The response of the applicant to the restriction requirement has been received.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and the embodiment 1 (see specification at [0130]) in the reply filed on 7/24/2026 is acknowledged. In embodiment 1, the first order crosslinked network (matrix) is formed by the reaction of isophorone diisocyanate and polycaprolactone dioxyethylene ester (polycaprolactone diol) which includes an ester group and a urethane group separated by alkyl groups and the monomer includes aryl (phenyl) and ester groups and the coumarin dye used in embodiment is a ketocoumarin (claim 9). The restriction is repeated below for completeness and made final. There is no burden based upon the prior art and the classification thereof, so the examiner is rejoining claims 10-15 commensurate with the election of species. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn.
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-9, drawn to a photosensitive composition including a matrix (first order) monomer, a photoinitiator and a photopolymerizable (second order) monomer , classified in G03F7/032,035,037.
II. Claims 10-15, drawn to a recorded hologram formed of two crosslinked polymers, classified in G03H2001/0264 or G03H2260/12
III. Claims 16-20, drawn to a methods for forming a hologram, classified in G03H1/18,181.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions group I and group II are related as mutually exclusive species in an intermediate-final product relationship. Distinctness is proven for claims in this relationship if the intermediate product is useful to make other than the final product, and the species are patentably distinct (MPEP § 806.05(j)). In the instant case, the intermediate product is deemed to be useful as a photoresist or protective polymeric coating and the inventions are deemed patentably distinct because there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions group III and group II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the final product can be made by infusing the (first order) crosslinked polymeric matrix with the monomer and the photoinitiator, rather than forming the crosslinked polymer matrix in suit as in claims 16-20 or the methods of group III can be practiced without components which include esters, urethanes, carbamido, allophane or amide groups.
Inventions group I and group III are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the composition of group I could be used a photoresist or flood exposed to form a protective polymeric coating or the methods of group III can be practiced without components which include esters, urethanes, carbamido, allophane or amide groups.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The groups have acquires a separate status in the art as shown by their different classification and/or divergent search.
The examiner will examiner groups I and II together if upon examination there is no search burden.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species ester, urethane, allophane, carbamido or amide groups which are present in the composition, including as part of the matrix (first-order monomer, the photopolymerizable (second order) monomer or as the result of the reaction of the matrix (first order) monomer with another reactant to form the matrix polymer. The species are independent or distinct because they are present in different components of the composition or the result of reaction between different components of the compositions. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claims 1,10 and 16 are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The ester, urethane, allophane, carbamido or amide groups in the matrix (first order) monomer or as a result of the reaction of the matrix (first order) monomer are not interchangeable between themselves or with these groups in the photopolymerizable (second order monomer) and finding the various combinations of these with alkyl, alkoxy, alkenyl or aryl groups represents a significant search burden.
The applicant can choose an example from the specification or may frame the election in terms which describe a specific first order monomer, the specific reactant which reacts with the first order monomer form the matrix (first order) crosslinked polymer and a specific photopolymerizable monomer.
The examiner has mentioned to Weisheng XIE (79353) that Bayer/Covestro has a disclosed holographic compositions which include urethanes in the matrix polymer and the photopolymerizable monomer. Also (meth)acrylate monomers include ester linkages (ester and vinyl/alkenyl groups). The applicant should also consider the search reports form the EP and WIPO to enhance their identification of possible patentable compositions. US 8758960 (cited by applicant) in example 9 includes an acrylate photopolymerizable monomer (ester and vinyl/alkenyl groups) and a urethane (result of isocyanate/diol) and carbamate containing composition. CN 107001246 (Covestro, cited by applicant) in example medium 1 forms a urethane (polyol/isocyanate reaction, where the isocyanate is Desmodur) polymer and includes a urethane acrylate (urethane, ester and vinyl/alkene groups) and N-ethyl pyrrolidone (amide) as photopolymerizable monomers. CN 101712745 (cited by applicant, Covestro) in embodiment 1 reacts the full allophanate isocyanate Desmodur XP 2599 (allophane) with a polypropylene oxide polyol to form a urethane (diol/isocyanate reaction) and includes a urethane acrylate (urethane, ester groups, vinyl/alkene groups ) and N-ethyl pyrrolidone (amide) as photopolymerizable monomers.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
A telephone call was made to Weisheng XIE (79353) on May 15, 2026 to request an oral election to the above restriction requirement, but did not result in an election being made.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Kim et al. 20190185592, as evidenced by Waecek et al. 20250033988 and Xu et al. 20060173108.
Kim et al. 20190185592 teaches in comparative example 1, (see table 2, page 7), teaches a holographic recording composition including 10 parts of polycaprolactone diol (polyol 1, 625 g/eq OH), 5.4 parts hexane diisocyanate (MFE-75X), 9.4 parts bisphenol fluorene epoxy acrylate (HR6042), safrinine O (sensitizing dye), n-methyldiethanol amine (hydrogen donor) and [4-methylphenyl-(4-(2-methylpropyl)phenyl)]iodonium hexafluorophosphate (irganox 250, photoinitiator) and yielded a composition with a diffraction efficiency of 78% and a reflective index modulation of 0.008 (table 2, associated text at [0069,0143-0151]). The photopolymer-coated surfaces prepared in each of Examples and Comparative Examples were laminated on a slide glass, and fixed so that a laser first passed through the glass surface at the time of recording. A holographic recording was done via interference of two interference lights (reference light and object light), and the transmission-type recording was done so that the two beams were incident on the same side of the sample [0136-0137]
Waecek et al. 20250033988 establishes that 9,9-Bis[4-(2-acryloyloxyethyloxy)phenyl] fluorene in OPPEOA is HR6042) [0151]
Xu et al. 20060173108 teaches polycaprolactone triols with MW of 900 having the
structure
[0042]. The structure of polycaprolactone diols with MW of 1250 (Eq wt is 625) is
[0045].
While Kim et al. 20190185592 does not exemplify the elected species of embodiment 1, it does anticipate embodiments bounded by claims 1-8 and 10-15, which were elected and exemplifies the first monomer/matrix having a urethane, ester, and alkyl groups and the photopolymerizable monomer including ester and aryl moieties. The amounts of the matrix components forming the urethane linkage and the photopolymerizable monomer containing the aromatic and ester moieties are within the ranges disclosed in the instant specification and recited in claim 2, and therefore meet the IR band limitations (1760 to 1650 cm-1, C=O stretch and (1650-1610, conjugated C=C)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Miki et al. 20100039685.
Miki et al. 20100039685 in example 3, reacts 2,18g, hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4.50 g of polycaprolactone triol in the presence of dioctyl tin dilaurate (catalyst for matrix/binder formation), 0.056 g of bis(.eta..sup.5-2,4-cyclopentadien-1-yl)-bis(2,6-difluoro-3-(1H-pyrrol-1-- yl)-phenyl)titanium and 1.11 g of 9,9-bis(4-(2-acryloyloxyethyloxy)phenyl)fluorene (bisphenoxyethanol fluorenediacrylate) [0221-0222], these are deaerated, mixed and coated between two glass slides separated by a 500 microns Teflon spacer and then heated at 60 degrees C for 15 hours to cure the matrix/binder and form the holographic recording medium [0215-0217]. This was recorded using a two beams system and green laser light, [0206-0212,0222,0244-0248]. A good holograms was recorded with minimum moisture absorption (table 1). Polycaprolactone polyols are formed by the reaction of caprolactone and a diol or polyhedric alcohol. Useful polyhedric alcohols include ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, 1,4-butane diol, 1,5-pentane diol, 3-methyl-1,5-pentane diol, 1,6-hexane diol, neopentyl glycol, diethylene glycol, 1,4-cyclohexane diol, 1,4-cyclohexane dimethanol, decamethylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and polytetramethylene glycol, Examples of commercially available polycaprolactone polyol obtained by a reaction with .epsilon.-caprolactone include Placcel 205, Placcel 210, Placcel 220, Placcel 230, Placcel 240, Placcel 303, Placcel 305, Placcel 308, Placcel 312, and Placcel 320 (trade names, all of them manufactured by Daisel chemical industries, Ltd.) [0072-0076]. Examples of the polyisocyanate (A1) used in the present exemplary embodiments may include an aliphatic isocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate, lysine methylester diisocyanate, or 2,4,4-trimethyl hexamethylene diisocyanate; an alicyclic isocyanate such as isophorone diisocyanate or 4,4'-methylene bis(cyclohexyl isocyanate); an aromatic isocyanate such as tolylene diisocyanate, 4,4'-diphenylmethane diisocyanate, xylylene diisocyanate, or naphthalene-1,5'-diisocyanate; and the multimers thereof. As the multimers, the trimers to heptamers thereof are preferable [0061]. As the polymerization initiator, any of known photo-induced radical polymerization initiators may be used. Examples thereof may include azo compounds, azide compounds, organic peroxides, organic borates, onium salts, bisimidazole derivatives, titanocene compounds, iodonium salts, organic thiol compounds, and halogenated hydrocarbon derivatives. These may be used solely or in any combination and ratio of two or more kinds. Among these, as the polymerization initiator, titanocene compounds, acylphosphine oxide compounds or the like are preferable, because the polymerization reaction proceeds in a visible light region. When the titanocene compounds are used as the polymerization initiator, the kind thereof is not particularly limited, but the various titanocene compounds described in Japanese Patent Application Laid Open Publications No. 59-152396 and No. 61-151197 may be selected and used appropriately, for example. Illustrative examples of the titanocene compounds may include di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-di-chloride, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-phenyl, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,3,4,5,6-pentafluorophen-1-yl, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,3,5,6-tetrafluorophen-1-yl, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,4,6-trifluorophen-1-yl, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,6-di-fluorophen-1-yl, di-cylopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,4-di-fluorophen-1-yl, di-methylcyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,3,4,5,6-pentafluorophen-1-yl, di-methylcyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,3,5,6-tetrafluorophen-1-yl, di-methylcyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,6-difluorophen-1-yl, and di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,6-difluoro-3-(pyri-1-yl)-phen-1-yl. Particularly, di-cyclopentadienyl-Ti-bis-2,6-difluoro-3-(pyri-1-yl)-phen-1-yl is suitably used as the polymerization initiator, because it has absorption up to around 550 nm, allows argon ion laser (488 nm) or FD-Nd/YAG laser (532 nm) to be used as a light source, and thus it has a high versatility. Illustrative examples of the acylphosphine oxide compounds may include a mono-functional initiator that has only one cleavage point by light irradiation in one molecule and a bi-functional initiator that has two cleavage points by light irradiation in one molecule. Examples of the mono-functional initiator may include triphenylphosphine oxide, 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenylphosphine oxide and 2,6-dichlorobenzoyl-diphenylphosphine oxide. Examples of the bi-functional initiator may include bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenylphosphine oxide, bis(2,6-dimethoxybenzoyl)-2,4,4-trimethylpentylphosphine oxide, bis(2,6-dichlorobenzoyl)-4-propylphenylphosphine oxide, and bis(2,6-dichlorobenzoyl)-2,5-dimethylphenylphosphine oxide. The above-described various polymerization initiators may be used solely or in any combination and ratio of two or more kinds [0158-0164]. The sensitizer may be selected optionally from various known sensitizers. In accordance with the wavelength of the laser light used for recording, the kind of the initiator used for the sensitizer may be selected as needed. When a green laser light is used, illustrative examples of a suitable sensitizer may include the compounds that are described in Japanese Patent Application Laid Open Publications No. 5-241338 and No. 2-69, Japanese Examined Patent Application Publications No. 2-55446 and No. 2-30321, Japanese Patent Application Laid Open Publications No. 6-116313 and No. 47-2528, and others. When a blue laser light is used, illustrative examples of a suitable sensitizer may include the compounds that are described in Japanese Patent Application Laid Open Publication No. 2000-10277, No. 2002-362326, No. 2004-198446, No. 2004-252421, No. 2004-212958, No. 2002-169282, No. 2004-191938, No. 2002-268239 and No. 2005-162415, and others. The above-exemplified various kinds of sensitizers may be used solely or in any combination and ratio of two or more kinds. As the sensitizer, generally, the color compounds such as the above-described dyes are used in many cases so as to absorb visible and ultraviolet laser light. However, when an ultimate hologram optical recording medium is requested to be colorless and transparent, it is preferable that a cyanine dye is used as the sensitizer [0166 -0169].
While Miki et al. 20100039685 does not exemplify the elected species of embodiment 1, it does anticipate embodiments bounded by claims 1-8 and 10-15, which were elected and exemplifies the first monomer/matrix having a urethane, ester, and alkyl groups and the photopolymerizable monomer including ester and aryl moieties.
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki et al. 20100039685.
With respect to claims 1-8 and 10-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by replacing the hexamethylene diisocyanate with isopherone diisocyanate based upon the equivalence at [0061] and to replace the polycaprolactone triol with a polycaptrolactone diol formed by the reaction of caprolactone and diethylene glycol based upon the disclosure at [0072-0076] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by using a disclosed benzoylphenylphosphine oxide photoinitiator (an acylphosphine oxide) in place of the titanate photoinitiator as disclosed at [0166 -0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by replacing the hexamethylene diisocyanate with isopherone diisocyanate based upon the equivalence at [0061] and to replace the polycaprolactone triol with a polycaptrolactone diol formed by the reaction of caprolactone and diethylene glycol based upon the disclosure at [0072-0076] and using a disclosed benzoylphenylphosphine oxide photoinitiator (an acylphosphine oxide) in place of the titanate photoinitiator as disclosed at [0166 -0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
While the compositions rendered obvious by Miki et al. 20100039685 do not exemplify the elected species of embodiment 1, they do render embodiments bounded by claims 1-15, which were elected and exemplifies the first monomer/matrix having a urethane, ester, and alkyl groups and the photopolymerizable monomer including ester and aryl moieties. The amounts of the matrix components forming the urethane linkage and the photopolymerizable monomer containing the aromatic and ester moieties are within the ranges disclosed in the instant specification and recited in claim 2, and therefore meet the IR band limitations (1760 to 1650 cm-1, C=O stretch and (1650-1610, conjugated C=C)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki et al. 20100039685, in view of Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313
Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 (machine translation attached) teaches the use of various sensitizing dyes including
which absorbs in the blue (405 nm) (example 3, page 37). The addition of hydrogen donating compounds or the purpose of improving photopolymerization initiation ability and the like. -Mercaptobenzothiazole, 2-mercaptobenzimidazole, 2-mercaptobenzoxazole, 3-mercapto-1,2,4-triazole, 2-mercapto-4 (3H) -quinazoline, β-mercaptonaphthalene, ethylene glycol dithiopropio , Dimethylolpropane tristhiopropionate, mercapto group-containing compounds such as pentaerythritol tetrakisthiopropionate, hexanedithiol, trimethylolpropane tristhioglyconate, and pentaerythritol tetrakisthiopropionate. Active thiol compounds, N, N-dialkylaminobenzoic acid esters, N-phenylglycine or salts thereof such as ammonium and sodium salts, derivatives thereof such as esters, phenylalanine or salts thereof such as ammonium and sodium salts, ibid. And amino acids having an aromatic ring, such as derivatives of esters, and derivatives thereof. Among them, in the present invention, mercapto group-containing compounds, N-phenylglycine, or salts thereof such as ammonium and sodium salts, and derivatives such as esters thereof are preferable [0080]
Urano et al JP 06116313 (machine translation attached) teaches photopolymerizable composition and sensitizers for these. Those disclosed include (S-6) at [0085]
which is used in reference example 1 (page 22), where the exposure is in the 480-490 nm range [0075]. The addition of activators such as ketoxime esters such as 3-benzoyloxyiminobutan-2-one, 3,3 ',4,4'-Tetra (t-butylperoxycarbonyl), Organic peroxides such as benzophenone, N-phenylglycine, dimedone and the like can also be used. The activator used in the photopolymerizable composition of the present invention can be preferably used alone or in combination of two or more kinds[ 0063].
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by adding a ketocoumarin sensitizer such as those taught by Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 based upon the direction to these references for sensitizers/photoinitiators to blue or green lasers at [0166-0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by adding a ketocoumarin sensitizer such as those taught by Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 in combination with the activator N-phenylglycine based upon the direction to these references for sensitizers/photoinitiators to blue or green lasers at [0166-0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
The compositions rendered obvious by Miki et al. 20100039685 in combination with Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 render embodiments bounded by claims 1-15, which were elected and exemplifies the first monomer/matrix having a urethane, ester, and alkyl groups and the photopolymerizable monomer including ester and aryl moieties. The amounts of the matrix components forming the urethane linkage and the photopolymerizable monomer containing the aromatic and ester moieties are within the ranges disclosed in the instant specification and recited in claim 2, and therefore meet the IR band limitations (1760 to 1650 cm-1, C=O stretch and (1650-1610, conjugated C=C)
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by replacing the hexamethylene diisocyanate with isopherone diisocyanate based upon the equivalence at [0061] and to replace the polycaprolactone triol with a polycaptrolactone diol formed by the reaction of caprolactone and diethylene glycol based upon the disclosure at [0072-0076] and adding a ketocoumarin sensitizer such as those disclosed by Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 in combination with the activator N-phenylglycine based upon the direction to these references for sensitizers/photoinitiators to blue or green lasers at [0166-0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms. This composition renders the elected species obvious.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki et al. 20100039685, in view of Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313, further in view of Xie et al. CN 106008977.
Xie et al. CN 106008977 (machine translation attached) teaches in example 1, a holographic recording composition including 1.024 g of pentaerythritol mercaptobutyric acid ester, 3.84 g of molecular weight 200 of polyethylene glycol diacrylate (PEGDA), 7.68 g 1, 3, 5 heptanyl -1, 3, 5 - -2, 4, 6, (1H, 3H, 5H) trione and 0.243 g of 3, 3 ' - bi (7-diethylamine coumarin) and N-phenyl glycine (mass ratio of 1: 5) mixture, then putting the mixture in water bath for 1.0 hours. the water bath temperature is 40 ℃ degrees centigrade, ultrasonically mixing them uniformly to obtain A solution. Adding 0.013 g of triethylamine into the solution A, quickly stirring for 10 seconds to obtain the solution B; pouring the B solution quickly on the transparent glass substrate, a photo-differential scanning calorimetry (Photo DSC) verification, the reaction degree of mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane pentaerythritol mercaptobutyric acid ester is 33%, the obtained hologram recording material precursor. [0043-0047]. Examples 7 and 8 are similar. Example 4-6 are similar, but use bis (2, 6-dimethoxy-benzoyl) -2, 4, 4-trimethyl amyl phosphoric oxide and 2 -2 - methyl -1 – phenylacetone for photoinitiation. initiator is suitable photoinitiator coherent laser excitation of free radical addition reaction in step (3) of, for example, 3, 3 ' - carbonyl bis (7-diethylamine coumarin) and N-phenyl glycine with mass ratio of 1: 5 to 5: 1 the mixture of di (2, 6-dimethoxy-benzoyl) -2, 4, 4-trimethyl-pentyl phosphine oxide and 2 - -2--1 - acetone with mass ratio of 1: 3 to 3: 1 the mixture, four iodine tetrachloro fluorescein sodium salt and N - the mass ratio of phenyl glycine is 1: 5 to 5: 1 the mixture, or bis (1 - (2, 4-difluorophenyl) -3 - pyrryl) titanocene [0040].
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by and replacing the photoinitiator used of 3, 3 ' - bi (7-diethylamine coumarin) and N-phenyl glycine (mass ratio of 1: 5) mixture taught by Xie et al. CN 106008977 as useful in holograms noting the direction to ketocoumarins in Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 to sensitize compositions to blue or green lasers at [0166-0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms.
The compositions rendered obvious by Miki et al. 20100039685 in combination with Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 render embodiments bounded by claims 1-15, which were elected and exemplifies the first monomer/matrix having a urethane, ester, and alkyl groups and the photopolymerizable monomer including ester and aryl moieties. The amounts of the matrix components forming the urethane linkage and the photopolymerizable monomer containing the aromatic and ester moieties are within the ranges disclosed in the instant specification and recited in claim 2, and therefore meet the IR band limitations (1760 to 1650 cm-1, C=O stretch and (1650-1610, conjugated C=C)
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to modify example 3 of Miki et al. 20100039685 by replacing the hexamethylene diisocyanate with isopherone diisocyanate based upon the equivalence at [0061] and to replace the polycaprolactone triol with a polycaptrolactone diol formed by the reaction of caprolactone and diethylene glycol based upon the disclosure at [0072-0076] and replacing the photoinitiator used of 3, 3 ' - bi (7-diethylamine coumarin) and N-phenyl glycine (mass ratio of 1: 5) mixture taught by Xie et al. CN 106008977 as useful in holograms noting the direction to ketocoumarins in Kameyama et al. JP 2004252421 or Urano et al JP 06116313 to sensitize compositions to blue or green lasers at [0166-0169] and using it to form a holograms with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful holographic recording composition and recorded holograms. This composition renders the elected species obvious.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Example 8 of Miki et al. 20100067073 is similar to example 3 of the applied Miki reference, but has additional components.
Peng et al. CN 110527523 (machine translation attached) teaches a holographic recording material in example 13 where the photoinitiator is a visible light initiator. said visible light initiator is 3, 3 '- carbonyl bis (7-diethylaminocoumarin) and N-mixture of phenyl glycine [0165-0174]. Example 7 also uses this initiator [0105-0114].
Xie et al. CN 106950744 (machine translation attached) teaches holographic recording media using N, N-dimethyl acrylamide, hyperbranched acrylate, photoinitiator 3. 3 ' - carbonyl bis (7-diethylamine coumarin) N-phenyl glycine, liquid crystal [0251,0155,0112]
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 August 10, 2026