DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on November 27th, 2023
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US PG PUB# 2024/0020096 (hereinafter) in view of Tunstall-Pedoe, US PG PUB# 2023/0259705 A1 (hereinafter Tunstall-Pedoe).
As for independent claim 1:
Chen discloses a system, comprising:
a computing device comprising a processor, a memory, and a display (Chen discloses a computing device in 0082);
an intelligent document application comprising machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least (Chen, 0043 and 0128, instructions stored in the memory and processor):
display a user interface on the display of the computing device, wherein at least a portion of a document is presented within the user interface (0049, 0086, 0124, Chen discloses a user interface display document);
receive a prompt via the user interface (0049 and 0086, Chen discloses a prompt field which can receive a docstring representing natural language text, also see user interface which user may input computer code and natural language text into a prompt field);
execute a large language model (LLM) to generate a response to the prompt, wherein the response is based at least in part on the content of the document (0050, 0081, Chen discloses generating, using trained machine learning model and based o the docstring, one or more computer code samples configured to produce respective candidate result. The machine learning model output computer code);
present the response within the user interface (Chen discloses present the response in the user interace in 0056, 0081).
Chen does not disclose wherein the LLM is embedded within the intelligent dynamic document and the response is based at least in part on the content of the intelligent dynamic document. Tunstall-Pedoe discloses wherein the LLM is embedded within the intelligent dynamic document and the response is based at least in part on the content of the intelligent dynamic document. In the cited section Tunstall-Pedoe discloses that the structured data and context/reasoning capabilities are coupled with document content and generated based on content, from the embedded LLM, within the document application. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the teaching of embedding the LLM within the document application, thus enable context aware AI responses within a document application to the user (Tunstall-Pedoe, 0022-0023, 0596-0598).
As for dependent claim 2:
An Official Notice is taken that LLM compression techniques (quantization, pruning, and etc. ) were well-known in the art before the effective filing date. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to compress the LLM of the Chen–Tunstall-Pedoe and decompress it prior to execution in order to reduce memory on a computing device, thus faster output.
As for dependent claim 3:
Chen – Tunstall-Pedoe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions that cause the computing device to execute the LLM embedded within the intelligent dynamic document further cause the computing device to at least load the LLM into a code interpreter, wherein the code interpreter is a component of the intelligent document application (Chen, 0054, 0074, discloses computer codes to be executed in a sandbox computing environment. Chen further discloses computer code may be processed by a processor or interpreted by an interpreter).
As for dependent claim 4:
Chen – Tunstall-Pedoe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the computing device to at least: execute the LLM to offer a suggested annotation for the intelligent dynamic document (Chen, 0047, 0078, see automatically generating comments and annotations plus intelligent templates for building; Tunstall-Pedoe, 0055-0058, citations and texts generated by LLM).
As for dependent claim 5:
Chen – Tunstall-Pedoe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the intelligent dynamic document comprises at least one of a code object, an image object, a video object, a text object, or an annotation object (Chen, 0047, 0049, discloses text object may be generated, also see system generates comments and annotations).
As for dependent claim 6:
Chen – Tunstall-Pedoe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the response is a graphical representation of data within the intelligent dynamic document (Tunstall-Pedoe, 0152-015, 0621, Figs. 5, 6, see user interface).
As for dependent claim 7:
Chen – Tunstall-Pedoe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the LLM is trained on the contents of the intelligent dynamic document (Chen, (0044, 0046, 0065).
As for independent claim 8:Claim 8 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 9-14:
Claim 9-14contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 2-7 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 15:Claim 15 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 16-20:Claims 16-20 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 2-4, 6, 7 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172