DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Species B, Group I in the reply filed on 3/30/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Status of the Application
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7-8, 13-14, 16, 19 is/are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9-12, 15, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9-12, 15, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Derks et al. (US 20220197158 A1) [hereinafter Derks] in view of Ceglio et al. (US 20110242515 A1) [hereinafter Ceglio].
Regarding claim 1, Derks teaches a source vessel for extreme ultraviolet (EUV), comprising:
a body (see e.g. fig 1: 9) that includes an outlet (see e.g. interface between vanes and fuel collector, [0074]) for discharging tin debris disposed in a central portion (see around 16) and an intermediate focus (IF) (see 6) disposed in an upper end portion;
a reflector (see 5) disposed in a lower end of the body and that includes a through-hole through which laser light (see 2) passes (see figs 1,2),
wherein the body includes an IF cap portion (e.g. fig 3a-d: 16a) disposed on a lower portion of the intermediate focus (upstream of 6) that includes a heater (see fig 3a: 22, 26) disposed on an outer surface thereof (see fig 3a), and an IF scanner portion (see portion downstream of 6) disposed on an upper portion of the intermediate focus
an inner surface of the IF cap portion includes a flow groove (see internally corrugated grooves of fig 3a: 16a) through which tin residue flows (see [0074]); and
a collection container (see fuel collector, [0074]) connected to the flow groove (see [0074]).
Derks may fail to explicitly disclose the IF scanner portion includes a cooling pipe disposed on an external surface thereof.
However, the use of cooling pipes on both sides of the IF was well known in the art at the time the application was effectively filed. For example, Ceglio teaches a system to enable improved collection and redirection of EUV radiation not perfectly aligned with the intermediate focal point to improve uniformity and distribution of the total output radiation (see e.g. Ceglio, [0007,15]), said system comprising an IF scanner portion (see fig 22, downstream of IF) including a cooling pipe (see 129) disposed on an external surface thereof (see fig 22), which also enables the ability to use active cooling to mitigate effects of thermal load on the surfaces of the device (see e.g. [0075]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to combine the teachings of Ceglio in the system of the prior art because a skilled artisan would have been motivated to look for ways to improve quality of the EUV radiation being emitted downstream, while also mitigating effects of thermal load on surfaces of the device, in the manner taught by Ceglio.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the flow groove includes a plurality of flow grooves spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction (see Derks, fig 3a).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the flow grooves are disposed in a straight line from a top to a bottom of the IF cap portion (see Derks, fig 3a).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the heater includes a plurality of heaters (see Derks, fig 3a: 22) spaced apart from each other from a lower end toward an upper end of the IF cap portion (see fig 3a).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the cooling pipe has a spiral shape that circles around an inner surface of the IF scanner portion (see downstream end cooling channel 129, fig 22, [0085]).
Regarding claim 11, Derks teaches a source vessel for EUV, comprising:
a body (see e.g. fig 1: 9) that includes an intermediate focus (see 6) at an upper end; and
a reflector (see 5) disposed in a lower end portion of the body and that includes a through-hole through which laser light (see 2) passes (see figs 1,2),
wherein the body includes a funnel shaped IF cap portion (see e.g. fig 1,3a-d: 16a to IF) disposed on a lower portion of the intermediate focus (upstream of 6) that has a width that decreases toward an upper side (see fig 3a), and a funnel shaped IF scanner portion (see portion downstream of 6) that extends from the IF cap portion that has a width that increases toward the upper side (see fig 1),
the IF cap portion includes a heater (see 22) disposed on an outer surface and a flow groove disposed in an inner surface (see fig 3a) through which tin residue flows, and
Derks may fail to explicitly disclose the IF scanner portion includes a cooling pipe disposed on an outer surface.
However, the use of cooling pipes on both sides of the IF was well known in the art at the time the application was effectively filed. For example, Ceglio teaches a system to enable improved collection and redirection of EUV radiation not perfectly aligned with the intermediate focal point to improve uniformity and distribution of the total output radiation (see e.g. Ceglio, [0007,15]), said system comprising an IF scanner portion (see fig 22, downstream of IF) including a cooling pipe (see 129) disposed on an outer surface (see fig 22), which also enables the ability to use active cooling to mitigate effects of thermal load on the surfaces of the device (see e.g. [0075]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to combine the teachings of Ceglio in the system of the prior art because a skilled artisan would have been motivated to look for ways to improve quality of the EUV radiation being emitted downstream, while also mitigating effects of thermal load on surfaces of the device, in the manner taught by Ceglio.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches a collection container (see Derks, [0074]) connected to the flow groove and that collects tin residues (see [0074]). It is unclear if the collection container is disposed outside of the body but it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to move the container wherever it is needed, including outside the body region (see removable, Derks, [0097]). It has been held that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the parts as a matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the cooling pipe has a spiral shape that circles around an inner surface of the IF scanner portion (see downstream end cooling channel 129, fig 22, [0085]).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the flow groove includes a plurality of flow grooves spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction (see Derks, fig 3a).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the flow grooves are disposed in a straight line from a top to a bottom of the IF cap portion (see Derks, fig 3a).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio teaches the heater includes a plurality of heaters (see Derks, fig 3a: 22) spaced apart from each other from a lower end toward an upper end of the IF cap portion (see fig 3a).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Derks and Ceglio, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patel et al. (US 20200124976 A1) [hereinafter Patel].
Regarding claim 6, the combined teaching of Derks and Ceglio may fail to explicitly disclose the outlet is connected to a scrubber in which tin residues are introduced and treated. However, some kind of fuel disposal system would have been required for the intended operation of the system, and the use of scrubbers was well known in the art at the time the application was effectively filed. For example, Patel teaches using scrubbers to extract and remove debris from gases (see Patel, [0043]), wherein the outlet is connected to a scrubber in which tin residues are introduced and treated (see [0043], fig 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to combine the teachings of the well-known scrubbers (e.g. Patel) in the system of the prior art, to enable the ability to extract and remove tin debris, and effectively remove fuel debris.
Conclusion
/JAMES CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2878