DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 2/25/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1-3, 9-12.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are added.
Currently, claim(s) 1-16 is/are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/25, 4/16/26 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (2016/0193530) in view of Demarco et al. (2013/0174007) and Nakagawa et al. (2019/0009178).
Re Claim 1,
Parker discloses a control system that assists generation of a distribution content item representing progress of a video game played by a user, the control system comprising: at least one memory that stores a program (Fig 1, ¶¶0051, 0089, 0309-0310, 0326); and at least one processor that executes the program to:
in accordance with instructions from the user, update the material data in conjunction with progress of the video game played by the user (Fig 3-6, 10, ¶¶0055, 0061, 0063-0068; a specific broadcast stream is updated and display along with live game stream played on the player computers); and
in conjunction with the progress of the video game played by the user, transmit the material data to the editing system based on a request that uses the address information from an editing system that generates the distribution content item (Fig 1, 3-8, 10, ¶¶0055, 0061, 0063-0068, 0071-0074, 075-0076; during the live game streaming, various type of metadata are included in the data stream, wherein the data stream is transmitted to a data synchronization engine to synchronize the video and audio streams with the metadata).
Parker is silent on providing the user with address information representing a Uniform Resource Locator of material data on an effect material used for the distribution content item, a control setting and an editing system that generates the distribution content item.
However, Demarco teaches providing the user with address information representing a Uniform Resource Locator of material data on an effect material used for the distribution content item and an editing system that generates the distribution content item (Fig 1, 2-3C, ¶¶0005, 0016, 0019-0021, 0024; different overlays are stored at different URLs, further, a user interface is provided for generating a video sequence with overlays). Demarco further teaches such a configuration allows user to efficiently retrieve and play videos that have been enhanced to include tags and overlays (¶0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Demarco into the system of Parker in order to allow user to efficiently retrieve and play videos that have been enhanced to include tags and overlays.
Nakagawa teaches a play state recognition unit that recognizes a play state of a game, i.e., a control setting, and adding an effect to an image representing a state of a commentator (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). Nakagawa further teaches such a configuration provides gaming commentary with high entertainability (¶0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nakagawa into the gaming system of Parker in order to provide gaming commentary with high entertainability.
Re Claim 2,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the control setting includes a basic condition. However, Nakagawa teaches the control condition includes a basic condition (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 3,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on an effect impartation condition relating to the progress of the video game. However, Nakagawa teaches an effect impartation condition relating to the progress of the video game (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 4,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a condition relating to a time point in the video game. However, Nakagawa teaches a condition relating to a time point in the video game (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 5,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a condition relating to a virtual place in the video game. However, Nakagawa teaches a condition relating to a virtual place in the video game (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 6,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a condition relating to an event that will occur in the video game. However, Nakagawa teaches a condition relating to an event that will occur in the video game (Fig 4, ¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 7,
Parker discloses an event relating to a specific game character in the video game (¶¶0055, 0061, 0063-0068, 0071-0074, 075-0076).
Re Claim 8,
Parker discloses an event relating to a specific action performed by a game character in the video game (¶¶0055, 0061, 0063-0068, 0071-0074, 075-0076).
Re Claim 9,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above including updating the material data a result of determination of whether the control condition is met but is silent on receiving state data representing a result of determination of whether the control setting is met; and update the material data based on the state data. However, Nakagawa teaches receiving state data (¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 10,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above including determine whether the control setting is met and update the material data based on whether the control condition being met but is silent on receiving state data representing a state of the video game. However, Nakagawa teaches receiving state data representing a state of the video game (¶¶0051, 0054, 0056-0057). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 11, 12,
Claims describe an information processing method and a non-transitory CRM embodied the control system of claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Re Claim 13,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) representing the address of the material data is stored in a storage device of the control system. However, Demarco teaches the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) representing the address of the material data is stored in a storage device of the control system (Fig 1, 2-3C, ¶¶0005, 0016, 0019-0021, 0024). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 15,
Parker discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on generating the address information representing the address of the material data, and transmiting the address information to a gaming device that controls the video game, such that the user inputs the address information into the editing system. However, Demarco teaches generating the address information representing the address of the material data, and transmiting the address information to a gaming device that controls the video game, such that the user inputs the address information into the editing system (Fig 1, 2-3C, ¶¶0005, 0016, 0019-0024). See claim 1 for motivation.
Claim(s) 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (2016/0193530) in view of Demarco et al. (2013/0174007) and Nakagawa et al. (2019/0009178), further in view of Sundareson et al. (2020/0411056).
Re Claim 14,
Parker as modified by Demarco and Nakagawa discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on updating without further instruction from the user. However, Sundareson teaches automatically applying special effects to high interest durations of gameplay sessions (¶¶0004, 001, 0018, 0026). Sundareson further teaches such a configuration provides capturing the real-time experience of gameplay, and reflecting such real-time experience in differential encodings of gameplay sessions (¶0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sundareson into the game system of Parker as modified by Demarco and Nakagawa in order to capture the real-time experience of gameplay, and reflecting such real-time experience in differential encodings of gameplay sessions.
Re Claim 16,
Parker as modified by Demarco and Nakagawa discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the control setting is set prior to a start of the video game played by the user. However, Sundareson teaches the control setting is set prior to a start of the video game played by the user (¶¶0004, 001, 0018, 0026). See claim 14 for motivation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715