CTFR 18/518,179 CTFR 90618 Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 9, 16-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Chun et al. (US 2013/0161788 A1) . Regarding independent claim 1 : Li teaches (e.g., Fig. 1) an integrated circuit device comprising: a substrate ([0015]: 120); one or more memory chips ([0015]: 105) stacked on top of said substrate; and a logic chip ([0015]: 102b) stacked on top of said one or more memory chips; wherein said logic chip communicates with said substrate via through-silicon vias ([0016]: 130) located in said one or more memory chips. Li does not expressly teach that the one or more memory chips are stacked directly on top of said substrate without any logic chip being between said substrate and said one or more memory chips. Note that in a further embodiment of Li, Fig. 6, Li teaches that the one or more memory chips (Fig, 6; [0035]: 103 and 102b) are stacked on top of said substrate without any logic chip being between a substrate ([0035]: 620) and said one or more memory chips (Fig, 6; [0035]-[0037]). Chun teaches (e.g., Figs. 2A-3) an integrated circuit device comprising one or more memory chips ([0056]-[0058] and [0073]: 11, 12 and 13) stacked directly on top of a substrate ([0058] and [0060]: 3) without any logic chip being between said substrate and said one or more memory chips ([0056]-[0058]; the logic chip 7 is not being between said substrate 3 and said one or more memory chips 11, 12 and 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the device of Li, such that the one or more memory chips are stacked directly on top of said substrate without any logic chip being between said substrate and said one or more memory chips, as taught by Chun, for the benefits of increasing the signal speed between the memory devices, and thus increasing the data storage speed of the integrated circuit. Regarding claim 2 : Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends, wherein said through-silicon vias are utilized for power connections ([0031]; the through-silicon vias are capable of being used for power connections during operation). Applicant is reminded that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01 (I). Regarding claim 3: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends, wherein said through-silicon vias are utilized for signaling connections ([0032]: the through-silicon vias are capable of being used for signaling connections during operation). Applicant is reminded that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01 (I). Regarding claim 4: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends, wherein said one or more memory chips correspond to high bandwidth memory chips ([0020]: one or more memory chips correspond to high bandwidth memory chips; since the structure is taught the functions are deemed inherent; MPEP 2112.01 (i)). Regarding claim 9: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. wherein said logic chip comprises a processor (Li: [0020]). Regarding claim 13: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. wherein said one or more memory chips ([0020]; 103) are stacked on top of said substrate via a silicon spreader ([0015] and [0020]: 105). Regarding claim 14: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. wherein a first portion of said through-silicon vias ([0016]: 130) are connected to a first core logic domain within said one or more memory chips ([0015] and [0020]: 103) at a first voltage level, wherein a second portion of said through-silicon vias ([0016]: 130) are connected to a second core logic domain within said one or more memory chips ([0015] and [0020]: 103) at a second voltage level, wherein said second voltage level is higher than said first voltage level. Applicant is reminded that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01 (I). Regarding claim 20: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. wherein one of said one or more memory chips is used as a quad-level cell flash memory ([0020]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Saen et al. (US 2010/0008058 A1) . Regarding claim 5: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach a first portion of said through-silicon vias terminate on one of said one or more memory chips. Saen teaches (e.g., Fig. 1) an integrated circuit device comprising through-silicon vias ([0027]: TVSIG1 and TVSIG2) and memory chips ([0027]: MEMLSI); Saen further teaches that a first portion of said through-silicon vias ([0027]: TVSIG2) terminate on one of said one or more memory chips ([0027]: MEMLSI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Li, the first portion of said through-silicon vias terminating on one of said one or more memory chips, as taught by Saen, for the benefits of selectively controlling the integrated circuit and reducing interconnect density leading to a reduced signal interference. Regarding claim 6: Li and Saen teach the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 5, on which this claim depends. wherein said first portion of said through-silicon vias (Saen: TVSIG2) are used to communicate with said one of said one or more memory chips (Saen: [0027]: MEMLSI). Regarding claim 7: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach that a second portion of said through-silicon vias are electronically disconnected from a specific memory chip of said one or more memory chips. Saen teaches (e.g., Fig. 1) an integrated circuit device comprising through-silicon vias ([0027]: TVSIG1 and TVSIG2) and memory chips ([0027]: MEMLSI); Saen further teaches that a second portion of said through-silicon vias ([0027]: TVSIG2) are electronically disconnected from a specific memory chip of said one or more memory chips ([0027]: MEMLSI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Li, the second portion of said through-silicon vias being electronically disconnected from a specific memory chip of said one or more memory chips, as taught by Saen, for the benefits of selectively controlling the integrated circuit and reducing interconnect density leading to a reduced signal interference. Regarding claim 8: Li and Saen teach the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 7, on which this claim depends. Li as modified by Saen teaches that said second portion of said through-silicon vias ([0027]: TVSIG2) are used for enabling said logic chip to communicate with said substrate (Saen: [0039]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Kawasaki et al. (US 2019/0088625 A1) . Regarding claim 10: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Lee does not expressly teach that said logic chip comprises a buffer. Kawasaki teaches an integrated circuit device comprising a logic chip ([0043] and [0058]: 30) comprising a buffer ([0043] and [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the integrated circuit device of Li, the logic chip comprising a buffer, as taught by Kawasaki. For the benefits, of insulating the device from disturbance during operation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Jang et al. (US 2021/0327812 A1) . Regarding claim 11: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach that said logic chip is stacked on top of said one or more memory chips via decoupling capacitors. Jang teaches (Fig. 15C) an integrated circuit device comprising a logic chip (P; see [0054], claim 15) stacked on top of one or more memory chips (C see [0054]; claim 15) via decoupling capacitors (claim 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Li, the logic chip being stacked on top of said one or more memory chips via decoupling capacitors, as taught by Jang, for the benefits of stabilizing the power supply and reducing noise . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0262783 A1) . Regarding claim 12: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach that said logic chip is stacked on top of said one or more memory chips via a voltage regulator. Yu teaches (e.g., Figs. 5A-5C and Fig. 10B) an integrated circuit device comprising a logic chip ([0073]: 10L) being stacked on top of one or more memory chips ([0073]: 50) via a voltage regulator ([0019] and [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Li, the logic chip being stacked on top of said one or more memory chips via a voltage regulator, as taught by Yu, for the benefits of stabilizing the power supply and reducing noise 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0321759 A1) . Regarding claim 15: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 14, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach that said logic chip comprises a step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit. Wang teaches an integrated circuit comprising a logic chip comprises a step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit ([0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Li, the logic chip comprising a step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit, as taught by Li, for the benefits of protecting devices from over-voltage breakdown. Regarding claim 17: Li and Wang teach the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 15, on which this claim depends. wherein said step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit produces a regulated voltage that is at a lower voltage level than a voltage level of said one or more memory chips (Wang: [0084]: inherent for a step-down converter) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0321759 A1) as applied above and further in view of Giuliano (US 2017/0244318 A1) . Regarding claim 16: Li and Wang teach the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 15, on which this claim depends. Although, Li as modified by Wang does not expressly teach that said step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit corresponds to a 2:1 step-down converter; Giuliano teaches a device comprising a step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit corresponding to a 2:1 step-down converter ([0301]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the integrated circuit device of Li as modified by Wang, the step-down switched capacitor power converter circuit corresponding to a 2:1 step-down converter, as taught by Giuliano, for the benefits of protecting the load device from over-voltage damage . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0279431 A1) in view of Parekh et al. (US 2023/0049683 A1) . Regarding claim 18: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 1, on which this claim depends. Li does not expressly teach that a portion of contacts of said through-silicon vias in said one or more memory chips are connected to said substrate using a redistribution layer process. Parekh teaches (e.g., Figs. 1 and 2C) an integrated circuit comprising a portion of contacts of through-silicon vias ([0032], [0049] and [0056]: TSV) in one or more memory chips ([0032] and [0046]: 202) are connected to a substrate ([0054]: 218) using a redistribution layer process ([0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the device of Li, the portion of contacts of said through-silicon vias in said one or more memory chips being connected to said substrate using a redistribution layer process, as taught by Parekh, for the benefits of increasing the contact region and thus ensures good electrical communication for signal processing. Regarding claim 19: Li teaches the claim limitation of the claim limitation of the integrated circuit device as recited in claim 18, on which this claim depends, wherein said redistribution layer process is used to expand a contact pitch (Parekh: [0053]: inherent function of a redistribution layer). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument or of newly added limitations or amendments. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2606. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 08:30 AM-5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAVIENNE MONBLEAU can be reached at 571-272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/518,179 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812