DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qu et al. (CN 111430621 A) (refer to translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Qu discloses a battery (battery pack, fig. 10), comprising:
at least four battery cells (more than 4 battery cells shown in fig. 10-11), wherein at least two of the battery cells(203) are arranged in a battery row (figure 10) along a length direction of the battery cells (see figure 10), and
at least two of the battery cells (203) are arranged in a battery column (see fig. 11) along a width direction of the battery cells (203); and
a blocking member (filler between the gaps of battery cells 203, see page 5 of translation),
wherein the blocking member (filler) is placed in a first gap (mounting space 205, see fig. 8) created by two adjacent battery rows, and the blocking member (filler) is configured to block adhesive (coating adhesive that is between the battery cell 203 and upper cover plate 201) on a bottom surface of the battery cell (203) from spreading towards an end cover direction of the battery cell (since the upper surface of the battery core 203 is glued to the upper cover 201, and the lower surface of the battery core 203 is connected to the support plate 202 by glue, the filler can prevent the glue from flowing or overflowing).
Regarding claim 10, Qu discloses an electric device (such as vehicle) comprising the battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy (see Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu as applied to above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 208 955 062 U) (refer to translation).
Regarding claim 2, Qu does not disclose the blocking member comprises: a blocking portion, wherein the blocking portion is provided at an end of the blocking member close to the bottom surface of the battery cell, and the blocking portion is configured to block the adhesive on the bottom surface of the battery cell from spreading towards the end cover direction of the battery cell; and a fixing portion, wherein the fixing portion is provided at another end of the blocking member, and the fixing portion is configured to connect to a lengthwise side of the battery cell.
Yang discloses a blocking member (cushion pad 5) (see figures 1-6) between two adjacent battery cells (1) (see fig. 1). Qu further discloses that blocking member (5) comprises: a blocking portion (cut out 52, see fig. 3)), wherein the blocking portion (52) is provided at an end of the blocking member (5) close to the bottom surface of the battery cell, and the blocking portion (52) is configured to block the adhesive on the bottom surface of the battery cell from spreading towards the end cover direction of the battery cell (The portion of the thermal conductive adhesive 4 that is extruded by the respective batteries 1 will overflow from the side of the housing 12 of the battery 1 into the recess 52 of the corresponding cushion 5, thereby preventing the thermal conductive adhesive 4 from overflowing to the upper cover 2 and the lower portion); and a fixing portion (51), wherein the fixing portion is provided at another end of the blocking member (5), and the fixing portion is configured to connect to a lengthwise side of the battery cell (1) (see fig. 2/3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the blocking member of Yang in the battery of Qu such that sealing performance of the battery module improved (see Abstract of Yang).
Regarding claim 3, Qu as modified by Yang further discloses that the blocking portion (5) comprises an extension portion (53), the extension portion being located in a second gap created by two adjacent battery columns (see fig. 1 of Yang) and extending along a height direction of the battery cell away from the fixing portion (51) (see figures 1-3 of Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Qu as modified by Yang further discloses that the blocking portion (5) comprises an extension portion (53), the extension portion being located in a second gap created by two adjacent battery columns (see fig. 1 of Yang) and extending along a width direction of the battery cell away from the fixing portion (51) (see figures 1-3 of Yang).
Regarding claim 5, Qu further discloses that the battery row comprises n battery cells, and the blocking portion comprises m extension portions, wherein m is 1 (see figures 1-3 of Yang).
Regarding claim 9, Qu as modified by Yang further discloses the blocking member is made of rubber (the cushion absorbs expansion force, and thus has elastic or rubbery properties).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu as applied to above.
Regarding claims 6-8, selection of element’s dimension is considered to be a matter of design choice, depending upon the dimensions and gradient present in the installation site, among other considerations. In the absence of evidence of criticality, selection of the length(s) and width(s) as claimed is considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Also note that in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Conclusion
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721