DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-13, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2022/0005979 in view of Huang CN103510057.
Re claim 1, Kang teaches a display device (fig10) comprising:
a transistor (T1, fig10, [91]) disposed on a substrate (BSL, fig10, [78]);
a first conductive layer (ET1, fig10, [209]) electrically connected to the transistor (T1, fig10, [91]);
a first metal layer (ALE1/CNL1 as ITO/Ag/ITO, fig10, [125, 189]) electrically connected to the first conductive layer (ET1, fig10, [209]);
a first electrode (CNE1, fig10, [141]) electrically connected to the first metal layer (ALE1/CNL1, fig10, [125, 189]); and
an emission layer (LD, fig10, [176]) electrically connected to the first electrode (CNE1, fig10, [141]),
Kang does not explicitly show wherein the first metal layer includes a first layer including Zn-ITO, a second layer including Ag, and a third layer including Zn-ITO, and the second layer disposed between the first layer and the third layer.
Huang teaches sputter indium tin zinc oxide (ITZO) target and silver target ([7]) to form ITZO / Ag / ITZO multilayer film structure ([7]) and the second layer (Ag, [7]) disposed between the first layer and the third layer (Zn doped ITO layer as ITZO, [7]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang and Huang to dope the top and bottom ITO layer with Zn. The motivation to do so is to form a layer with high transmittance and low resistance at low cost (Huang, [6]).
Re claim 2, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display device includes a display area (center region with LD, fig6B and 10) and a pad region (region with BNK and PW1/2 around LD, fig6B and 10), and the first conductive layer (ET1, fig10, [209]), the first metal layer (ALE1/CNL1 as Zn-ITO/Ag/Zn-ITO, fig10, [125, 189]), and the first electrode (CNE1, fig10, [141]) contact each other in the pad region (region with BNK and PW1/2 around LD, fig6B and 10).
Re claim 10, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a content of Zn included in Zn-ITO of the first layer and the third layer is equal to or greater than about 10 at% (Huang, [24]).
Re claim 11, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a content of Zn included in Zn-ITO of the first layer and the third layer is in a range of about 18 at% to about 20 at% (Huang, [24]).
Re claim 12, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein Zn-ITO included in the first layer and the third layer is amorphous (Huang, [24]; ITZO sputtered at low temperature form amorphous state as shown in teaching reference Moriwaki US 2019/0245102 [92]).
Re claim 13, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein Zn-ITO included in the first metal layer is amorphous in case that a heat treatment of about 250 °C is performed (as shown in teaching reference Moriwaki US 2019/0245102 amorphous Zn-ITO with similar results as annealed ITO-SiOx at 250C, [73, 95, 106]).
Re claim 16, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the emission layer includes a nanorod (LD, fig3 and 10, [54]).
Re claim 18, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a cell barrier (PW1/2, fig10, [111]) disposed between the first conductive layer (ET1, fig10, [209]) and the first metal layer (ALE1/CNL1, fig10, [125, 189]), wherein the cell barrier (PW1/2, fig10, [111]) includes an opening overlapping the emission layer (LD, fig10, [110]) in a plan view (fig6 and 10).
Re claim 19, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein light emitted by the emission layer (LD, fig10, [68]) is reflected by the first metal layer (ALE1/CNL1, fig10, [125, 189]).
Re claim 20, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the semiconductor layer includes an oxide semiconductor (SCL, fig10, [211]).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2022/0005979 in view of Huang CN103510057 and Kwon et al. US 2022/0262864.
Re claim 3, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 2, wherein the first conductive layer includes a first layer including titanium and a second layer including copper, and the second layer of the first conductive layer contacts the first layer of the first metal layer.
Kwon teaches wherein the first conductive layer (SE/DE, fig4, [84]) includes a first layer (titanium layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) including titanium and a second layer (copper layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) including copper, and the second layer of the first conductive layer contacts the first layer of the first metal layer (210/211-213 as ITO/Ag/ITO, fig4, [92]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Kwon to form the source/drain electrode with the process of Kwon. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low resistance between S/D electrode and first metal layer (Kwon, [83, 84]).
Re claim 4, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer includes a first layer including titanium, a second layer including copper, and a third layer including an indium tin oxide, and the third layer of the first conductive layer contacts the first layer of the first metal layer.
Kwon teaches wherein the first conductive layer (SE/DE, fig4, [84]) includes a first layer (titanium layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) including titanium, and a second layer (copper layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) including copper, and a third layer (ITO layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) including an indium tin oxide, and the third layer of the first conductive layer contacts the first layer of the first metal layer (210/211-213 as ITO/Ag/ITO, fig4, [92]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Kwon to form the source/drain electrode with the process of Kwon. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low resistance between S/D electrode and first metal layer (Kwon, [83, 84]).
Re claim 17, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the transistor (T1, fig10, [91]) includes a semiconductor layer (SCL, fig10, [209]) and a gate electrode (GE, fig10, [209]).
Kang does not explicitly show the display device further comprises a second conductive layer disposed between the semiconductor layer and the first conductive layer and electrically connecting the semiconductor layer and the first conductive layer.
Kwon teaches wherein the source/drain electrodes (SE/DE, fig4, [84]) includes a second conductive layer (copper or ITO layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) disposed between the semiconductor layer (Act, fig4, [81]) and the first conductive layer (titanium layer of titanium/copper/ITO, fig4, [84]) and electrically connecting the semiconductor layer and the first conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Kwon to form the source/drain electrode with the process of Kwon. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low resistance between S/D electrode and first metal layer (Kwon, [83, 84]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2022/0005979 in view of Huang CN103510057 and Maeng et al. US 2022/0415216.
Re claim 5, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 2, wherein the first electrode includes an indium tin oxide, and the third layer of the first metal layer contacts the first electrode.
Maeng teaches first and second contact electrodes includes an indium tin oxide (CTE1/2 as ITO, fig9, [207]), and the third layer of the first metal layer (ITO of ITO/Ag/ITO layer CE, fig9, [197]) contacts the first electrode (CTE1/2, fig9, [207]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Maeng to form the first electrode with the process of Maeng. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low power consumption (Maeng, [207]).
Claim(s) 6-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2022/0005979 in view of Huang CN103510057 and Chen et al. US 2022/0376198.
Re claim 6, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 1, wherein the second layer of the first metal layer is thicker than the first layer of the first metal layer and the third layer of the first metal layer in a thickness direction of the substrate.
Chen teaches an ITO/Ag/ITO layer ([110]) wherein the second layer (80-100nm Ag, [110]) of the first metal layer is thicker than the first layer (5-20nm ITO, [110]) of the first metal layer and the third layer (5-20nm ITO , [110]) of the first metal layer in a thickness direction of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Chen to adjust the thickness of the composite oxide layer. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low power consumption (Chen, [2]).
Re claim 7, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first layer of the first metal layer is in a range of about 50 Å to about 300 Å in a thickness direction of the substrate.
Chen teaches an ITO/Ag/ITO layer ([110]) wherein the second layer (80-100nm Ag, [110]) of the first metal layer is thicker than the first layer (5-20nm ITO, [110]) of the first metal layer and the third layer (5-20nm ITO, [110]) of the first metal layer in a thickness direction of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Chen to adjust the thickness of the composite oxide layer. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low power consumption (Chen, [2]).
Re claim 8, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein a thickness of the second layer of the first metal layer is in a range of about 500 Å to about 2000 Å in a thickness direction of the substrate (Chen, 80-100nm Ag of ITO/Ag/ITO layer, [110]).
Re claim 9, Kang modified above teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein a thickness of the third layer of the first metal layer is in a range of about 50 Å to about 300 Å in the thickness direction (Chen, 5-20nm ITO of ITO/Ag/ITO layer, [110]).
Re claim 15, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 1, wherein a reflectivity of the first metal layer on a wavelength in a range of about 400 nm to about 800 nm is equal to or greater than about 80 %.
Chen teaches an ITO/Ag/ITO layer ([110]) wherein the second layer (80-100nm Ag, [110]) of the first metal layer is thicker than the first layer (5-20nm ITO, [110]) of the first metal layer and the third layer (5-20nm ITO , [110]) of the first metal layer in a thickness direction of the substrate, wherein a reflectivity in the visible region is about 85-95% ([110]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Chen to adjust the thickness of the composite oxide layer. The motivation to do so is to improve device brightness and achieve low power consumption (Chen, [2]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2022/0005979 in view of Huang CN103510057 and Park et al. US 2022/0204846.
Re claim 14, Kang does not explicitly show the display device of claim 1, wherein the first metal layer is not etched by TMAH and KOH.
Park teaches etching solution (table1 and 2, [46, 116]) used to etch ITO/Ag (table 3) and ITO/Ag/ITO ([48]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kang modified above and Park to etch the ITO/Ag/ITO stack with the solution of Park. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage of other metal layers and reduce precipitation of silver particles (Park, [29]).
Response to Arguments
Regarding arguments about all the claims applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812