is close to the claimed range of 3-30 days. Zhu cultures the fibroblast in a medium comprising SB431542 for 5, 10, 15 and 20 days (Figure 1), and 5, 10, 15 and 20 days lie inside the claimed range of 3-30 days. Kiuchi cultures preadipocytes for 7 days in a medium comprising rosiglitazone and SB431542 (pg. 11), and 7 days lies inside the claimed range of 3-30 days. MPEP 2144.05 instructs that, where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the cited references either teach a number of days that lies inside the claimed range (Zhu and Kiuchi), or a number of days that is merely close to the claimed range (Kishida). Moreover, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In this case, the number of days is a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to optimize by routine experimentation. For example, Figure 1 of Zhu shows that the number of days is a variable that effects the degree of Oil Red O staining and lipid accumulation of adipocytes derived from the process. For these reasons, absent a secondary consideration, the claimed range of “3 to 30 days” would have been prima facie obvious over the cited references.
Kishida further teaches that the fibroblast may be obtained from an adult, a child or a fetus. (See, pg. 3-4, joining paragraph, of the machine translation, “The somatic cells... include fibroblast... The origin of the somatic cell may be an adult, a child or a fetus;” and see, pg. 8, “Example 1... human normal skin fibroblast cell line aHDF [adult human dermal fibroblast]”). Kishida does not expressly teach that the fibroblast is obtained from an “infant,” as claimed in claim 21. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that fibroblasts are found in infants, and Kishida teaches that the fibroblast may be obtained from a subject at a range of developmental stages, i.e., from an adult, a child or a fetus. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the fibroblast from an infant with a reasonable expectation of success, e.g., for providing an infant subject with an autologous cell-based therapy (Kishida, pg. 6 of the machine translation, “it is desirable that the transplanted cells for prophylaxis or therapy are autologous cells established from the patients themselves”).
For these reasons, the process of claims 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21 would have been prima facie obvious over the cited references.
Response to arguments: Applicant’s remarks filed 10/07/2026 have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues that Zhu teaches use of embryonic fibroblasts, which are considered to retain a substantial degree of pluripotency and relatively high plasticity compared to adult fibroblasts. Therefore, the results in Zhu are not predictable for a method of culturing fibroblast derived from adult or infant tissue, as recited by the instant claims and as found in Kishida. Therefore, Zhu and Kishida cannot be combined to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
The argument is not persuasive. The issue is not whether biological differences exist between embryonic fibroblasts and adult fibroblasts. The question at hand is whether one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected success in converting an adult fibroblast into a brown adipocyte, as claimed. In this case, Kishida teaches that the fibroblast may be obtained from a subject at a range of developmental stages, i.e., from an adult, a child or a fetus, when producing a brown adipocyte. In addition, Osonoi et al. (2011) “Fibroblasts have plasticity and potential utility for cell therapy” Human Cell, 24:30-34, of record, discloses that adult fibroblast possess plasticity and are able to differentiate directly to all three germ layer derivatives. See, e.g., Abstract, and pg. 30. The references as outlined in Applicant’s remarks do not identify a particular challenge relating to fibroblast differentiation into brown adipocytes. The preponderance of evidence fairly suggests that adult fibroblasts do possess a suitable degree of plasticity for adipocyte differentiation, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in using adult fibroblasts to generate adipocytes
Applicant submitted non-patent literature (NPL) in reply to the prior Office action. Where one or more references have not been cited in an information disclosure statement (IDS), said references have been considered only to the extent outlined in MPEP 609.05(c): “Consideration by the examiner of the document submitted as evidence directed to an issue of patentability raised in the Office action is limited to the portion of the document relied upon as rebuttal evidence; the entirety of the document may not necessarily be considered by the examiner.”
Double Patenting
Claims 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,459,546 B2; in view of WO 2014/010746 A1 to Kishida et al.; and Zhu et al. (2012) “Direct Conversion of Porcine Embryonic Fibroblasts into Adipocytes by Chemical Molecules”, Cellular Reprogramming, Vol. 14, No. 2, pg. 99-105. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious over the patent claims and secondary references.
This rejection is newly applied, necessitated by amendment.
The Kishida disclosure (WO 2014/010746 A1) was published in a non-English language. This rejection relies on a European Patent Office (EPO) machine translation of the disclosure provided with this action.
The patent claims recite a method of producing “brown adipocytes” by culturing a “fibroblast as a starting material” in the presence of an “ALK5 inhibitor” in combination with “a brown adipocyte differentiation induction medium”. See, e.g., claim 7. The patent claims further recite that the ALK5 inhibitor is “SB431542”. See claims 8-9.
The patent claims do not recite the composition of the recited “brown adipocyte differentiation induction medium.” In particular, the patent claims do not recite that the “brown adipocyte differentiation induction medium” comprises insulin, 3-isobutyl-1-methylxanthine (IBMX), dexamethasone, indomethacin, triiodothyronine (T3) and rosiglitazone, as recited by the instant claims.
However, cell culture media for brown adipocyte differentiation induction was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention. In particular, Kishida discloses a method of producing a brown adipocyte by culturing a fibroblast cell in a “differentiation induction medium for differentiating brown adipocytes” comprising insulin, isobutylmethylxanthine (IBMX), dexamethasone, indomethacin, T3, and rosiglitazone. See pages 6 and 8 of the provided machine translation; see Figure 1.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of the patent claims by using a “brown adipocyte differentiation induction medium” comprising insulin, isobutylmethylxanthine (IBMX), dexamethasone, indomethacin, T3 and rosiglitazone, as found in Kishida, with a reasonable expectation of success because the patent claims do not expressly recite the composition of the “brown adipocyte differentiation induction medium,” and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would looked to the prior art for specific media compositions that have been successfully used for inducing brown adipocyte differentiation, as found in Kishida.
Claim 10 further recites that the fibroblast is cultured for “3 to 30 days” in the recited induction medium. The patent claims do not recite a number of days. However, Kishida cultures the fibroblast for 2 days in a medium comprising insulin, isobutylmethylxanthine, dexamethasone, indomethacin, T3 and rosiglitazone (pg. 8), and 2 days is close to the claimed range of 3-30 days. MPEP 2144.05 instructs that, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, Kishida teaches a number of days (2 days) that is merely close to the claimed range (3-30 days). Moreover, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In this case, the number of days is a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to optimize by routine experimentation. For example, Zhu cultures a fibroblast in a medium comprising SB431542 for 5, 10, 15 and 20 days to produce adipocytes (Abstract; pg. 100, 103; fig. 1-2). Figure 1 of Zhu shows that the number of days is a variable that effects the degree of Oil Red O staining and lipid accumulation of adipocytes derived from the process. For these reasons, absent a secondary consideration, the claimed range of “3 to 30 days” would have been prima facie obvious over the patent claims and cited secondary references.
Kishida further teaches that the fibroblast may be obtained from an adult, a child or a fetus. (See, pg. 3-4, joining paragraph, of the machine translation, "The somatic cells ... include fibroblast... The origin of the somatic cell may be an adult, a child or a fetus;" and see, pg. 8, "Example 1... human normal skin fibroblast cell line aHDF [adult human dermal fibroblast]"). Kishida does not expressly teach that the fibroblast is obtained from an "infant," as claimed in claim 21. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that fibroblasts are found in infants, and Kishida teaches that the fibroblast may be obtained from a subject at a range of developmental stages, i.e., from an adult, a child or a fetus. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the fibroblast from an infant with a reasonable expectation of success, e.g., for providing an infant subject with an autologous cell-based therapy (Kishida, pg. 6 of the machine translation, "it is desirable that the transplanted cells for prophylaxis or therapy are autologous cells established from the patients themselves").
For these reasons, the process of instant claims 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20-21 would have been prima facie obvious over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,459,546 B2 and the cited secondary references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631