DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki et al., US 2010/0109002 A1.
Claims 1-6. Itagaki et al., disclose a crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor (such as the one in fig. 5, [0066], [0125]) comprising:
-an oxide including In and Zn (item 15) wherein, in Inductively Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS) analysis (this limitation would read through [0069] wherein is disclosed for example, the composition of the crystal is analyzed by an electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS) method);
-and in an X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor has a peak showing crystallinity at a 2-theta value between about 32.3 degrees and about 33.3 degrees (this limitation would read through [0068] wherein is disclosed for example, diffraction peak depends on the composition of the oxynitride. When Chi (substrate tilt angle) is approximately 0 degree, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=30 to 35 degrees. When Chi is approximately 32 degrees, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=56 to 64 degrees).
Itagaki et al., appear to not exactly indicate “a content of In among In and Zn is about 30 at% or more and about 75 at % or less”. However, [0092] of the reference disclose for example, it was found that the atomic composition ratio of Zn which is expressed by Zn/(Zn+In) was 65 atomic percent. Also [0066] of Itagaki et al., wherein is disclosed for example, in the case of the Zn--In--ON film, when the N ratio is equal to or larger than 20 atomic percent and the Zn ratio is equal to or larger than 50 atomic percent). It would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Itagaki et al., in order to evaluate the potential impact of co-existing Sn on In distribution in Skarn environments.
Claims 7-13. Itagaki et al., disclose a method of forming a crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor (such as the one in fig. 5, [0114]), the method comprising:
-co-depositing In and Zn on a substrate (this limitation would read through [0114] wherein is disclosed for example, a Zn--In--ON oxynitride film used as the active layer 12 was deposited on the glass substrate 11 in an atmosphere containing a mixture of argon and nitrogen by RF sputtering using a radical source);
-and in an X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor has a peak showing crystallinity at a 2-theta value between about 32.3 degrees and about 33.3 degrees (this limitation would read through [0068] wherein is disclosed for example, diffraction peak depends on the composition of the oxynitride. When Chi (substrate tilt angle) is approximately 0 degree, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=30 to 35 degrees. When Chi is approximately 32 degrees, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=56 to 64 degrees).
Itagaki et al., appear to not exactly indicate “using atomic layer deposition (ALD), wherein a ratio of a deposition cycle of In with respect to a deposition cycle of Zn is about 1 or more and about 8 or less”. As noted, Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD) is a thin-film deposition technique that allows for the precise layer-by-layer growth of materials at the atomic level, making it essential in semiconductor manufacturing and nanotechnology). In this case, [0114] of Itagaki et al., disclose Zn--In--ON oxynitride film used as the active layer 12 was deposited on the glass substrate 11 in an atmosphere containing a mixture of argon and nitrogen by RF sputtering using a radical source.
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor by using Atomic Layer Deposition as a powerful technique that plays a critical role in the advancement of modern technology, particularly in the fields of electronics and materials science.
Claims 16-19. Itagaki et al., disclose a semiconductor device (such as the one in fig. 5, [0114]) comprising:
-a substrate (item 11);
-a channel layer (this limitation would read through [0075] wherein is disclosed for example, a gate insulating film and a semiconductor channel layer are provided in the stated order on a gate electrode) on the substrate, the channel layer including a crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor,
-a gate electrode (item 15) on the channel layer,
-and a source electrode (item 12) and a drain electrode (item 13) on both sides of the channel layer, respectively, wherein in Inductively Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS) analysis of the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor (this limitation would read through [0069] wherein is disclosed for example, the composition of the crystal is analyzed by an electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS) method);
-and in an X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor has a peak showing crystallinity at a 2-theta value between about 32.3 degrees and about 33.3 degrees (this limitation would read through [0068] wherein is disclosed for example, diffraction peak depends on the composition of the oxynitride. When Chi (substrate tilt angle) is approximately 0 degree, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=30 to 35 degrees. When Chi is approximately 32 degrees, a diffraction peak is observed at around 2.theta.=56 to 64 degrees).
Itagaki et al., appear to not exactly indicate “a content of In among In and Zn is about 30 at% or more and about 75 at % or less”. However, [0092] of the reference disclose for example, it was found that the atomic composition ratio of Zn which is expressed by Zn/(Zn+In) was 65 atomic percent. Also [0066] of Itagaki et al., wherein is disclosed for example, in the case of the Zn--In--ON film, when the N ratio is equal to or larger than 20 atomic percent and the Zn ratio is equal to or larger than 50 atomic percent). It would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Itagaki et al., in order to evaluate the potential impact of co-existing Sn on In distribution in Skarn environments.
Claim 14. Itagaki et al., disclose the method of claim 7, wherein, the co-depositing the In and Zn on the substrate is performed using a co- deposition process where a temperature of the substrate is about 2000 C or more and about 3500 C or less (this limitation would read through [0072] wherein is disclosed for example, temperature range is desirably 150.degree. C. or more to 450.degree. C. or less, more desirably 150.degree. C. or more to 350.degree. C. or less).
Claim 15. Itagaki et al., disclose the method of claim 7, wherein, the co-depositing the In and Zn on the substrate is performed using a co- deposition process where a temperature of the substrate is about 2000 Cor more and about 3000 C or less (this limitation would read through [0072] wherein is disclosed for example, temperature range is desirably 150.degree. C. or more to 450.degree. C. or less, more desirably 150.degree. C. or more to 350.degree. C. or less).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A). Applicant first avers with respect to claims 1, 7, and 16 recite "crystalline InZnO oxide semiconductor" that Itagaki fails to teach this feature. Itagaki is directed to oxynitride semiconductors that intentionally include nitrogen. Such nitrogen-containing Zn-In-ON films are not the claimed InZnO oxide semiconductor”.
In response:
1). With respect to claim 1, it is noted that [0093] of Itagaki discloses for example, a Zn--In--O film was formed on a glass substrate in an atmosphere containing a mixture of argon and oxygen by RF sputtering.
2). By definition: A crystalline InZnO oxide semiconductor is a well‑defined, single‑ or polycrystalline indium zinc oxide material with controlled stoichiometry and crystal structure, designed for high‑performance oxide electronics. A Zn–In–ON film is a broader term for a thin film containing zinc, indium, and oxygen (often with nitrogen or other dopants) that may be amorphous, polycrystalline, or composite, and whose composition and structure can vary widely depending on processing.
3). Examiner believe that one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select the structure of Zn–In–ON films over crystalline InZnO when the priority is chemical resistance, compositional flexibility, low-temperature processing, and stability under operational conditions, rather than just maximizing crystallinity and mobility.
4). With respect to claims 7 and 16 that recite “co-depositing In and Zn on a substrate using atomic layer deposition (ALD)".
In response:
Itagaki et al., appear to not exactly indicate “using atomic layer deposition (ALD), wherein a ratio of a deposition cycle of In with respect to a deposition cycle of Zn is about 1 or more and about 8 or less”. However, [0071] indicates a raw material gas including N atom (for example, N.sub.2, NH.sub.3, or NO) is introduced into the vapor phase according to a desirable nitrogen concentration to be contained in the oxynitride film. As noted, Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD) is a thin-film deposition technique that allows for the precise layer-by-layer growth of materials at the atomic level, making it essential in semiconductor manufacturing and nanotechnology).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the crystalline In-Zn-O oxide semiconductor by using Atomic Layer Deposition as a powerful technique that plays a critical role in the advancement of modern technology, particularly in the fields of electronics and materials science.
Thus, Examiner believe that the present claim language of the limitation claimed would not place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899