DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species i, figs. 1A-1B, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 4/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “However, Applicant traverses the restriction as presented as Applicant submits that the articulated Species I reads on at least Figs. IA- 1G”.
In response, it is acknowledged that Figs. 1C-1G belong with species A. However, elected species (i) is distinct from species (ii)-(v) because each of the species comprises different geometries of the contact region, emitter region, gate region and/or dummy portion.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/3/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito[1], US Publication No. 2019/0051739 A1.
Naito[1] anticipates:
1. A semiconductor device (see figs. 22a-22b and figs. 3a-3b) comprising a gate trench portion (40) and a first trench portion (30) adjacent to the gate trench portion, the semiconductor device comprising:
a drift region (18) of a first conductivity type (N-) provided in a semiconductor substrate;
a base region (14) of a second conductivity type (P-) provided above the drift region;
an emitter region (12) of the first conductivity type (N+) that is provided above the base region and has a higher doping concentration than that of the drift region; and
a contact region (15) of the second conductivity type (P+) that is provided above the base region and has a higher doping concentration than that of the base region, wherein
in a mesa portion (60) between the gate trench portion (40) and the first trench portion (30), the contact region has a first contact portion and a second contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion and second contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) that are provided to extend from the first trench portion (30) to below a lower end of the emitter region (12); and
the first contact portion is provided to extend further from the first trench portion
than the second contact portion in a trench array direction (e.g. see first contact portion and second contact portion annotated in fig. 22a). See Naito[1] at para. [0001] – [0224], figs. 1-22.
2. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein below the emitter region (12), the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) is positioned at a position closer to a center portion side of the emitter region (12) than the first contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) in a trench extending direction, figs. 22a-22b.
3. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) and the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) are in contact with the lower end of the emitter region (12), figs. 22a-22b.
Regarding claim 4:
Naito[1] teaches the limitations as applied to claim 3 above.
5. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein in a center portion of the emitter region (12) in a trench extending direction, the lower end of the emitter region (12) is in contact with the base region (14), fig. 22b.
6. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
(see fig. 22a) below the emitter region (12), the first contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) is in contact with the gate trench portion (40); and
(see fig. 22b) below the emitter region (12), the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) is spaced apart from the gate trench portion (40)
8. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a magnitude of a step in the trench array direction of the first contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) and the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) is 10% or more and 50% or less of a mesa width of the mesa portion (60), figs. 22a-22b.
9. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first contact portion (e.g. see first contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) and the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) are provided on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate at a sidewall of the first trench portion (30), figs. 22a-22b.
10. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising an interlayer dielectric film (38) provided above the semiconductor substrate, wherein the emitter region (12) is connected to an emitter electrode (52) via a contact hole (54) provided penetrating through the interlayer dielectric film, fig. 22b.
11. The semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein the emitter region (12) extends beyond the contact hole (54) from the gate trench portion (40) in the trench array direction, figs. 22a-22b.
12. The semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the emitter region (12) extends from the gate trench portion (40) and terminates without reaching the first trench portion (30) in the trench array direction (e.g. Fig. 22a is along cross-section g-g in Fig. 22a. Along cross-section g-g, the emitter region terminates without reaching the first trench portion 30.)
13. The semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the second contact portion (15 in fig. 22b) extends beyond the contact hole (54) from the first trench portion (30) in the trench array direction (e.g. see fig. 22a, also see enlarged fig. 22b below showing this claim limitation).
14. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the contact region has a third contact portion (e.g. see third contact portion annotated in fig. 22a) that is alternately provided with the emitter region (12) along a trench extending direction in a front surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito[1], as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7:
Naito[1] teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but is silent the second contact portion is spaced apart by 0.6 μm or more from the gate trench portion in the trench array direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form “the second contact portion is spaced apart by 0.6 μm or more from the gate trench portion in the trench array direction”, because Naito[1] teaches the claimed distance represented by Wed in fig. 1a is a result effective variable that can improve the latch-up resistance of the transistor. See Naito[1] at para. [0113].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito[1], as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Naito[2], US Publication No. 2018/0366578 A1.
Regarding claim 15:
Naito[1] teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but is silent wherein the first trench portion is a dummy trench portion set at an emitter potential.
In an analogous art, Naito[2] teaches (see fig. 22) wherein a first trench portion (34) is a dummy trench portion set at an emitter potential (E), para. [0131].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Naito[1] with the teachings of Naito[2] because “Holes are distributed continuously from the dummy trench portion 30 to the lower end of the gate trench portion 40. Due to this hole distribution, large displacement current flows to a region near the lower end of the gate trench portion 40 at the time of turn-on, in some cases.” See Naito[2] at para. [0131].
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
3 June 2026