DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what domains or antibody fragments Applicant intends to cover by “antibody or fragment thereof”.
Claim 16 refers to the targeting ligand of claim 3. However, the targeting ligand is not defined by claim 16 and it is unclear what structural elements of the targeting ligand of claim 3 Applicant intends to cover.
Claims 17 and 18 refer to the targeting agent of claim 3. However, the targeting agent is not defined by claims 17 or 18 and it is unclear what structural elements of the targeting agent of claim 3 Applicant intends to cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maggi et al., Org. Biomol. Chem. 2016; 14 (31): 7544–7551 (Maggi).
Maggi teaches an approach in which tetrazines are used as tags for antibody modification:
The above anticipates the claimed methods for preparing a tetrazine-modified antibody, within the meaning of section 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., ACS Chem. Biol. 2021, 16, 4, 724–730 (Wang) in view of:
Luu, 1,2,4,5-TETRAZINE-BASED CLICK REACTIONS IN BIOORTHOGONAL CHEMISTRY, 2013, downloaded 25 Sept. 2026 from https://chemistry.illinois.edu/system/files/inline-files/SP13LongLuuFinalAbstract.pdf
(Luu); and
Rahim et al., Bioconjug Chem. 2015 Feb 18;26(2):352-60 (Rahim).
Wang teaches bioorthogonal CAR-NK therapy with targeting ligands and targeting agents that are bioorthogonal pairs. In particular, azide groups were introduced onto the surface of NK-92 cells. Bioorthogonal strain promoted the azide–alkyne cycloaddition click reaction of engineered NK-92 cells with alkyne modified cetuximab functionalized NK cells with the antibody. The resulting NK-92 cells were significantly more effective than the parent NK-92 cells in protecting against tumor development in a KRAS mutant mouse tumor model resistant to cetuximab treatment:
Wang might not teach that the targeting ligand is tetrazine and the targeting agent is trans-cyclooctene. However, the tetrazine-trans-cyclooctene (Tz-TCO) ligation is the fastest known bioorthogonal click reaction, driven by an inverse-electron-demand Diels-Alder (IEDDA) cycloaddition. It is for that proposition that the examiner joins Luu (“Kinetic study in organic solvents by Sauer et al. reveals that tetrazines react with strained alkenes with a second-order rate constant of up to 104 M-1 s-1,2,3 which is several order of magnitude higher than that of existing bioorthogonal reactions. . . norbornene-, trans-cyclooctene-, and cyclooctyne bearing amino acids can be genetically encoded into desired proteins.
See also, Rahim:
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied tetrazine and trans-cyclooctene in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of providing a targeting ligand and a targeting agent. As outlined above, Wang teaches bioorthogonal CAR-NK therapy with targeting ligands and targeting agents that are bioorthogonal pairs. The secondary references are added for the proposition that tetrazine and trans-cyclooctene are applicable to this process. Specifically, the secondary references teach that the particular known technique of using tetrazine and trans-cyclooctene as bioorthogonal pairs was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to those methods that use bioorthogonal chemistry, such as that disclosed by Wang would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using a tetrazine targeting ligand and a trans-cyclooctene targeting agent would have been prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646