Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s written election of Group I: claims 1-9, where the system and method are generating an insurance contract utilizing a client computer, an intermediary computer, a provider computer without triggering an approval process, and without traverse, in the reply filed on September 02, 2025, is acknowledged. Therefore, Examiner is examining claims 1-9, with claims 10-21 being withdrawn from consideration without prejudice or disclaimer.
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to application number 18518241 filed on November 22, 2023. Claims 1-9 are currently pending, and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-6 are directed to a “system”, and claims 7-9 are directed to a “method”. Therefore, these claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim 7 recites “life insurance policy exchanges”, which is a form of commercial or legal interactions (i.e., organizing human activity), and an abstract idea. Abstract ideas are italicized, and the additional elements are in bold. Specifically, claim 7 recites “A method for facilitating an electronic exchange of a life insurance policy for an alternative insurance contract through a qualified intermediary, the method being performed by computers coupled together through an electronic network, the method comprising:
a client computer operated by a policy owner, sending a first electronic message assigning the policy owner’s life insurance policy to a qualified intermediary conditioned on the intermediary selling the policy to a third party such as a life settlement provider and using the proceeds to purchase an alternative insurance contract;
in response to receiving the first electronic message from the client computer, an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary selling the life insurance policy in exchange for proceeds;
the intermediary computer sending a second electronic message to a provider computer to purchase an alternative insurance contract with the proceeds conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner;
in response to receiving the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, the provider computer generating the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner using the proceeds and sending a third message to the intermediary computer transferring the alternative insurance contract; and
in response to receiving the third message from the provider computer, the intermediary computer sending to the client computer a fourth message transferring the alternative insurance contract to the policy owner”. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.2.), the additional elements of the claim, such as “an electronic exchange”, “computers”, “an electronic network”, “a client computer”, “electronic message”, “an intermediary computer”, and “a provider computer”, represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to implementing the acts of “life insurance policy exchanges.”
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “life insurance policy exchanges” using computer technology (e.g., “a client computer” and “an electronic exchange”). Therefore, these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a particular technological environment, which cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. As the additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool, they do not improve computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field. (MPEP 2106.05 I A (f) & (h)). Therefore, claim 7 is non-statutory.
Claim 1 also recites the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”, as well the additional elements of “a system”, “an electronic exchange”, “a client computer”, “a network”, “electronic message”, “an intermediary computer”, and “a provider computer”, which represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to implementing the acts of “life insurance policy exchanges”.
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “life insurance policy exchanges” using computer technology (e.g., “an intermediary computer” and “a network”). Therefore, these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a particular technological environment, which cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. As the additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool, they do not improve computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field. (MPEP 2106.05 I A (f) & (h)). Therefore, claim 1 is non-statutory.
Dependent claim 2 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, further comprising a third party computer coupled to the network and configured to receive a fifth electronic message from the intermediary computer requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner and electronically transfer the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fifth electronic message.” The additional elements of “a third party computer”, “the network”, “ electronic message”, “electronically”, and “the intermediary computer” do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, they do not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 3 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, wherein the third party computer is configured to electronically transfer the proceeds to an escrow account of the intermediary.” The additional elements of “the third party computer” and “electronically” do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, they do not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 4 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, wherein the third party computer is configured to identify the life insurance policy by at least:
submitting a query to a database storing life insurance policy data;
identifying a plurality of candidate life insurance policies based on a result of the query;
selecting the life insurance policy from the plurality of candidate life insurance policies for offering a life insurance policy exchange;
obtaining offer data comprising requirements for an offer to purchase an alternative insurance contract;
obtaining life insurance policy data and policy holder and insured information corresponding to the selected life insurance policy; and
determining that the policy holder and insured information is a match for the requirements in the offer data.” The additional elements of “the third party computer” and “a database” do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, they do not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 5 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, wherein the third party computer calculates the cost basis of the life insurance policy.” The additional element of “the third party computer” does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, it does not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 6 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, wherein the third party computer further calculates the proceeds for the life insurance policy based on a market value of the life insurance policy.” The additional element of “the third party computer” does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, it does not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 8 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, wherein the intermediary computer selling the life insurance policy comprises the intermediary computer sending a further electronic message to a third party computer coupled to the network requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner and the third party computer electronically transferring the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fourth electronic message.” The additional elements of “intermediary computer”, “electronic message”, “third party computer”, and “the network” do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, they do not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Dependent claim 9 further describes the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchanges”. Specifically, it recites “…, comprising the third party computer calculating the proceeds for the life insurance policy.” The additional element of “the third party computer” does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea, it does not improve the functioning of the computer or computer technology.
Hence, claims 1-9 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Unclear Scope
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as", as recited in the limitation “a client computer operated by a policy owner, … selling the policy to a third party such as a life settlement provider …”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Additionally, similar language is recited in claim 7. Dependent claims 2-6, which depend from claim 1, and dependent claims 8-9, which depend from claim 7, are also similarly rejected. (MPEP § 2173.05(d)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070226015 A1), herein referred to as Lutnick, and in further view of Sexton (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140195271 A1), herein referred to as Sexton.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Lutnick discloses a system configured to facilitate an electronic exchange of a life insurance policy through a qualified intermediary, the system comprising:
a client computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 101; para 163, “… Workstations 101 may be personal computers, laptop computers, mainframe computers, dumb terminals, data displays, Internet browsers, Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs), two-way pagers, wireless terminals, portable telephones, etc., or any combination of the same. Workstations 101 may be used to enter into and proceed with the trades that relate to the invention…”) operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network (FIG. 1, 2, item 103; para 162, “… Computer network 103 may be any suitable computer network including the Internet, an intranet, a wide-area network (WAN), a local-area network (LAN), a wireless network, a digital subscriber line (DSL) network, a frame relay network, an asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) net-work, a virtual private network (VPN), a general packet radio service (GPRS) network, or any combination of any of the same. Communications links 102 and 105 may be any communications links suitable for communicating data between workstations 101 and server 104, …”), and configured to send a first electronic message assigning the policy owner's life insurance policy to a qualified intermediary conditioned on the intermediary (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161, “… server 104 may be any suitable server, processor, computer, or data processing device, or combination of the same. Server 104 may be used to process and settle executed trades of settlement contracts …”) selling the policy to a third party such as a life settlement provider (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”) and using the proceeds of the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract, the alternative insurance contract comprising an annuity or life insurance policy (FIG. 1, 2, items 104, 211; para 166, “… Processor 211 uses the server program to receive, sort, and search settlement contracts, and transact the purchase and sale of the settlement contracts. Processor 211 may include settlement calculation processor 215 that may be implemented to determine the benchmark values based on market conditions or other criteria that may relate to the insurance policy contracts …”);
an intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161) operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network (FIG. 1, 2, item 103; para 162), and configured to receive the first electronic message from the client computer, sell the life insurance policy to a third party in exchange for proceeds (para 142), send a second electronic message to a provider computer (FIG. 1, 2, items 112, 221; para 167, “… clearing center 112 may include processor 221, … Processor 221 uses the clearing program to clear executed trades. Clearing executed trades may preferably include exchanging currency for a future commitment …”) to purchase an alternative insurance contract with the proceeds conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner (FIG. 2, item 211; para 166), and receive a third message from the provider computer transferring the alternative insurance contract to the qualified intermediary conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253, “… In the final step there may be a transfer of ownership of one or more policies and/or contracts 1170B. It is this step that completes the sale of one or more insurance policies and/or contracts and enables the purchaser to further re-sell one or more policies and/or contracts to other purchasers if he so chooses …”); and …
wherein the intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161) is further configured to send to the client computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 101; paras 146, 163, 167, “… If Person A chooses to accept this settlement, he may assign, transfer, devise, lease, or bequest the benefits of the insurance policy to Person B and collect the sum offered by Person B in the transaction …”), and the client computer is further configured to receive, a fourth message transferring the alternative insurance contract to the policy owner (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253, “… In the final step there may be a transfer of ownership of one or more policies and/or contracts 1170B. It is this step that completes the sale of one or more insurance policies and/or contracts and enables the purchaser to further re-sell one or more policies and/or contracts to other purchasers if he so chooses …”).
Lutnick does not specifically disclose, however, Sexton discloses a provider computer (FIG. 4, item 212; para 37, “… The data processing system 200 includes a processor 212 in communication with the storage device 206, the processor configured to: …”) coupled to the network and configured to receive the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, generate the alternative insurance contract using the proceeds from the sale of the policy (FIG. 4, items 222, 224; para 37, “… calculate a value of the annuity contract at a second predetermined date 220, transfer the net annuity investment gain as a loan from the annuity contract to the life insurance owner 222, and purchase life insurance with the amount of net annuity investment gain 224 …”), and send the third message to the intermediary computer transferring the alternative insurance contract (FIG. 1, 2, items 34, 40, 52; para 24, “… The annuity investment gain 34 is transferred, as symbolized by arrows 40, FIGS. 1 and 2, to a life insurance policy component of the inventive method and system as illustrated in a flow chart 50, FIG. 2. The individual or entity buying the product selects a life insurance policy 52, such as a fixed, variable or equity indexed universal life insurance policy. Next, a policy owner 54, an insured individual 56, and a policy beneficiary 58 are selected. The insurance company adds its policy fee 60, its cost for collecting insurance data 62, and the transferred annuity investment gain 64, symbolized by the arrow 40, and now transformed into a life insurance premium …”); …
Sexton discloses combined annuity and life insurance method and system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life insurance, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide a system and method for maximizing annuity investment gains using life insurance by using the investment gains from the annuity to buy life insurance as life insurance death proceeds are not subject to federal income tax, and the annuity pays an immediate guaranteed income stream for a period of time.
Regarding claim 2, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claim 1. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a third party computer coupled to the network and configured to receive a fifth electronic message from the intermediary computer requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”) and electronically transfer the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fifth electronic (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”).
Regarding claim 3, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick does not specifically disclose, however, Sexton discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer is configured to electronically transfer the proceeds to an escrow account of the intermediary (para 17, “… In such policies, premiums, less an expense or sales load and mortality charge, are paid into a separate investment account. The policy owner may specify, within limits, where the assets backing the cash value are to be invested …”).
Sexton discloses combined annuity and life insurance method and system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life insurance, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide systems and methods to overcome the shortcomings of life settlements by providing an option to the policy owner to retain coverage, while securing funds or exchanging coverage for an annuity contract by being able to retain coverage of the insured’s life, securing funds, and/or receiving the settlement proceeds in the form of installments paid by an insurance company under an immediate annuity contract.
Regarding claim 5, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer calculates the cost basis of the life insurance policy (FIG. 6, items 620, 640, 641, 642; para 188, “… The current trading prices such as bid price 640, ask price 641, last sale price 642, or any other relevant trading information or combination of the same is deter-mined by server 104 and a query of the current market values …”).
Regarding claim 6, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claims 1-2 and 5. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the third party computer further calculates the proceeds for the life insurance policy based on a market value of the life insurance policy (FIG. 8, 9, items 830, 920; para 188, “… The presented real-time trade statistics correlate to the real-time market shown in FIG. 9 and respective database record fields. The settlement symbol is presented in column 910 and one or more of the real-time trade statistics relating to the given symbol is/are displayed in their respective columns. In this example it is shown that in column 920 the market OPEN price is $610,000 and corresponds to what is displayed in viewable display 830 …”).
Regarding claim 8, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claim 7. Lutnick further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161) selling the life insurance policy comprises the intermediary computer sending a further electronic message to a third party computer coupled to the network requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned (para 142) on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner (FIG. 1, 2, items 104, 211; para 166) and the third party computer electronically transferring the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fourth electronic message (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253).
Regarding claim 9, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claim 7. Lutnick further discloses the method of claim 7, comprising the third party computer (para 142) calculating the proceeds for the life insurance policy (para 122, “… a life insurance policy may have a "cash surrender value", which is an amount paid to the owner of a life insurance policy in exchange for terminating the life insurance policy …”; para 125, “… A "whole life insurance policy" typically also includes an investment component, which accumulates a cash value that the owner can withdraw or borrow against …”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070226015 A1), herein referred to as Lutnick, in view of Sexton (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140195271 A1), herein referred to as Sexton, and in further view of Rugel (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220405854 A1), herein referred to as Rugel.
Regarding claim 4, Lutnick and Sexton disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick and Sexton do not specifically disclose, however, Rugel discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer is configured to identify the life insurance policy by at least:
submitting a query to a database storing life insurance policy data (FIG. 2, item 220; para 47, “… the insurance provider server 220 may extract the data fields used by the clearinghouse 210 to store and organize customer insurance data, and may submit those customer identifiers fields to the clearinghouse 210 (e.g., in a database query or other information request) to retrieve any life insurance data stored in the clearinghouse 210 for the customer …”);
identifying a plurality of candidate life insurance policies based on a result of the query (FIG. 6, item 600; para 34, “… the life insurance clearinghouse 210 may be configured to compile and group life insurance data for individual customers, as shown in FIG. 6, so that multiple life insurance policies obtained by a single cus-tomer from different insurance providers may be reflected in a single combined record. Such combined records may include, for example, a combined number of life insurance policies for a single customer, a combined listing of life insurance providers for a single customer, and a combined life insurance policy amount for a single customer. In some examples, life insurance policy data may be compiled and grouped into data records corresponding to groups of indi-viduals, for example, spouses, nuclear or extended families, or members of a business or organization, so that records may be stored in the life insurance clearinghouse 210 representing the combined life insurance policies, coverage amounts, and terms and for any group, family, company, organization, and the like …”);
selecting the life insurance policy from the plurality of candidate life insurance policies for offering a life insurance policy exchange (FIG. 3, item 303; para 48, “… After retrieving the customer's life insurance policy data from the clearinghouse 210 in step 303, this data may be analyzed and used to perform one or more life insurance determinations and actions … a customer's life insurance policy data retrieved from a clearinghouse 210 may be used to select one or more life insurance products ( e.g., a policy types, terms, coverage amounts, etc.) that will be offered to the customer, or to determine a maximum life insurance policy amount for which the customer is eligible …”);
obtaining offer data comprising requirements for an offer to purchase an alternative insurance contract (FIG. 3, items 301, 302, 303, 304, 305, 306; para 41, “… the customer might only provide certain identifying information (e.g., a name, email address, or social security number, etc.) in step 301, and techniques similar to those described below in steps 302-306 may be used to determine a life insurance product type, a coverage amount, and other life insurance terms appropriate for the customer and for which the customer is eligible, and then to offer the life insurance product(s) to the customer …”);
obtaining life insurance policy data and policy holder and insured information corresponding to the selected life insurance policy (FIG. 2, items 210, 220; para 29, “… insurance pro-vider servers 220 may be configured to determine life insurance customer data and policy data based on various interactions with customers, and then provide the life insur-ance customer data and policy data to one or more life insurance clearinghouses 210. Insurance provider servers 220 also may include software applications or modules to retrieve life insurance customer and/or policy data from life insurance clearinghouses 210, analyze the data, and perform various determinations and actions ( e.g., processing life insurance applications and requests for changes to existing policies) based on the analysis of the data from life insurance clearinghouse(s) 210 …”); and
determining that the policy holder and insured information is a match for the requirements in the offer data (FIG. 3, 4, items 301, 401, 402; para 38, “… the data received in step 301 may correspond to a potential customer accessing (e.g., via customer terminal 230) an insurance provider server 220 to submit an application for a new life insurance policy, or to express interest in receiving an offer for a life insurance policy from the insurance provider 220. The data received in step 401 may include information identifying the customer or potential customer (e.g., the customer's name, address, phone number, email address, driver's license number, social security number, and/or the customer's current insurance providers, accounts, login credentials, and policy numbers, etc.) …”).
Rugel discloses a life insurance clearinghouse. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a life insurance clearinghouse, as in Rugel; and to include combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life insurance, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide systems and methods for storing and analyzing life insurance policy data and customer data, and performing various actions relating to life insurance policies and applications based on the analysis of the life insurance policy data and customer data in providing customers with the security and peace of mind of knowing that they are protecting the financial futures of their families and loved-ones.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kendall et al (U. S. Patent No. 7634420 B2) – System For Appraising Life Insurance and Annuities
Kendall discloses a method and system of appraising a life insurance or annuity product including receiving a request for a life insurance or annuity product and information about a party requesting the life insurance or annuity product; preparing a bid solicitation for the life insurance or annuity product based on the request and information and transmitting the bid solicitation to a plurality of product carriers; a plurality of product carriers submitting initial proposals for providing the life insurance or annuity product; generating ratings for the initial proposals, respectively; and generating appraisals for the initial proposals; and informing the product carriers of the decision.
/STEVEN CHISM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692