DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/26/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/6/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN 115021370). Note: Examiner uses Zheng to make rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 1, Zheng discloses a multi-port charging circuit (Fig. 6 [0068]-[0070]), including: a main power supply module ([0068] the main power supply circuit 10 of the charging device shown in Figure 6 includes a voltage converter 101 and at least two bus switches 1021, 1022, ..., 102n), a control module (main charging control circuit 30), a detection module (main charging control circuit 30), backup power supply modules ([0068] Figure 6 the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 includes a switch module 201, a voltage converter module 205, a voltage regulator module 202, a current limiting module 204, and at least two polarity protection modules 2031, 2032, ..., 203n) and N power supply ports (S1to Sn), wherein N is an integer larger than or equal to 2 (Fig. 6); the power supply capability of each of the N backup power supply modules is less than that of the main power supply module ([0070] the output voltages of the voltage converter 101 are all higher than the output voltage of the auxiliary power supply circuit 20); the power supply capability is represented by a rated power ([0070]); wherein: each of the N power supply ports is connected to an output end of the main power supply module through a switch (Fig. 6 bus switches 1021, 1022, ..., 102n); an output end of backup power supply modules is connected to a corresponding power supply port (Fig. 6); the detection module is respectively connected to the N power supply ports and the control module (0048] the main charging control circuit 30 will further detect the current passing through each of the charging ports); the control module is connected to each of the switches ([0069] the control terminals (upper end in Figure 6) of the two bus switches 1021, 1022, ..., 102n are connected to the control port of the main power supply circuit 10); the backup power supply modules are configured to supply power by corresponding backup power supply modules when there are devices connected to the corresponding power supply ports (Abstract and [0043]-[0044] the auxiliary power supply electronic circuit supplies power to other charging ports); the detection module is configured to detect the present power supply information of the power supply ports connected with corresponding devices in real time and send it to the control module ([0010] Obtain the maximum value among the charging voltage values of at least two charging ports. [0048] the main charging control circuit 30 will further detect the current passing through each of the charging ports when it detects that two or more charging ports are plugged in by the device and shut down the charging ports whose voltage value is always less than the current threshold (e.g., 5mA/10mA/50mA) for a given period of time (e.g., 5s, 10s, 15s, 16s, etc.), that is, control the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to them. ) the control module is configured to: based on the present power supply information of the corresponding power supply port, determine whether the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; if so, the corresponding power supply port is powered by the corresponding backup power supply module and the control module controls the switch between the corresponding power supply port and the main power supply module to disconnect, so that the main power supply module is used to support the power supply of other power supply ports ([0050] if the main charging control circuit 30 controls the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to the third charging port S3, when the main power supply circuit 10 starts supplying power to the first charging port S1 in a fast charging mode, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can also assist in providing output current to the third charging port S3…the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10, so that the main power supply circuit 10 can have more opportunities to perform "single-port fast charging". Moreover, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can be designed to only have the ability to supply power to multiple low-power devices at the same time); if not, control the switch between the corresponding power supply port and the main power supply module to close, so that the main power supply module supplies power to the corresponding power supply port ([0050] allows the main power supply circuit 10 to charge the mobile terminal 200 in a fast charging mode according to the charging strategy.. the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10, so that the main power supply circuit 10 can have more opportunities to perform "single-port fast charging").
Zheng does not disclose/teach more than one backup power supply module (i.e. N backup power supply modules).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-port charging circuit of Zheng to be N backup power supply modules where N is two or more, and wherein each backup power supply modules is connected as claimed as it merely a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 2, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the detection module, the present power supply information includes a present power supply current ([0048]); a first end of the current detection modules is connected to the corresponding power supply port, and a second end of the N current detection modules is connected to the control module ([0048] the main charging control circuit 30 will further detect the current passing through each of the charging ports when it detects that two or more charging ports); the N current detection modules is used to detect the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port in real time ([0048] the main charging control circuit 30 will further detect the current passing through each of the charging ports when it detects that two or more charging ports).
Zheng does not disclose/teach more than one current detection module (i.e. N current detection modules).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-port charging circuit of Zheng to be N current detection modules where N is two or more, and wherein each current detection module is connected as claimed as it merely a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 3, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 2, wherein based on the present power supply information of the corresponding power supply port, the control module determine whether the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; specifically includes: if the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port is less than or equal to a rated current of the corresponding backup power supply module, it is determined that the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; wherein, the rated current matches the power supply current corresponding to a rated power of the corresponding backup power supply module ([0050], …the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10.. Moreover, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can be designed to only have the ability to supply power to multiple low-power devices at the same time..[0053] n step 401, when the main power supply circuit is supplying power to any charging port in a fast charging manner, the auxiliary power supply circuit is turned on so that the auxiliary power supply circuit supplies power to other charging ports.) If the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port is greater than the rated current of the corresponding backup power supply module, it is determined that the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port exceeds the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module ([0050] the main power supply circuit 10 starts supplying power to the first charging port S1 in a fast charging mode.
As to claim 4, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 2, wherein the detection module also includes a voltage detection module ([0062][0066] the maximum value of the charging voltage values of at least two charging ports is obtained), the present power supply information also includes a present power supply voltage time ([0062][0066] the maximum value of the charging voltage values of at least two charging ports is obtained).; a first end of the voltage detection module is respectively connected with the N power supply ports, and the second end of the voltage detection module is connected to the control module; the voltage detection module is used to detect a present power supply voltage of each of the N power supply ports in real time ([0062] the maximum value of the charging voltage values of at least two charging ports is obtained).
As to claim 5, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 4, wherein based on the present power supply information of the corresponding power supply port, the control module determine whether the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; specifically includes: if the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port is less than or equal to a rated current of the corresponding backup power supply module, it is determined that the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; wherein, the rated current matches a power supply current corresponding to a rated power of the corresponding backup power supply module ([0050], …the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10.. Moreover, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can be designed to only have the ability to supply power to multiple low-power devices at the same time..[0053] n step 401, when the main power supply circuit is supplying power to any charging port in a fast charging manner, the auxiliary power supply circuit is turned on so that the auxiliary power supply circuit supplies power to other charging ports); if the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port is greater than the rated current of the corresponding backup power supply module, or if the present power supply voltage of the corresponding power supply port drops below a preset voltage and lasts for a preset time, or if the product of the present power supply voltage and the present power supply current of the corresponding power supply port exceeds the rated power of the corresponding backup power supply module, it is determined that the power value required by the device connected to the corresponding power supply port exceeds the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module ([0050], …the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10.. Moreover, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can be designed to only have the ability to supply power to multiple low-power devices at the same time....the main power supply circuit 10 starts supplying power to the first charging port S1 in a fast charging mode).
As to claims 6-10, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claims 1-5, wherein the control module is also configured to: when the number of power supply ports simultaneously powered by the main power supply module is one, control the output voltage of the main power supply module to be adjustable, so that to support the fast charging of the corresponding power supply port ([0044].. when it is detected that the main power supply circuit 10 is providing charging current to the charging port S1 in a fast charging manner, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 is turned on …so that the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 provides charging current to the charging ports S2, ..., Sn. [0048]-[0050] ..shut down the charging ports whose voltage value is always less than the current threshold (e.g., 5mA/10mA/50mA) for a given period of time (e.g., 5s, 10s, 15s, 16s, etc.), that is, control the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to them….the main charging control circuit 30 controls the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to the third charging port S3, when the main power supply circuit 10 starts supplying power to the first charging port S1 in a fast charging mode, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can also assist in providing output current to the third charging port S3).
As to claim 11, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 6, wherein the control module is also configured to: when the number of power supply ports powered by the main power supply module is two or more, control the main power supply module to output a fixed voltage ([0047] it controls the main power supply circuit 10 to simultaneously supply power to the first charging port S1 and the third charging port S3 in a normal charging mode (e.g., a charging mode with a constant charging voltage of 5V).
As to claim 12, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 11, wherein the multi-port charging circuit also includes DC/DC converter ([0068]- [0069] voltage converter 101, a DC-DC converter), the DC/DC converters is connected between the main power supply module and the corresponding switch (Fig. 6), DC/DC converter is used to transform a fixed voltage when the main power supply module outputs the fixed voltage, so that to output the transformed voltage to the corresponding power supply port ([0069]).
Zheng does not disclose/teach more than one DC/DC converter (i.e. N DC/DC converters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-port charging circuit of Zheng to be N DC/DC converters where N is two or more, and wherein each DC/DC converters is connected as claimed as it merely a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04).
As to claims 13-16, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claims 1-5, wherein the control module is also configured to: after the switch between the corresponding power supply port and the main power supply module is closed, disable the backup power supply module to supply power to the corresponding power supply port ([0056] The main power supply electronic circuit 10 supplies power to any one or more charging ports in a normal charging mode. At this time, the auxiliary power supply electronic circuit 20 is turned off, and each charging port is fully powered by the main power supply electronic circuit 10).
As to claim 17, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the switch is a MOS transistor, the control module is connected to the gate of the MOS transistor ([0069] fig. 6 bus switches 1021, 1022, ..., 102n).
As to claim 18, Zheng teaches the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the power supply port includes a USB TYPE-A interface or a USB TYPE-C interface ([0045] B-A interface, USB-C interface (i.e., TYPE-C interface).
As to claim 19, Zheng teaches an electronic device comprising the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 1 (Fig. 6).
As to claim 20. Zheng discloses a control method, applied to control the multi-port charging circuit according to claim 1, and the method includes (Fig. 6 [0068]-[0070]): when any power supply port is connected to a device, controlling the corresponding power supply port to be powered by the corresponding backup power supply module (Abstract and [0043]-[0044] [0050] the auxiliary power supply electronic circuit supplies power to other charging ports); detecting the present power supply information of the power supply port of the connected device in real-time 0048] the main charging control circuit 30 will further detect the current passing through each of the charging ports when it detects that two or more charging ports are plugged in by the device and shut down the charging ports whose voltage value is always less than the current threshold (e.g., 5mA/10mA/50mA) for a given period of time (e.g., 5s, 10s, 15s, 16s, etc.), that is, control the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to them); based on the present power supply information of the corresponding power supply port, determining whether the required power value of the device connected to the corresponding power supply port is within the power supply capability range of the corresponding backup power supply module; if so, the corresponding power supply port is powered by the corresponding backup power supply module, and controlling the switch between the corresponding power supply port and the main power supply module to disconnect, so that the main power supply module is used to support the power supply of other power supply port ([0050] if the main charging control circuit 30 controls the main power supply circuit 10 to stop supplying power to the third charging port S3, when the main power supply circuit 10 starts supplying power to the first charging port S1 in a fast charging mode, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can also assist in providing output current to the third charging port S3…the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10, so that the main power supply circuit 10 can have more opportunities to perform "single-port fast charging". Moreover, the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can be designed to only have the ability to supply power to multiple low-power devices at the same time); if not, controlling the switch between the corresponding power supply port and the main power supply module to close, so that the main power supply module supplies power to the corresponding power supply port ([0050] allows the main power supply circuit 10 to charge the mobile terminal 200 in a fast charging mode according to the charging strategy.. the auxiliary power supply circuit 20 can help share the low power supply demand of the main power supply circuit 10, so that the main power supply circuit 10 can have more opportunities to perform "single-port fast charging").
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Narita et al (US 20150244207) is cited for having e converter includes a stop function for stopping the conversion operation of the DC power supply voltage in the converter part when the DC power supply voltage has lowered to less than a certain threshold voltage. This stop function is disabled when a backup power is supplied, and the converter continues the conversion operation of the backup voltage.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859