DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Sabahy et al. (“El Sabahy”), EP 3929981 (cited in the IDS dated 11/27/2023, all citations below are in relation to the US counterpart US 2023/0125974) in view of Voiron et al. (“Voiron”), US 2022/0352024 (the US counterpart to EP 3848988 cited in the IDS dated 11/27/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, El Sabahy discloses a method for obtaining an integrated device (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0068), the method comprising:
forming a metal barrier layer (106; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0010 “layer 106 to serve as a barrier layer”, 0018, 0074) above a substrate (102, Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0008, 0074);
forming an anodizable metal layer (108; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0011-0013, 0075) on the metal barrier layer (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0074),
anodizing a first region and a second region of the anodizable metal layer (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0075) to obtain respectively a first porous region (412b; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076) and a second porous region (412a; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076) both comprising a plurality of substantially straight pores (412; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017, 0075 “with reference to FIG. 2A to form therein the porous structure 112 having a plurality of pores 412”) that extend from a top surface of the porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”), perpendicularly (¶ 0017 “extend perpendicularly or substantially perpendicularly toward the conductive layer 106”) to the top surface of the porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”), towards the metal barrier layer (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”);
forming an etching mask (402; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076) above (¶ 0076 “mask layer 402 is formed over the porous structure 112.”) at least the first porous region having an opening above the second porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076 “mask layer 402 leaves open the top ends of a select set of pores 412a falling within the area 414 and blocks the top ends of the remaining set of pores 412b”); and
etching the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0078 “the bottom ends of the select set of pores 412a (which fall within the area 414) to be etched away”) through the opening of the etching mask (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0078-0079).
El Sabahy does not disclose to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line.
Voiron discloses to obtain pores (138; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0051) that form a device region (Fig. 4H; ¶ 0061 “the successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal follow the contours of the first porous structure 124 resulting in the MIM stack 132 being embedded inside the first set of pores 138”), and pores (140; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0054) in the first porous region (126; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0054) that form a dicing line (Figs. 4F, 4O; ¶ 0037 “dicing area 136 corresponds to a section of the wafer 102 on which no functional circuits are to be built and through which one or more dicing lanes are designed to pass”, ¶ 0070 “a dicing lane that passes through the dicing area 136”), the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line (¶ 0037 “dicing lanes are the lanes along which the wafer 102 is diced/cut, after the wafer 102 has been processed, to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 2, El Sabahy does not disclose further comprising dicing the structure to be diced through at least the dicing line to obtain a diced integrated device.
Voiron discloses further comprising dicing the structure to be diced through at least the dicing line to obtain a diced integrated device (¶ 0070 “silicon wafer 102 may then be diced along a dicing lane that passes through the dicing area 136. The resulting structure (i.e., the structure to the right of the dicing area 136 in FIG. 4P) is a semiconductor structure with AAO embedded circuitry (a capacitor in this case)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have further comprising dicing the structure to be diced through at least the dicing line to obtain a diced integrated device, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 4, El Sabahy discloses wherein the bottom ends of the pores are plugged up by an oxide plug (114; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0081, 0075, 0078) of the metal barrier layer (¶ 0075 “oxide of the conductive layer 106”), and wherein etching the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region through the opening of the etching mask comprises removing the oxide plug of the pores accessible through the opening (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0077-0078).
Regarding Claim 5, El Sabahy does not disclose further comprising forming an anodization mask having at least one anodization opening delimiting the first porous region and the second porous region.
Voiron discloses further comprising forming an anodization mask (114; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0045-0046, 0048) having at least one anodization opening (116, 120; Fig. 4E; ¶ 0045) delimiting the first porous region (126; Figs. 4E-4F; ¶ 0047-0048) and the second porous region (124; Figs. 4E-4F; ¶ 0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have further comprising forming an anodization mask having at least one anodization opening delimiting the first porous region and the second porous region, as taught by Voiron, because “mask layer 114 ensures that porous structures are formed substantially only in the” desired “regions” (Voiron ¶ 0048) thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 6, El Sabahy does not disclose wherein the anodization mask has a first opening delimiting the first porous region and a second opening, separate from the first opening, delimiting the second porous region.
Voiron discloses wherein the anodization mask (114; Figs. 4E-4F; ¶ 0045-0048) has a first opening (120; Fig. 4E; ¶ 0045) delimiting the first porous region (126; Figs. 4E-4F; ¶ 0047) and a second opening (116; Fig. 4E; ¶ 0045), separate from the first opening (Figs. 4E-4F; ¶ 0045-0048), delimiting the second porous region (124; Figs 4E-4F; ¶ 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have wherein the anodization mask has a first opening delimiting the first porous region and a second opening, separate from the first opening, delimiting the second porous region, as taught by Voiron, because “mask layer 114 ensures that porous structures are formed substantially only in the” desired “regions” (Voiron ¶ 0048) thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 7, El Sabahy does not disclose further comprising depositing a stacked structure including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer inside a group of pores of the device region so as to form a capacitor of the integrated device.
Voiron discloses further comprising depositing a stacked structure (132; Fig. 4H ¶ 0061 “a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) stack 132 is deposited”) including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer (¶ 0061 “successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal”) inside a group of pores (138; ¶ 0061 “formed in the first set of pores 138 of the first porous structure 124” and “embedded inside the first set of pores 138 of the first porous structure 124”) of the device region so as to form a capacitor (¶ 0070 “a capacitor”) of the integrated device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have further comprising depositing a stacked structure including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer inside a group of pores of the device region so as to form a capacitor of the integrated device, as taught by Voiron, because “the successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal follow the contours of the first porous structure 124 resulting in the MIM stack 132 being embedded inside the first set of pores 138” (Voiron ¶ 0061) thereby forming a more compact integrated device, and it “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 8, El Sabahy does not disclose wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region.
Voiron discloses wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region (¶ 0037 “the dicing lanes are the lanes along which the wafer 102 is diced/cut, after the wafer 102 has been processed, to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit”, ¶ 0038-0039, 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region, as taught by Voiron, “to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit” (Voiron ¶ 0037) where “the resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070), thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 9, El Sabahy does not disclose further comprising forming a passivation layer above the etching mask having an opening at the level of the dicing line.
Voiron discloses further comprising forming a passivation layer (154; Fig. 4M; ¶ 0066) above the etching mask (128) having an opening at the level of the dicing line (Fig. 4O; ¶ 0068 “pores 140 are covered directly by the passivation layer 154, which is removed over the second set of pores 140”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have further comprising forming a passivation layer above the etching mask having an opening at the level of the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, in order to have an insulation layer that protects the integrated device during the dicing process (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 10, El Sabahy does not disclose wherein a plurality of integrated devices is obtained, the integrated devices being delimited by dicing lines arranged in a grid.
Voiron discloses wherein a plurality of integrated devices is obtained (¶ 0037 “the dicing lanes are the lanes along which the wafer 102 is diced/cut, after the wafer 102 has been processed, to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit”, ¶ 0070 “the silicon wafer 102 may then be diced along a dicing lane that passes through the dicing area 136”), the integrated devices being delimited by dicing lines arranged in a grid (¶ 0037 “dicing area 136 corresponds to a section of the wafer 102 on which no functional circuits are to be built and through which one or more dicing lanes are designed to pass”, ¶ 0038-0039, 0070, 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have wherein a plurality of integrated devices is obtained, the integrated devices being delimited by dicing lines arranged in a grid, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and “the resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 11, El Sabahy discloses an integrated device (400B; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0073-0078) comprising:
a substrate (102; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0008, 0074);
a metal barrier layer (106; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0010 “layer 106 to serve as a barrier layer”, 0018, 0074) above the substrate (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0008, 0074); and
a layer (108; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0011-0013, 0075) including a first porous region of anodized metal (412b; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0075 “layer 108 has been anodized”, 0076) and a second porous region (412a; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076) both comprising a plurality of substantially straight pores (412; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017, 0075 “with reference to FIG. 2A to form therein the porous structure 112 having a plurality of pores 412”) that extend from a top surface of the porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”), perpendicularly (¶ 0017 “extend perpendicularly or substantially perpendicularly toward the conductive layer 106”) to the top surface of the porous region (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”), towards the metal barrier layer (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0017 “pores that extend from a top surface of the porous structure 112 toward the conductive layer 106”),
wherein the bottom ends of pores of the first porous region are plugged up by an oxide plug (114; Fig. 4B; ¶ 0078 “the bottom ends of the set of pores 412b remain filled by oxide plugs 114”) of the metal barrier (¶ 0075 “oxide of the conductive layer 106”, ¶ 0018 “The formed oxide of the conductive layer 106 creates oxide plugs 114”).
El Sabahy does not disclose
the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region are etched and reach the metal barrier so as to form a device region, and
wherein pores in the first porous region form a dicing line.
Voiron discloses
the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region are etched (this limitation is not given patentable weight because it is a method step in a structure claim) and reach the metal barrier (Fig. 4F; ¶ 0051 “pores 138 that extend from a top surface of the first porous structure 124 to barrier layer 108”, “any residual material at the bottoms of the first set of pores 138 may be etched to fully open the first set of pores 138 onto the barrier layer 108”) so as to form a device region (Fig. 4H; ¶ 0061 “successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal follow the contours of the first porous structure 124 resulting in the MIM stack 132 being embedded inside the first set of pores 138”), and
wherein pores (140; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0054) in the first porous region (126; Fig. 4F; ¶ 0054) form a dicing line (Figs. 4F, 4O; ¶ 0037 “dicing area 136 corresponds to a section of the wafer 102 on which no functional circuits are to be built and through which one or more dicing lanes are designed to pass”, ¶ 0070 “a dicing lane that passes through the dicing area 136”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region are etched and reach the metal barrier so as to form a device region, and wherein pores in the first porous region form a dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 12, El Sabahy discloses further comprising an etching mask (402; Fig. 4B; ¶ 0076) above at least the first porous region (Fig. 4B; ¶ 0076 “the mask layer 402…blocks the top ends of the remaining set of pores 412b falling outside the area 414”) having an opening above the second porous region (Fig. 4B; ¶ 0076 “the mask layer 402 leaves open the top ends of a select set of pores 412a falling within the area 414”).
Regarding Claim 13, El Sabahy does not disclose wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region.
Voiron discloses wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region (¶ 0037 “the dicing lanes are the lanes along which the wafer 102 is diced/cut, after the wafer 102 has been processed, to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit”, ¶ 0038-0039, 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have wherein the first porous region surrounds the second porous region, as taught by Voiron, “to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit” (Voiron ¶ 0037) where “the resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070), thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 14, El Sabahy does not disclose further comprising a stacked structure including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer inside a group of pores of the device region so as to form a capacitor of the integrated device.
Voiron discloses further comprising a stacked structure (132; Fig. 4H ¶ 0061 “a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) stack 132 is deposited”) including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer (¶ 0061 “successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal”) inside a group of pores (138; ¶ 0061 “formed in the first set of pores 138 of the first porous structure 124” and “embedded inside the first set of pores 138 of the first porous structure 124”) of the device region so as to form a capacitor (¶ 0070 “a capacitor”) of the integrated device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have further comprising a stacked structure including a bottom electrode layer, a dielectric layer, and a top electrode layer inside a group of pores of the device region so as to form a capacitor of the integrated device, as taught by Voiron, because “the successive layers of metal, insulator, and then metal follow the contours of the first porous structure 124 resulting in the MIM stack 132 being embedded inside the first set of pores 138” (Voiron ¶ 0061) thereby forming a more compact integrated device, and it “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the performance and reliability of the integrated device.
Regarding Claim 15, El Sabahy does not disclose wherein the integrated device is diced.
Voiron discloses wherein the integrated device is diced (¶ 0037 “the dicing lanes are the lanes along which the wafer 102 is diced/cut, after the wafer 102 has been processed, to obtain multiple dies or blocks each containing a given functional integrated circuit”, ¶ 0070 “silicon wafer 102 may then be diced along a dicing lane that passes through the dicing area 136”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have wherein the integrated device is diced, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Moreover, the Claim 15 limitation of “is diced” comprises a product by process limitation, and is not given patentable weight in a claim drawn to structure. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Sabahy et al. (“El Sabahy”), US 2023/0125974 (the US counterpart to EP 3929981 cited in the IDS dated 11/27/2023) and Voiron et al. (“Voiron”), US 2022/0352024 (the US counterpart to EP 3848988 cited in the IDS dated 11/27/2023), as applied to Claim 1 supra, in view of Fachmann et al. (“Fachmann”), US 2022/0352048.
El Sabahy as modified by Voiron does not disclose wherein the dicing comprises performing a mechanical blade dicing.
Fachmann discloses wherein the dicing comprises performing a mechanical blade dicing (¶ 0016 “dicing…mechanically, e.g. by blade dicing”, ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy as modified by Voiron to have wherein the dicing comprises performing a mechanical blade dicing, as taught by Fachmann, because mechanical blade dicing is a well known and widely used dicing process, thereby providing process predictability and improving the reliability of the integrated device.
Response to Arguments
In their amendment and response dated 8/11/2026, the applicant states (page 5) that “Claim 12 has been amended to correct the inadvertent typographical error in its dependency, and now depends from claim 11 rather than claim 10. Claim 12 has also been amended to remove the oxide plug limitation. Accordingly, claim 12 is definite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
The applicant corrected dependent Claim 12 to address the §112(b) rejections. Thank you for the corrections to Claim 12.
The applicant states (page 5) that “Claims 1-2 and 4-15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over El Sabahy, EP Publication No. 3929981 (the Office Action cites the U.S. counterpart, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0125974), in view of Voiron, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0352024 (the U.S. counterpart of EP 3848988). Claim 3 was rejected over El Sabahy and Voiron, and in further view of Fachmann, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0352048.”
That statement is correct.
The applicant states (page 5) that “El Sabahy is directed to an RC device having a single porous structure 112. In Figures 4A- 4C and paragraphs [0073]-[0079], mask 402 opens area 414 so a selected set of pores 412a can be etched to open onto conductive layer 106, while pores 412b outside area 414 remain plugged.”
That statement is correct.
The applicant states (page 5) that “The Office Action contends that the claimed first porous region corresponds to the middle plugged- pore subset shown in Figure 4A.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, “the claimed first porous region” is disclosed in El Sabahy as 412b; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶ 0076.
The applicant states (pages 5-6) that “That subset, however, is an internal portion of the single porous structure 112, and Figure 4A does not show it as a dicing line or as a boundary delimiting an integrated device.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not disclose that 112 or 412b is “a dicing line” and “a boundary delimiting an integrated device”.
The applicant states (page 6) that “Fig. 4A of El Sabahy. As can be seen above, no dicing line or device-delimiting boundary is depicted within porous structure 112.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not disclose that 112 is a “dicing line” or “device-delimiting boundary”.
The applicant states (page 6) that “El Sabahy's later process stages retain that middle plugged-pore subset as part of the completed RC device, including its contacts, as shown in Fig. 4H below. Fig. 4H does not depict a dicing line passing through the middle plugged-pore subset or a boundary that delimits the integrated device.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not state that El Sabahy discloses “a dicing line passing through the middle plugged-pore subset” or “a boundary that delimits the integrated device”.
The applicant states (page 7) that “As shown above, the completed RC-device layout includes contacts 408 and 410, and no dicing line through the middle plugged-pore subset or device-delimiting boundary is depicted.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not state that “408” or “410” discloses a Claim 1 limitation. Furthermore, El Sabahy does not disclose a “dicing line through the middle plugged-pore subset” or “device-delimiting boundary is depicted”.
The applicant states (page 7) that “Together, Figs. 4A and 4H provide visual context for the claimed distinction where the middle plugged-pore subset is internal to the RC-device layout, not a porous dicing line that passes through or delimits the integrated device.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not disclose “a porous dicing line that passes through or delimits the integrated device.”
The applicant states (page 7) “El Sabahy describes area 414 as selected to control the RC device's resistance and describes the resulting devices as having substantially similar footprints and contact layouts.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, El Sabahy does not state that “”414” discloses a Claim 1 limitation. Furthermore, Claim 1 does not have “selected to control the RC device's resistance” or “resulting devices as having substantially similar footprints and contact layouts” limitations.
The applicant states (page 7) that “Voiron addresses wafer dicing through a different layout. Voiron defines a circuit area 134 and a separate dicing area 136, forms porous structures over those respective areas, removes the coverings over the dicing pores, and then etches the second set of dicing-area pores 140 to expose the silicon wafer before dicing along a lane through the dicing area. See paragraphs [0036]-[0039] and [0063]-[0070].”
That statement is correct.
The applicant states (page 7) that “Voiron's approach therefore removes or etches porous material in the dicing path, and it does not suggest using El Sabahy's plugged-pore subset within an RC device as the claimed porous dicing line.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
The applicant states (page 7) that “The Office Action proposes using Voiron's circuit/dicing-area arrangement to supply what El Sabahy lacks. But that modification would require reassigning El Sabahy's resistance-control subsets as separate dicing-line and device regions and, for claims that recite oxide plugs in the dicing-line pores, retaining those plugs where Voiron instead etches the dicing path.”.
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device. Is Applicant attempting to argue that this modification is not obvious, then if so, why?
The applicant states (page 7) that “Neither reference teaches or suggests that arrangement or that oxide plugs in the claimed dicing-line pores provide the present application's anchoring benefit between the porous oxide and the metal barrier layer.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, neither El Sabahy nor Voiron is a §102 prior art. Furthermore, “an anchoring benefit” nor method describing ‘anchoring’ is not a Claim 1 limitation.
It is agreed that El Sabahy does not teach these features, but they are taught by Voiron. As explained in the §103 rejection supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
The applicant states (page 7) that “Claim 1 is directed to a method to obtain a device region from the second porous region and a dicing line from pores in the first porous region, with the integrated device delimited at least by that dicing line.”
That statement is correct.
The applicant states (page 7) that “El Sabahy's 412a/412b subsets are both within the same RC porous structure and are selected to control resistance, and does not assign them the claimed device-region/dicing-line roles.”
The §103 rejection supra does not state that 412a/412b of El Sabahy “are selected to control resistance” or “assign them the claimed device-region/dicing-line roles”.
The applicant states (pages 7-8) that “Voiron does not cure that omission because its dicing area is a separate region whose pores are etched to expose the wafer.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to obtain pores that form a device region, and pores in the first porous region that form a dicing line, the integrated device being delimited at least by the dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
The applicant states (page 8) that “The rejection of claim 1 should therefore be withdrawn.”
The reason the rejection of claim 1 is not withdrawn is explained in the §103 rejection supra.
The Applicant states (page 8) that “Independent claim 11 is directed to an integrated device in which the first porous region has oxide-plugged pore bottoms and its pores form a dicing line, while the second porous region has pore bottoms etched to reach the metal barrier and forms the device region.”
That statement is correct.
The Applicant states (page 8) that “El Sabahy teaches oxide plugs and selective opening in one RC porous structure, but its plugged and open subsets are used to control RC resistance, not to separate a device region from a dicing line.”
The §103 rejection supra does not state that El Sabahy discloses that “its plugged and open subsets are used to control RC resistance” or “its plugged and open subsets are used…to separate a device region from a dicing line”.
The applicant states (page 8) that “Voiron supplies separate circuit and dicing areas but etches the dicing-area pores to expose the wafer.”
Voiron “etches the dicing-area pores to expose the wafer” is not given patentable weight because it is a method step in a structure claim.
Furthermore, §103 rejection supra states that Voiron discloses Fig. 4F; ¶ 0051 “pores 138 that extend from a top surface of the first porous structure 124 to barrier layer 108”, “any residual material at the bottoms of the first set of pores 138 may be etched to fully open the first set of pores 138 onto the barrier layer 108”.
The applicant states (page 8) that “The cited combination therefore does not teach or suggest the claimed arrangement, including the recited oxide-plugged dicing-line region.”
As explained in the §103 rejection supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for El Sabahy to have the bottom ends of pores of the second porous region are etched and reach the metal barrier so as to form a device region, and wherein pores in the first porous region form a dicing line, as taught by Voiron, because the integrated device “has an improved mechanical profile, including reduced delamination, chipping, and cracks in the supporting substrate” (Voiron ¶ 0070) and the “resulting structure benefits from the continued presence of a portion 160 of the second porous structure 126 at its edge, which reduces the influent of humidity and the risk of leakage, particularly due to the wafer bumping process” (Voiron ¶ 0070) thereby improving the reliability of the integrated device.
The applicant states (page 8) that “Claim 11 is therefore not obvious over , El Sabahy and Voiron.”
The reason the rejection of claim 11 is not withdrawn is explained in the §103 rejection supra.
The applicant states (page 8) that ” Dependent claims 2-10 are allowable by virtue of their additional limitations and dependency from allowable claim 1.”
Claim 1 is not allowable for at least the reasons stated supra.
The applicant states (page 8) that “Dependent claims 12-15 are likewise allowable by virtue of their additional limitations and dependency, directly or indirectly, from allowable claim 11.”
Claim 11 is not allowable for at least the reasons stated supra.
Independent Claims 1 and 11 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra. Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-15 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment (withdraw of the 112b rejection, no other rejection has changed) necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818