DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 15-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugizaki (US 2020/0021782 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, an image sensor comprising: a light filter (103) (see Par.[0089] wherein an on-chip microlens 101, an interlayer film 102, a narrowband filter layer 103, an interlayer film 104, a photoelectric conversion device layer 105, and a signal wiring layer 106 are laminated from the top in each pixel 51); and a light detector (10) that comprises a plurality of pixels disposed on a lower portion of the light filter, the light detector being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter (see Par.[0069]-[0072] wherein the shooting apparatus 10 is configured of a multispectral camera capable of detecting lights (multispectral) includes an optical system 11, an imaging device 12, a memory 13, a signal processing part 14, an output part 15, and a control part 16; the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor; the imaging device 12 receives an incident light from the optical system 11, photoelectrically converts it, and outputs image data corresponding to the incident light), wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (107) that comprises a plurality of red filters (R), a plurality of green filters (G), and a plurality of blue filters (B) (see Par.[0158] wherein each pixel 51 is provided with a color filter in the color filter layer 107; for example, any of general red filter R, green filter G, and blue filter B (not illustrated) is provided in a pixel 51 which is not provided with the narrowband filter NB; thereby, for example, R pixels provided with the red filter R, G pixels provided with the green filter G, B pixels provided with the blue filter, and MS pixels provided with the narrowband filter NB are arranged in the pixel array 31), and a plurality of multi-spectral filters (MS1-MS8) disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter, each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, and wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters (see Par.[0198]-[0206] wherein extracted; in FIG. 23, the MS1 to MS8 pixels receive lights in different frequency bands, respectively; that is, in this case, the MS1 to MS8 pixels are assumed as sensors capable of handing the lights in eight frequency bands (i.e.; the entire electromagnetic spectrum such as: radio waves bands (> 10cm to 10 km); microwaves (1mm to 1m); infrared (700nm to 1mm); visible light (400nm to 700nm); ultraviolet (10nm to 40nm); X-Rays (10-11m to 10-8m); Gamma Rays (<10-12m); [High-Energy/Cosmic Rays] (often classified beyond Gamma))).
With respect to claim 2, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein the light detector comprises a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device (see Par.[0069]-[0072] wherein the shooting apparatus 10 is configured of a multispectral camera capable of detecting lights (multispectral) includes an optical system 11, an imaging device 12, a memory 13, a signal processing part 14, an output part 15, and a control part 16; the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor; the imaging device 12 receives an incident light from the optical system 11, photoelectrically converts it, and outputs image data corresponding to the incident light; see Par.[0298] wherein the present technology can be applied to CMOS image sensors of surface irradiation type, charge coupled device (CCD) image sensors, image sensors in a photoconductor structure including organic photoelectric conversion film or quantum dot structure, and the like).
With respect to claim 3, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein the color filter and the plurality of multi-spectral filters (MS1-MS8) are disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the light detector (10) across a cross-section of the image sensor (12).
With respect to claim 4, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein the plurality of multi-spectral filters (MS1-MS8) are integrally provided with the color filter (107/12) as a monolithic structure or are hetero- bonded to the color filter.
With respect to claim 5, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein each of the multi-spectral filters (12) comprises eight to sixteen band filters which are configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands within a visible light wavelength region (see Par.[0198]-[0206] wherein extracted; in FIG. 23, the MS1 to MS8 pixels receive lights in different frequency bands, respectively; that is, in this case, the MS1 to MS8 pixels are assumed as sensors capable of handing the lights in eight frequency bands (i.e.; the entire electromagnetic spectrum such as: radio waves bands (> 10cm to 10 km); microwaves (1mm to 1m); infrared (700nm to 1mm); visible light (400nm to 700nm); ultraviolet (10nm to 40nm); X-Rays (10-11m to 10-8m); Gamma Rays (<10-12m); [High-Energy/Cosmic Rays] (often classified beyond Gamma))).
With respect to claim 6, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein the plurality of band filters of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters are arranged in a 4 x 4 matrix or 3 x 3 matrix (see Par.[0253] wherein Color correction is made in the RGB sensor in a calculation equation as indicated in the following Equation (8), for example, which is denoted as linear matrix, color collection matrix, or the like, to approach the color-matching function).
With respect to claim 7, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor of the image sensor of wherein the color filter and a first subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of the color filter form a color image sensor, and wherein each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters and a second subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters form a multi-spectral image sensor (see Fig.36).
With respect to claim 8, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor of The image sensor of wherein the color image sensor is configured to acquire image information by detecting light transmitted through the color filter, and wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to acquire ambient light information around the multi-spectral filter by detecting light transmitted through the multi-spectral filter.
With respect to claim 10, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, an electronic device comprising: an image sensor comprising: a light filter (103) (see Par.[0089] wherein an on-chip microlens 101, an interlayer film 102, a narrowband filter layer 103, an interlayer film 104, a photoelectric conversion device layer 105, and a signal wiring layer 106 are laminated from the top in each pixel 51), and a light detector (10) that comprises a plurality of pixels disposed on a lower portion of the light filter (103), the light detector (10) being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter (103) (see Par.[0069]-[0072] wherein the shooting apparatus 10 is configured of a multispectral camera capable of detecting lights (multispectral) includes an optical system 11, an imaging device 12, a memory 13, a signal processing part 14, an output part 15, and a control part 16; the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor; the imaging device 12 receives an incident light from the optical system 11, photoelectrically converts it, and outputs image data corresponding to the incident light); and a processor (14) configured to correct image information acquired by the image sensor (see Par.[0074]-[0075] wherein the signal processing part 14 performs signal processings (for example, processings such as noise cancellation and white balance adjustment) on the image data stored in the memory 13, and supplies the processed image data to the output part 15; see Par.[0258]-[0259] wherein the subtraction processing and the like can be finely performed per wavelength by use of the multispectral pixels, and the color mixture correction can be more finely made, thereby enhancing the color reproduction), wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (107) that comprises a plurality of red filters (R), a plurality of green filters (G), and a plurality of blue filters (B), and a plurality of multi-spectral filters (MS1-MS8) disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter (12), each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, and wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters (see Par.[0198]-[0206] wherein extracted; in FIG. 23, the MS1 to MS8 pixels receive lights in different frequency bands, respectively; that is, in this case, the MS1 to MS8 pixels are assumed as sensors capable of handing the lights in eight frequency bands (i.e.; the entire electromagnetic spectrum such as: radio waves bands (> 10cm to 10 km); microwaves (1mm to 1m); infrared (700nm to 1mm); visible light (400nm to 700nm); ultraviolet (10nm to 40nm); X-Rays (10-11m to 10-8m); Gamma Rays (<10-12m); [High-Energy/Cosmic Rays] (often classified beyond Gamma))).
With respect to claim 11, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein the color filter and a first subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of the color filter form a color image sensor, and wherein each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters and a second subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters form a multi-spectral image sensor.
With respect to claim 12, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the color image sensor is configured to acquire the image information by detecting light transmitted through the color filter, and wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to acquire ambient light information around the multi-spectral filter by detecting light transmitted through the multi-spectral filter.
With respect to claim 15, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device, wherein the light detector comprises a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device (see Par.[0069]-[0072] wherein the shooting apparatus 10 is configured of a multispectral camera capable of detecting lights (multispectral) includes an optical system 11, an imaging device 12, a memory 13, a signal processing part 14, an output part 15, and a control part 16; the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor; the imaging device 12 receives an incident light from the optical system 11, photoelectrically converts it, and outputs image data corresponding to the incident light; see Par.[0298] wherein the present technology can be applied to CMOS image sensors of surface irradiation type, charge coupled device (CCD) image sensors, image sensors in a photoconductor structure including organic photoelectric conversion film or quantum dot structure, and the like).
With respect to claim 16, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device, wherein the color filter and the plurality of multi-spectral filters are disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the light detector across a cross-section of the image sensor.
With respect to claim 17, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device, wherein the plurality of multi-spectral filters are integrally provided with the color filter as a monolithic structure or are hetero-bonded to the color filter.
With respect to claim 18, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device, wherein each of the multi-spectral filters comprises eight to sixteen band filters which are configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands within a visible light wavelength region.
With respect to claim 19, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the electronic device, wherein the plurality of band filters of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters are arranged in a 4 x 4 matrix or 3 x 3 matrix.
With respect to claim 20, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, an image sensor comprising: a light filter (103) (see Par.[0089] wherein an on-chip microlens 101, an interlayer film 102, a narrowband filter layer 103, an interlayer film 104, a photoelectric conversion device layer 105, and a signal wiring layer 106 are laminated from the top in each pixel 51); a microlens (101) array disposed on an upper portion of the light filter (103) (see Par.[0089]-[0090] wherein the on-chip microlens 101 is an optical device for condensing a light to the photoelectric conversion device layer 105 in each pixel 51; see Par.[0069]-[0072] wherein the shooting apparatus 10 is configured of a multispectral camera capable of detecting lights (multispectral) includes an optical system 11, an imaging device 12, a memory 13, a signal processing part 14, an output part 15, and a control part 16; the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor; the imaging device 12 receives an incident light from the optical system 11, photoelectrically converts it, and outputs image data corresponding to the incident light); and a light detector (10) that comprises a plurality of pixels (105) disposed on a lower portion of the light filter (103), the light detector being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter (see Par.[0074]-[0075] wherein the signal processing part 14 performs signal processings (for example, processings such as noise cancellation and white balance adjustment) on the image data stored in the memory 13, and supplies the processed image data to the output part 15; see Par.[0258]-[0259] wherein the subtraction processing and the like can be finely performed per wavelength by use of the multispectral pixels, and the color mixture correction can be more finely made, thereby enhancing the color reproduction), wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (12) that comprises a plurality of red filters, a plurality of green filters, and a plurality of blue filters, and a plurality of multi-spectral filters (MS1-MS8) disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter, each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters (see Par.[0198]-[0206] wherein extracted; in FIG. 23, the MS1 to MS8 pixels receive lights in different frequency bands, respectively; that is, in this case, the MS1 to MS8 pixels are assumed as sensors capable of handing the lights in eight frequency bands (i.e.; the entire electromagnetic spectrum such as: radio waves bands (> 10cm to 10 km); microwaves (1mm to 1m); infrared (700nm to 1mm); visible light (400nm to 700nm); ultraviolet (10nm to 40nm); X-Rays (10-11m to 10-8m); Gamma Rays (<10-12m); [High-Energy/Cosmic Rays] (often classified beyond Gamma))), and wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a plurality of light detection cells configured to convert incident light concentrated by the microlens array into an electrical signal (see Par.[0334] wherein the observation light is photoelectrically converted by the imaging device, and an electric signal corresponding to the observation light, or an image signal corresponding to the observed image is generated).
With respect to claim 22, Sugizaki discloses, in Figs.1-46, the image sensor, wherein the light detector is a silicon based photodiode (see Par.[0072] wherein the imaging device 12 is configured of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (e.g.; silicon) (CMOS) image sensor, for example; see Par.[0075] wherein the output part 15 includes a driver (not illustrated) for driving a recording medium such as semiconductor memory, magnetic disc, or optical disc, and records the image data from the signal processing part 14 into the recording medium; see Par.[0166] wherein the imaging device 12A is provided in a semiconductor (e.g.; silicon) chip 203; see Par.[0080]-[0081] wherein he pixels 51 are arranged at the points where horizontal signal lines H connected to the row scanning circuit 32 and vertical signal lines V connected to the column ADC circuit 35 cross each other, and each of them includes a photodiode 61 for performing photoelectric conversion and some kinds of transistors for reading an accumulated signal).
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (US 2020/0358971 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Shim”).
With respect to claim 1, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, an image sensor comprising: a light filter (PG1-PG2); and a light detector (100) that comprises a plurality of pixels disposed on a lower portion of the light filter, the light detector being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter (see Par.[0061] wherein an AF function may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11, the third subpixel SPX13, the fifth subpixel SPX15, and the seventh subpixel SPX17 of the first pixel group PG1 and a second pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12, the fourth subpixel SPX14, the sixth subpixel SPX16, and the eighth subpixel SPX), wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (110) that comprises a plurality of red filters (R), a plurality of green filters (G), and a plurality of blue filters (B), and a plurality of multi-spectral filters/(W(Y) color filter) disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter, each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, and wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters (see Par.[0054] wherein the first subpixel array 110_1 may further include one or more color filter(s), such that respective horizontal pixels, respective collection(s) of horizontal pixels and/or respective pixel groups may selectively sense various light wavelengths, such as those conventionally associated with different colors of the visible light spectrum; for example, in certain embodiments of the inventive concept, various color filter(s) associated with the first subpixel array 110_1 may include a red filter (R) for sensing red, a green filter (G) for sensing green, and a blue filter (B) for sensing blue; see Par.[0070]-[0074] wherein an AF function in the second direction Y may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11Y, the third subpixel SPX13Y, the fifth subpixel SPX15Y, and the seventh subpixel SPX17Y of the first pixel group PG1Y, and a second pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12Y, the fourth subpixel SPX14Y, the sixth subpixel SPX16Y, and the eighth subpixel SPX18Y of the first pixel group PG1Y; a seventh subpixel SPX17 and an eighth subpixel SPX18 of the first pixel group PG1a are associated with the white filter (W), and a first subpixel SPX41 and a second subpixel SPX42 of the fourth pixel group PG4a are associated with the white filter (W); white color include violet color with low band than RGB colors).
With respect to claim 2, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein the light detector comprises a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device (see Par.[0026] wherein the pixel array 110 may include a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (CIS) capable of converting the energy of the incident light into corresponding electrical signal(s)).
With respect to claim 3, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein the color filter and the plurality of multi-spectral filters/(W colors filter) are disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the light detector across a cross-section of the image sensor.
With respect to claim 4, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein the plurality of multi-spectral filters are integrally provided with the color filter as a monolithic structure or are hetero- bonded to the color filter.
With respect to claim 5, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein each of the multi-spectral filters comprises eight to sixteen band filters which are configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands within a visible light wavelength region (see Par.[0050]-[0054] wherein each of the first, second, third and fourth pixel groups PG1 to PG4 may include eight (8) horizontal pixels PX_X arranged in two (2) rows and four (4) columns).
With respect to claim 6, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein the plurality of band filters of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters are arranged in a 4 x 4 matrix or 3 x 3 matrix (see Par.[0050]-[0054] wherein each of the first, second, third and fourth pixel groups PG1 to PG4 may include eight (8) horizontal pixels PX_X arranged in two (2) rows and four (4) columns).
With respect to claim 7, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor of The image sensor of wherein the color filter and a first subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of the color filter form a color image sensor, and wherein each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters and a second subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters form a multi-spectral image sensor.
With respect to claim 8, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor of The image sensor of wherein the color image sensor is configured to acquire image information by detecting light transmitted through the color filter, and wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to acquire ambient light information around the multi-spectral filter by detecting light transmitted through the multi-spectral filter.
With respect to claim 10, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, an electronic device comprising: an image sensor comprising: a light filter (PG1-PG2), and a light detector (100) that comprises a plurality of pixels disposed on a lower portion of the light filter, the light detector being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter (see Par.[0061] wherein an AF function may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11, the third subpixel SPX13, the fifth subpixel SPX15, and the seventh subpixel SPX17 of the first pixel group PG1 and a second pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12, the fourth subpixel SPX14, the sixth subpixel SPX16, and the eighth subpixel SPX); and a processor (1200) configured to correct image information acquired by the image sensor (see Par.[0018]-[0019] wherein the digital imaging device 1000 generally comprises an imaging unit 1100, an image sensor 100, and a processor 1200), wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (110) that comprises a plurality of red filters, a plurality of green filters, and a plurality of blue filters, and a plurality of multi-spectral filters disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter, each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, and wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters (see Par.[0054] wherein the first subpixel array 110_1 may further include one or more color filter(s), such that respective horizontal pixels, respective collection(s) of horizontal pixels and/or respective pixel groups may selectively sense various light wavelengths, such as those conventionally associated with different colors of the visible light spectrum; for example, in certain embodiments of the inventive concept, various color filter(s) associated with the first subpixel array 110_1 may include a red filter (R) for sensing red, a green filter (G) for sensing green, and a blue filter (B) for sensing blue; see Par.[0070]-[0074] wherein an AF function in the second direction Y may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11Y, the third subpixel SPX13Y, the fifth subpixel SPX15Y, and the seventh subpixel SPX17Y of the first pixel group PG1Y, and a second pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12Y, the fourth subpixel SPX14Y, the sixth subpixel SPX16Y, and the eighth subpixel SPX18Y of the first pixel group PG1Y; a seventh subpixel SPX17 and an eighth subpixel SPX18 of the first pixel group PG1a are associated with the white filter (W), and a first subpixel SPX41 and a second subpixel SPX42 of the fourth pixel group PG4a are associated with the white filter (W); white color include violet color with low band than RGB colors).
With respect to claim 11, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the color filter and a first subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of the color filter form a color image sensor, and wherein each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters and a second subset of the plurality of pixels that correspond to pixels disposed on a lower portion of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters form a multi-spectral image sensor.
With respect to claim 12, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the color image sensor is configured to acquire the image information by detecting light transmitted through the color filter, and wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to acquire ambient light information around the multi-spectral filter by detecting light transmitted through the multi-spectral filter.
With respect to claim 15, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device, wherein the light detector comprises a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device (see Par.[0026] wherein the pixel array 110 may include a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (CIS) capable of converting the energy of the incident light into corresponding electrical signal(s)).
With respect to claim 16, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device, wherein the color filter and the plurality of multi-spectral filters are disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the light detector across a cross-section of the image sensor.
With respect to claim 17, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device, wherein the plurality of multi-spectral filters are integrally provided with the color filter as a monolithic structure or are hetero- bonded to the color filter.
With respect to claim 18, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device, wherein each of the multi-spectral filters comprises eight to sixteen band filters which are configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands within a visible light wavelength region (see Par.[0111]-[0113] wherein first to eighth subpixels SPX11 to SPX18 of the first pixel group PG1i and first to eighth subpixels SPX21 to SPX28 of the second pixel group PG2i may configure one shared pixel structure SHPX4X, which shares a floating diffusion region, and first to eighth subpixels SPX31 to SPX38 of the third pixel group PG3i and first to eighth subpixels SPX41 to SPX48 of the fourth pixel group PG4i may configure one shared pixel structure SHPX4X, which shares a floating diffusion region; the shared pixel structure SHPX4X may be a 16-shared structure including sixteen subpixels, and sixteen subpixels each time may configure the shared pixel structure SHPX4X, which shares a floating diffusion region).
With respect to claim 19, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the electronic device, wherein the plurality of band filters of each of the plurality of multi-spectral filters are arranged in a 4 x 4 matrix or 3 x 3 matrix.
With respect to claim 20, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, an image sensor comprising: a light filter (PG1-PG2); a microlens (ML) array disposed on an upper portion of the light filter (see Par.[0048]-[0049] wherein ach of the horizontal pixels PX_X in the first subpixel array 110_1 may include a micro-lens ML; in the illustrated example of FIG. 3A, the first subpixel array 110_1 includes first to fourth pixel groups PG1, PG2, PG3 and PG4, wherein the first pixel group PG1 and the second pixel group PG2 are adjacently disposed in the first direction X, while the third pixel group PG3 and the fourth pixel group PG4 are adjacently disposed in the first direction X); and a light detector (100) that comprises a plurality of pixels disposed on a lower portion of the light filter, the light detector being configured to detect light transmitted through the light filter, wherein the light filter comprises: a color filter (110) that comprises a plurality of red filters, a plurality of green filters, and a plurality of blue filters, and a plurality of multi-spectral filters/(W or y colors filters) disposed adjacent to and coplanar with the color filter, each of the plurality of multispectral filters comprising a plurality of band filters configured to transmit light in different wavelength bands, wherein each of the plurality of band filters is configured to transmit light in a band filter wavelength range that is narrower than a wavelength range of the plurality of red filters, the plurality of green filters and the plurality of blue filters, and wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a plurality of light detection cells configured to convert incident light concentrated by the microlens array into an electrical signal (see Par.[0054] wherein the first subpixel array 110_1 may further include one or more color filter(s), such that respective horizontal pixels, respective collection(s) of horizontal pixels and/or respective pixel groups may selectively sense various light wavelengths, such as those conventionally associated with different colors of the visible light spectrum; for example, in certain embodiments of the inventive concept, various color filter(s) associated with the first subpixel array 110_1 may include a red filter (R) for sensing red, a green filter (G) for sensing green, and a blue filter (B) for sensing blue; see Par.[0070]-[0074] wherein an AF function in the second direction Y may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11Y, the third subpixel SPX13Y, the fifth subpixel SPX15Y, and the seventh subpixel SPX17Y of the first pixel group PG1Y, and a second pixel signal corresponding to an amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12Y, the fourth subpixel SPX14Y, the sixth subpixel SPX16Y, and the eighth subpixel SPX18Y of the first pixel group PG1Y; a seventh subpixel SPX17 and an eighth subpixel SPX18 of the first pixel group PG1a are associated with the white filter (W), and a first subpixel SPX41 and a second subpixel SPX42 of the fourth pixel group PG4a are associated with the white filter (W); white color include violet color with low band than RGB colors).
With respect to claim 21, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor of The image sensor of wherein the plurality of light detection cells comprise a first light detection cell, a second light detection cell, a third light detection cell, and a fourth light detection cell arranged in a 2x2 array, wherein the plurality of light detection cells configured to convert the incident light concentrated by the microlens array into the electrical signal includes the first light detection cell, the second light detection cell, the third light detection cell, and the 38 fourth light detection cell being configured to convert the incident light into the electrical signal corresponding to a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, a third sub-pixel, and a fourth sub-pixel respectively, and wherein the microlens array comprises a first microlens, a second microlens, a third microlens, and fourth microlens that are respectively configured to concentrate the incident light on the first light detection cell, the second light detection cell, the third light detection cell, and the fourth light detection cell (see Par.[0061] wherein an AF function according to “pixel group units” in a low resolution mode allows for the selective use of one, more than one, or all of the pixel groups (e.g., PG1, PG2, PG3 and PG4) in the first subpixel array 110_1 during the performance of an AF function. For example, an AF function may be performed by processing a first pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the first subpixel SPX11, the third subpixel SPX13, the fifth subpixel SPX15, and the seventh subpixel SPX17 of the first pixel group PG1 and a second pixel signal corresponding to the amount of photoelectric charge generated by a photodiode of each of the second subpixel SPX12, the fourth subpixel SPX14, the sixth subpixel SPX16, and the eighth subpixel SPX18 of the first pixel group PG1).
With respect to claim 22, Shim discloses, in Figs.1-12, the image sensor, wherein the light detector is a silicon based photodiode (see Par.[0026] wherein the pixel array 110 may include a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (e.g.; silicon) (CMOS) image sensor (CIS) capable of converting the energy of the incident light into corresponding electrical signal(s); see Par.[0033]-[034] wherein each horizontal pixel PX_X of the first subpixel array 110_1 also includes a micro-lens ML disposed on the at least two (2) photodiodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugizaki in view of Osadchiy et al. (US 2022/0141438 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Osadchiy”).
With respect to claim 9, Sugizaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Sugizaki does not explicitly disclose all the claim 9.
Osadchiy discloses, in Figs.1-9, the image sensor, wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to be used to optimize a color matrix by performing calibration based on the ambient light information (see Par.[0019] wherein the luminosity of a pixel may be discarded, and 2 chromaticity channels may be used instead of 3 color channels; a sensor-specific 3×3 matrix for color conversion may be optimized using a distance in the chromaticity space between calibration data (e.g., calibration configurations) and sensor-independent targets (e.g., a target sensor-independent representation for each calibration configuration)).
Sugizaki and Osadchiy are analogous art because they are all directed to an image device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Sugizaki to include Osadchiy because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify image sensor region of Sugizaki by including to optimize a color matrix by performing calibration as taught by Osadchiy in order to utilize parameters of the sensor-specific color conversion function that have been optimized in a chromaticity space in order to produce a sensor-independent illuminance estimate for the image based on the sensor-independent representation.
With respect to claim 13, Sugizaki discloses all the limitations of claim 12. However, Sugizaki does not explicitly disclose all the claim 13.
Osadchiy discloses, in Figs.1-9, the image sensor, wherein the multi-spectral image sensor is configured to be used to optimize a color matrix by performing calibration based on the ambient light information (see Par.[0019] wherein the luminosity of a pixel may be discarded, and 2 chromaticity channels may be used instead of 3 color channels; a sensor-specific 3×3 matrix for color conversion may be optimized using a distance in the chromaticity space between calibration data (e.g., calibration configurations) and sensor-independent targets (e.g., a target sensor-independent representation for each calibration configuration)).
Sugizaki and Osadchiy are analogous art because they are all directed to an image device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Sugizaki to include Osadchiy because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify image sensor region of Sugizaki by including to optimize a color matrix by performing calibration as taught by Osadchiy in order to utilize parameters of the sensor-specific color conversion function that have been optimized in a chromaticity space in order to produce a sensor-independent illuminance estimate for the image based on the sensor-independent representation.
With respect to claim 14, Osadchiy discloses, in Figs.1-9, the electronic device, wherein the processor being configured to correct the image information acquired by the image sensor includes being configured to correct the image information acquired by the color image sensor by using the optimized color matrix.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818