DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks filed 03/16/2026 regarding the specification objection and the 101 rejection submitted in the non-final office action dated 12/16/2025 are persuasive due to the amendments and thus the specification objection and the 101 rejection are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to claims 1-16 regarding the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current reference, or combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 3, the term “first DFOV to mm and dividing” should be changed to “first DFOV to millimeters (mm) and dividing” in order to maintain clarity.
In claim 21, line 3, the term “an AP chest region” should be changed to “an anteroposterior (AP) chest region” in order to maintain clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 9, and 14-15 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claims 9; recites the limitation, “cause the computing device to:…...” [Line 4].
Claims 14; recites the limitation, “the computing device to determine… [Line 2].
Claims 15; recites the limitation, “the computing device to apply….” [Line 2].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 9 and 14-15:
(i) “computing device” (Fig. 2-3, #50. Paragraph [0035]- computing device is described as FIG. 3, a diagram of a DFOV determination system 302 of a computing device is shown, in accordance with an embodiment, where DFOV determination system 302 may determine automatically a DFOV according to which scan data may be reconstructed. As such, DFOV determination system 302 may be a non-limiting example of DFOV determination system 85 of FIG. 2. In some examples, DFOV determination system 302 may be incorporated into the imaging system, as described above. For example, DFOV determination system 302 may rely on controller 44 and memory module 82. In some examples, at least a portion of DFOV determination system 302 is disposed at a device (e.g., workstation, edge device, server, etc.) communicably coupled to the imaging system via wired and/or wireless connections, which can receive images from the imaging system or from a storage device which stores the images/data generated by the imaging system. Fig. 2-3, illustrates the computing device as a black box. (Wherein, the computing device does have a sufficient structure associated with it, workstation, server a computer.).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for at 414, method 400 includes judging whether DFOV adjustment is indicated. As described with respect to FIG. 3, reconstructing scan data based on a DFOV that is smaller than the SFOV may result in smaller voxels and therefore higher resolution, but in some instances, smaller voxels may result in higher noise in the reconstructed images, as described in paragraph [0050] in the specification, and the second DFOV 914, being smaller than the first DFOV 912, may result in smaller voxels/pixels than the first DFOV 912, as described in paragraph [0077] in the specification, does not explicitly disclose the claim language “wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV”, as claimed in claim 1.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV.
The office respectfully requests the Applicant to indicate where in the specification teaches the limitation in claim 1 or amend in order to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of LYU et al. (US 20180040136 A1), hereinafter referenced as LYU, and further in view of AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), hereinafter referenced as AMBWANI.
Regarding claim 1, CARUBA explicitly teaches a method (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0013]-CARUBA discloses a radiology workflow according to an embodiment of the present disclosure is shown in the flowchart 100 of FIG. 1. The workflow will be described with reference to the MR-PET hybrid scanner 10 of FIGS. 2 and 3. The workflow for the MR-PET hybrid scanner 10 provides a method for providing a topogram of a patient in the MR-PET hybrid scanner.), comprising:
acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system (Figs. 2-3. Paragraph [0011]-CARUBA discloses FIGS. 2 and 3 show generally a MR-PET hybrid scanner 10 having a scanner gantry 20 that incorporates scanner components necessary to acquire patient images in both the MR and PET modalities (wherein scanner components are a detector).) while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0017]-CARUBA discloses invention provides a hybrid MR-PET scout/topogram workflow with both PET and MR acquisitions performed simultaneously with the image data displayed together and co-registered in one topogram. The invention provides an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information by simultaneous acquisition of MR-PET scan data and reconstructed topogram that presents both MR and PET data co-registered.);
acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system (Figs. 2-3. Paragraph [0011]-CARUBA discloses FIGS. 2 and 3 show generally a MR-PET hybrid scanner 10 having a scanner gantry 20 that incorporates scanner components necessary to acquire patient images in both the MR and PET modalities (wherein scanner components are a detector and patient images is scan data).);
wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data (Fig 2. Paragraph [0017]-CARUBA discloses invention provides a hybrid MR-PET scout/topogram workflow with both PET and MR acquisitions performed simultaneously with the image data displayed together and co-registered in one topogram. The invention provides an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information by simultaneous acquisition of MR-PET scan data and reconstructed topogram that presents both MR and PET data co-registered.).
CARUBA fails to explicitly teach determining, by a processor of the imaging system, a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, a widest dimension of the body contour; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, based on the widest dimension, a first display field of view (DFOV), wherein the first DFOV is smaller than a scan field of view (SFOV) of the imaging system.
However, CHEN explicitly teaches determining, by a processor of the imaging system (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0048]-CHEN discloses any of the aforementioned methods may be embodied in the form of a program. The program may be stored on a computer readable media and is adapted to perform any one of the aforementioned methods when run on a computer device (a device including a processor).), a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient (wherein the body boundary is the body contour of the patient).);
determining, by the processor of the imaging system (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0048]-CHEN discloses any of the aforementioned methods may be embodied in the form of a program. The program may be stored on a computer readable media and is adapted to perform any one of the aforementioned methods when run on a computer device (a device including a processor).), a widest dimension of the body contour (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the outermost sides are the widest dimensions).);
determining, by the processor of the imaging system (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0048]-CHEN discloses any of the aforementioned methods may be embodied in the form of a program. The program may be stored on a computer readable media and is adapted to perform any one of the aforementioned methods when run on a computer device (a device including a processor).), based on the widest dimension, a first display field of view (DFOV) (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the outermost sides are the widest dimensions).), wherein the first DFOV is smaller than a scan field of view (SFOV) of the imaging system (Figs. 1-2, illustrate DFOV (#20 and #20’) is smaller than the SFOV (indicated by #110 and #210). Paragraph [0044]-CHEN discloses the FOV is set on the left-hand and right-hand boundaries inside the scan area or on the front and rear boundaries such that the FOV contains precisely all boundary points inside the scan area designated above. Thus, the FOV area intersects the points of the outermost side of the boundary 62 of the patient's body 60 inside the scan area. In order to achieve an optimum effect of image reconstruction, the procedure as in FIG. 2 number 20' is adopted. Further in paragraph [0032]-CHEN discloses FIG. 2 serves for reference. In the relevant figure, number 210 signifies the scanned region on the topogram 200 (wherein the scanned region is the SFOV).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CARUBA of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of CHEN of determining, by a processor of the imaging system, a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, a widest dimension of the body contour; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, based on the widest dimension, a first display field of view (DFOV), wherein the first DFOV is smaller than a scan field of view (SFOV) of the imaging system.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging determining, by a processor of the imaging system, a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, a widest dimension of the body contour; determining, by the processor of the imaging system, based on the widest dimension, a first display field of view (DFOV), wherein the first DFOV is smaller than a scan field of view (SFOV) of the imaging system.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and CHEN relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024].
CARUBA in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the first DFOV to generate one or more first reconstructed images, displaying the one or more second reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system.
However, WANG explicitly teaches reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system (Fig. 1, illustrates a controller in an imaging system (wherein the controller includes a processor). Paragraph [0035]-WANG discloses controller 140 may include a processor, a processing core, a memory, or the like, or a combination thereof. For example, controller 140 may include a central processing unit (CPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), an application-specific instruction-set processor (ASIP), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a physics processing unit (PPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic device (PLD), a microcontroller unit, a microprocessor, an advanced RISC machines processor (ARM), or the like, or a combinations thereof.), the scan data based on the first DFOV to generate one or more first reconstructed images (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0081-0082]-WANG discloses in 620, a first FOV may be determined. The first FOV may be determined by FOV determination unit 510 as described elsewhere in the disclosure. The first FOV may determine the size and location of a subject presented in a reconstructed image. In some embodiments, the first FOV may be set by a rectangle frame with a side length (e.g., 200 mm). The rectangle frame may be adjusted to cover a first region of interest by moving or scaling the rectangle frame on, for example, operator console 170 (e.g., a mouse). The adjustment of the rectangle frame may be performed manually or automatically. As a result, the region within the rectangle frame may be presented in a reconstructed image. In 630, a first image may be reconstructed based on the scan data corresponding to the first FOV. In some embodiments, the first image may be reconstructed by image generation unit 530 based on an image reconstruction technique as described elsewhere in the disclosure.),
displaying the one or more second reconstructed images (Figs. 12A-12B. Paragraph [0121]-WANG discloses FIG. 12B is an exemplary second image of the same subject as presented in FIG. 12A reconstructed in a second FOV according to some embodiments of the present disclosure.) on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system (Figs. 1 and 12A-B, illustrate displaying second reconstructed images with the controller of the imaging system. Paragraph [0034]-WANG discloses the controller 140 may communicate bi-directionally with gantry 110, tube 112, object table 120, high voltage generator 130, physiological signal monitor 150, data processing device 160, operator console 170, and/or storage device 180 (wherein these elements form the imaging system.) Further in Paragraph [0034]-WANG discloses the controller 140 may control the display of images on operator console 170. For instance, the whole or part of an image may be displayed.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CARUBA in view of CHEN of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of WANG of reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the first DFOV to generate one or more first reconstructed images, displaying the one or more second reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the first DFOV to generate one or more first reconstructed images, displaying the one or more second reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and WANG relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV.
However, LYU explicitly teaches wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV (Fig. 4. Paragraph [0090]-LYU discloses the first image matrix M.sub.0 may be reconstructed to generate a first regional image. The reconstruction of the first image matrix M.sub.0 may include a forward projection of the first voxel and the second voxel, and a back projection of the first voxel. The second image matrix M.sub.1 may be reconstructed to generate an image of a second regional image. The reconstruction of the second image matrix M.sub.1 may include a forward projection of the first voxel and the second voxel, and a back projection of the second voxel. In some embodiments, the sizes of the first voxel and the seccond voxel may be different or the same.) uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV (Fig. 4. Paragraph [0085]-LYU discloses a second region and a size of second voxel corresponding to the second region may be determined according to the structural information of the object. Operation 406 may be performed by acquisition module 210. In some embodiments, the second region may correspond to a portion of the object. In some embodiments, the size of the second voxel may be stored in a second image matrix M.sub.1 as a second element. In some embodiments, the size of the second voxel may be smaller than the size of the first voxel (wherein the second region is the SFOV).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of LYU of wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein reconstructing the scan data based on the first DFOV uses a first voxel size that is smaller than a second voxel size associated with the SFOV.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and LYU relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while LYU traditional reconstruction techniques may be unable to simultaneously reconstruct images of different portions of a scanned object based on different reconstruction parameters. Thus, it may be desirable to develop an image reconstruction method and system that may solve the above mentioned problems. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and LYU et al. (US 20180040136 A1), Paragraph [0003].
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU fail to explicitly teach detecting, within the one or more first reconstructed images, by the processor of the imaging system, one or more truncated edges of the scan data; in response to detecting the one or more truncated edges, determining a second DFOV that is larger than the first DFOV; reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the second DFOV to generate one or more second reconstructed images; and.
However, AMBWANI explicitly teaches detecting, within the one or more first reconstructed images (Figs. 5 and 8. Paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses the MR images are segmented into regions representative of different patient tissue types, such as fat, water, internal air (inside the patient, e.g., lungs) and background (air outside the patient). Third, appropriate (CT) HU values are assigned to each region, which creates a "pseudo-CT" mask 16, as illustrated in FIG. 5, which shows a transverse slice of a patient 40 through the torso 42 and arms 44. Note in FIG. 5 how at least one of the arms 44 has been truncated due to the limited MR DFOV (diameter of the in-plane x-y FOV), making the image of the truncated arm incomplete.), by the processor of the imaging system, one or more truncated edges of the scan data (Figs. 5 and 8. Paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses the MR images are segmented into regions representative of different patient tissue types, such as fat, water, internal air (inside the patient, e.g., lungs) and background (air outside the patient). Third, appropriate (CT) HU values are assigned to each region, which creates a "pseudo-CT" mask 16, as illustrated in FIG. 5, which shows a transverse slice of a patient 40 through the torso 42 and arms 44. Note in FIG. 5 how at least one of the arms 44 has been truncated due to the limited MR DFOV (diameter of the in-plane x-y FOV), making the image of the truncated arm incomplete. Further in paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses the MR/pseudo-CT mask and the binary body mask are co-registered with each other as shown in FIG. 6, and any regions 20 that are truncated (i.e., appearing in the PET-derived binary body mask, but not appearing in the MR/pseudo-CT mask) are identified (wherein the body mask is scan data and regions truncated are truncate edges).);
in response to detecting the one or more truncated edges (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses the MR/pseudo-CT mask and the binary body mask are co-registered with each other as shown in FIG. 6, and any regions 20 that are truncated (i.e., appearing in the PET-derived binary body mask, but not appearing in the MR/pseudo-CT mask) are identified.), determining a second DFOV that is larger than the first DFOV (Fig. 8, illustrates a second DFOV (PET image DFOV) that is larger than the first DFOV (MR image DFOV). Paragraph [0090]-AMBWANI discloses in which there is provided a system 24 and method 100 for attenuation correction (and/or for truncation completion of an MR-derived image for use in attenuation correction) in a PET/MR system 24 having a PET scanner 26 with a first diameter field of view DFOV.sub.PET 28 having an outer boundary 30 and a radius R.sub.PET DFOV, and an MR scanner 32 with a second diameter field of view DFOV.sub.MR 34 having an outer boundary 36 and a radius R.sub.MR DFOV.);
reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0096]-AMBWANI discloses the system 24 comprises a PET imaging system 26, an MR imaging system 32 operably coupled with the PET imaging system, and a computer/control system 38 coupled to the PET system and the MR system. The computer 38 may comprise components such as a workstation/CPU (central processing unit).), the scan data based on the second DFOV (Fig. 8, illustrates a second DFOV (PET image DFOV) that is larger than the first DFOV (MR image DFOV). Paragraph [0090]-AMBWANI discloses in which there is provided a system 24 and method 100 for attenuation correction (and/or for truncation completion of an MR-derived image for use in attenuation correction) in a PET/MR system 24 having a PET scanner 26 with a first diameter field of view DFOV.sub.PET 28 having an outer boundary 30 and a radius R.sub.PET DFOV, and an MR scanner 32 with a second diameter field of view DFOV.sub.MR 34 having an outer boundary 36 and a radius R.sub.MR DFOV.) to generate one or more second reconstructed images (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses a non-attenuation corrected (NAC) PET image is reconstructed using time-of-flight (TOF) at the PET diameter FOV (DFOV), which is larger than the MR DFOV.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of AMBWANI of detecting, within the one or more first reconstructed images, by the processor of the imaging system, one or more truncated edges of the scan data; in response to detecting the one or more truncated edges, determining a second DFOV that is larger than the first DFOV; reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the second DFOV to generate one or more second reconstructed images; and.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging detecting, within the one or more first reconstructed images, by the processor of the imaging system, one or more truncated edges of the scan data; in response to detecting the one or more truncated edges, determining a second DFOV that is larger than the first DFOV; reconstructing, with the processor of the imaging system, the scan data based on the second DFOV to generate one or more second reconstructed images; and.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and WANG relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while AMBWANI it would be desirable, therefore, to provide an improved system and method for truncation completion and MR-based attenuation correction for PET and PET/MR. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), Paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 4, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI explicitly teach the method of claim 1,
CARUBA in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the first DFOV is further based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters.
However, WANG explicitly teaches wherein determining the first DFOV is further based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0040]-WANG discloses operator console 170 may set parameters for a scan. The parameters may include scanning parameters (e.g., slice thickness) and/or reconstruction parameters (e.g., reconstruction FOV). Further in paragraph [0074]-WANG discloses multiple FOVs may be determined during the image reconstruction process. For example, a first FOV may include a specific subject and tissues or organs adjacent to the specific subject (wherein target anatomy is a scan protocol). See Paragraphs [0032-0033] for more information regarding scan protocols.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of WANG of wherein determining the first DFOV is further based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein determining the first DFOV is further based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and WANG relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
Regarding claim 5, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI explicitly teach the method of claim 4, CARUBA in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more scan protocols comprise a scan type and a scan range.
However, WANG explicitly teaches wherein the one or more scan protocols comprise a scan type and a scan range (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0041]-WANG discloses the scanning parameters may include spiral scanning or non-spiral scanning (wherein spiral and non-spiral scanning are scan types), dose index, scanning FOV (wherein scanning FOV is the scan range).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of WANG of wherein the one or more scan protocols comprise a scan type and a scan range.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein the one or more scan protocols comprise a scan type and a scan range.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and WANG relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of LYU et al. (US 20180040136 A1), hereinafter referenced as LYU, and further in view of AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), hereinafter referenced as AMBWANI, and further in view of THIRUVENKADAM (US 20130281825 A1), hereinafter referenced as THIRUVENKADAM.
Regarding claim 2, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI explicitly teach the method of claim 1,
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the body contour of the patient comprises applying a segmentation mask to generate a contour map.
However, THIRUVENKADAM explicitly teaches wherein determining the body contour of the patient comprises applying a segmentation mask to generate a contour map (Fig. 4, illustrates flow chart for generating a multi-class segmentation mask. Paragraph [0027]-THIRUVENKADAM discloses using the detected boundaries, a body mask may produced by stitching together the slices into stations and stitching the stations into the whole body image. Thus, the body mask may be a 3D representation of the patient's body contour (wherein the stations are segments and the body mask is the contour map).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of THIRUVENKADAM of wherein determining the body contour of the patient comprises applying a segmentation mask to generate a contour map.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein determining the body contour of the patient comprises applying a segmentation mask to generate a contour map.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CARUBA and THIRUVENKADAM relate to medical imaging systems, wherein CARUBA while THIRUVENKADAM the phase field algorithms described herein may enable enhanced boundary detection in 3D volumes, in which information from neighboring 2D slices or 3D volumes can be used. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), Paragraph [0027].
Regarding claim 3, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI and further in view of THIRUVENKADAM explicitly teach the method of claim 2,
CARUBA fails to explicitly teach wherein determining the widest dimension of the body contour comprises scanning two or more specific regions of the contour map, where the two or more specific regions of the contour map are predefined and correspond to regions that are typically widest of a body.
However, CHEN explicitly teaches wherein determining the widest dimension of the body contour comprises scanning two or more specific regions of the contour map (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the outermost sides are the widest dimensions and the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries are regions of the contour map).), where the two or more specific regions of the contour map are predefined and correspond to regions that are typically widest of a body (Figs. 1-2. Paragraph [0028-0029]-CHEN discloses to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area. An optimum result can be achieved in this way with regard to scanning and image reconstruction. For this reason, the main task of the automatic setting of the FOV resides in being able to undertake a precise localization of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries of the patient on the topogram. In at least one embodiment the present invention, body boundaries include the outer contour lines on the left-hand and the right-hand body sides of the patient on the topogram. The body boundaries inside the scan area are the outer contour lines on the left-hand and the right-hand body sides of the patient inside the scan area set on the topogram previously designated (wherein the left-hand and right-hand body sides are predefined regions that correspond to regions typically widest of a body).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of CHEN of wherein determining the widest dimension of the body contour comprises scanning two or more specific regions of the contour map, where the two or more specific regions of the contour map are predefined and correspond to regions that are typically widest of a body.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein determining the widest dimension of the body contour comprises scanning two or more specific regions of the contour map, where the two or more specific regions of the contour map are predefined and correspond to regions that are typically widest of a body.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately and efficiently determines the DFOV, since both CARUBA and CHEN relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of LYU et al. (US 20180040136 A1), hereinafter referenced as LYU, and further in view of AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), hereinafter referenced as AMBWANI, and further in view of JENKINS et al. (US 20190336232 A1), hereinafter referenced as JENKINS.
Regarding claim 6, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI explicitly teach the method of claim 4,
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more scan parameters comprise the SFOV and bore size.
However, JENKINS explicitly teaches wherein the one or more scan parameters comprise the SFOV and bore size (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0132]-JENKINS discloses FIG. 15 is a screen shot of an exemplary UI 30I for the Start Group which may conveniently be configured as a one-screen input to set overall procedure parameters such as laterality, target type and MR Scanner bore size (recognizing that open bore MRI Scanner systems may also be used) (wherein procedure parameters are scan parameters and laterality is the scan field of view).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of JENKINS of wherein the one or more scan parameters comprise the SFOV and bore size.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein the one or more scan parameters comprise the SFOV and bore size.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CARUBA and JENKINS relate to methods of image processing, wherein CARUBA has an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while JENKINS MRI-guided systems that can generate substantially real time patient-specific visualizations of the patient and one or more surgical tools in logical space and provide feedback to a clinician to improve the speed and/or reliability of an intrabody procedure. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and JENKINS et al. (US 20190336232 A1), Paragraph [0006].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of LYU et al. (US 20180040136 A1), hereinafter referenced as LYU, and further in view of AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), hereinafter referenced as AMBWANI, and further in view of JACKSON et al. (US 20190231296 A1), hereinafter referenced as JACKSON, and further in view of LABORDE (US 12451222 B1), hereinafter referenced as LABORDE.
Regarding claim 7, CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI explicitly teach the method of claim 1,
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI fail to explicitly teach wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images, and
However, JACKSON teaches wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images (Paragraph [0040]-Jackson discloses example reconstruction settings that may be adjusted (and the resultant CNR and resolution changes modeled) may include the reconstruction kernel, adaptive statistical iterative reconstruction (ASiR) level, slice thickness, pixel size, and/or reconstructed/displayed field-of-view (DFOV) (wherein pixel size and DFOV are both reconstruction settings and are therefore related).)., and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of JACKSON of wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CARUBA and JACKSON are related to methods of medical imaging, wherein CARUBA has an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while JACKSON the result is that the radiation dose for a patient's follow-up exam is sufficient for achieving the clinical goal but does not excessively exceed or under-deliver what is needed for the subsequent exam. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and JACKSON et al. (US 20190231296 A1), Paragraph [0050].
CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI and further in view of JACKSON fail to explicitly teach wherein pixel size is determined by converting a unit of the first DFOV to mm and dividing the first DFOV when in mm by a matrix size of the scan data.
However, LABORDE explicitly teaches wherein pixel size is determined by converting a unit of the first DFOV to mm and dividing the first DFOV when in mm by a matrix size of the scan data (Col. 14. Lines [45-63]-LABORDE discloses during reconstruction, raw intensity data in the sinogram are converted to CT numbers. A 12-bit scale allows for 4096 potential values and is commonly used in medical systems; a 16 bit scale allows for 65535 potential values. 14. Each 2D CT image is represented as the Matrix of the value of the image at each location; each square in a matrix is called a pixel (also known as a picture element); each element or number in the image matrix represents a three dimensional volume element in the imaged cross sectional area called a voxel; each pixel has a number which represents the x-ray attenuation in the corresponding voxel of the imaged object; CT pixel size is determined by dividing the field of view (FOV)—determines how much anatomy is scanned—by the matrix size which is generally 512×512. For example, if the FOV is 40 cm or 400 mm and the Matrix is 512×512, then the pixel size is 400/500=0.78 mm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings CARUBA in view of CHEN and further in view of WANG and further in view of LYU and further in view of AMBWANI and further in view JACKSON of a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient using a detector of an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system; acquiring scan data of the patient using the detector of the imaging system; wherein the patient remains within the scanner between acquisition of the one or more scout images and the scan data with the teachings of LABORDE of wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images.
Wherein having CARUBA’s method of medical imaging wherein the first DFOV is directly related to pixel size of the one or more first reconstructed images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CARUBA and LABORDE are related to methods of medical imaging, wherein CARUBA has an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information, while LABORDE the more rapidly the surgical team is notified of cases that truly need emergent surgical intervention. Please see CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017], and LABORDE (US 12451222 B1), Col. 3, Lines [45-50].
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN.
Regarding claim 9, WANG teaches a system, comprising: a computing device (Fig. 1-2, #160 called a data processing device. Paragraph [0029]) communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0039]-WANG discloses data processing device 160 may be connected to or communicate with detector 114, controller 140, physiological signal monitor 150, data processing device 160, operator console 170, and/or storage device 180 via a wireless connection, a wired connection, or a combination thereof. For example, data processing device 160 may transmit the image reconstructed based on the data from detector 114 to storage device 180. As another example, data processing device 160 may transmit an image to operator console 180 for display. Paragraph [0045]-WANG illustrates an exemplary architecture of a computing device according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. Data processing device 160 may be implemented on the computing device via its hardware, software program, firmware, or a combination thereof. Although only one such computing device is shown, for convenience, the functions of data processing device 160 described in this disclosure may be implemented in a distributed fashion on a number of similar platforms, to distribute the processing load. Data processing device 160 may include, among other things, an internal communication bus 201, a processor 202, a program storage and data storage of different forms (e.g., a disk 207, a read only memory (ROM) 203, or a random access memory (RAM) 204), for various data files to be processed and/or communicated by the computer, as well as possibly program instructions to be executed by processor 202) the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0045]-WANG discloses data processing device 160 may include, among other things, an internal communication bus 201, a processor 202, a program storage and data storage of different forms (e.g., a disk 207, a read only memory (ROM) 203, or a random access memory (RAM) 204), for various data files to be processed and/or communicated by the computer, as well as possibly program instructions to be executed by processor 202.) that when executed cause the computing device to:
obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient (Fig. 4-9. Paragraph [0040]-WANG discloses operator console 170 may set parameters for a scan. The parameters may include scanning parameters (e.g., slice thickness) and/or reconstruction parameters (e.g., reconstruction FOV). Further in Paragraph [0041]-WANG discloses the scanning parameters may include spiral scanning or non-spiral scanning, dose index (wherein dose index is a scan protocol), scanning FOV, tube potential, tube current, recon parameters (e.g., slice thickness, slice gap), scanning time (wherein the scanning time is a scan protocol), window parameters (e.g., window width, window center, etc.), collimation/slice width, beam filtration, helical pitch, or the like, or a combination thereof. The reconstruction parameters may include reconstruction FOV, reconstruction matrix, convolution kernel/reconstruction filter, or the like, or a combination thereof. Further in Paragraph [0042]-WANG discloses the storage device 180 may store the operational parameters related with imaging system 100.);
obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0075]-WANG discloses a scout image may be obtained by scanning a subject with a scanning device. Then, the operator may set an FOV via, such as a rectangle frame, a parallelogram, or a round, on the scout image by operator console 170 (wherein the FOV is a scan parameter.). The size of the FOV may be adjusted by an operator with operator console 170 such as adjusting the size of rectangle frame by a mouse (wherein adjusting the size is a scan protocol.). As another example, the operator may enter the size of the FOV via operator console 170 directly and locate the FOV at a specific subject by, for example, moving the rectangle frame on the scout image. In some embodiments, the FOV may be determined automatically based on an algorithm (wherein the algorithm is a scan protocol.). See Paragraphs [0032-0033] for more information regarding scan protocols.);
acquire diagnostic scan data of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters (Fig. 4, 410 illustrates acquiring scan data relating to a subject (wherein the subject is a patient). Paragraph [0041]-WANG discloses the scanning parameters may include spiral scanning or non-spiral scanning, dose index (wherein dose index is a scan protocol), scanning FOV, tube potential, tube current, recon parameters (e.g., slice thickness, slice gap), scanning time (wherein the scanning time is a scan protocol), window parameters (e.g., window width, window center, etc.), collimation/slice width, beam filtration, helical pitch, or the like, or a combination thereof.);
reconstruct the diagnostic scan data according to the first DFOV to generate one or more reconstructed images (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0081-0082]-WANG discloses in 620, a first FOV may be determined. The first FOV may be determined by FOV determination unit 510 as described elsewhere in the disclosure. The first FOV may determine the size and location of a subject presented in a reconstructed image. In some embodiments, the first FOV may be set by a rectangle frame with a side length (e.g., 200 mm). The rectangle frame may be adjusted to cover a first region of interest by moving or scaling the rectangle frame on, for example, operator console 170 (e.g., a mouse). The adjustment of the rectangle frame may be performed manually or automatically. As a result, the region within the rectangle frame may be presented in a reconstructed image. In 630, a first image may be reconstructed based on the scan data corresponding to the first FOV. In some embodiments, the first image may be reconstructed by image generation unit 530 based on an image reconstruction technique as described elsewhere in the disclosure.); and
display the one or more reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0034]-WANG discloses the controller 140 may communicate bi-directionally with gantry 110, tube 112, object table 120, high voltage generator 130, physiological signal monitor 150, data processing device 160, operator console 170, and/or storage device 180 (wherein these elements form the imaging system). Further in Paragraph [0034]-WANG discloses the controller 140 may control the display of images on operator console 170. For instance, the whole or part of an image may be displayed.).
WANG fails to explicitly teach generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV) by scanning a predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map to determine a widest dimension of the body contour; wherein the first DFOV is sized based on the widest dimension to avoid reconstructing portions of the diagnostic scan data extraneous to the body contour; and
However, CHEN explicitly teaches generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images (Figs. 1-2. Paragraph [0029]-CHEN discloses body boundaries include the outer contour lines on the left-hand and the right-hand body sides of the patient on the topogram (wherein a topogram is a scout image).);
determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV) by scanning a predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map to determine a widest dimension of the body contour (Figs. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area. An optimum result can be achieved in this way with regard to scanning and image reconstruction. For this reason, the main task of the automatic setting of the FOV resides in being able to undertake a precise localization of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries of the patient on the topogram (wherein a topogram is a scout image, the body boundaries comprise a contour map, and the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries are anatomical regions).);
wherein the first DFOV is sized based on the widest dimension to avoid reconstructing portions of the diagnostic scan data extraneous to the body contour (Figs. 1-2. Paragraph [0044]-CHEN discloses the FOV is set on the left-hand and right-hand boundaries inside the scan area or on the front and rear boundaries such that the FOV contains precisely all boundary points inside the scan area designated above. Thus, the FOV area intersects the points of the outermost side of the boundary 62 of the patient's body 60 inside the scan area. In order to achieve an optimum effect of image reconstruction, the procedure as in FIG. 2 number 20' is adopted.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG of having a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient, the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters, with the teachings of CHEN generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV) by scanning a predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map to determine a widest dimension of the body contour; wherein the first DFOV is sized based on the widest dimension to avoid reconstructing portions of the diagnostic scan data extraneous to the body contour.
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV) by scanning a predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map to determine a widest dimension of the body contour; wherein the first DFOV is sized based on the widest dimension to avoid reconstructing portions of the diagnostic scan data extraneous to the body contour.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that operates more efficiently and results in higher resolution images, since both WANG and CHEN relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 11, WANG in view of CHEN teaches the system of claim 9, WANG fails to teach wherein determining the DFOV comprises determining a widest dimension of the patient based on the contour map.
However, CHEN explicitly teaches wherein determining the DFOV comprises determining a widest dimension of the patient based on the contour map (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the outermost sides are the widest dimensions and the body boundaries comprise a contour map).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG of having a system, comprising: a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters; generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; reconstruct the diagnostic scan data according to the first DFOV to generate one or more reconstructed images; and display the one or more reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system, with the teachings of CHEN generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV).
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; determine, based on the contour map, a first display field of view (DFOV).
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that operates more efficiently and results in higher resolution images, since both WANG and CHEN relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), hereinafter referenced as THIRUVENKADAM.
Regarding claim 10, WANG in view of CHEN teach the system of claim 9, WANG in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the contour map is generated based on a segmentation mask of one or more scout images.
However, THIRUVENKADAM explicitly teaches wherein the contour map is generated based on a segmentation mask of one or more scout images (Fig. 4, illustrates a flow chart for obtaining magnetic resonance (MR) images (180) and then generating a multi-class segmentation mask. Paragraph [0027]-THIRUVENKADAM discloses by using the detected boundaries, a body mask may (be) produced by stitching together the slices into stations and stitching the stations into the whole body image. Thus, the body mask may be a 3D representation of the patient's body contour (wherein the slices are scout image data).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings WANG in view of CHEN of having a method, comprising: acquiring one or more scout images of a patient with an imaging system while the patient is positioned within a scanner of the imaging system with the teachings of THIRUVENKADAM of wherein the contour map is generated based on a segmentation mask of one or more scout images.
Wherein having WANGS’s system of medical imaging wherein the contour map is generated based on a segmentation mask of one or more scout images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both WANG and THIRUVENKADAM relate to medical imaging systems, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while THIRUVENKADAM the phase field algorithms described herein may enable enhanced boundary detection in 3D volumes, in which information from neighboring 2D slices or 3D volumes can be used. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), Paragraph [0027].
Regarding claim 13, WANG in view of CHEN teaches the system of claim 9, WANG further teaches wherein the imaging system is one of a computed tomography (CT) system, a PET-CT system (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0029]-WANG discloses the imaging system may find its applications in different fields, for example, medicine or industry. Merely by way of example, the imaging system may be a computed tomography (CT) system, a digital radiography (DR) system, a multi-modality system, or the like, or a combination thereof. Exemplary multi-modality system may include a computed tomography-positron emission tomography (CT-PET) system, a computed tomography-magnetic resonance imaging (CT-MRI) system, etc.).
WANG in view of CHEN fails to explicitly teach a positron emission tomography (PET) system, a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) system.
However, THIRUVENKADAM teaches a positron emission tomography (PET) system, a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) system (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0029]- THIRUVENKADAM discloses it should be noted that while the correction of PET and/or PET/MR images is discussed herein to facilitate the presentation of embodiments, the approaches described herein are also applicable to attenuation correction/image modification in other modalities, such as single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG in view of CHEN of having a system, comprising: a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters; generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; reconstruct the diagnostic scan data according to the first DFOV to generate one or more reconstructed images; and display the one or more reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system, with the teachings of THIRUVENKADAM of a positron emission tomography (PET) system, a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) system
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging with a positron emission tomography (PET) system, a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) system.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both WANG and THIRUVENKADAM relate to medical imaging systems, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while THIRUVENKADAM the phase field algorithms described herein may enable enhanced boundary detection in 3D volumes, in which information from neighboring 2D slices or 3D volumes can be used. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), Paragraph [0027].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of SCHOMBERG (US 20020150201 A1), hereinafter referenced as SCHOMBERG.
Regarding claim 12, WANG in view of CHEN explicitly teach the system of claim 11,
WANG in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the widest dimension is measured as a diameter of a largest circle within an axial plane of the predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map positioned around an isocenter.
However, SCHOMBERG explicitly teaches wherein the widest dimension is measured as a diameter of a largest circle within an axial plane of the predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map positioned around an isocenter (Fig. 2, illustrates scanning two or more anatomical regions (i.e. the anterior and posterior regions). Paragraph [0035]-SCHOMBERG discloses the reference numeral 19 denotes a further spherical zone which is also oriented around the isocenter 8 and, moreover, around the smaller spherical zone 18; its radius is larger than the radius of the sphere 18 but smaller than the smallest distance between the isocenter 8 and the detector plane 3. The radius of the sphere 19, moreover, is preferably chosen to be so large that the cross-section of the body of the patient 14 in the plane perpendicular to the plane of drawing fits into the sphere 19 as completely as possible (wherein the radius of sphere 19 is the widest dimension and the plane perpendicular to drawing is the axial plane and the spherical zones are oriented around the isocenter).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG in view of CHEN of having a system, comprising: a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters; generate a contour map of a body contour of the patient based on the one or more scout images; reconstruct the diagnostic scan data according to the first DFOV to generate one or more reconstructed images; and display the one or more reconstructed images on a display device communicably coupled to the imaging system, with the teachings of SCHOMBERG of wherein the widest dimension is measured as a diameter of a largest circle within an axial plane of the predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map positioned around an isocenter.
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging wherein the widest dimension is measured as a diameter of a largest circle within an axial plane of the predetermined set of two or more anatomical regions of the contour map positioned around an isocenter.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both WANG and SCHOMBERG relate to medical imaging systems, wherein while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while SCHOMBERG provides a reconstruction method of the kind set forth which enables the formation of high-quality three-dimensional images of the desired examination zone also from cut-off cone beam projection data. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and SCHOMBERG (US 20020150201 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of JENKINS et al. (US 20190336232 A1), hereinafter referenced as JENKINS.
Regarding claim 14, WANG in view of CHEN explicitly teach the system of claim 9,
WANG in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to determine edges within the one or more reconstructed images and output a notification on the display device indicating recommendation for DFOV adjustment in response to determining that one or more edges are truncated.
However, JENKINS explicitly teaches wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to determine edges within the one or more reconstructed images (Fig. 13C. Paragraph [0061]-JENKINS discloses the system 10 can be configured to render or generate real time visualizations of the target anatomical space using MRI image data and predefined data of at least one surgical tool to segment the image data and place the tool 50 in the rendered visualization in the correct orientation and position in 3D space, anatomically registered to a patient. Further in paragraph [0114]-JENKINS discloses the mid-sagittal plane (MSP) is approximated using several extracted axial slices from the lower part of the input volume, e.g., about 15 equally spaced slices. A brightness equalization can be applied to each slice and an edge mask from each slice can be created using a Canny algorithm (wherein edge mask comprises the edges).) and output a notification on the display device indicating recommendation for DFOV adjustment (Fig. 21. Paragraph [0138]-JENKINS discloses FIG. 21 illustrates a (pop-up) warning 30W′ that is automatically generated when a user selects a trajectory that may be blocked by the scanner bore wall. That is, if the user sets a trajectory such that the scanner bore will interfere with the insertion of the probe, a warning is displayed (wherein the trajectory is DFOV).) in response to determining that one or more edges are truncated (Fig. 21. Paragraph [0114]-JENKINS discloses the mid-sagittal plane (MSP) is approximated using several extracted axial slices from the lower part of the input volume, e.g., about 15 equally spaced slices. A brightness equalization can be applied to each slice and an edge mask from each slice can be created using a Canny algorithm. A symmetry axis can be found for each edge mask and identify the actual symmetry axis based on an iterative review and ranking or scoring of tentative symmetry axes (wherein the edges of the slices are truncated edges).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG in view of CHEN of having a system, comprising: a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters, with the teachings of JENKINS of wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to determine edges within the one or more reconstructed images and output a notification on the display device indicating recommendation for DFOV adjustment in response to determining that one or more edges are truncated.
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to determine edges within the one or more reconstructed images and output a notification on the display device indicating recommendation for DFOV adjustment in response to determining that one or more edges are truncated.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both WANG and JENKINS relate to medical imaging systems, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while JENKINS MRI-guided systems that can generate substantially real time patient-specific visualizations of the patient and one or more surgical tools in logical space and provide feedback to a clinician to improve the speed and/or reliability of an intrabody procedure. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and JENKINS et al. (US 20190336232 A1), Paragraph [0006].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, in view of CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, and further in view of AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1),, hereinafter referenced as AMBWANI.
Regarding claim 15, WANG in view of CHEN explicitly teach the system of claim 9,
WANG in view of CHEN fail to explicitly teach wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to, in response to detection of truncated scan data in the one or more reconstructed images, apply retrospective reconstruction to the diagnostic scan data according to a second DFOV, wherein the second DFOV is larger than the first DFOV.
However, AMBWANI explicitly teaches wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to, in response to detection of truncated scan data in the one or more reconstructed images (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0006]-AMBWANI discloses the MR/pseudo-CT mask and the binary body mask are co-registered with each other as shown in FIG. 6, and any regions 20 that are truncated (i.e., appearing in the PET-derived binary body mask, but not appearing in the MR/pseudo-CT mask) are identified.), apply retrospective reconstruction to the diagnostic scan data according to a second DFOV (Fig. 8, illustrates a second DFOV (PET image DFOV) that is larger than the first DFOV (MR image DFOV). Paragraph [0090]-AMBWANI discloses in which there is provided a system 24 and method 100 for attenuation correction (and/or for truncation completion of an MR-derived image for use in attenuation correction) in a PET/MR system 24 having a PET scanner 26 with a first diameter field of view DFOV.sub.PET 28 having an outer boundary 30 and a radius R.sub.PET DFOV, and an MR scanner 32 with a second diameter field of view DFOV.sub.MR 34 having an outer boundary 36 and a radius R.sub.MR DFOV.), wherein the second DFOV is larger than the first DFOV (Fig. 8, illustrates a second DFOV (PET image DFOV) that is larger than the first DFOV (MR image DFOV). Paragraph [0090]-AMBWANI discloses in which there is provided a system 24 and method 100 for attenuation correction (and/or for truncation completion of an MR-derived image for use in attenuation correction) in a PET/MR system 24 having a PET scanner 26 with a first diameter field of view DFOV.sub.PET 28 having an outer boundary 30 and a radius R.sub.PET DFOV, and an MR scanner 32 with a second diameter field of view DFOV.sub.MR 34 having an outer boundary 36 and a radius R.sub.MR DFOV.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of WANG in view of CHEN of having a system, comprising: a computing device communicatively coupled to an imaging system configured to image a patient the computing device configured with instructions in non-transitory memory that when executed cause the computing device to: obtain one or more scan protocols and parameters for a requested scan of the patient; obtain one or more scout images of the patient according to the one or more scan protocols and parameters, with the teachings of AMBWANI of wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to, in response to detection of truncated scan data in the one or more reconstructed images, apply retrospective reconstruction to the diagnostic scan data according to a second DFOV, wherein the second DFOV is larger than the first DFOV.
Wherein having WANG’s system of medical imaging wherein the computing device is further configured with instructions that when executed cause the computing device to, in response to detection of truncated scan data in the one or more reconstructed images, apply retrospective reconstruction to the diagnostic scan data according to a second DFOV, wherein the second DFOV is larger than the first DFOV.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both WANG and AMBWANI relate to medical imaging systems, wherein WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV, while AMBWANI it would be desirable, therefore, to provide an improved system and method for truncation completion and MR-based attenuation correction for PET and PET/MR. Please see WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004], and AMBWANI et al. (US 20140185893 A1), Paragraph [0007].
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, in view of THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), hereinafter referenced as THIRUVENKADAM, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA.
Regarding claim 16, CHEN teaches a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV) (Figs. 1-2. Paragraph [0012]-CHEN discloses a method for automatically setting and reconstructing the field of view along the body boundaries is proposed), comprising:
determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient (Paragraph [0029]-CHEN discloses body boundaries include the outer contour lines on the left-hand and the right-hand body sides of the patient on the topogram (wherein a topogram is a scout image).);
wherein the contour map defines edges of a body of the patient (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries are edges of the contour map of a patient).);
determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient (Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the main task of the automatic setting of the FOV resides in being able to undertake a precise localization of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries of the patient on the topogram (wherein the body boundaries are the body contours of the patient).),
wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0028]-CHEN discloses the deviation specifications of the CT values of various regions of the patient's body are used for the purpose of determining the body boundaries of the relevant patient, and then to undertake the setting of the FOV to the body boundaries of the patient inside the scan area such that there is an overlap with the points on the outermost side of the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries inside the scan area (wherein the outermost sides are the largest dimensions and the left-hand and right-hand body boundaries are regions of the contour map).).
CHEN fails to explicitly teach wherein determining the body contour comprises generating a segmentation mask defining a contour map.
However, THIRUVENKADAM explicitly teaches wherein determining the body contour comprises generating a segmentation mask defining a contour map (Fig. 4, illustrates flow chart for generating a multi-class segmentation mask. Paragraph [0027]-THIRUVENKADAM discloses using the detected boundaries, a body mask may produced by stitching together the slices into stations and stitching the stations into the whole body image. Thus, the body mask may be a 3D representation of the patient's body contour.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of THIRUVENKADAM of wherein determining the body contour comprises generating a segmentation mask defining a contour map.
Wherein having CHEN’s method of medical imaging wherein determining the body contour comprises generating a segmentation mask defining a contour map.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CHEN and THIRUVENKADAM relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while THIRUVENKADAM the phase field algorithms described herein may enable enhanced boundary detection in 3D volumes, in which information from neighboring 2D slices or 3D volumes can be used. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), Paragraph [0027].
CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM fail to explicitly teach reconstructing acquired diagnostic scan data of the patient according to the DFOV, wherein the one or more scout images and the diagnostic scan data are acquired by an imaging system and.
However, WANG teaches, reconstructing acquired diagnostic scan data of the patient according to the DFOV (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0081-0082]-WANG discloses in 620, a first FOV may be determined. The first FOV may be determined by FOV determination unit 510 as described elsewhere in the disclosure. The first FOV may determine the size and location of a subject presented in a reconstructed image. In some embodiments, the first FOV may be set by a rectangle frame with a side length (e.g., 200 mm). The rectangle frame may be adjusted to cover a first region of interest by moving or scaling the rectangle frame on, for example, operator console 170 (e.g., a mouse). The adjustment of the rectangle frame may be performed manually or automatically. As a result, the region within the rectangle frame may be presented in a reconstructed image. In 630, a first image may be reconstructed based on the scan data corresponding to the first FOV. In some embodiments, the first image may be reconstructed by image generation unit 530 based on an image reconstruction technique as described elsewhere in the disclosure.);
wherein the one or more scout images and the diagnostic scan data are acquired by an imaging system (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0075]-WANG discloses a scout image may be obtained by scanning a subject with a scanning device. Further in paragraph [0038]-WANG discloses data processing device 160 may process data relating to a subject obtained from detector 114, physiological signal monitor 150, and/or storage device 180. The data may include scan data, a physiological signal, image data, or the like, or a combination thereof.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of WANG of reconstructing acquired diagnostic scan data of the patient according to the DFOV, wherein the one or more scout images and the diagnostic scan data are acquired by an imaging system.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems of reconstructing acquired diagnostic scan data of the patient according to the DFOV, wherein the one or more scout images and the diagnostic scan data are acquired by an imaging system.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a medical imaging methods and systems that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images since both CHEN and WANG relate to medical imaging systems, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach wherein the patient remains positioned within a scanner of the imaging system between acquisition of the one or more scout images and acquisition of the diagnostic scan data.
However, CARUBA teaches wherein the patient remains positioned within a scanner of the imaging system between acquisition of the one or more scout images and acquisition of the diagnostic scan data (Fig 2. Paragraph [0017]-CARUBA discloses invention provides a hybrid MR-PET scout/topogram workflow with both PET and MR acquisitions performed simultaneously with the image data displayed together and co-registered in one topogram. The invention provides an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information by simultaneous acquisition of MR-PET scan data and reconstructed topogram that presents both MR and PET data co-registered.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of CARUBA of wherein the patient remains positioned within a scanner of the imaging system between acquisition of the one or more scout images and acquisition of the diagnostic scan data.
Wherein having CHEN’s method of medical imaging wherein the patient remains positioned within a scanner of the imaging system between acquisition of the one or more scout images and acquisition of the diagnostic scan data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a medical imaging system that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images since both CHEN and CARUBA relate to methods of medical imaging. Wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while CARUBA an enhanced scout/topogram with more inherent diagnostic information. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), Paragraph [0017].
Regarding claim 17, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA explicitly teach the method of claim 16, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM fail to explicitly teach wherein the DFOV is further determined based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters.
However, WANG explicitly teaches wherein the DFOV is further determined based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0040]-WANG discloses operator console 170 may set parameters for a scan. The parameters may include scanning parameters (e.g., slice thickness) and/or reconstruction parameters (e.g., reconstruction FOV). Further in paragraph [0074]-WANG discloses multiple FOVs may be determined during the image reconstruction process. For example, a first FOV may include a specific subject and tissues or organs adjacent to the specific subject (wherein target anatomy is a scan protocol).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of WANG of wherein the DFOV is further determined based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems wherein the DFOV is further determined based on one or more scan protocols and one or more scan parameters.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a medical imaging methods and systems that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images since both CHEN and WANG relate to medical imaging systems, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
Regarding claim 20, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA explicitly teach the method of claim 16, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM fail to explicitly teach wherein reconstruction of the diagnostic scan data is repeatable with one or more second DFOVs to generate one or more sets of reconstruction images according to a retrospective reconstruction algorithm.
However, WANG explicitly teaches wherein reconstruction of the diagnostic scan data is repeatable with one or more second DFOVs to generate one or more sets of reconstruction images according to a retrospective reconstruction algorithm (Fig. 4, 6, and 8, illustrate different embodiments that allow for scan data to be reconstructed according to different field of views. Paragraph [0064]-WANG discloses in 430, a first image may be reconstructed based on the preprocessed scan data and/or the scan data obtained in step 410. In some embodiments, the first image may be reconstructed by image reconstruction module 330. Further in Paragraph [0065]-WANG discloses in 440, a second image may be reconstructed based on the preprocessed scan data and/or the scan data obtained in step 410. In some embodiments, the second image may be reconstructed by image reconstruction unit 330.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of WANG of wherein reconstruction of the diagnostic scan data is repeatable with one or more second DFOVs to generate one or more sets of reconstruction images according to a retrospective reconstruction algorithm.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems wherein reconstruction of the diagnostic scan data is repeatable with one or more second DFOVs to generate one or more sets of reconstruction images according to a retrospective reconstruction algorithm.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a medical imaging methods and systems that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images since both CHEN and WANG relate to medical imaging systems, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while WANG it would be desirable reconstruct an image with a high resolution in a large FOV. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), Paragraph [0004].
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, in view of THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), hereinafter referenced as THIRUVENKADAM, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, and further in view of SCHOMBERG (US 20020150201 A1), hereinafter referenced as SCHOMBERG.
Regarding claim 18, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA explicitly teach the method of claim 16,
CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA fail to explicitly teach wherein the largest dimension is determined within an axial plane.
However, SCHOMBERG explicitly teaches wherein the largest dimension is determined within an axial plane (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0035]-SCHOMBERG discloses the reference numeral 19 denotes a further spherical zone which is also oriented around the isocenter 8 and, moreover, around the smaller spherical zone 18; its radius is larger than the radius of the sphere 18 but smaller than the smallest distance between the isocenter 8 and the detector plane 3. The radius of the sphere 19, moreover, is preferably chosen to be so large that the cross-section of the body of the patient 14 in the plane perpendicular to the plane of drawing fits into the sphere 19 as completely as possible (wherein the radius of sphere 19 is the widest dimension and the plane perpendicular to drawing is the axial plane).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of SCHOMBERG of wherein the largest dimension is determined within an axial plane.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems wherein the largest dimension is determined within an axial plane.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CHEN and SCHOMBERG relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while SCHOMBERG provides a reconstruction method of the kind set forth which enables the formation of high-quality three-dimensional images of the desired examination zone also from cut-off cone beam projection data. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and SCHOMBERG (US 20020150201 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Regarding claim 19, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA and further in view of SCHOMBERG explicitly teach the method of claim 18,
CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA fail to explicitly teach wherein the largest dimension intersects an isocenter of the one or more scout images.
However, SCHOMBERG explicitly teaches wherein the largest dimension intersects an isocenter of the one or more scout images (Fig 2. Paragraph [0035]-SCHOMBERG discloses the reference numeral 18 denotes a spherical inner zone around the isocenter 8 which corresponds to the previously described inner spherical zone and is situated completely within the spherical X-ray beam 15 in every imaging position along the specified trajectory; from this zone projection data is acquired on the sensitive detector surface 16 in every imaging position. The reference numeral 19 denotes a further spherical zone which is also oriented around the isocenter 8 and, moreover, around the smaller spherical zone 18; its radius is larger than the radius of the sphere 18 but smaller than the smallest distance between the isocenter 8 and the detector plane 3. The radius of the sphere 19, moreover, is preferably chosen to be so large that the cross-section of the body of the patient 14 in the plane perpendicular to the plane of drawing fits into the sphere 19 as completely as possible (wherein the radius of sphere 19 is the largest dimension).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of SCHOMBERG of wherein the largest dimension intersects an isocenter of the one or more scout images.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems wherein the largest dimension intersects an isocenter of the one or more scout images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CHEN and SCHOMBERG relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while SCHOMBERG provides a reconstruction method of the kind set forth which enables the formation of high-quality three-dimensional images of the desired examination zone also from cut-off cone beam projection data. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and SCHOMBERG (US 20020150201 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), hereinafter referenced as CHEN, in view of THIRUVENKADAM et al. (US 20130281825 A1), hereinafter referenced as THIRUVENKADAM, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20190371016 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG, and further in view of CARUBA et al. (US 20160058401 A1), hereinafter referenced as CARUBA, and further in view of KUNZ et al. (US 20080025584 A1),, hereinafter referenced as KUNZ.
Regarding claim 21, CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA explicitly teach the method of claim 16,
CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA fail to explicitly teach wherein the subset of regions of the contour map includes a shoulder to shoulder lateral region, a hip to hip lateral region, an AP chest region, and an AP abdomen region.
However, KUNZ explicitly teaches wherein the subset of regions of the contour map includes a shoulder to shoulder lateral region, a hip to hip lateral region, an AP chest region, and an AP abdomen region (Figs. 8-9, illustrate the shoulder to shoulder lateral region, the hip to hip lateral region, AP chest region, and AP abdomen region. Paragraph [0093]-KUNZ discloses FIG. 8 illustrates an example with 4 landmarks in the CT image (on the left side) and their correspondences indicated by the arrows to the reference system (on the right side). The reference positions for the remaining image slices, where no landmarks were found, are determined by interpolation, e.g., by an elastic vector field interpolation as will be described below (wherein the landmarks are regions).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of CHEN in view of THIRUVENKADAM and further in view of WANG and further in view of CARUBA of having a method for determining a display field of view (DFOV), comprising: determining a body contour of a patient based on one or more scout images acquired of the patient, determining the DFOV based on the body contour of the patient, wherein determining the DFOV based on the body contour comprises analyzing a subset of regions of the contour map to determine a largest dimension of the body of the patient; and with the teachings of KUNZ of wherein the subset of regions of the contour map includes a shoulder to shoulder lateral region, a hip to hip lateral region, an AP chest region, and an AP abdomen region.
Wherein having CHEN’s medical imaging methods and systems wherein the subset of regions of the contour map includes a shoulder-to-shoulder lateral region, a hip-to-hip lateral region, an AP chest region, and an AP abdomen region.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of medical imaging that more accurately, efficiently determines the DFOV and generates higher resolution images, since both CHEN and SCHOMBERG relate to methods of medical imaging, wherein CHEN a precise, highly efficient and quick setting of the FOV on the relevant topogram, while KUNZ enables robust and fast automatic segmentation. Please see CHEN et al. (US 20070009079 A1), Paragraph [0024], and KUNZ et al. (US 20080025584 A1), Paragraph [0111].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
CAO et al. (US 20230077083 A1) - Described herein are an imaging system and method. Specifically, the imaging system includes a positioning image acquisition unit configured to acquire positioning images of a scanned object from a plurality of angles, a contour estimation unit configured to estimate a contour of the object in each positioning image in a scanning direction when truncation is present in at least one positioning image, and a display field of view determination unit configured to select a maximum value of an estimated contour as a display field of view of the image. A contour of a scanned object in each positioning image in a scanning direction is estimated when truncation is present in at least one positioning image, thereby determining a suitable display field of view. An appropriate display field of view can be set, so that a reconstructed image can cover the entire contour of the object and have a higher resolution…Abstract, Fig. 3.
SURYANARAYANAN et al. (US 20070206719 A1) – A method for improving a resolution of an image is provided. The method includes reconstructing an image of an initial portion of an object at an initial resolution, and reconstructing an additional portion of the object at an additional resolution…Abstract, Fig. 3.
FAUL et al. (US 8577114 B2) - An apparatus and method for expanding the FOV of a truncated computed tomography (CT) scan. An iterative calculation is performed on the original CT image to produce an estimate of the image. The calculated estimate of the reconstructed image includes the original image center and a estimate of the truncated portion outside the image center. The calculation uses an image mask with the image center as one boundary…Abstract, Figs. 3A-3B.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ETHAN N WOLFSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673