DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/03/26 has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 11, 14, 21, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0116332) in view of Nagahama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0204796), further in view of Deck et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,391,509). Hereafter “Wu”, “Nagahama”, “Deck”.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Wu teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a first radiating source ([0198], lines 1-3; [0222]) configured to output a first beam (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, first beam 31. It is inherent that laser 204 contains first light source to irradiate first beam 31);
a second radiating source ([0198], lines 1-3; [0222]) configured to output a second beam (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, second beam 32. It is inherent that laser 204 contains second light source to irradiate second beam 32);
the first beam and the second beam toward a time varying beam reflector (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, the first beam 31, the second beam 32, varying beam reflector 209), wherein the time varying beam reflector is configured to simultaneously receive and dynamically scan both the first beam and the second beam along a shared optical path and reflect the first beam and the second beam toward a scan lens (the following figure 2, and figures 3, 7, 8, time varying beam reflector 209 is configured to simultaneously receive and dynamically scan both the first beam 31 and the second beam 32 along a shared optical path BB; Figure 1, lens 105; Figure 2, lens 219 is not different from scan lens);
a first reflector configured to reflect the first beam (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, first reflector 207, first beam 31);
a second reflector configured to reflect the second beam, wherein the second reflector is configured to not reflect the first beam (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, second reflector 208 configured to reflect the second beam 32, not reflect the first beam 31);
wherein the first beam and the second beam are combined prior to the time varying beam reflector and are spatially co-aligned during scanning such that both beams traverse identical optical paths through the scan lens (the following figure 2, first beam 31 and second beam 32 are irradiated from the same laser 204, therefore, they are combined prior to the time varying beam reflector 207, 208, and are spatially co-aligned during scanning such that both beams 31, 32, traverse identical optical paths BB through the scan lens 219).
However, Wu does not teach a dichroic mirror configured to spectrally separate and direct the first beam and the second beam along a common optical path. Nagahama teaches a dichroic mirror configured to spectrally separate and direct the first beam and the second beam along a common optical path ([0014], figure 4, dichroic mirror 3, the first beam from light source 1 and the second beam from light source 2 are spectrally separated. Second light source has a longer wavelength than the first light source, Common path 32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu by having dichroic mirror and reflector configured to reflect both the first beam and the second beam in order to transmit the light from the light source 1 and reflect the light from the light source 2 ([0040]; Figure 4, elements 1, 2, 3, 7).
Wu as modified by Nagahama teach the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for a third reflector configured to reflect the first beam toward a sample; and a fourth reflector configured to reflect the second beam toward the sample. Deck discloses a third reflector configured to reflect the first beam toward a sample; and a fourth reflector configured to reflect the second beam toward the sample, (The Figure, 3rd reflector 142 configured to reflect the first beam 108 toward a sample 104; and the 4th reflector 118 configured to reflect the second beam 116 toward the sample 104. Note: 1st reflector 110, and 2nd reflector 120). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu and Nagahama by having third reflector and fourth reflector in order to transmit the light from the first light source and second light source to the sample effectively (The Figure, 3rd reflector 142 and 4th reflector 118, sample 104).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for the first reflector is a broadband reflector. Wu further teaches the first reflector is a broadband reflector (figures 2, 3, 7, 8, first reflector 207).
Regarding Claim(s) 21, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for the time varying beam reflector comprises a scanning mirror configured to dynamically vary beam position across the scan lens in synchronization for both the first beam and the second beam. Wu further teaches the time varying beam reflector comprises a scanning mirror configured to dynamically vary beam position across the scan lens in synchronization for both the first beam and the second beam (figure 2-3, 7-8, the varying beam reflector 209 comprising scanning mirror 207, 208. It is inherent that these mirrors dynamically vary beam position across the scan lens 219 in synchronization for both the first beam 31 and the second beam 32).
Regarding Claim(s) 22, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for the dichroic mirror is configured to transmit one of the first or second beam and reflect the other based on wavelength, such that the beams are combined into a single co-linear optical path prior to scanning. Nagahama teaches the dichroic mirror is configured to transmit one of the first or second beam and reflect the other based on wavelength, such that the beams are combined into a single co-linear optical path prior to scanning (figure 4, the dichroic mirror 3 transmit one of the first light from light source 1, and reflect the second light from light source 2. These beams are combined into a single co-linear optical path prior to scanning reflector 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by transmitting one of the first or second beam and reflecting the other based on wavelength in order to combine the light beams for the detection (figure 4, the dichroic mirror 3 transmit one of the first light from light source 1, and reflect the second light from light source 2. These beams are combined into a single co-linear optical path prior to scanning reflector 7).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (A)]
5. Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0116332) in view of Nagahama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0204796), further in view of Deck et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,391,509), further in view of Amanullah (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0013899). Hereafter “Wu”, “Nagahama”, “Deck”, “Amanullah”.
Regarding Claim(s) 12-13, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for the third/fourth reflector is configured to reflect the first/second beam toward a sample at an angle of incidence less than or equal to ten degrees of Brewster's angle. Amanullah teaches the third/fourth reflector is configured to reflect the first/second beam toward a sample at an angle of incidence less than or equal to ten degrees of Brewster's angle, (Figures 27a, 27b, reflectors 54a, 54b, sample 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by reflecting the first/second beam toward a sample at an angle of incidence less than or equal to ten degrees of Brewster's angle in order to inspect reflected light efficiently (Figures 27a, 27b, reflectors 54a, 54b, sample 12).
6. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0116332) in view of Nagahama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0204796), further in view of Deck et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,391,509), further in view of Sappey (U.S. Pat. No. 9,772,289). Hereafter “Wu”, “Nagahama”, “Deck”, “Sappey”.
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for a long wavelength pass reflector. Sappey teaches a long wavelength pass reflector, (Figure 1A, reflector 116; column 12, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by having a long wavelength pass reflector in order to be suitable for separating a first spectral range of radiation (Figure 1A, reflector 116; column 12, lines 38-40).
7. Claim(s) 16-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0116332) in view of Nagahama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0204796), further in view of Deck et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,391,509), further in view of Biellak et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 8,169,613). Hereafter “Wu”, “Nagahama”, “Deck”, “Biellak”.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claim 11 as stated above except for ellipsoidal collector configured to collect scattered radiation resulting from irradiation of a sample. Biellak teaches ellipsoidal collector configured to collect scattered radiation resulting from irradiation of a sample, (Figure 1, ellipsoidal collector 78). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by having ellipsoidal collector in order to collect and direct the scattered radiation to a detector efficiently, (Figure 1, ellipsoidal collector 78; column 4, lines 1-14).
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claims 11, 16, as stated above except for a spatial filter. Biellak teaches a spatial filter, (column 4, lines 21-43). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by having a spatial filter in order to block unwanted radiation, (column 4, lines 21-43).
Regarding Claim(s) 18 Wu, Nagahama and Deck teaches the apparatus according to claims 11, 16, as stated above except for a detector configured to measure the scattered radiation collected by the compound ellipsoidal collector. Biellak teaches a detector configured to measure the scattered radiation collected by the compound ellipsoidal collector (figure 1, detector 80, ellipsoidal collector 78). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Wu, Nagahama and Deck by having a detector in order to measure the scattered radiation collected by the compound ellipsoidal collector, (figure 1, detector 80, ellipsoidal collector 78).
Fax/Telephone Information
August 14, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877