DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0106220) (“Yamaguchi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a capacitor device connected to a semiconductor device (Figure 10 – see connection of C (16s) and Swn/FDn (22n)), the capacitor device comprising : a capacitor element (Figure 10, item 16s) including a first electrode and a second electrode (see Figure 10, electrodes depicted on left and right side of C); a first wiring (Figure 10, item 36s) having a first one end portion connected to the first electrode and a first other end portion connected to a first electrode terminal of the semiconductor device (see electrical connection through devices and terminating at 22n); and a second wiring (Figure 10, item 36) having a second one end portion connected to the second electrode and a second other end portion connected to a second electrode terminal of the semiconductor device (see Figure 10, note connection of 22n and 36 through 34n), wherein a resistor (Figure 10, item R) is provided between the first one end portion and the first other end portion of the first wiring and is electrically connected directly to the first wiring (see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamaguchi further teaches the resistor is a shunt resistor (see Figure 10 and also Figure 20B and ¶0132).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamaguchi further teaches the resistor is sandwiched by the first one end portion and the first other end portion of the first wiring and is included in the first wiring (see Figure 10, note location of R between sections of the first wiring).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamaguchi further teaches the first wiring further includes a first detection terminal (Figure 10, item 36s) provided adjacent to the resistor on the first one end portion, and a second detection terminal (Figure 10, item 26s) provided adjacent to the resistor on the first other end portion.
Regarding Claim 6, Yamaguchi further teaches a sealing member (Figure 10, item 20) sealing the capacitor element, the first wiring including the resistor and the second wiring, with the first other end portion of the first wiring and the second other end portion of the second wiring being exposed (see Figure 10, note item 20 sealing various portion of the claimed elements while leaving other portions exposed).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamaguchi further teaches the first wiring includes a first detection terminal (Figure 10, item 36s) provided adjacent to the resistor on the first one end portion, and a second detection terminal (Figure 10, item 26s) provided adjacent to the resistor on the first other end portion; and one end of the first detection terminal opposite to an other end of the first detection terminal that is connected to the first one end portion and one end of the second detection terminal opposite to an other end of the second detection terminal that is connected to the first other end portion are each exposed from the sealing member (see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamaguchi further teaches a first power supply terminal connected to the first one end portion of the first wiring; and a second power supply terminal connected to the second one end portion of the second wiring, the first and second power supply terminals being connected to a power supply of the capacitor device (¶0146 – note the supplying of power to the circuit is required for the device to functon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Yamaguchi teaches Claim 1 as indicated above. Yamaguchi does not specifically teach the resistor has a resistance in a range from 0.01 mΩ to 1 mΩ. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the resistance of the resistor unit, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Omae et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0243030)
Noh (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0175082)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891