To DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION SYSTEM AND PROJECTOR,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Objection/s to the Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first reflection surface, the second reflection surface, and the third reflection surface each hav[ing] a shape rotationally symmetric with respect to a second optical axis of the second optical system as an axis of rotation” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 9, which depends on claims 8, 7 and 3, recites “the first optical axis and the second optical axis coincide with each other.” Claim 8, which indirectly depends on claim, 7 and 3, recites “the first reflection surface, the second reflection surface, and the third reflection surface each have a shape rotationally symmetric with respect to a second optical axis of the second optical system as an axis of rotation.” Claim 7, which depends on claim 3 recites “the plurality of lenses each have a shape rotationally symmetric with respect to the first optical axis as an axis of rotation.” Claim 3 appears to be directed to the embodiments shown in Fig. 3, 5, and 7 and claim 3 recites “the beams reflected off the first reflective optical system pass through the first lens and reach the second reflective optical system.”
The above limitations on the arrangement of claims 3, 7, and 8 mean first reflective optical system and the second reflective optical system are offset from the first optical axis as shown in Fig. 3, 5, and 7. Since the first reflective optical system and the second reflective optical system are offset from the first optical axis it cannot be rotationally symmetric with respect to the second optical axis, which coincide with the first optical axis, of the second optical system as an axis of rotation, as limited by claim 9. Fig. 3, 5, and 7 show that the first and second reflective optical systems have a shape rotationally asymmetric with respect to the second optical axis.
For the purpose of examination, claim 8 is interpreted as “each have a shape rotationally asymmetric with respect to a second optical axis of the second optical system as an axis of rotation” in order to provide a workable interpretation of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US 20190222728 A1) in view of Nishikawa (US 20070184368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches a projection system (Fig. 1-10) comprising a first optical system (L2) and a second optical system (M2, M3, L1 and M1) sequentially arranged from a reduction side (IM; Table 1, 2, and 3) toward an enlargement side (OB, Table 1, 2, and 3), the first optical system (L2) formed of a plurality of lenses, wherein the first optical system (L2) has positive power (forming IM2), the second optical system (M2, M3, L1 and M1) includes a first reflective optical system (M2) and a third reflective optical system (M1) sequentially arranged from a side facing the first optical system (L2) along an optical path of beams output from the first optical system (L2), the first reflective optical system (M2) has a first reflection surface (Surface no. 8, Table 1, Surface no. 9, Table 2 and 3) having a concave aspherical shape (Table 1, 2, 3; [0045]), the third reflective optical system (M1) has a third reflection surface (Surface no. 1, Table 1, 2 and 3) having a convex aspherical shape (Table 1, 2, 3; [0045]), and the projection system satisfies Conditional Expression (1) below
|f1|>|f3| (|fM2| < |fM1|; Table 5);
(1) where f1 represents a focal length (-85.064/2; Table 1; -43.136/2, Table 2; -48.913, Table 3; fM2, Table 5) of the first reflective optical system (M2) and f3 represents a focal length (-61.242/2, Table 1; -41.479/2, Table 2; -34.307/2, Table 3; fM1, Table 5) of the third reflective optical system (M1).
Aoki does not teach a second reflective optical system between the first and a third reflective optical systems with a second reflection surface having a concave shape or a planar shape, |f2|>|f1|>|f3|; f2 represents a focal length of the second reflective optical system.
Nishikawa teaches having a planar mirror to fold the optical path ([0130], [0133], [0141], [0144], [0155], [0157], [0166]) such that when combined with Aoki would results in the planar mirror being between the first and a third reflective optical systems, where |f2|>|f1|>|f3|; f2 represents a focal length of the second reflective optical system. (Focal length of the planar mirror is infinity.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Aoki with Nishikawa; because it allows folding the optical path to make the projection system more compact ([0130], [0133], [0141], [0144], [0155], [0157], [0166] of Nishikawa).
Regarding claim 2, Aoki further teaches a maximum effective radius of the third reflection surface (Surface no. 1, Table 1, 2 and 3) is smaller than 150 mm (Table 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Aoki and Nishikawa consequently results in the plurality of lenses include a first lens (Surface no. 2 and 3, Table 1) having positive power and disposed at a position closest to the enlargement side (OB, Table 1, 2, and 3), the first lens (Surface no. 2 and 3) is disposed between the first reflective optical system (M2) and the second reflective optical system (planar mirror) in a first direction along a first optical axis of the first optical system (L2), and the beams reflected off the first reflective optical system (M2) pass through the first lens (Surface no. 2 and 3) and reach the second reflective optical system (planar mirror).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki further teaches the plurality of lenses (of L2) each have a shape rotationally symmetric with respect to the first optical axis as an axis of rotation (Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8; [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Aoki further teaches the first reflection surface (Surface no. 8, Table 1, Surface no. 9, Table 2 and 3), the second reflection surface (planar mirror), and the third reflection surface (Surface no. 1, Table 1, 2 and 3) each have a shape rotationally asymmetric with respect to a second optical axis of the second optical system (M2, M3, L1 and M1) as an axis of rotation (Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8).
Regarding claim 9, Aoki further teaches the first optical axis and the second optical axis coincide with each other (Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki further teaches an image formation unit (IM; [0040]) that forms a projection image in a reduction-side image formation plane of the projection system (Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10; [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 6, neither Aoki nor Nishikawa teaches “the first lens is disposed between the second reflective optical system and the third reflective optical system in the first direction, and the beams reflected off the second reflective optical system pass through the first lens and reach the third reflective optical system” (claim 4); “the plurality of lenses include a second lens disposed on the reduction side of the first lens, the second lens has a first portion on one side of the first optical axis and a second portion on another side thereof, the first portion is a light transmissive portion that functions as part of the first optical system, and the second portion is a reflective portion that functions as the second reflection surface” (claim 5); or “the plurality of lenses include a second lens disposed on the reduction side of the first lens, and the second reflection surface is disposed between the first lens and the second lens in the first direction” (claim 6). Furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art references to modify the references in such manner that results in the above claimed limitation/s; hence the invention as claimed by claim 4, 5, or 6 is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20200166737 A1, US 20200033570 A1, US 20190107696 A1, US 20190094670 A1, US 20200142291 A1, US 20180246302 A1, US 20100208364 A1, US 20100002321 A1, US 20090168031 A1, US 20080055899 A1, US 20070195290 A1, US 20070002284 A1, US 20060221307 A1, US 20060066760 A1, US 20050280778 A1, S 20040184009 A1, US 20040174611 A1, US 20040156117 A1, US 20040027662 A1, and US 20030090794 A1, disclose projection systems having refractive optical group/s follow by reflective optical group/s having three or more reflective elements.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882