DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 December 2024 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 12-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lo et al. (hereinafter Lo, US 20240036198 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lo anticipates a detector module of ranging devices comprising:
a detector array including ([0016], [0031]; Figs. 4A, 4B with detector array (400)):
a plurality of pixel groups, each of the pixel groups including a plurality of ranging pixels ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where detector array (400) may have a first SPAD group and a second SPAD group each including at least one SPAD),
a first pixel group of the pixel groups including a plurality of first ranging pixels, each of the first ranging pixels including a first detection region ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where first SPAD group includes SPADs which do not include an aperture such as SPADs (403) and (407-416) in Fig. 4A),
a second pixel group of the pixel groups including a plurality of second ranging pixels, each of the second ranging pixels including a second detection region ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where second SPAD group includes SPADs which include an aperture such as SPADs (401) and (405-406) in Fig. 4A),
wherein area of the first detection region and area of the second detection region are different from each other ([0031] - [0034]; where first group SPADs have no aperture and therefore have a different light-passing ability than second group SPADs with apertures).
Regarding claim 2, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, wherein
area of the first ranging pixels is larger than area of the second ranging pixels ([0031] - [0034]; Figs. 3, 4A, 4B, where first group SPADs may be more numerous than second group SPADs).
Regarding claim 3, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, wherein
area of the first detection regions of the first ranging pixels is larger than area of the second detection regions of the second ranging pixels ([0031] - [0034]; where first group SPADs have no aperture and therefore have a larger light-passing ability than second group SPADs with apertures).
Regarding claim 4, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the first ranging pixels are surrounded by the second ranging pixels to form the detector array ([0031] - [0034]; Fig. 4B, where first group SPADs such as (402), (405-407) and (410) have second group SPADs on either four surrounding corners or on at least two sides).
Regarding claim 6, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the second ranging pixels are disposed on at least one corner of the detector array and surrounded by the first ranging pixels to form the detector array (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 7, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, wherein
a third pixel group of the pixel groups includes a plurality of third ranging pixels, area of the first ranging pixels is larger than area of the third ranging pixels, the area of the third ranging pixels is larger than area of the second ranging pixels ([0031] - [0034], [0044], [0051]; Fig. 5, where a detector array may have three groups of SPADs, where the first group SPADs such as (503) are the most abundant, the second group of SPADs such as (501) may be least abundant, and a third group of SPADs such as (505) may have any number of SPADs equal to, or between the first and second group numbers.)
Regarding claim 8, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 7, wherein
each of the third ranging pixels includes a third detection region, area of the first detection regions of the first ranging pixels is larger than area of the third detection regions of the third ranging pixels, area of the third detection regions of the third ranging pixels is larger than area of the second detection regions of the second ranging pixels ([0031] - [0034], [0044]; Fig. 5, where a detector array may have three groups of SPADs, where the first group SPADs such as (503) have no aperture, the second group of SPADs such as (501) have a small diameter aperture, and a third group of SPADs such as (505) have a larger aperture, and therefore the three groups have a different light-passing ability).
Regarding claim 12, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 7, wherein
the second ranging pixels are disposed on at least one corner of the detector array and the third ranging pixels are arranged at a center of the detector array, the second ranging pixels and the third ranging pixels are surrounded by the first ranging pixels to form the detector array (Fig. 5, where second group (501, 502) are shown at a top left corner of the array, the third group (505, 506) are more centrally located, and the second and third groups are surrounded on at least two sides by the first group).
Regarding claim 13, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 1, further including:
a plurality of processing units, respectively coupled to the pixel groups for processing signals generated by the ranging pixels of the pixel groups to provide a plurality of ranging time of flight signals ([0028], [0035] - [0038]; Fig. 2, processing module (203) where each group of SPADs may have distances separately determined by the processor);
and a plurality of digital processing units, each of the digital processing units selectively coupled to at least one of the processing units and generating a plurality of histogram information according to the ranging time of flight signals; wherein the pixel groups detect returned light of an object at the same time so that histogram information includes at least one characteristic of the returned light ([0025] - [0026], [0035]; where the sensor module (202) and processing module (203) are used to calculate distance to an object for all SPADs in the array, but histograms and center of gravity may be separately determined for each SPAD group and output separately based on photon detection values).
Regarding claim 16, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 13, wherein
the at least one characteristic of the returned light is correlated with the area of the first detection region and the area of the second detection region ([0038]; where photon detection of individual groups is determined for specific pulses, and if intensity captured by the first group of SPADs is too high, the second group of SPADs may be used for reduced collected light intensity).
Regarding claim 17, Lo anticipates the detector module as claimed in claim 13, wherein
the digital processing units provides a parameter of strong returned light according to the at least one characteristic of the returned light obtained by the first pixel group of the pixel groups ([0009], [0037], [0045]; where returned light collected by the first group of SPADs may be used to determine intensity based on multiple thresholds or pile up effects in a histogram, and ‘strong’ light is that which has an intensity greater than a known threshold).
Regarding claim 18, Lo anticipates a ranging device comprising:
a light emitting module, emitting a detection light ([0028]; Fig. 2, light source (201));
a detector module, receiving the returned detection light to generate a detection signal ([0028]; Fig. 2, sensor module (202)), the detector module including a detector array including ([0016], [0031]; Figs. 4A, 4B with detector array (400)):
a plurality of pixel groups, each of the pixel groups including a plurality of ranging pixels ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where detector array (400) may have a first SPAD group and a second SPAD group each including at least one SPAD),
a first pixel group of the pixel groups including a plurality of first ranging pixels, each of the first ranging pixels including a first detection region ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where first SPAD group includes SPADs which do not include an aperture such as SPADs (403) and (407-416) in Fig. 4A),
a second pixel group of the pixel groups including a plurality of second ranging pixels, each of the second ranging pixels including a second detection region ([0031] - [0035]; Figs. 4A, 4B, where second SPAD group includes SPADs which include an aperture such as SPADs (401) and (405-406) in Fig. 4A),
wherein area of the first detection region and area of the second detection region are different from each other ([0031] - [0034]; where first group SPADs have no aperture and therefore have a different light-passing ability than second group SPADs with apertures).
a processor, coupled to the detector module and including a plurality of processing units ([0028], [0036] - [0038]; Fig. 2, processing module (203)),
the processing units generating a plurality of ranging time of flight signals according to the detection signal ([0028], [0035] - [0038]; Fig. 2, processing module (203) where each group of SPADs may have distances separately determined by the processor);
and a digital processor, coupled to the processor and including a plurality of digital processing units, the digital processing units generating a plurality of histogram information and performing statistical computing according to the ranging time of flight signals ([0025] - [0026], [0035]; where the sensor module (202) and processing module (203) are used to calculate distance to an object for all SPADs in the array, but histograms and center of gravity may be separately determined for each SPAD group and output separately based on photon detection values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al. (hereinafter Lo, US 20240036198 A1) alone.
Regarding claim 5, Lo teaches the detector module as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach one group of pixels being disposed on one side of the other group of pixels.
However, Lo does teach multiple embodiments where first group SPADs and second group SPADs may have a variety of orientations with respect to one another, and does not limit the patterns to those disclosed, and an orientation such as and where all SPADs on one edge, for example (401, 405, 409, 413) can belong to the second SPAD group while the remining SPADs belong to the first group ([0031] - [0034]; Figs. 3, 4A, 4B, and 5).
Therefore, , to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Lo to incorporate a rearrangement of the pattern of the first group of SPADs and the second group of SPADs so that the second group was along one side of the first group with a reasonable expectation of success. As several similar arrangements of SPADs are already disclosed in Lo, choosing to align a group of SPADs with similar detection areas on one side of the detector array would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) for supporting rationale under Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al. (hereinafter Lo, US 20240036198 A1) in view of Galor Gluskin (hereinafter Gluskin, US 20200280659 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lo teaches the detector module as claimed in claim 7, but does not explicitly teach a pattern where one group of pixels are surrounded by one or two other groups of pixels.
Gluskin teaches a device for collecting images and object sensing, such as a depth sensing system or a time of flight (ToF) system such as a camera, where the sensor array has sub groups which have a variety of patterns to the pixels/sensors distributions and filter/mask distributions, such that the first ranging pixels are surrounded by the second ranging pixels and the third ranging pixels to form the detector array ([0091] - [0095], [0099], [0116]; Fig. 10A, where camera pixels ( C ) may be surrounded by a mix of other detectors with various filters or masks (R, G, B, or intensity/clear filters) within a tile (1002), or portion, of an image array (1000)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Lo to incorporate the teachings of Gluskin to form a distribution of pixel groups such that one group is surrounded by a mix of two other sensor groups with a reasonable expectation of success. Gluskin teaches that applying a plethora of filters or masks to the pixel array allows for a larger number of phase differences and wavelengths to be simultaneously be captured, and that using pixels with differing sizes allows for balancing device price and size with resolution ([0033], [0062]). Gluskin also notes that different patterns of filters and pixels allows for different operations to be performed with varying resolutions ([0069] – [0073]), and thus incorporation into the system of Lo would have a predictable result of allow for a specific resolution or minimization of sensor-location specific losses, such as SPAD pile up (Lo, [0025]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Lo teaches the detector module as claimed in claim 7, but does not explicitly teach a pattern where one group of pixels are surrounded by a second group, and the second group is surrounded by a third group of pixels.
Gluskin teaches a device for collecting images and object sensing, such as a depth sensing system or a time of flight (ToF) system such as a camera, where the sensor array has sub groups which have a variety of patterns to the pixels/sensors distributions and filter/mask distributions, such that the third ranging pixels are surrounded by the first ranging pixels and the second ranging pixels are surrounded by the third ranging pixels to form the detector array ([0091] - [0095], [0099], [0116]; Fig. 10A, where camera pixels ( C ) may be surrounded on at least two sides by "G" detectors, and where the "G" detectors, are surrounded on two sides by "R" detectors, and where all detectors/pixels may have various filters or masks (R, G, B, or intensity/clear filters) affixed to/over them),
Or such that the third ranging pixels are surrounded by the first ranging pixels and the first ranging pixels are surrounded by the second ranging pixels to form the detector array ([0091] - [0095], [0099], [0116]; Fig. 10A, where camera pixels ( C ) may be surrounded on at least two sides by "G" detectors, and where the "G" detectors, are surrounded on two sides by "R" detectors, and where all detectors/pixels may have various filters or masks (R, G, B, or intensity/clear filters) affixed to/over them).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Lo to incorporate the teachings of Gluskin to form a distribution of pixel groups such that one group is surrounded by a second sensor group, which is surrounded on at least two sides by a third, different group with a reasonable expectation of success. Gluskin teaches that applying a plethora of filters or masks to the pixel array allows for a larger number of phase differences and wavelengths to be simultaneously be captured, and that using pixels with differing sizes allows for balancing device price and size with resolution ([0033], [0062]). Gluskin also notes that different patterns of filters and pixels allows for different operations to be performed with varying resolutions ([0069] – [0073]), and thus incorporation into the system of Lo would have a predictable result of allow for a specific resolution or minimization of sensor-location specific losses, such as SPAD pile up (Lo, [0025]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al. (hereinafter Lo, US 20240036198 A1) in view of Bulteel et al. (hereinafter Bulteel, US 20190324126 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lo teaches the detector module as claimed in claim 13, but does not explicitly teach performing correlation processing.
Bulteel teaches a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor which incorporates an array of photodiodes, such as SPADs, where control and processing circuitry attached to the array of detectors allows for correlation processing on the signals generated by the ranging pixels coupled to the processing units ([0019], [0026] - [0028]; where a time-of-flight system processes signals based on a correlation of two inputs, to, for example, align SPADs which are triggered by a similar light pulse).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Lo to incorporate the teachings of Bulteel to correlation received signals with specific pixels or groups of pixels with a reasonable expectation of success. Lo teaches processing collecting signals with the detector module by correlating pixel group (and therefore detection area size) to things like intensity or histogram center of gravity ([0038], [0045]). Bulteel teaches that correlation between signals allows for reduction in error and processing power required for TOF calculations and measurements ([0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Lo teaches the detector module as claimed in claim 13, but does not explicitly teach use of quench/recharge circuits coupled to the ranging pixels.
Bulteel teaches a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor which incorporates an array of photodiodes, such as SPADs, where control and processing circuitry attached to the array of detectors includes a plurality of quench/recharge processing circuits, and the quench/recharge processing circuits are coupled to the ranging pixels, respectively ([0023], [0036, where it is well known for SPAD arrays within time-of-flight sensors to incorporate active quench and recharge circuitry to drive individual SPADs).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Lo to incorporate the teachings of Bulteel to specifically utilize quench/recharge circuitry for each sensor with a reasonable expectation of success. Lo teaches processing collecting signals with the detector module by correlating pixel group (and therefore detection area size) to things like intensity or histogram center of gravity ([0038], [0045]). Beyond noting that this is a well-known part of avalanche photodiode arrays which are used in the art of LIDAR and object detection/ranging systems, Bulteel discusses that quenching the photodiodes allows them to be reset so they may function for future detection cycles ([0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Drader et al. (US 20170139041 A1) teaches a ranging device where the detector comprises an array of SPADs, and where each SPAD has an aperture of varying sizes which allow for differing light amounts to be incident on the SPAD based on the un-covered area.
Roberts et al. (US 10868991 B2) teaches an image capture and processing system where a pixel array has an associated computational array which allows for creation of a histogram of intensity gradients per pixel cell (or group) to be compiled.
Hu et al. (CN113960569A) teaches a ranging system which incorporates an emitter, and a detector array where pixels within the array have an assortment of allotments based on size and need of the system, and processors performs time of flight calculations based on counts of the number of collected photons to form successive time bins, which together form a statistical histogram.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645