Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 in the reply filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (20200388600)
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a electronic device, comprising:
an electronic component (50);
a component passivation layer (422) coupled to the electronic component;
a component interconnect (421) extending from the electronic component through the component passivation layer;
a substrate (13) coupled to the component passivation layer and the component interconnect, the substrate comprising:
a substrate passivation layer (12) coupled to the component passivation layer along a bond boundary, wherein the substrate passivation layer comprises an inorganic material;
a substrate inward terminal (13b) extending through the substrate passivation layer and coupled to the component interconnect along the bond boundary;
a seed (131) between the substrate passivation layer and the substrate inward terminal;
a dielectric structure (22) coupled to the substrate passivation layer; and
a conductive structure (14b) extending through the dielectric structure and coupled to the substrate inward terminal.
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate passivation layer is bonded to the component passivation layer by covalent bonding along the bond boundary (the materials taught have covalent bonds).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 1, wherein a terminal end of the seed is spaced from the bond boundary by a thickness of the seed (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric structure comprises an organic material (par. 24).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a base substrate coupled to the substrate, the base substrate including: a base-substrate dielectric structure (16a) coupled to the dielectric structure of the substrate; and a base-substrate conductive structure (16b) interleaved with the base-substrate dielectric structure and coupled to the conductive structure of the substrate.
Claims 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (20200388600)
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a electronic device, comprising:
an electronic component (50) comprising:
a component passivation layer (422) coupled to the electronic component; and
a component interconnect (421) extending from the electronic component through the component passivation layer,
wherein a side of the component passivation layer and a side of the component interconnect are located along a bond boundary (please see figure 1 above); and
a substrate (13) coupled to the electronic component, the substrate comprising:
a substrate passivation layer (22) coupled to the component passivation layer along the bond boundary,
wherein the substrate passivation layer comprises inner walls defining an aperture (please see figure 1 above);
a seed (131) coupled to the inner walls of the substrate passivation layer;
an interface layer (132) coupled to the component interconnect along the bond boundary and coupled to the seed;
a barrier layer (12) coupled to the interface layer,
wherein the interface layer is between the seed and the barrier layer;
a dielectric structure (16b) coupled to the substrate passivation layer; and
a conductive structure (16a) extending through the dielectric structure and into the aperture,
wherein the conductive structure is coupled to the barrier layer (please see figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 16, wherein a terminal end of the seed is spaced from the bond boundary (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches a electronic device of claim 16, wherein the substrate passivation layer and the component passivation layer (par. 24) comprise an inorganic material, and wherein the dielectric structure of the substrate comprises an organic material (par. 27 and 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 17.
.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818