DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyoshi et al. (JP2018140001A), hereinafter referred to as Hiroyoshi, and in further view of Hagiwara (WO 2019049702 A1), hereinafter referred to as Itayama.
Regarding claim 1, An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising: a first flow channel in which fluid flows in a first direction (fig. 10 as annotated below);
a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction (fig. 10 as annotated below);
a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel (fig. 10 as annotated below);
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel (fig. 10 as annotated below),
[AltContent: oval]
Hiroyoshi fails to teach a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel.
However, Itayama teaches a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below).
To be clear, Hiroyoshi does teach an ultraviolet light source configured to emit light into a third channel. However, Hiroyoshi does not teach that the light source is configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first channel and the second channel as defined in the rejections above.
Itayama teaches an ultraviolet light source configured to emit light into the second flow channel. Further, Itayama teaches two light sources, configured to emit ultraviolet light into two channels, respectively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi, by placing another ultraviolet light in the second channel, as taught by Itayama, such that it is configured to emit light into the second channel. Doing so allows for a more thorough sanitation of the fluid.
Hiroyoshi futher fails to teach wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
However, Itayama teaches wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below), and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view (fig. 1 as annotated below).
Although Itayama does not show a plan view image of the UV Sanitation device in Figure 1, it is clear from Figure 1 that the area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the first opening 33, in figure 1 above, on the first member of Hiroyoshi, in a region downstream of a center of the first member, in the first direction, as taught by Itayama. Doing so allows for the passage of water from the first flow channel at a location different from the connection portion for the more uniform distribution of UV sanitation.
Regarding claim 2, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction.
However, Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction (fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the first opening 33, in figure 1 above, on the first member of Hiroyoshi, in a region downstream of a center of the first member, in the first direction, as taught by Itayama. Doing so allows for the passage of water from the first flow channel at a location different from the connection portion for the more uniform distribution of UV sanitation.
[AltContent: textbox (Area of the connection portion)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel.
However, Itayama teaches, the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel, outlined by figure 1 above, onto the first member of Hiroyoshi. The first portion facilitates in guiding the flow of water through the passages.
Regarding claim 5, Hiroyoshi teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, further comprising: a third flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the second flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a third direction opposite to the second direction (fig. 10 as annotated below);
a second member disposed between the second flow channel and the third flow channel (fig. 10 as annotated below);
and a second connection portion connecting a downstream end of the second flow channel and an upstream end of the third flow channel (figure 10 as annotated below),
Hiroyoshi fails to teach wherein the second member has a second opening connecting the second flow channel and the third flow channel, and an area of the second opening is smaller than an area of the second connection portion in the plan view.
However, Itayama teaches, wherein the second member has a second opening connecting the second flow channel and the third flow channel, and an area of the second opening is smaller than an area of the second connection portion in the plan view (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
Although Itayama does not show a plan view image of the UV Sanitation device in Figure 1, it is clear from Figure 1 that the area of the second opening is smaller than an area of the second connection portion in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the second opening 31, in figure 1 above, on the second member of Hiroyoshi, in a region downstream of the first member, in the second direction, such that the area of the second opening is smaller than an area of the second connection portion, in plan view. Doing so allows for the passage of water from the second flow channel to the third flow channel, to be exposed to ultraviolet rays, but forces more water through the second connection portion rather than the second opening so more water is exposed closer to the UV rays.
Regarding claim 6, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 5, wherein the second opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the second member in the second direction.
However, Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 5, wherein the second opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the second member in the second direction (openings 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the opening 31 in a region downstream of a center of the second member in the second direction. Doing so allows the fluid to enter the third channel in a region closer to light source unit 15 in Hiroyoshi.
Regarding claim 7, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 5, wherein the second member includes a second portion extending from a region adjacent to the second opening into the third flow channel.
However, Itayama teaches wherein the second member includes a second portion extending from a region adjacent to the second opening into the third flow channel (fig 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by including the second portion extending from a region adjacent to the second opening into the third flow channel, outlined by figure 1 above, onto the second member of Hiroyoshi, such that it extends into the third flow channel. The second portion facilitates guiding the flow of water from the second passage to the third passage.
Regarding claim 9, the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 7, wherein the second opening is provided at a position that does not overlap the first opening in the plan view.
Regarding claim 10, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel.
However, Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening (opening 32) and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by placing the third opening (fig 1 above) on the first member of Hiroyoshi in a region upstream of the first opening, as modified in claim 1 above, such that it connects the first and second flow channels to permit the passage of fluid to be sanitized in the second flow channel.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by placing the third portion (fig. 1 above) on the first member of Hiroyoshi such that it extends into the first flow channel. Doing so allows for the water in the first channel to be slowed before entering the second channel.
Regarding claim 13, Hiroyoshi teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, further comprising: an inlet of the fluid (fig. 10 as annotated below);
an outlet of the fluid (fig. 10 as annotated below);
and a plurality of branch flow channels branching from the inlet , and a merged flow channel connected to a downstream side of each of the branch flow channels, and each of the branch flow channels includes the first flow channel and the second flow channel between which the first member is disposed (fig. 10 as annotated below).
Claims 4, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itayama and Hiroyoshi as applied to claim 3, 7, and 10 respectively, and in further view of Justin Massey et al. (WO 2017188915 A1), hereinafter referred to as Massey.
Regarding claim 4, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 3, wherein the first portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the second direction.
However, Massey teaches wherein the first portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the second direction (fig. 10A as annotated below).
Massey teaches a UV disinfection chamber through which liquid may be flowed for treatment by exposure to radiation. The vanes 111, as detailed in figure 10A above, extend through the flow path of the liquid through the chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi, in view of Itayama, to include the teachings of Massey, such that the first portion taught by Itayama (fig. 1 above) is angled to impede a direct flow of liquid through the treatment chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 7, wherein the second portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the third direction.
However, Massey teaches wherein the second portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the third direction (fig. 10A as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi, in view of Itayama, to include the teachings of Massey such that the second portion taught by Itayama (fig. 1 above) is angled to control more precisely how the fluid is slowed as it moves through the chamber.
Regarding claim 11, Hiroyoshi fails to teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 10, wherein the third portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the first direction.
However, Massey teaches wherein the third portion has a surface that is inclined with respect to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi, in view of Itayama, to include the teachings of Massey such that the third portion taught by Itayama (fig. 1 above) ) is angled to control more precisely how the fluid is slowed as it moves through the chamber.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyoshi and Itayama, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Itayama et al. (WO 2017018294 A1) hereinafter referred to as Itayama(294).
Regarding claim 12, Hiroyoshi does not teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member further has a plurality of fourth openings connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, the first opening includes a plurality of first openings provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction, the plurality of fourth openings is provided in a region upstream of the center of the first member in the first direction, and a sum of areas of the plurality of first openings is greater than a sum of areas of the plurality of fourth openings in the plan view.
However, Itayama(294) teaches wherein the first member further has a plurality of fourth openings connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel (fig. 6 as annotated below), the first opening includes a plurality of first openings provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction (fig. 6 as annotated below), the plurality of fourth openings is provided in a region upstream of the center of the first member in the first direction (fig. 6 as annotated below).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi, to incorporate the teachings of Itayama(294) by adding a plurality of first openings downstream of the center of the first member of Hiroyoshi, in the first direction, and a plurality of fourth openings in a region upstream of the first member of Hiroyoshi, in the first direction. Doing so allows fluid to flow from the first channel to the second channel to be sanitized.
Itayama teaches and a sum of areas of the plurality of first openings is greater than a sum of areas of the plurality of fourth openings in the plan view (the first opening 31 is closer to the ultraviolet light emitting diode 25 than the second opening 32, and the area of the second opening 32 is larger than the area of the first opening 31).
To be clear, Itayama teaches openings such that the size of the second opening is larger than the size of the first. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Honi, in view of Itayama(294) to include the teachings of Itayama by making the sum of the areas of the first openings, larger than the sum of the area of the fourth openings, in order to improve the UV distribution throughout the fluid.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5 of copending Application No. 18575261, hereinafter referred to as Imai(261), in view of Itayama.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18520490
18575261
1. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
a first flow channel in which fluid flows in a first direction;
a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel
and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel,
wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel,
and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
1. (Currently Amended) An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
2. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of branch flow channels includes a first flow channel… first flow channel extends is configured such that fluid therein flows in a first direction
1. a second flow channel disposed downstream of the first flow channel
3. (Currently Amended) The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 2, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction, and the second flow channel is disposed adjacent to the first flow channel.
5. (Currently Amended) The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 2, the flow channel includes further comprising: a partition member configured to partitioning the first flow channel and the second flow channel
and a plurality of second light sources configured to emit [[the]] ultraviolet light to the plurality of respective branch flow channels, respectively.
See rejection below
See rejection below
See rejection below
2. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction.
See rejection below
Regarding claim 1, Claims 1-3, and 5 of Imai(261) do not explicitly teach a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel; wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view
Itayama teaches and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below),
wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel (fig. 1 as annotated below),
and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view (fig. 1 as annotated below).
Although Itayama does not show a plan view image of the UV Sanitation device in Figure 1, it is clear from Figure 1 that the area of the second opening is smaller than an area of the second connection portion in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Imai(261) to include the teachings of Itayama by replacing the first member in Imai(261) (partition member 61), with the first member of Itayama, as shown in figure 1 above, such that the member creates a connection portion connecting the downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, and includes a first opening connecting the fist flow channel and second flow channel, where the area of the first opening is smaller than the area of the first connection portion in plan view. Doing so allows water to flow from the first channel to the second channel at different locations, resulting in a more uniform sanitation of the fluid. Doing so also helps facilitate flow from the first channel to the second channel via the connection portion.
Regarding claim 2, Claims 1-3, and 5 of Imai(261) do not explicitly teach wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction.
Itayama teaches wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction (fig. 1 as annotated below).
See obviousness statement for claim 1 above.
[AltContent: textbox (First member)][AltContent: arrow]
Claims 1 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 of Imai(261) in view of Itayama.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18520490
18571261
1. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
a first flow channel in which fluid flows in a first direction;
a second flow channel
that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel,
wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel,
and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
1. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
12. wherein the plurality of branch flow channels includes a first branch flow
12. second branch flow channel
See rejection below
13. a first partitioning member forming a bottom surface of a part of the first branch flow channel
See rejection below
See rejection below
wherein the first branch flow channel includes a first partitioning member forming a bottom surface of a part of the first branch flow channel, and the first partitioning member includes a plurality of openings.
See rejection below
10. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion,
the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel,
and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel.
See rejection below
Regarding claim 1, Claims 1 and 12-13 of Imai(261) do not explicitly teach a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction; a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel; and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
Itayama teaches a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Fig. 1 as annotated below);
a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below);
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below),
and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Imai(261) to include the teachings of Itayama by replacing the first member in Imai(261) (partition member 61), with the first member of Itayama, as shown in figure 1 above, such that the member defines a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view. Doing so allows for more fluid to flow closer to the ultraviolet light source, while still allowing the passage of fluid further away from the source, resulting in a more uniform sanitation of the fluid.
Regarding claim 10, Claims 1 and 12-13 of Imai(261) do not explicitly teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel.
Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion (Fig. 1 as annotated below),
the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below),
and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
See obviousness statement of claim 1 for a discussion on the inclusion of the third opening.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by placing the third portion (fig. 1 below) on the first member of Imai(261), as modified in claim 1 above, such that it extends into the first flow channel. Doing so allows for the water in the first channel to be slowed before entering the second channel, to ensure a thorough sanitation by the light source.
Claims 1-3, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12296059, hereinafter referred to as Imai(059), in view of Itayama.
18520490
12296059
1. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
a first flow channel in which fluid flows in a first direction;
a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel
and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel,
wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel,
and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
11. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising:
11. a primary conduit… each of the first and second flow paths being formed such that the fluid flows in a first direction from the inlet to the outlet
11. second flow paths that are split at a first location and merge at a second location downstream with respect to the first location
11. each of the first and second flow paths being formed such that the fluid flows in a first direction from the inlet to the outlet, and then in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
See rejection below
11. a first light source configured to emit ultraviolet light, with which the first flow path is irradiated; and a second light source configured to emit ultraviolet light, with which the second flow path is irradiated.
See rejection below
See rejection below
See rejection below
2. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction.
See rejection below
3. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel.
See rejection below
10. The ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel,
and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel.
See rejection below
See rejection below
Regarding claim 1, Claim 11 of Imai(059) does not explicitly teach a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel; and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
Itayama teaches a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel; and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Imai(059) to include the teachings of Itayama by including the first connection portion such that fluid can flow from the first chamber to the second chamber to eventually move its way to the outlet.
Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Imai(261) to include the teachings of Itayama by replacing the first member in Imai(261) (partition member 61), with the first member of Itayama as shown in figure 1 above. Doing so allows water to flow from the first channel to the second channel at different locations, resulting in a more uniform sanitation of the fluid. Doing so also helps facilitate flow from the first channel to the second channel via the connection portion.
Regarding claim 2, claim 11 of Imai(059) does no explicitly teach wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction.
Itayama teaches wherein the first opening is provided in a region downstream of a center of the first member in the first direction (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
See obviousness statement for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, claim 11 of Imai(059) does not explicitly teach the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel.
Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a first portion extending from a region adjacent to the first opening into the second flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
See obviousness statement for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, claim 11 of Imai(059) does not explicitly teach wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel.
Itayama teaches the ultraviolet light fluid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first member includes a third opening and a third portion, the third opening is provided upstream of the first opening of the first member in the first direction, and connects the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and the third portion extends from a region adjacent to the third opening into the first flow channel (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
See obviousness statement for claim 1 above for incorporation of the third opening.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Hiroyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Itayama by placing the third portion (fig. 1 below) on the first member of Imai(059), as modified in claim 1 above, such that it extends into the first flow channel. Doing so allows for the water in the first channel to be slowed before entering the second channel.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12296059 (Imai(059)) in view of Itayama.
18520490
12296059
1. An ultraviolet light fluid treatment device comprising: a first flow channel in which fluid flows in a first direction;
a second flow channel that is connected to a downstream side of the first flow channel and in which the fluid flows in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
a light source configured to emit ultraviolet light to one or both of the first flow channel and the second flow channel;
and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel,
wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
1. a primary conduit…a first flow direction of a fluid in the primary conduit
1.a secondary conduit branching off the primary conduit at a first location of the primary conduit and merging with the primary conduit at a second location… a cross-sectional area in the primary conduit orthogonal to a first flow direction of a fluid in the primary conduit at the first location being greater than a cross-sectional area in the secondary conduit orthogonal to a second flow direction of the fluid in the secondary conduit at the first location conduit at the first location.
2. wherein the second location is downstream with respect to the first location in the first flow direction.
See rejection below
1. and a light source disposed between the primary conduit and the secondary conduit and configured to emit ultraviolet light, with which a region in the primary conduit is irradiated,
See rejection below
See rejection below
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of Imai(059) does not explicitly teach a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel; and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view.
Itayama teaches a first member disposed between the first flow channel and the second flow channel; and a first connection portion connecting a downstream end of the first flow channel and an upstream end of the second flow channel, wherein the first member has a first opening connecting the first flow channel and the second flow channel, and an area of the first opening is smaller than an area of the first connection portion in a plan view (Fig. 1 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Imai(059) to include the teachings of Itayama by including the first connection portion such that fluid can flow from the first chamber to the second chamber to eventually move its way to the outlet.
Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in Imai(261) to include the teachings of Itayama by replacing the first member in Imai(261) (partition member 61), with the first member of Itayama as shown in figure 1 above. Doing so allows water to flow from the first channel to the second channel at different locations, resulting in a more uniform sanitation of the fluid. Doing so also helps facilitate flow from the first channel to the second channel via the connection portion.
Conclusion
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881