DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed October 16, 2025 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every claim objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed September 16, 2025. Claims 1-18 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges the non-hot pluggable hard disk drives of Moore are patentably distinct from the locking storage media access configuration in the claims, but fails to specifically point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references (Arguments, page 6).
However, in response to Applicant's arguments against Moore individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejections of previous claims 2, 8, and 14, now amended claims 1, 7, and 13, rely on a combination of Zhang and Moore, where Zhang teaches latching/locking media devices within a system housing (see Figure 2 below), and Moore teaches storing different options of media devices (i.e. hot and cold swappable media devices) within a system housing (see Figure 6 below). The combination of Zhang as modified by Moore results in optionally storing the hot and/or cold media devices 610, 690 of Moore within carriers 151 of Zhang, where a hot swappable configuration results when hot swappable devices 610 of Moore are combined within carriers 151 in Zhang, and where a locked configuration results when the cold/non-hot swappable devices 690 of Moore are combined within carriers 151 of Zhang such that the cold/non-hot swappable devices 690 are locked within the system housing via fasteners 155 in Zhang. Moore also teaches that non-hot swappable devices require the system to be shut down before removal, effectively locking/preventing the removal of the cold/non-hot swappable devices until such shut down has occurred (see
Paragraphs [0016]-[0017] in Moore).
Applicant is relying on the term “locking storage media access configuration” to impart structure from the disclosure. However, the cited term merely results in functional language/intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, because Zhang as modified by Moore results in the cold/non-hot swappable devices of Moore being locked within the system housing via fastener 155 of carrier 151 in Zhang, and because Moore teaches that cold/non-hot swappable devices require the system to be shut down before removal, Examiner maintains Zhang in view of Moore teaches a “locking storage media access configuration.”
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 1-18 stand rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, lines 4-5, “swap storage media access configuration” should read --hot swap storage media access configuration--.
In claim 9, lines 4-5, “swap storage media access configuration” should read --hot swap storage media access configuration--.
In claim 15, lines 4-5, “swap storage media access configuration” should read --hot swap storage media access configuration--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860) in view of Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a storage system housing (storage device module 1) for use with a storage module system (storage device assemblies 15) for an information handling system (server 9), comprising: a bottom wall (bottom wall of 1); and a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151) having a plurality of storage system access options (see Paragraphs [0007], [0021], [0033]-[0035]; user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules; user also having the option of installing or uninstalling the storage devices).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of storage system access options include a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a common system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system housing of claim 1, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531) and the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (Figure 6, leaf spring 15531; where hook part 1552 of fastener 155 latches storage media devices within rack 11, and leaf spring 15531 locks fastener 155 in a closed position, resulting in storage media devices being locked within rack 11).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system housing of claim 2, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11, including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latching portion (snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (155) of a storage cartridge module (carrier 151) when the storage module system is in the swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within the system).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system housing of claim 3, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a storage system comprising: a storage system cartridge module (storage device assemblies 15); and, a storage system housing (storage device module 1), the storage system housing (1) comprising a bottom wall (Figure 1, bottom wall of 1); and, a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly (see Figure 1) from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11 of module 1) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151 of assemblies 15) having a plurality of storage system access options (see Paragraphs [0007], [0021], [0033]-[0035]; user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules; user also having the option of installing or uninstalling the storage devices).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a common system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system of claim 7, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531) and the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (Figure 6, leaf spring 15531; where hook part 1552 of fastener 155 latches storage media devices within rack 11, and leaf spring 15531 locks fastener 155 in a closed position, resulting in storage media devices being locked within rack 11).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system of claim 8, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching area of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figure 5-6) comprises a latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (fastener 155) of a storage cartridge module (carrier 151) when the storage module system is in the swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within the system).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system of claim 9, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), and in further view of Cruz (US Publication No. 2003/0002249).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system housing of claim 3, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of the latch component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of the latch component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latching engagement of Zhang as modified by Moore for the latching engagement of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system of claim 3, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of the latch component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, comprised of lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of the latch component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latching engagement of Zhang as modified by Moore for the latching engagement of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), and in further view of Escamilla (US Publication No. 2022/0394871).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system housing of claim 2, but does not teach wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion, the locking portion being configured to interact with the locking component of a storage cartridge module when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration.
However, Escamilla teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (hooks 1114; see Figures 10-12, where hooks 1114 engage with bay latch 1016), wherein: a multi access option feature (bay latch 1016) comprises a locking portion (securing inserts 1112 of 1016), the locking portion (1112) being configured to interact with the locking component (1114) of a storage cartridge module (cold plug devices 1014) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0040]-[0043], when cold swap devices are installed within server 1000, corresponding to when hard disk drive 690 and non-hot plug back end 486 are installed within the system of Zhang as modified by Moore).
Because Moore also teaches bays including a plurality of cold/non-hot swappable media devices, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the hooks and bay latch of Escamilla to the storage cartridge modules and multi access option feature of the system housing of Zhang as modified by Moore. Doing so would have prevented a user from incidentally removing the cold/non-hot swap modules when the cold/non-hot swap modules were arranged within the system housing (see Paragraph [0037]-[0043] in Escamilla).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Moore teaches the storage system of claim 8, but does not teach wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion, the locking portion being configured to interact with the locking component of a storage cartridge module when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration.
However, Escamilla teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (hooks 1114; see Figures 10-12, where hooks 1114 engage with bay latch 1016), wherein: a multi access option feature (bay latch 1016) comprises a locking portion (securing inserts 1112 of 1016), the locking portion (1112) being configured to interact with the locking component (1114) of a storage cartridge module (cold plug devices 1014) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0040]-[0043], when cold swap devices are installed within server 1000, corresponding to when hard disk drive 690 and non-hot plug back end 486 are installed within the system of Zhang as modified by Moore).
Because Moore also teaches bays including a plurality of cold/non-hot swappable media devices, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the hooks and bay latch of Escamilla to the storage cartridge modules and multi access option feature of the system housing of Zhang as modified by Moore. Doing so would have prevented a user from incidentally removing the cold/non-hot swap modules when the cold/non-hot swap modules were arranged within the system housing (see Paragraph [0037]-[0043] in Escamilla).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860) in view of Yu (US Publication No. 2016/0041590) and Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a system comprising: a chassis (case 91 of server 9); a storage system comprising: a storage system cartridge module (storage device assemblies 15); and, a storage system housing (storage device module 1), the storage system housing (1) comprising a bottom wall (Figure 1, bottom wall of 1); and, a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly (see Figure 1) from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11 of module 1) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151 of assemblies 15) having a plurality of storage system access options (Figure 2, user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the system comprises a processor contained within the chassis; a data bus coupled to the processor.
However, Yu teaches a system comprising a chassis (Figures 1-4, case 1), a processor (motherboards 6, 7 including CPUs 61, 71) contained within the chassis (1); a data bus (connection module 3) coupled to the processor (motherboards 6, 7 including CPUs 61, 71), and a storage system (storage module 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the processors and data bus of Yu to the server chassis of Zhang. Doing so would have allowed the system to process information stored within the storage modules (see Paragraph [0048] in Yu).
Zhang in view of Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of storage system access options include a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang as modified by Yu for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Yu and Moore teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531) and the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (Figure 6, leaf spring 15531; where hook part 1552 of fastener 155 latches storage media devices within rack 11, and leaf spring 15531 locks fastener 155 in a closed position, resulting in storage media devices being locked within rack 11).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Yu and Moore teaches the system of claim 14, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11, including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (155) of a storage cartridge module (151) when the storage module system is in the swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within system).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Yu and Moore teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Yu (US Publication No. 2016/0041590), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), and in view further view of Cruz (US Publication No. 2003/0002249).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Yu and Moore teaches the system of claim 15, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of a latching component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of a latching component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the locking and latching portion of Zhang as modified by Yu and Moore for the locking and latching portion of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Yu (US Publication No. 2016/0041590), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), and in further view of Escamilla (US Publication No. 2022/0394871).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Yu and Moore teaches the system of claim 14, but does not teach wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion, the locking portion being configured to interact with the locking component of a storage cartridge module when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration.
However, Escamilla teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (hooks 1114; see Figures 10-12, where hooks 1114 engage with bay latch 1016), wherein: a multi access option feature (bay latch 1016) comprises a locking portion (securing inserts 1112 of 1016), the locking portion (1112) being configured to interact with the locking component (1114) of a storage cartridge module (cold plug devices 1014) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0040]-[0043], when cold swap devices are installed within server 1000, corresponding to when hard disk drive 690 and non-hot plug back end 486 are installed within the system of Zhang as modified by Moore).
Because Moore also teaches bays including a plurality of cold/non-hot swappable media devices, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the hooks and bay latch of Escamilla to the storage cartridge modules and multi access option feature of the system housing of Zhang as modified by Yu and Moore. Doing so would have prevented a user from incidentally removing the cold/non-hot swap modules when the cold/non-hot swap modules were arranged within the system housing (see Paragraph [0037]-[0043] in Escamilla).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanna (US Patent No. 8503184), Jiang (US Patent No. 9743549), Lin (US Patent No. 12131757), Terwilliger (US Publication No. 2012/0134092), Paul (US Patent No. 7251132), Taya (US Publication No. 2006/0107711), and Wade (US Patent No. 5280398) also teach mechanisms configured to lock and latch media devices.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc