DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-12, 15-17, 19-20, 22, 25, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne et al. (US 11,201,619) (“Rinne”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2021/0376822) (“Thompson”).
With regard to claim 1, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses a leadframe (“lead frame”, col. 8 ll. 64) -based voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package 30 comprising: a leadframe substrate 44 having opposed first (top of 44) and second (bottom of 44) sides, wherein the leadframe substrate 44 includes first and second leadframes that are galvanically separate; a magnetic core 34 disposed on the first side (top of 44) of the leadframe substrate 44, wherein the magnetic core 34 comprises a soft ferromagnetic material 34; first 32 and second 36 integrated circuit (IC) die disposed on the second side (bottom of 44) of the leadframe substrate 44, wherein the first 32 and second 36 IC die are connected to the first and second leadframes 44, respectively; a body 42 including molding material encapsulating the first 32 and second 36 IC die; first and second coils (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 22) configured about the magnetic core 34 and connected to the first and second leadframes 44, respectively, wherein the first and second coils (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 22) and magnetic core 34 are configured as a transformer (“transformer 34 “, col. 9 ll. 55).
Rinne does not disclose a wall configured to surround the magnetic core.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses a wall (“wall”, par [0057]) configured to surround the magnetic core 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 2, Rinne discloses not disclose that the wall is integral with the body and provides an enclosure volume within the body, and wherein the magnetic core is disposed in the enclosure volume.
However, fig. 1-2 of Thompson discloses that the wall (“wall”, par [0057]) is integral with the body 8 and provides an enclosure volume 10 within the body 8, and wherein the magnetic core 16 is disposed in the enclosure volume 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 3, Rinne does not disclose an encapsulant disposed in the enclosure volume for protection of the magnetic core.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses an encapsulant (“encapsulating material in the cavity moulding”, par [0039]) disposed in the enclosure volume 10 for protection of the magnetic core 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 4, Rinne does not disclose that the encapsulant comprises silicone.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses that the encapsulant (“second insulating material”, par [0067]) comprises silicone (“silicone”, par [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 5, Rinne does not disclose a cover attached to the wall.
However, Thompson discloses a cover (“cover the sidewalls”, par [0073]) attached to the wall (“sidewalls”, par [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with a cap as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 8, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses the first (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 31) and/or second coil comprises uninsulated wire (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 31).
With regard to claim 11, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses that the first and second coils (“primary and secondary windings”, abstract) are configured as primary and secondary coils (“primary and secondary windings”, abstract) in a step-up transformer (“transformer”, abstract) configuration.
With regard to claim 12, Rinne does not discloses that the magnetic core comprise ferrite.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses that the magnetic core 16 comprise ferrite (“magnetic core such as ferrite is used”, par [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with ferrite as taught in Thompson in order to transfer control signals and power across the galvanic barrier. See par [0013] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 15, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses leadframe substrate 44 comprises a molded 42 leadframe substrate 44.
With regard to claim 16, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses a method of making a leadframe (“lead frame”, col. 8 ll. 64) -based voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package 30 the method comprising: providing a leadframe substrate 44 having opposed first (top of 44) and second (bottom of 44) sides, wherein the leadframe substrate 44 includes first and second leadframes that are galvanically separate; a magnetic core 34 disposed on the first side (top of 44) of the leadframe substrate 44, wherein the magnetic core 34 comprises a soft ferromagnetic material 34; first 32 and second 36 integrated circuit (IC) die disposed on the second side (bottom of 44) of the leadframe substrate 44, wherein the first 32 and second 36 IC die are connected to the first and second leadframes 44, respectively; providing a body 42 including molding material encapsulating the first 32 and second 36 IC die; providing first and second coils (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 22) configured about the magnetic core 34 and connected to the first and second leadframes 44, respectively, wherein the first and second coils (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 22) and magnetic core 34 are configured as a transformer (“transformer 34 “, col. 9 ll. 55).
Rinne does not disclose a wall configured to surround the magnetic core.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses a wall (“wall”, par [0057]) configured to surround the magnetic core 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 17, Rinne does not disclose providing the wall comprises forming the wall as part of the body.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson disclose providing the wall (“wall”, par [0057]) comprises forming the wall as part of the body 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 19, Rinne does not disclose that the wall provides an enclosure volume for the magnetic core, and further comprising providing an encapsulant disposed in the enclosure volume for encapsulating the magnetic core.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses that the wall (“wall”, par [0057]) provides an enclosure volume 10 for the magnetic core 16, and further comprising providing an encapsulant (“encapsulating material in the cavity moulding”, par [0039]) disposed in the enclosure volume 10 for encapsulating the magnetic core 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 20, Rinne does not disclose that the encapsulant comprises silicone.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses that the encapsulant (“second insulating material”, par [0067]) comprises silicone (“silicone”, par [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the transformer of Rinne with the sidewall as taught in Thompson in order protect the transformer from the environment. See par [0070] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 22, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses the first (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 31) and/or second coil comprises uninsulated wire (“winding”, col. 11 ll. 31).
With regard to claim 25, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses that the first and second coils (“primary and secondary windings”, abstract) are configured as primary and secondary coils (“primary and secondary windings”, abstract) in a step-up transformer (“transformer”, abstract) configuration.
With regard to claim 28, Rinne does not discloses that the magnetic core comprise ferrite.
However, fig. 3 of Thompson discloses that the magnetic core 16 comprise ferrite (“magnetic core such as ferrite is used”, par [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with ferrite as taught in Thompson in order to transfer control signals and power across the galvanic barrier. See par [0013] of Thompson.
With regard to claim 31, fig. 5 of Rinne discloses leadframe substrate 44 comprises a molded 42 leadframe substrate 44.
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne et al. (US 11,201,619) (“Rinne”), Thompson et al. (US 2021/0376822) (“Thompson”), and Iverson et al. (US 2005/0017054) (“Iverson”).
With regard to claim 7, Rinne and Thompson does not disclose that the first and/or second coil comprises insulated wire.
However, Iverson discloses that the first (“coil of insulated wire”, par [0005]) and/or second coil comprises insulated wire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the windings of Rinne with the insulated wire as taught in Iverson in order to electrically isolate the coil from the transformer load. See par [0005] of Iverson.
With regard to claim 21, Rinne and Thompson does not disclose that the first and/or second coil comprises insulated wire.
However, Iverson discloses that the first (“coil of insulated wire”, par [0005]) and/or second coil comprises insulated wire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the windings of Rinne with the insulated wire as taught in Iverson in order to electrically isolate the coil from the transformer load. See par [0005] of Iverson.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne et al. (US 11,201,619) (“Rinne”), Thompson et al. (US 2021/0376822) (“Thompson”), and Doljack et al. (US 2015/0285841) (“Doljack”).
With regard to claim 13, Rinne and Thompson do not disclose magnetic core comprises a nickel alloy.
However, Doljack discloses magnetic core 320 comprises a nickel alloy (“magnetic core element 320 may be fabricated from nickel-iron alloys “, par [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with the nickel-iron alloy as taught in Doljack in order to provide a suitable magnetic material. See par [0079] of Doljack.
With regard to claim 14, Rinne and Thompson do not disclose magnetic core comprises iron particles.
However, Doljack discloses magnetic core 320 comprises iron particles (“magnetic core element 320 may be fabricated from nickel-iron alloys “, par [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with the nickel-iron alloy as taught in Doljack in order to provide a suitable magnetic material. See par [0079] of Doljack.
With regard to claim 29, Rinne and Thompson do not disclose magnetic core comprises a nickel alloy.
However, Doljack discloses magnetic core 320 comprises a nickel alloy (“magnetic core element 320 may be fabricated from nickel-iron alloys “, par [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with the nickel-iron alloy as taught in Doljack in order to provide a suitable magnetic material. See par [0079] of Doljack.
With regard to claim 30, Rinne and Thompson do not disclose magnetic core comprises iron particles.
However, Doljack discloses magnetic core 320 comprises iron particles (“magnetic core element 320 may be fabricated from nickel-iron alloys “, par [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the magnetic core of Rinne with the nickel-iron alloy as taught in Doljack in order to provide a suitable magnetic material. See par [0079] of Doljack.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 9-10, 18, and 23-24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893