DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on July 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, please replace “tertbutyl” with “tert-butyl”.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, delete “NCA”. Alternatively, one may replace “the NCA activator is” with “the activator is a salt of a non-coordinating (NCA) anion”.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, delete “NCA”. Alternatively, one may replace “the NCA activator is” with “the activator is a salt of a non-coordinating (NCA) anion”.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, please replace “aluminum of the” with “aluminum of an”.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, please replace “the transition” with “a transition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richter et al. (Inorganica Chimica Acta 2018, 475, 18-27).
Scheme 8 of Richter et al. discloses a series of unbridged guaiazulenyl titanium and zirconium complexes 7 - 10, shown below, left. Scheme 9 discloses structures of rac- and meso- bisguaiazulenyl zirconium dichloride, shown below, right.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (Inorganica Chimica Acta 2018, 475, 18-27) in view of Sugano et al. (US 6,252,097).
The discussion of the disclosure of the prior art from the preceding paragraph is incorporated here by reference. Richter et al. contemplates use of inventive metal complexes for preparation of olefin catalyst, but reference does not disclose further information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to consult relevant art, such as Sugano et al. which teaches structurally similar azulenyl-based metallocene catalysts. Prior art at columns 41-45 teaches that catalysts contain aluminoxane activator or ionic non-coordinating activator, including those derived from triphenyl carbonium compounds (col. 44, line 39). A ratio of transition metal compound to activator lies in a range of 1/10 to 1/104 (col. 42, line 32). Catalysts may also be supported on an inorganic oxide carrier such as silica, alumina, or zirconia (col. 45, line 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention of Sugano et al. using the metal complexes of Richter et al., and the person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combination of teachings to work with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 3-5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Richter et al. does not teach the bridged catalyst compound of instant claims nor does it teach compounds containing a guaiazulene-based catalyst compound having no double bonds in the seven-membered ring.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Rip A. Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-1104. The examiner can be reached on Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Jones, can be reached at (571)270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/RIP A LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762 September 24, 2026