Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mo (CN 101694929) does not disclose the following limitations (Applicant’s remarks of 2/5/26, p. 8). Examiner shows specifically how Mo does in fact teach these limitation cited by the Applicant:
"a body adapted to be slidably connected to a fixed base plate of the switchgear in an installation direction” – a body (body of figs. 19/20) adapted to be slidably (sliding between positions of figs. 8, 11 and 14, 13-1 of fig. 19 slides on 13 of fig. 5) connected to a fixed base plate (fig. 5, 21) of the switchgear in an installation direction (upwards direction of figs. 8, 11, and 14)
"a wire incoming end arranged on a connection side of the body” - a wire incoming end (fig. 20, lower right connector connects with 18 of fig. 36) arranged on a connection side (near side of fig. 20) of the body
"a wire connection end arranged on the connection side" - a wire connection end (fig. 20, upper connector connects with 26 of fig. 36) arranged on the connection side
"the junction box is arranged in a lateral direction" - the junction box (fig. 5, 25) is arranged in a lateral direction as shown in annotated fig. 36, below.
Applicant further argues (Applicant’s remarks of 2/5/26, pp. 8-9) (with the Examiner responses):
“[t]he unlabeled panel in FIG. 20 is a flat panel. It is not a body adapted to be slidably connected to a fixed base plate of the switchgear in an installation direction.” Applicant finding for “body” is “body of fig. 19” which is the housing of fig. 19 shown in a front view, and fig. 20 shows a rear view of the body.
“[t]he sockets are placed on a flat panel and are not arranged on a connection side of the body where the body is arranged in an installation direction.” The argued sockets which the Examiner believes read on the claimed wire incoming end and wire connection end are on the connection side of the body as shown in annotated fig. 20, below.
Applicant also argues “Mo does not disclose junction box that houses [] an output end and an adapter end where the junction box is arranged in a lateral direction.” As shown in annotated fig. 20, there is a junction box that houses an output end 18 and an adapter end 26 wherein the junction box is arranged as shown in annotated fig. 36 in a lateral direction.
Applicant further argues:
The Office Action states, "a wire incoming end (fig. 20, connects with 17 of fig. 36),""a wire connection end (fig. 20, connects with 26 of fig. 36),""an output end (fig. 20, connects with 18 of fig. 36)," and "an adapter end (fig. 5, 26) (Office Action, page 4). It appears the Office Action alleges the unlabeled elements in Fig. 20 as "a wire incoming end" and "a wire connection end." The assignment of the output end and the adapter end described in the Office Action is unclear. The claim recites "an output end" and "an adapter end" to be of the junction box and the correspondence of these elements in the connection positions is as follows:
wire incoming end ↔ output end
wire connection end ↔ adapter end
There are two separate portions: (1) the body which houses the wire incoming end and the wire connection end, and (2) the junction box which houses the output end and the adapter end. The Office Action fails to show clearly the elements in Mo that correspond to the body, the junction box, the wire incoming end, the wire connection end, the output end, and the adapter end. (Applicant’s remarks of 2/5/26, p. 9).
Responding to this argument, the Examiner’s findings are:
a body (body of figs. 19 and 20,see annotated fig. 20) that houses a wire incoming end (fig. 20, lower right connector connects with 18 of fig. 36) and a wire connection end(fig. 20, upper connector connects with 26 of fig. 36), and
a junction box (fig. 5, 25) which houses the output end (fig. 36, 18) and the adapter end (fig. 5, 26).
The Examiner is now showing that wire incoming end is a connector of the body that connects with 18 of fig. 36. Applicant should have understood that Mo’s element 18 on the junction box mates with an unlabeled connector on the body. Alternately, since Claim 1 only requires that “a wire incoming end . . . adapted to be electrically connected to an output end of the junction box” (emphasis added) the connector that mates with element 17 and the connector that mates with element 18 are electrically connected to each other within the body by circuitry of the body. These are disclosed as an input and output respectively that in order to perform their intended functions of input and output would have to be electrically connected. Therefore, the finding of the connector that mates with element 17 is electrically coupled to element 18 is also met because the limitation only requires “electrically coupled.”
Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Mo does in fact anticipate the claimed invention. Therefore, the arguments that none of the secondary references cure alleged defects in the 35 U.S.C. 102 anticipation rejection is moot because Mo does anticipate the claimed invention of claim 1.
Objections to the Claims, Specification and Drawings
There is a lack of correspondence between the claimed subject matter, the detailed written description, the summary of invention and the drawings as to
a. Claim 1, lines 8-9 requires “a wire connection end arranged . . . at intervals from the wire incoming end.” How is the wire connection end 3 arranged at intervals (which is plural) from the wire incoming end 2 when only a single wire connection end and a single wire incoming end are claimed? Therefore, there is only a single interval between the wire connection end and the wire incoming end, and not intervals. Based upon Applicant’s disclosure, would there be “intervals” there are a plurality of power distribution modules present as illustrated Applicant’s figure 2?
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a mechanical or electronic mechanism (claim 16) and electromagnet (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 11, 13, 14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 9-10, “a rotational position” should be “a respective rotational position”.
Claim 11, line 2, “adjacent slide rails” should be adjacent ones of the slide rails”;
Claim 11, line 3, “each slide rail” should be “each of the slide rails”; and
Claim 13, line 2, “include” should be “includes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 3, “the height direction” lacks antecedent basis (did Applicant intend dependency on claim 8?);
Claim 7 requires “an interlocking member . . . adapted to, after the body slides to the operation position and the test position, be inserted into a hole on the fixed base plate.” Does the interlocking member inserted into a same hole for each of the operation and test positions, or does the interlocking member inserted into a respective hole for each of the operation and test positions?
Claim 12, line 1, “the inserts” lacks antecedent basis (did Applicant intend dependency on claim 8?); and
Claim 12, line 2, “the busbar” lacks antecedent basis (did Applicant intend dependency on claim 8?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mo (CN 101694929).
With respect to Claim 1, Mo teaches a power distribution module (fig. 19) for a switchgear (fig. 5, ¶[0075], draw-out switch cabinet) comprising: a body (body of fig. 19) adapted to be slidably (13-1 of fig. 19 slides on 13 of fig. 5, sliding between positions of figs. 8, 11 and 14) connected to a fixed base plate (fig. 5, 21) of the switchgear in an installation direction (upwards direction of figs. 8, 11, and 14) to switch between at least an operation position (¶[0015], connection), a test position (¶[0014], test) and a disconnection position (¶[0013], separation) relative to (see figs. 8, 11, and 14) a junction box (fig. 5, 25) of a switchgear (¶[0002]); a wire incoming end (fig. 20, lower right connector that connects with 18 of fig. 36) arranged on a connection side (near side of fig. 20) of the body toward the junction box and adapted to be electrically connected to an output end (fig. 36, 18) of the junction box after (see fig. 14 for operating position) the body reaches the operation position; and a wire connection end (fig. 20, upper connector connects with 26 of fig. 36) arranged on the connection side at intervals (see fig. 20, interval between lower left and right connectors [alternately there are intervals between the different contacts of lower left and right connectors], see “Objections to Claims, Specification and Drawings, above) from the wire incoming end and adapted to be electrically connected to an adapter end (fig. 5, 26) of the junction box after the body reaches (see fig. 11 for test position and fig. 14 for operating position) the operation position or the test position, wherein the junction box is arranged in a lateral direction (see annotated fig. 36, below) (also the junction box is a 3-dimesional element that would extends along all three axes which includes the lateral direction).
With respect to Claims 2, and 3, Mo further teaches the wire connection end and the wire incoming end are arranged to be spaced apart (see fig.20) by a predetermined distance in the height direction (vertical direction of fig. 20) (claim 2) and a handle (fig. 21, 12) arranged on an operation side (near side of fig. 22) of the body away from the connection side for being operated to slide the body in the installation direction (claim 3).
With respect to Claim 10, Mo teaches a switchgear comprising: a cabinet (see fig. 44); a fixed base plate (fig. 5, 21) fixedly coupled within the cabinet; power distribution module (see fig. 22) of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above), slidably arranged on the fixed base plate in a lateral direction (fig. 22, horizontal direction); and a junction box (fig. 5, 25) adapted to be electrically connected to the power distribution module.
With respect to Claims 12-15, Mo further teaches a number of the inserts (see fig, 20, three inserts of connector that connects with 18) corresponds to a number of phases (three phases) of a power supply ¶[0092], main power supply) to the busbar (¶[0092], busbar) (claim 12), the wire connection end include a first outlet plug-in (fig. 20, upper connector connects with 26 of fig. 36, [the upper connector is a plug-in because it plugs into 26]) and the adapter end includes a second outlet plug-in (fig. 5, 26, [26 is a plug-it plugs into it because the upper connector) (claim 13), the first outlet plug-in includes one of a male plug-in (see fig. 20, pins of upper connector that plugs into 26) and the second outlet plug-in includes one of a female plug-in (see fig. 11, sockets of 26 for pins of mating connector of fig. 20) (claim 14), in the test position, the wire incoming end is disconnected (see fig. 11, 18 is disconnected) from the output end and the wire connection end is coupled to (see fig. 11, 26 is connected) the adapter end (claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (CN 101694929).
With respect to Claims 4 and 5, Mo discloses the claimed invention including a position indication assembly (fig. 4), comprising: an articulated arm (2-1) pivotally coupled (fig. 4, around 5) within the body and adapted to rotate along a pivot axis (fig. 4, axis of 5); a contact bar (2-3) coupled to the articulated arm and adapted to be pushed by an indication base block (fig. 6, 4 with 8,8-1,8-2) of the fixed base plate during sliding of the body along the installation direction and to push the articulated arm to rotate; and an indication plate (2-2) coupled to an end of the articulated arm away from the pivot axis to indicate position information of the body relative to the fixed base plate through a rotational position (see figs. 7, 10 and 13) of the articulated arm (claim 4), the body comprises an indication window (fig. 19, 6) arranged on an operation side (near side of fig. 19) of the body away from the connection side to expose (¶[0081]) at least a portion of the indication plate (claim 5) and when the indication plate is displaced relative (different positions of 2-2 shown in figs. 7, 10 and 13) to the body, identification information of the indication plate exposed from the indication window is changed (different information on 2-2 of fig. 4 faces 6), thereby facilitating a user to determine (user reads the portion of 202 showing thru 6) current position information (claim 20). Mo fails to disclose a contact plate (claim 4). It would have been an obvious matter of choice to for the contact bar of Mo to be shaped as a contact flat, so that there is a plane contact (where the leading edge is rounded) instead of a line contact for a stiffer configuration of the contact plate, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to Claim 6, Mo discloses the claimed invention including the position indication assembly further comprises: a torsion spring (fig. 2, 9). Mo fails to disclose the torsion spring having a first end coupled t the body and a second end coupled to the articulated arm, the torsion spring adapted to provide a torsion force to make the contact plate in close contact with the indication base block. Mo depicts another torsion spring (fig. 3, 9). Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have a torsion spring (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). Mo fails to disclose a first end coupled t the body and a second end coupled to the articulated arm, the torsion spring adapted to provide a torsion force to make the contact plate in close contact with the indication base block. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Mo with a well-known torsional spring for purpose of biasing the position indicator assembly against the indication base block of the body to insure accurate readout of the position that the body is disposed at.
With respect to Claims 7, 16, 18, and 19, Mo discloses the claimed invention including an interlocking member (1-2) rotatably connected to the body in a height direction (1-2 extends in a height direction), and adapted to, after the body rotates to the operation position and the test position, be inserted into a hole (7-1 for test position and 7-2 for operation position) on the fixed base plate so as to fix the body and the fixed base plate along the installation direction (vertical direction of fig. 6) (claim 7) and the interlocking member is driven by a mechanical mechanism (¶[0087], using 10 to unlock causing 1-1 to separate from either 7-1 or 7-2) to complete unlocking by displacing the interlocking member away and separated from the hole (claim 16), the mechanical mechanism includes at least one of a mechanical switch (fig. 26, 10) or an operating handle (12) configured to unlock the interlocking member (claim 18) and a user simultaneously controls sliding (user uses the handle to push/pull the body in and out) the body using the handle and controls (user controls by pressing/unpressing button 10) a start or a stop of the mechanical mechanism (claim 19). Mo fails to disclose an interlocking member slidably connected to the body in a height direction. Admitted prior art that it is well known in the art to have an interlocking member slidably connected to the body in a height direction (since the applicant’s transverse of the rejection does not specifically address the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the transverse is not adequate and is taken as admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a well-known vertical moving interlocking member for the interlocking member of Mo for alternate method of insuring that the position of the body is held in place by a vertical moving pin to insure that the body does not inadvertently move between positions.
Claim 8 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (CN 101694929) and Northey (US 8,641,432).
Mo discloses the claimed invention except for the wire incoming end comprises: a plurality of inserts each comprising an elastic protrusion adapted to be compressed during insertion of the plurality of inserts into a supply busbar of the junction box such that the plurality of inserts and the supply busbar are reliably electrically connected. Northey taches for the wire incoming end (fig. 1A, 74) comprises: a plurality of inserts (74s) each comprising an elastic protrusion (fig. 1B, 10) adapted to be compressed (27s of 19 can push together) during insertion (see fig. 1B) of the plurality of inserts into a supply busbar (fig. 1B, 66) of the junction box (62) such that the plurality of inserts and the supply busbar are reliably electrically connected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the wire incoming end of Northey for that of Mo for purpose of the an output end of a junction box having an alternate configuration of a plurality of parallel planar busbars.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (CN 101694929) and Hong (KR 10-1194385)
With respect to Claim 9, Mo discloses the claimed invention except for a pulley arranged on an underside of the body adjacent to the fixed base plate and adapted to be coupled with a slide rail on the fixed base plate during sliding of the body relative to the fixed base plate. Hong teaches a pulley (fig. 2, 2a) arranged on an underside (see fig. 2) of the body (2) adjacent to the fixed base plate (4) and adapted to be coupled with a slide rail (3) on the fixed base plate during sliding of the body relative to the fixed base plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Mo with the pulley of Hong for the purpose of allowing for smooth slidable movement between the body and the fixed base plate.
With respect to Claim 11, Mo discloses the claimed invention including the fixed base plate comprises a plurality of slide rails (13s, one for each 1) arranged in the lateral direction (fig. 5, across 13s), and adjacent slide rails are spaced apart by a predetermined distance (see fig. 5), a length direction (fig. 5, length of 13) of each slide rail is arranged in an installation direction (fig. 5, along length of 13). Mo fails to disclose a pulley. Hong teaches a pulley (fig. 2, 2a) of the power distribution module (fig. 1, 1-2) is arranged to be coupled to any one of the plurality of slide rails (2a on right side of 2 can fit into any 3 on right side of 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Mo with the pulley of Hong for the purpose of allowing for smooth slidable movement between the body and the fixed base plate.
Claim 17 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (CN 101694929) and Zhang (US 10,312,670).
Mo discloses the claimed invention except for the mechanical or electronic mechanism includes an electromagnet that unlocks the interlocking member by suction. Zhang teaches the electronic mechanism (col 4, l. 18) includes an electromagnet (30) that unlocks the interlocking member (col. 4, l. 3) by suction (the term “suction” is understood as magnetic attraction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electronic mechanism of Zhang for the mechanical mechanism of Mo for the purpose of providing an alternate mechanism with few mechanical parts to reduce costs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0163876 and 2025/0372961 are related inventions of Applicant.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RJH 3/2/2026
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835