DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 15-23 in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 24-28 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2022/0127403).
Claims 15-16, 21: Lee teaches a rubber polymer including a unit structure derived 1,3-butadiene and is functionalized with at least one of compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 to Chemical Formula 4 (abstract, examples). The examples show functionalized rubbers with different molecular weight. The degree of branching (i.e. linearity) of the rubber polymer is 1.5-2.5 [0020]. The rubber polymer has a cis content of 90wt% or more (table 1).
Lee does not explicitly teach a rubber mixture of a high molecular weight rubber and a low molecular weight rubber.
However, case law holds that “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). A mixture of any two rubbers from examples resulting in a rubber mixture of a high molecular weight rubber and a low molecular weight rubber as claimed.
Claims 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2022/0127403) in view of Miller et al (US 6,437,205) and Tanaka et al (JP2010229253).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of JP2010229253 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Claims 15-16: Lee teaches a rubber polymer for tires including a unit structure derived 1,3-butadiene and is functionalized with at least one of compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 to Chemical Formula 4 (abstract, examples).
Lee does not teach a mixture of both high Mw and low Mw rubber polymer.
However, it is known that the properties of polymers are affected by the molecular weight. Some of the desired properties are favored by having smaller molecules and some of the desired properties are favored by having longer molecules. A bimodal polybutadiene provides both high mechanical properties and improved processability: the presence of a high molecular weight fraction gives high hardness, tensile strength, tear resistance and abrasion resistance for a longer tread life; and the low molecular weight fraction acts as an internal lubricant to ensure smooth milling, extrusion and optimal filler dispersion.
Additionally, Miller teaches a low molecular weight high cis polybutadiene having properties suitable for blending with a high molecular weight high-cis polybutadiene, the resultant blend being useful in tire tread compounds (2:16-22, 1:15-21).
Tanaka teaches a rubber mixture of a high Mw modified polybutadiene and a low Mw modified polybutadiene for a tire. The first conjugated diene-based polymer having a cis-1,4-bond content of 75% or more and a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 250,000-800,000 and a second conjugated diene-based polymer having a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 10,000-150,000.
Therefore, based on the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to prepare a low molecular weight of the functionalized polybutadiene of Lee to be blended with the high Mw rubber and use the mixture in tire industry to provide both high mechanical properties and improved processability.
Claim 17: the high Mw rubber polymer has a Mw of 557k-630K (table 1).
Claim 18: Miller teaches the low Mw polymer has a Mn of 2000-50,000, and a molecular weight distribution of less than 3.1 (2:27-42). Therefore, the Mw of the low Mw polymer overlaps the claimed range.
Claim 19: Miller teaches the blend contains 20-80wt% of low Mw polymer and 20-80wt% of high Mw polymer (2:55-68).
Claim 20: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a blend of low and high Mw polymers with the same functional group so that the mixture has improved compatibility.
Claim 21: the combination of teachings from Lee and Miller have rendered obvious the claimed Mw and contents thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed molecular weight distribution to naturally arise, because the molecular weight distribution is controlled by weight fractions and dispersity of the parent polymers.
Claim 22: Lee teaches the degree of branching (i.e. linearity) of the rubber polymer is 1.5-2.5 [0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to recognize that the linearity of the low Mw polymer of Mill should be in the same range.
Claim 23: Lee teaches the rubber polymer has a cis content of 90wt% or more (table 1). Miller teaches the low Mw polymer has a cis content of at least 85% (claim 2). Therefore, the cis content of the mixture would overlap the claimed range.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763