DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12-15/2025. The objections to the drawings are maintained. However, the previous claim interpretations have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 8-17, and 19-20 remain pending for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “wherein the junction housing is recessed within the door and is surrounded by insulating foam” in claims 6 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20120111048 A1, herein after referred to as Kim), in view of Wookyong (KR20210031250A), and in further view of Sawada (JP2020063877A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a refrigerator appliance (refrigerator 1 Fig. 1) defining a vertical direction (corresponds to the height direction of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1), a lateral direction (corresponds to the width direction of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1), and a transverse direction (corresponds to the depth direction of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1), comprising: a cabinet (cabinet 10 Fig. 1) defining a chilled chamber (refrigerator compartment 30 Fig. 2); a door (refrigerator compartment door 22 Fig. 6) being rotatably mounted to the cabinet (paragraph [0033]) using a hinge (hinge 14 Fig. 6) and being rotatable to provide selective access to the chilled chamber (Figs. 1-2); a first icemaker (first ice maker 100 Fig. 6) mounted to the door (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0036]); a second icemaker (second ice maker 140 Fig. 6); and a water supply system (the water supply system illustrated in Fig. 7) comprising: a water source (water supply source 60 Fig. 7) for supplying water to the first icemaker and the second icemaker (paragraph [0059]); a main supply line (water feeding passage 200 Figs. 6-7) passing from the water source, through the hinge, and into the door (Fig. 6 and paragraph [065]); a multi-way valve (first valve 250 Fig. 7) fluidly coupled to the main supply line (Fig. 7), the multi-way valve comprising a plurality of outlets (Fig. 7); a first supply line (ice maker-sided passage 252 Fig. 7) providing fluid communication between the first icemaker and a first outlet of the plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0121]); and a second supply line (second branch passage 230 Fig. 7).
Kim teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the second icemaker mounted to the door”.
However, Wookyong teaches a second icemaker (second ice maker 200 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second icemaker of Kim) mounted to a door (paragraph [00179] and Fig. 5 where first refrigerating compartment door 10 corresponds to the door of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kim to include “the second icemaker mounted to the door” in view of the teachings of Wookyong to provide more storage room in the freezer of Kim by relocating the second icemaker to the door.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the second supply line providing fluid communication between the second icemaker and a second outlet of the plurality of outlets”.
However, Sawada teaches a second supply line (second ice making water pipe 21 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second supply line of Kim) providing fluid communication between a second icemaker (second ice making container 23 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second icemaker of Kim) and a second outlet of a plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 where the plurality of outlets of switching valve 12 corresponds to the plurality of outlets of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the second supply line providing fluid communication between the second icemaker and a second outlet of the plurality of outlets” in view of the teachings of Sawada to reduce the number of parts by providing a single valve to connect the different components of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a water supply system (the water supply system illustrated in Fig. 7) for supplying water to a first icemaker (first ice maker 100 Fig. 6) and a second icemaker (second ice maker 140 Fig. 6) where the first icemaker is mounted to a door (refrigerator compartment door 22 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0036]) of a refrigerator appliance (refrigerator 1 Fig. 1), the water supply system comprising: a water source (water supply source 60 Fig. 7); a main supply line (water feeding passage 200 Figs. 6-7) passing from the water source, through a hinge of the door (hinge 14 Fig. 6), and into the door (Fig. 6 and paragraph [065]); a multi-way valve (first valve 250 Fig. 7) fluidly coupled to the main supply line (Fig. 7), the multi-way valve comprising a plurality of outlets (Fig. 7); a first supply line (ice maker-sided passage 252 Fig. 7) providing fluid communication between the first icemaker and a first outlet of the plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0121]); and a second supply line (second branch passage 230 Fig. 7).
Kim teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the second icemaker mounted to the door”.
However, Wookyong teaches a second icemaker (second ice maker 200 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second icemaker of Kim) mounted to a door (paragraph [00179] and Fig. 5 where first refrigerating compartment door 10 corresponds to the door of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kim to include “the second icemaker mounted to the door” in view of the teachings of Wookyong to provide more storage room in the freezer of Kim by relocating the second icemaker to the door.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the second supply line providing fluid communication between the second icemaker and a second outlet of the plurality of outlets”.
However, Sawada teaches a second supply line (second ice making water pipe 21 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second supply line of Kim) providing fluid communication between a second icemaker (second ice making container 23 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second icemaker of Kim) and a second outlet of a plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 where the plurality of outlets of switching valve 12 corresponds to the plurality of outlets of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the second supply line providing fluid communication between the second icemaker and a second outlet of the plurality of outlets” in view of the teachings of Sawada to reduce the number of parts by providing a single valve to connect the different components of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach further comprising a water dispenser (dispenser 26 Fig. 8 of Kim) mounted to the door (Fig. 6 of Kim), wherein the water supply system further comprises: a third supply line (dispenser-sided passage 254 Fig. 7 of Kim) providing fluid communication between the water dispenser and a third outlet of the plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0121] of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the water supply system (the water supply system illustrated in Fig. 9 of Wookyong corresponds to the water supply system of Kim) comprises: a junction housing (receiving chamber 130 Fig. 7 of Wookyong) mounted to the door and containing the first outlet and the second outlet (Figs. 7 and 9 of Wookyong where the outlets of flow control valve 140 and water supply valve 242 correspond to the first outlet of Kim and the second outlet of Sawada respectively).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the junction housing is positioned on an opposite side of the door (Figs. 2 and 9 of Wookyong where receiving chamber 130 is located at the bottom of door 10 and the hinge is located on the top side of door 10) relative to the hinge.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the junction housing is recessed within the door (Figs. 7-8 of Wookyong) and is surrounded by insulating foam (paragraph [0189] and Fig. 9 of Wookyong).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the multi-way valve is a triple solenoid valve (switching valve 12 Fig. 7 of Sawada).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a water tank (water tank 120 Fig. 6 of Kim) for storing and chilling the water provided from the water source (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0043] of Kim), wherein the water tank is stored within the cabinet and is fluidly coupled to the main supply line (Figs. 6-7 of Kim).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a water filter (water filter 130 Fig. 7 of Kim) fluidly coupled to the water source upstream of the water tank (Fig. 7 of Kim).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a third supply line (dispenser-sided passage 254 Fig. 7 of Kim) providing fluid communication between a third outlet of the plurality of outlets (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0121] of Kim) and a water dispenser (dispenser 26 Fig. 8 of Kim) mounted to the door (Fig. 6 of Kim).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a junction housing (receiving chamber 130 Fig. 7 of Wookyong) mounted to the door and containing the first outlet and the second outlet (Figs. 7 and 9 of Wookyong where the outlets of flow control valve 140 and water supply valve 242 correspond to the first outlet of Kim and the second outlet of Sawada respectively).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a water tank (water tank 120 Fig. 6 of Kim) for storing and chilling the water provided from the water source (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0043] of Kim), wherein the water tank is stored within a cabinet of the refrigerator appliance (cabinet 10 Fig. 1 of Kim) and is fluidly coupled to the main supply line (Figs. 6-7 of Kim).
Claims 4 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Wookyong, in view of Sawada, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR20100053978A, herein after referred to as Lee).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the junction housing is positioned on a top side of the door”.
However, Lee teaches wherein a junction housing (filter accommodation portion 24 Fig. 3 corresponds to the junction housing of Wookyong) is positioned on a top side of a door (Figs. 3 and 5 where refrigerator compartment door 21 corresponds to the door of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the junction housing is positioned on a top side of the door” in view of the teachings of Lee to shorten the length of the supply conduit between the first icemaker and the valve.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Wookyong, in view of Sawada, and in further view of Tae (US 20220381507 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the refrigerator appliance is a side-by-side refrigerator appliance”.
However, Tae teaches wherein a refrigerator appliance (refrigerator 1 Fig. 2 corresponds to the refrigerator appliance of Kim) is a side-by-side refrigerator appliance (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the refrigerator appliance is a side-by-side refrigerator appliance” in view of the teachings of Tae to provide a refrigerator with more storage room in the freezer compartment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 6 with regard to the drawings, Examiner disagrees. Claims 6 and 17 disclose “wherein the junction housing is recessed within the door and is surrounded by insulating foam”. However, there is no figure that illustrates a junction housing “surrounded by insulation foam”. Therefore, the drawings are still objected to by the Examiner.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 7 that Kim does not teach “a main supply line passing from the water source, through the hinge, and into the door” as recited by independent claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of claim 1 is repeated below:
Kim teaches a main supply line (water feeding passage 200 Figs. 6-7) passing from a water source (water supply source 60 Fig. 7), through a hinge (hinge 14 Fig. 6), and into a door (Fig. 6 and paragraph [065] where refrigerator compartment door 22 corresponds to the door).
Furthermore, by disclosing that the main supply line is “passing from the water source, through the hinge, and into the door”, Examiner is broadly defining the main supply line as the plurality of lines that connects the water source (water source 220 Fig. 4) to the multi-way valve (multi-way valve 232 Fig. 4). Therefore, the disclosed “main supply line” is understood to be composed of several lines that are located between the water source and the multi-way valve (see Fig. 4), and that a portion of the main supply line (the portion connecting water tank 226 to the multi-way valve Fig. 4) is the portion of the main supply line that passes through the door hinge.
This aforementioned configuration is specifically disclosed by Kim since a single portion of water feeding passage 200 (the portion connecting water filter 130 and first valve 250) passes through door hinge 14 (Figs. 6-7).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763