DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 11/27/23, 2/7/25, and 10/20/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2022/0271403) in view of Mackenzie et al. (US 2022038917).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a battery cell, or battery (1), comprising:
a shell, or battery housing (20), comprising an electrode draw-out portion, or current collector (30) and cap (40) (Figure 1); and
an electrode assembly (10) accommodated in the shell (20), the end of the electrode assembly facing toward the electrode draw-out portion (30) being accommodated with a first tab, or uncoated portion (11), the first tab being wound around a winding axis, or winding central hole (H1), and comprising a plurality of turns of the tab layers, or bent surface (102) (Figures 1a-1d, Figures 14-16b);
wherein some of the plurality of turns (102) are welded to the electrode draw-out portion (20) to form a second welded portion, or welding bead (BD) (Figure 10). Considering the embodiment depicted in Figures 14-16b, and considering the shape of the electrode draw-out portion as shown in Figure 10 as well as Figures 8-9, the skilled artisan will easily understand that the second welded portion (BD) is not welded to at least one turn of the tab layer since the second welded portion (BD) does not extend over the entire radius of the electrode assembly. Additionally, Lim teaches that the welding region of the tab coupling portion may overlap the stack number uniform section by at least 50% in the radial direction ([0065]).
With further regard to claim 1, Lim fails to teach that at least some of the plurality of turns of tab layers are welded to form a first welded portion.
Mackenzie teaches an electrode assembly (62), being provided with a first tab, or electrode tabs (66), being wound around an axis and forming a plurality of turns of tab layers, or tab grouping (G1), which are welded to form a first welded portion (Figures 5-8, [0050]-[0051], [0061]).
Mackenzie further teaches that it is desirable to weld the plurality of turns of layers together in order to form an optimized tab that provides the cell with reduced internal resistance, reduced heat buildup, and increased power capability ([0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to form a first weld of a portion of the plurality of turns of layers of Lim such as suggested by Mackenzie in order to form an optimized tab that provides the cell with reduced internal resistance, reduced heat buildup, and increased power capability.
As for claims 2-3, Lim in view of Mackenzie fails to teach specifically the relative placement of the first and second welded portions. However, since Mackenzie teaches that the connection by welding of the tabs provides desirable characteristics, the examiner finds that it would have been obvious to arrange the welding portions to be directly connected in order to ensure reliable electrical connection. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C
Regarding claims 4-5, Lim teaches that the second welded portion, or welding bead (BD), comprises a first part formed at the electrode draw-out portion, or contact portion (33a), and a second part formed at the first tab, i.e. at the tab coupling portion (32) (Figure 10). Lim further teaches that the strength of the laser for forming the weld in the contact portion is result effective for ensuring proper welding while preventing the weld in the contact portion from becoming too thick (i.e. too large of a dimension in a direction parallel to the winding axis) and damaging the separator or active material layer ([0219]). The examiner finds that it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to discover workable or optimum dimensions of both portions of the second weld of Lim in order to ensure appropriate bonding without causing damage. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II A
As for claims 6-7, Mackenzie teaches that multiple tab groupings of any total number can be formed by different first welded portions in order to establish multiple spaced apart tab groupings formed in welded sub-portions spaced apart in a circumferential direction (Figures 10-12, [0067]).
With regard to claim 10, Lim teaches a plurality of second welded portions spaced apart and connected to different tab layers via tab coupling portions (32) (Figure 10). As to the connection to different tab layers, that limitation is addressed above.
As for claim 11, both Lim and Mackenzie teach bending the plurality of turns of tab layers to reduce the gap between the end portions, and Mackenzie further teaches that the wend portions are welded (80) (Figure 7). As to the formation of the first and second welded portions, those limitations are addressed above.
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches that the electrode draw-out portion includes a body portion, or cap (40), and a connecting portion, or current collector (30), the connecting portion (30) configured to be welded to the first tab at the tab coupling portion (32) as discussed above, with the welded portions in the tab coupling area (32) overlapping the body portion (40) in a direction parallel to the winding direction (Figure 1a). Lim fails to teach specifically the relative thickness of the components, but does teach that modifications can be made without departing from the scope of the disclosure ([0168]). The examiner finds that it would have been obvious to find workable or optimum dimensions of the elements in order to ensure proper structure without adding weight to the overall battery. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II A
As for claims 13-14, Lim teaches that the connection portions (32) include reinforcing portions, or contact portions (33a), protruding from the surface away from the electrode body, spaced circumferentially, and not covering the second welded portions (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches that the shell comprises a housing (20) and end cap, or cap (40), covering the opening and being part of the electrode draw-out portion as discussed above (Figure 1).
With regard to claim 16, Lim teaches that the cell is a cylindrical cell ([0187]).
As for claims 17-18, Lim teaches a battery, or battery pack (3), configured to supply electric energy to a power consuming device, or vehicle (5), and comprising a plurality of the cells of claim 1 (Figures 19-20, [0363]-[0364]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Lim teaches a method of manufacturing the battery (1) discussed above, including providing and welding all of the components discussed above (Figures 13a-d, [0247]-[0251]). With specific regard to claim 20, the devices are found to be inherent to the system for manufacturing, and further the examiner finds that it would have been obvious to provide first and second welding devices since mere duplication of parts is within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2112, 2144.04 VI B
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Mackenzie as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Thunot (US 2020/0144581).
The teachings of Lim and Mackenzie as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Lim in view of Mackenzie teaches the battery cell of claims 1 and 7 but fails to teach specifically the shape of the first welded portion.
Thunot teaches an electrode assembly having a first tab with a plurality of turns of tab layers welded to form a first welded portion, wherein the weld portion is a curved helical, or spiral, structure arranged about the winding axis (Figures 4 and 5, [0008]). Thunot further teaches that the spiral structure allows for ease of folding tabs while improving heat transfer ([0007]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to form the tab layers of Lim in view of Mackenzie in a curved helical structure such as suggested by Thunot in order to allow for ease of folding tabs while improving heat transfer.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729