Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864).
Regarding claim 1, Yotsuya disclose a deposition mask (M, MB) formed by a non-magnetic body (silicon)[0071], the mask comprising: openings (24)(fig. 5C) for a substrate (L)(fig. 7), at a surface of the deposition mask facing the substrate, wherein structures including a magnetic body (28)(fig. 5C)[0075-0078] are provided, between the openings, at the surface of the deposition mask facing the substrate (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Yotsuya disclose the openings (24)(fig. 5C) are located within a depressed portion provided at the surface of the deposition mask facing a deposition source; and a mask thickness (22)(M, MB) at the depressed portions is smaller than a mask thickness at a peripheral portion of the depressed portion (fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, Yotsuya disclose the structures including the magnetic body (28) are provided so as to surround (top of) the openings (left opening 24 and right opening 24)(fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 6, Yotsuya disclose forming an organic compound layer that makes up an organic light-emitting element [0101-0103], using a deposition mask, wherein the deposition mask includes openings for a substrate [0101-0103], at a surface of the deposition mask facing the substrate, and structures including a magnetic body are provided [0075-0078, 0099], between the openings, at the surface of the deposition mask facing the substrate (figs. 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 7, Yotsuya disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of pixels comprises: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to claim 1 [0075-0078, 0099-0103]; and a transistor (switching transistor, driving transistor) electrically connected to the organic light-emitting element [0108].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 2 above in view of Chan et al. (US 2015/0380652).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra. Yosuya disclose the thickness of the magnetic body being 0.3 microns to 5 microns [0047] (i.e. 2 microns).
Yosuya fails to disclose a thickness of the magnetic body is greater than the mask thickness at the depressed portion.
Chan et al. disclose a 1 micron thick silicon nitride mask [0130] (which would be equivalent to MB in Yosuya).
MPEP 2144.05 discloses “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Yosuya and Chan et al. because the 1 mircon thickness of SiN should provide enough strength [Chan et al. 0130] and the 2 micron magnetic layer thickness will be thick enough to generate magnetic force [0047] but not too thick so as to create a gap in the mask [0048].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 2 above in view of Chan et al. (US 2015/0380652).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra.
Yosuya fails to disclose the mask thickness at the depressed portion is 6 mm or less.
Chan et al. disclose a 1 micron thick silicon nitride mask [0130] (fig. 27)(which would be equivalent to MB in Yosuya).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Yosuya and Chan et al. because the 1 mircon thickness of SiN should provide enough strength [Chan et al. 0130].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Jang (US 2011/0122266).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra. Yosuya disclose organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask.
Yosuya fails to disclose an optical unit having a plurality of lenses; an imaging element which receives light which passed through the optical unit; and a display unit that displays information acquired by the imaging element, wherein the display unit includes an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer.
Kimura disclose an optical unit (110)[0043] having a plurality of lenses [0044]; an imaging element (115)[0043, 0047] which receives light which passed through the optical unit; and a display unit (164)[0056] that displays information acquired by the imaging element, wherein the display unit includes an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer [0056].
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using an optical unit, imaging element and a display unit together with the OLED), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the OLED would be a part of the display unit).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Yoshimoto (US 2018/0324351).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra. Yosuya disclose organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask.
Yosuya fails to disclose a display unit including an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer an operation unit; and a housing, wherein the display unit and the operation unit are mounted on the housing.
Yoshimoto to disclose a display unit including an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer [0030] an operation unit [0030]; and a housing[0030], wherein the display unit and the operation unit are mounted on the housing (fig. 2).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using an operation unit; a housing, and a display unit together with the OLED), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the OLED would be a part of the display unit).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Ito et al. (US 2019/0179160).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra. Yosuya disclose organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask.
Yosuya fails to disclose a housing; and a light source including an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer, wherein the light source is mounted on the housing.
Ito et al. disclose a housing(6)[0042]; and a light source including an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer [0042], wherein the light source is mounted (via the display unit) on the housing [0042].
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using a housing and a light source mounted to the housing), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the OLED would be mounted to the housing).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864) as applied to claim 1 above in view of George et al. (US 2022/0115467).
Yosuya disclose the invention supra. Yosuya disclose organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask.
Yosuya fails to disclose a body frame; and a lamp provided on the body frame, wherein the lamp includes an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer.
George et al. disclose a body frame (vehicle)[0054]; and a lamp (light) provided on the body frame (on vehicle [0053]), wherein the lamp includes an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer [0054].
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using body frame and a lamp), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the OLED would be on the frame).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817