DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner submits new reference, Kang (US Publication No. 2010/0302722), teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (retaining device 200), the locking component (200) including a flush mounted faceplate (base member 30; Figure 4, base 300 being flush with edges of bracket 100), the flush mounted faceplate (30) being secured by a fastener (Figure 2, fastener 80) that can only be accessed when the storage module (data storage device 400) is not installed in the information handling system (Figures 1-5, installed within bracket 100, wherein 400 must be removed from bracket 100 and tray 20 to gain access to fasteners 80).
Examiner also submits US Publication/Patent Nos. 20040190266, 10261554, 20070211422, 8300398, and 8351196 teach the new amendments.
For these reasons, claims 1-18 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860) in view of Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641) and Kang (US Publication No. 2010/0302722).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a storage system housing (storage device module 1) for use with a storage module system (storage device assemblies 15) for an information handling system (server 9), comprising: a bottom wall (bottom wall of 1); and a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151) having a plurality of storage system access options (see Paragraphs [0007], [0021], [0033]-[0035]; user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules; user also having the option of installing or uninstalling the storage devices).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of storage system access options include a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a common system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Zhang in view of Moore does not explicitly teach wherein the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component, the locking component including a flush mounted faceplate, the flush mounted faceplate being secured by a fastener that can only be accessed when the storage module is not installed in the information handling system.
However, Kang teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (retaining device 200), the locking component (200) including a flush mounted faceplate (base member 30; Figure 4, base 300 being flush with edges of bracket 100), the flush mounted faceplate (30) being secured by a fastener (Figure 2, fastener 80) that can only be accessed when the storage module (data storage device 400) is not installed in the information handling system (Figures 1-5, device 400 must be removed from bracket 100 and tray 20 to gain access to fasteners 80).
Because Moore suggests a similar locking component (Figures 5A and 8, carrier front panel 514), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the locking component of Kang to the locking storage media access configuration of Zhang as modified by Moore. Doing so would have allowed a user to lock/mount the storage device within the system housing (see Paragraph [0019] in Kang).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system housing of claim 1, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system housing of claim 2, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11, including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latching portion (snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (155) of a storage cartridge module (carrier 151) when the storage module system is in the hot swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within the system).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system housing of claim 3, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system housing of claim 2, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion (tray 20), the locking portion (20) being configured to interact with the locking component (200) of a storage cartridge module (comprised of tray 20 and retaining device 200) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (see Figures 1-5 in Kang).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a storage system comprising: a storage system cartridge module (storage device assemblies 15); and, a storage system housing (storage device module 1), the storage system housing (1) comprising a bottom wall (Figure 1, bottom wall of 1); and, a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly (see Figure 1) from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11 of module 1) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151 of assemblies 15) having a plurality of storage system access options (see Paragraphs [0007], [0021], [0033]-[0035]; user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules; user also having the option of installing or uninstalling the storage devices).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a common system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Zhang in view of Moore does not explicitly teach wherein the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component, the locking component including a flush mounted faceplate, the flush mounted faceplate being secured by a fastener that can only be accessed when the storage module is not installed in the information handling system.
However, Kang teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (retaining device 200), the locking component (200) including a flush mounted faceplate (base member 30; Figure 4, base 300 being flush with edges of bracket 100), the flush mounted faceplate (30) being secured by a fastener (Figure 2, fastener 80) that can only be accessed when the storage module (data storage device 400) is not installed in the information handling system (Figures 1-5, device 400 must be removed from bracket 100 and tray 20 to gain access to fasteners 80).
Because Moore suggests a similar locking component (Figures 5A and 8, carrier front panel 514), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the locking component of Kang to the locking storage media access configuration of Zhang as modified by Moore. Doing so would have allowed a user to lock/mount the storage device within the system housing (see Paragraph [0019] in Kang).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system of claim 7, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system of claim 8, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching area of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figure 5-6) comprises a latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (fastener 155) of a storage cartridge module (carrier 151) when the storage module system is in the hot swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within the system).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system of claim 9, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system of claim 8, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion (front wall 21 of tray 20), the locking portion (21) being configured to interact with the locking component (200) of a storage cartridge module (comprised of tray 20 and retaining device 200) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (see Figures 1-5 in Kang).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), Kang (US Publication No. 2010/0302722), and in further view of Cruz (US Publication No. 2003/0002249).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system housing of claim 3, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of the latch component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of the latch component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latching engagement of Zhang as modified by Moore and Kang for the latching engagement of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Moore and Kang teaches the storage system of claim 3, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of the latch component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, comprised of lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of the latch component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latching engagement of Zhang as modified by Moore and Kang for the latching engagement of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860) in view of Yu (US Publication No. 2016/0041590), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), and Kang (US Publication No. 2010/0302722).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a system comprising: a chassis (case 91 of server 9); a storage system comprising: a storage system cartridge module (storage device assemblies 15); and, a storage system housing (storage device module 1), the storage system housing (1) comprising a bottom wall (Figure 1, bottom wall of 1); and, a front housing portion (front portion of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) extending substantially perpendicularly (see Figure 1) from the bottom wall (bottom wall of 1), the front housing portion (front portion of 1) comprising a multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including snap holes 112 and front tab adjacent 112; see Figures 5-6), the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11 including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) enabling a common storage system housing (rack 11 of module 1) to be used with storage cartridge modules (carriers 151 of assemblies 15) having a plurality of storage system access options (Figure 2, user having the option to install various numbers of storage modules).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the system comprises a processor contained within the chassis; a data bus coupled to the processor.
However, Yu teaches a system comprising a chassis (Figures 1-4, case 1), a processor (motherboards 6, 7 including CPUs 61, 71) contained within the chassis (1); a data bus (connection module 3) coupled to the processor (motherboards 6, 7 including CPUs 61, 71), and a storage system (storage module 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the processors and data bus of Yu to the server chassis of Zhang. Doing so would have allowed the system to process information stored within the storage modules (see Paragraph [0048] in Yu).
Zhang in view of Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of storage system access options include a hot swap storage media access configuration and a locking storage media access configuration.
However, Moore teaches wherein a plurality of storage system access options includes a hot swap storage media access configuration (Figure 6, hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 installed within system 300) and a locking storage media access configuration (Figure 6, a non-hot pluggable hard disk drive 690 installed within system 300).
Because Zhang also teaches inserting different types of storage devices within the system housing (see Paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0019]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the storage devices of Zhang as modified by Yu for the storage devices of Moore according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a system housing to accommodate a variety of different storage devices. Incorporating the different storage devices of Moore would have also increased the functionality and modularity of the system.
Zhang in view of Yu and Moore does not explicitly teach wherein the locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component, the locking component including a flush mounted faceplate, the flush mounted faceplate being secured by a fastener that can only be accessed when the storage module is not installed in the information handling system.
However, Kang teaches wherein a locking storage media access configuration includes a locking component (retaining device 200), the locking component (200) including a flush mounted faceplate (base member 30; Figure 4, base 300 being flush with edges of bracket 100), the flush mounted faceplate (30) being secured by a fastener (Figure 2, fastener 80) that can only be accessed when the storage module (data storage device 400) is not installed in the information handling system (Figures 1-5, installed within bracket 100, wherein 400 must be removed from bracket 100 and tray 20 to gain access to fasteners 80).
Because Moore suggests a similar locking component (Figures 5A and 8, carrier front panel 514), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the locking component of Kang to the locking storage media access configuration of Zhang as modified by Yu and Moore. Doing so would have allowed a user to lock/mount the storage device within the system housing (see Paragraph [0019] in Kang).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Yu, Moore, and Kang teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the hot swap storage media access configuration includes a latch component (Figure 6, fastener 155, excluding leaf spring 15531).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Yu, Moore, and Kang teaches the system of claim 14, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the multi access option feature (latching areas of sidewalls of 11, including 112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112), the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) being configured to interact with the latch component (155) of a storage cartridge module (151) when the storage module system is in the hot swap storage media access configuration (Paragraphs [0028] and [0033] in Moore, when hot pluggable hard disk drive 610 and hot plug back end 480 are installed within system).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Yu, Moore, and Kang teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches (in Zhang) wherein: the latching portion (112 and front tab adjacent 112) comprises a latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112), the latch tab (front tab adjacent 112) and latch aperture (112) mating with a side latch portion (hook part 1552) of the latch component (155; see Figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Yu, Moore, and Kang teaches the system of claim 14, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein: the multi access option feature comprises a locking portion (front wall 21 of tray 20), the locking portion (21) being configured to interact with the locking component (200) of a storage cartridge module (comprised of tray 20 and retaining device 200) when the storage module system is in the locking storage media access configuration (see Figures 1-5 in Kang).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Publication No. 2022/0272860), Yu (US Publication No. 2016/0041590), Moore (US Publication No. 2017/0010641), Kang (US Publication No. 2010/0302722), and in view further view of Cruz (US Publication No. 2003/0002249).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Yu, Moore, and Kang teaches the system of claim 15, but does not teach wherein: the latching portion comprises a latch bump out, the latch bump out mating with a side latch portion of a latching component.
However, Cruz discloses wherein: the multi access option feature (data processing system 110) comprises a latching portion (Figure 13, lip 162), the latching portion (162) being configured to interact with a latch component (latching mechanism 136) of a storage cartridge module (storage device assembly 112), wherein: the latching portion (162) comprises a latch bump out (see Figure 13), the latch bump out (162) mating with a side latch portion (cam portion 144) of a latching component (136).
Because Zhang also teaches a similar latching engagement (between 112 and 155), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latching engagement of Zhang as modified by Yu, Moore, and Kang for the latching engagement of Cruz, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of locking a storage device within a system housing. Doing so would have also allowed for the incorporation of a light signal indicating a status of operation for the storage devices (see Paragraph [0005] in Cruz).
Conclusion
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc