DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant: Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 27 November 2023. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0399099).
Referring to Claim 1, Chu teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming a first field effect transistor comprising a first source or drain (S/D) region (one of 225D), a second S/D region (225S -> 226, 228, 260; par. 30, 31), and a backside contact (262, 264), the backside contact (262, 264) comprising a lower portion and a wrap-around portion wrapping around a lower portion of the second S/D region (260 of 225S); and forming a second field effect transistor comprising a frontside contact (par. 21; “front-side source/drain contact vias”; see also the structure 280 of Fig. 16) on a S/D region (another of 225D) and a backside sacrificial region (252) below the S/D region (another of 225D). The term “sacrificial” is an intended use label that does not inherently provide for particular materials or structures. "The identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (see MPEP § 2131). The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art who teaches the structure as claimed. It is noted that the device as shown in Fig. 16 is upside down in terms of referencing relative orientation or direction with respect to terms such as “above” or “below”.
Referring to Claim 10, Chu further teaches forming a backside sacrificial region (252) below the first S/D region (one of 225D) and below the second S/D region (225S) in the first field effect transistor (see Fig. 9).
Referring to Claim 11, Chu further teaches flipping the semiconductor device (between Fig. 6 and 7) and exposing the backside sacrificial region (252) in the first field effect transistor (see Fig. 9).
Referring to Claim 13, Chu teaches in Fig. 16 for example, (noted that the device is shown upside down in terms of referencing relative orientation or direction with respect to terms such as “above” or “below”) a semiconductor device comprising: a first field effect transistor comprising a first source or drain (S/D) region (one of 225D), a second S/D region (225S -> 226, 228, 260; par. 30, 31), and a backside contact (262, 264), the backside contact (262, 264) comprising a lower portion and a wrap-around portion wrapping around a lower portion (260) of the second S/D region (225S); and a second field effect transistor comprising a frontside contact (par. 21; “front-side source/drain contact vias”; see also the structure 280 of Fig. 16) on a S/D region (another of 225D) and a backside sacrificial region (252) below the S/D region (another of 225D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 12 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the method of claim wherein the backside sacrificial region below the S/D region in the second field effect transistor is between opposite sidewalls of a shallow trench isolation (STI) liner in combination with all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Claims 3-9 include the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the method further comprising recessing the exposed sidewalls of the second S/D region in combination with all of the limitations of claims 10-12.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor device wherein the backside sacrificial region below the S/D region in the second field effect transistor is between opposite sidewalls of a shallow trench isolation (STI) liner in combination with all of the limitations of claims 13 and 14. Claims 15-20 include the limitations of claim 14.
Contact Information
/EARL N TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
EARL N. TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896