DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, 8, 10, and 12 recites the limitation “when an electrostatic discharge event occurs…” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 14 and 15 recites the limitation "the same structure" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims and therefore this limitation renders the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng (US 2021/0082906).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses an electrostatic discharge protection device, comprising (Fig.11C): a P-type semiconductor substrate (PS); and a first electrostatic discharge protection unit located in the P-type semiconductor substrate (PS) and used to protect a first circuit, wherein the first electrostatic discharge protection unit comprises: a first N-type well region (NW1) ; a first N-type doped region (DpN+) located in the first N-type well region (NW1); a first P-type doped region (DpP+) located in the first N-type well region (NW1), wherein the first P-type doped region (DpP+) and the first N-type doped region (DpN+) are arranged side-by-side and spaced apart from each other; a first P-type well region (PW2) adjacent to the first N-type well region (NW1); a second N-type doped region (Dn’N+) located in the first P-type well region (PW2); a second N-type well region (NW3) arranged side-by-side with the first N-type well region (NW1); a second P-type doped region (Dp’P+) located in the second N-type well region (NW3); a second P-type well region (PW3) adjacent to the second N-type well region (NW3); a third N-type doped region (DnN+) located in the second P-type well region (PW3); and a third P-type doped region (DnP+) located in the second P-type well region (PW3), wherein the third P-type doped region (DnP+) and the third N-type doped region (DnN+) are arranged side-by-side and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first P-type doped region (DnP+) and the third N-type doped region (DnN+) of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to a common bus (I/O), wherein the first N-type doped region (DpN+) and the second P-type doped region (Dp’P+) of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to a power supply terminal of the first circuit (VDD), and wherein the second N-type doped region (Dn’N+) and the third P-type doped region (Dn’P+) of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to a ground terminal of the first circuit (VSS).
Regarding claim 2, Peng discloses wherein the first P-type doped region (DnP+) is laterally located between the first N-type doped region (DpN+) and the second N-type doped region (Dn’N+).
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses wherein the third N-type doped region (DnN+) is laterally located between the second P-type doped region (DpP+) and the third P-type doped region (Dn’P+).
Regarding claim 5, Peng discloses wherein the second P-type well region (Fig.7B, PW2) of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit is a portion of the first P-type well region (PW1), so that the third P-type doped region (Dp’P+) is laterally located between the second N-type doped region (DnN+) and the third N-type doped region (DpP+).
Regarding claim 6, Peng discloses wherein the first P-type doped region, the first N-type well region and the first N-type doped region form a first parasitic diode, and wherein the third P-type doped region, the second P-type well region and the third N-type doped region form a second parasitic diode ([0095]).
Regarding claim 7, Peng discloses wherein when an electrostatic discharge event occurs between the common bus and the power supply terminal of the first circuit, the first parasitic diode is triggered to ON ([0095]).
Regarding claim 8, Peng discloses wherein when an electrostatic discharge event occurs between the ground terminal of the first circuit and the common bus, the second parasitic diode is triggered to ON ([0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Peng discloses wherein: the first P-type doped region (DpP+), the first N-type well region (DpN+) and the first P-type well region (PW2) form a first parasitic bipolar junction transistor, the second N-type doped region (Dn’N+), the first P-type well region (PW2) and the first N-type well region (NW1) form a second parasitic bipolar junction transistor ([0092]), a base (PW2) of the first parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to a collector of the second parasitic bipolar junction transistor ([0094]), and a base of the second parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the collector of the first parasitic bipolar junction transistor to form a first parasitic semiconductor-controlled rectifier, an emitter of the first parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the common bus (I/O) and an anode of the first parasitic diode, the base of the first parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the power supply terminal (VDD) of the first circuit and a cathode of the first parasitic diode ([0092]), and an emitter of the second parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the ground terminal of the first circuit (Fig.11C; [0095])).
Regarding claim 10, Peng discloses wherein when an electrostatic discharge event occurs between the common bus and the ground terminal of the first circuit, the first parasitic diode is triggered to ON, and the first parasitic bipolar junction transistor and the second parasitic bipolar junction transistor are triggered to ON, so that the first parasitic semiconductor-controlled rectifier is accordingly triggered to ON ([0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Peng discloses wherein: the third N-type doped region (DnN+), the second P-type well region (Dn’P+) and the second N-type well region (NW3) form a third parasitic bipolar junction transistor (Fig.11C), the second P-type doped region (Dn’P+), the second N-type well region (Dp’N+) and the third P-type doped region (DnP+) form a fourth parasitic bipolar junction transistor, a base of the third parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to a collector (NW3) of the fourth parasitic bipolar junction transistor ([0094]), a base of the fourth parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to a collector of the third parasitic bipolar junction transistor to form a second parasitic semiconductor-controlled rectifier, an emitter of the third parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the common bus (I/0) and a cathode of the second parasitic diode, the base of the third parasitic bipolar junction transistor (PW2) is electrically connected to the ground terminal of the first circuit and an anode of the second parasitic diode, and an emitter of the fourth parasitic bipolar junction transistor is electrically connected to the power supply terminal of the first circuit (Fig.11C; [0092]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 12, Peng discloses wherein when an electrostatic discharge event occurs between the power supply terminal of the first circuit and the common bus, the second parasitic diode is triggered to ON, and the third parasitic bipolar junction transistor and the fourth parasitic bipolar junction transistor are triggered to ON, so that the second parasitic semiconductor-controlled rectifier is accordingly triggered to ON ([0095]).
Regarding claim 13, Peng discloses a second electrostatic discharge protection unit (ESP2) located in the P-type semiconductor substrate and used to protect the first circuit, wherein the first electrostatic discharge protection unit and the second electrostatic discharge protection unit are spaced apart from each other and have the same structure, wherein a first P-type doped region (DpP+) and a third N-type doped region (DnN+) of the second electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to an input/output terminal (I/O) of the first circuit, a first N-type doped region and a second P-type doped region of the second electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to the power supply terminal of the first circuit, and wherein a second N-type doped region and a third P-type doped region of the second electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to the ground terminal of the first circuit (Fig.2B).
Regarding claim 14, Peng discloses a third electrostatic discharge protection unit (ESDP3) located in the P-type semiconductor substrate and used to protect a second circuit, wherein the first electrostatic discharge protection unit (ESPD1)and the third electrostatic discharge protection unit (ESPD3) are spaced apart from each other and have the same structure ([0040]), wherein a first P-type doped region and a third N-type doped region of the third electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to the common bus (I/O), a first N-type doped region and a second P-type doped region of the third electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to a power supply terminal (VDD) of the second circuit, and wherein a second N-type doped region and a third P-type doped region of the third electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to a ground terminal (VSS) of the second circuit ([0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Peng discloses a fourth electrostatic discharge protection unit (ESDP4) located in the P-type semiconductor substrate and used to protect the second circuit, wherein the third electrostatic discharge protection unit (EPD3) and the fourth electrostatic discharge protection unit are spaced apart from each other and have the same structure ([0035]), wherein a first P-type doped region (DpP+)and a third N-type doped region (DnP+) of the fourth electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to an input/output terminal (I/0) of the second circuit, a first N-type doped region (DpN+) and a second P-type doped region (DpP+) of the fourth electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to the power supply terminal (VDD) of the second circuit, and wherein a second N-type doped region (Dm’N+) and a third P-type doped region (DnP+) the fourth electrostatic discharge protection unit are electrically connected to the ground terminal (VSS) of the second circuit ([0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (US 2003/0040542).
Regarding claim 4, Peng does not disclose wherein the second N-type well region of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit is a portion of the first N-type well region, so that the first N-type doped region is laterally located between the first P-type doped region and the second P-type doped region.
Xu however discloses wherein the second N-type well region of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit is a portion of the first N-type well region (Fig.8, numeral NW4), so that the first N-type doped region (6) is laterally located between the first P-type doped region (7) and the second P-type doped region (17).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Peng with Xu to have the second N-type well region of the first electrostatic discharge protection unit is a portion of the first N-type well region, so that the first N-type doped region is laterally located between the first P-type doped region and the second P-type doped region for the purpose of reducing leakage current during normal operation of the chip (Xu, [0041]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891