DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Species 1B (Fig. 3, Claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that
First, method claim 16 expressly requires "forming a coupling structure on a substrate," "stacking semiconductor dies over the substrate," and "bonding the coupling structure to the semiconductor dies." The product made by performing these steps is precisely the package structure of device claim 1, which requires a substrate, semiconductor dies stacked over the substrate, and at least one semiconductor die with pads on a side surface, all of which are connected through the coupling structure. The method does not and cannot produce a "materially different" product - the method is uniquely suited to produce the claimed package structure. Second, the Examiner's assertion that the method could produce a device "that does not [include] forming a coupling structure on a substrate" is contradicted by the express language of claim 16. A method that does not form a coupling structure would be outside the scope of claim 16 entirely, and therefore cannot serve as the basis for a restriction.
And
Applicant further traverses the requirement to elect a single species among Species IA, IB, ICA, and ICB on the ground that these species are not patentably distinct and do not require divergent fields of search.
The Examiner notes that independent device claims 1 and 13 do not require “a coupling structure on a substrate,” and/or “wherein the coupling structure is perpendicular and coupled to the substrate” as required by the independent method Claim 16. Therefore, The product of Claims 1 and 13 can be made by the process other than process of Claim 16
Further, This is not found persuasive because restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions are independent or distinct and the species are independent or distinct because of the reasons given Requirement for Restriction/Election from 01/22/2026 and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because at least the following reason(s) apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
Further, there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth in Requirement for Restriction/Election from 01/22/2026 because at least the following reason(s) apply:
the species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to the other species.
In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/10/2026
Further, Claims 4 and 5 is are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to at least a nonelected Invention I, Species IC there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/10/2026
Further, Claims 6 and 7 is are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to at least a nonelected Invention I, Species ID there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/10/2026
“[0010] In some embodiments, the substrate includes one or more pads, and the package structure further includes bond wires coupling pads of the semiconductor devices and the substrate. In such embodiments, the package structure further includes one or more contacting structures on the substrate, wherein the one or more contacting structures are coupled to a neighboring semiconductor die.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “one or more pads of the at least one of the semiconductor devices”
It is not clear is the Applicant is trying to introduce additional one or more pads or further limit one or more pads introduced in Claim 1. Therefore, Combination of Claim 1 and 12 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat one or more pads of the at least one of the semiconductor devices as any pads on the semiconductor devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Cheah et al. (US 2013/0341803 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses a package structure, comprising
a substrate (146) and semiconductor devices (120; Semiconductor multi-die structures) stacked over the substrate (146), wherein
the semiconductor devices (120) are stacked along a first direction (vertically), and at least one of the semiconductor devices comprises one or more pads (136) located on a side surface of the at least one of the semiconductor devices (120) (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 1, wherein
the semiconductor devices (120) are aligned along one side of the semiconductor devices. (See Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 3, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 1, wherein
at least one of the semiconductor devices comprises a side surface parallel to the first direction (Vertically), and one or more pads (136) of the at least one of the semiconductor devices are disposed on the side surface. (See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 1, wherein
at least one of the semiconductor devices comprises one or more sealing structures. (a passivation layer 140).
Regarding Claim 11, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 10, wherein
the at least one of the semiconductor devices further comprises one or more wires (138) routed through and isolated from the one or more sealing structures (a passivation layer 140).
The Examiner notes that as long as the one or more sealing structures is not conductive the limitation “isolated from the one or more sealing structures” is considered to be met.
Regarding Claim 12, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 11, wherein
the one or more wires (138) are coupled to one or more pads (136) of the at least one of the semiconductor devices (136).
Claim(s) 13-15 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Fettke et al. (US 2021/0193619 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Fettke (Fig. 1, 4) discloses a coupling structure, comprising:
first contacting structures (21) on a first side surface of the coupling structure (19); and
second contacting structures (29) on a second side surface of the coupling structure (19), wherein
the second side surface is perpendicular to the first side surface (Fig. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Fettke (Fig. 1, 4) discloses the coupling structure of claim 13, wherein
the first contacting structures (21) are coupled to semiconductor devices (11), and the second contacting structures (29) are coupled to a substrate (17).
Regarding Claim 15, Fettke (Fig. 1, 4) discloses the coupling structure of claim 13, wherein
the coupling structure comprises a circuit layer (see wiring layer inside 19) coupled to the first contacting structures (21) and the second contacting structures (29) (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (US 2013/0341803 A1) in view of Fettke et al. (US 2021/0193619 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Cheah (Fig. 1) discloses the package structure of claim 1, wherein
the package structure further comprises a coupling structure (100) parallel to the first direction (vertical).
Cheah does not explicitly disclose the coupling structure is configured to couple the semiconductor devices and the substrate
Fettke (Fig. 1, 4) discloses a coupling structure (19) is configured to couple semiconductor devices (11) and a substrate (17)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure in Cheah in view of Fettke such that the coupling structure is configured to couple the semiconductor devices and the substrate in order to simultaneously ensure a mechanical bonding of semiconductor-chip stack arrangement to terminal circuit board [0036]
Regarding Claim 9, Cheah in view of Fettke discloses the package structure of claim 8, wherein
the coupling structure (11) comprises contacting structures (13, 23) coupled to pads of the semiconductor devices (11) and the substrate (17).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891